Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

March SALE!! Amazing Views! Hot Tub, Game Room, Movies! 3 miles to G'burg!

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VacationRentals.com checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Feb 23, 2017
  • Sleeps 21
  • 6 Bedrooms
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Cabin, 6 Bedrooms, 6 full Baths, (Sleeps 21). Views! Near Gatlinburg.

Smoky Mountain High is perched above Gatlinburg with a close-up view of Mount LeConte and the surrounding Smoky Mountains. Come and enjoy this magnificent true log cabin with your friends and family. Four of the bedrooms have a king-size log bed, Jacuzzi, attached full bathroom, TV and a spectacular view. The 5th bedroom is geared for our young visitors furnished with 2 sets of log bunk beds, attached full bathroom and great view. The private loft bedroom has 2 twin beds, sofa, TV and the same great view! There are bunk beds in the lower entertainment room, plus sleeper sofas in the living room and upstairs TV area.

Each room in the house features a fantastic panoramic view of the wonderful scenery. The 3 decks entice you to sit outside and absorb the scenery. The open floor plan allows you to enjoy time with your friends and still have your own space. Relax and enjoy the hot tub, fire places, pool table, board games, air hockey, arcade games and foosball. Wireless internet and cable TV is throughout the entire cabin! Smoky Mountain High has a well equipped kitchen and plenty of room to entertain.

Smoky Mountain High is only a few miles from Gatlinburg and a short drive to Dollywood, Pigeon Forge Townsend, Cades Cove and The Smoky Mountain National Forest. You have easy access to outlet stores, restaurants & entertainment.

It is close to everything yet you feel so far away in this tranquil paradise!

You can enjoy the Mountains, Hiking, Fishing, Rafting, Scenic Drives, Horse Back Riding, Picnicking, Swimming, Boating, Zip Line, Golf, Tennis, Water Park, Mini Golf, Family Attractions, Crafts, Shopping, Outlet Malls, Theater, Amusement Parks, Dining, Festivals, Museums and much more!

More Details

Recent Review

About the Owner

Tom and Lucinda
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, german
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2017

About Tom and Lucinda

We live in Miami, Fl but we love the mountains and the friendly people in Tennessee. Tom grew up in in Switzerland and Lucinda grew up in New York state. Together we have traveled to many countries for hiking and beach vacations but the Smoky Mountains and the Florida Panhandle are top on our list. We enjoy all the outdoor activities that both areas offers and the warmth of smaller town living!

Tom and Lucinda purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Tom and Lucinda chose Tennessee

We chose the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area for a number of reasons. It offers great recreational activities year round. It has something for everyone- from kids to seniors. You are close to everything but still feel like you are far away. The area has wonderful scenery, national parks, mild weather and friendly people. Plus the area is centrally located and easy to get to from many states. You can return to Eastern TN year after year and still find new things to do!

What makes this cabin unique

You will enjoy the closeness to Cades Cove, Smoky Mountain Park, Dollywood, shopping, all activities, restaurants and other attractions. In addition, when you are in the cabin, you will feel like you are a million miles away from it all! This really is a bit of paradise!

Guestbook comments from the owner

After such a tragic beginning - the first cabin we rented burned to the foundation - we were offered a stay at the owner's luxury 6 bdrm cabin and it was definitely luxury! The view was incredible and nothing was left to the imagination as the cabin was amply stocked for a huge crowd. My brother and his wife joined us and we accomplished our 'mission' and learned where we do and where we do not want to live, although with shortcuts to avoid tourists! I could not be more grateful to Tom and Lucinda who made our 50th anniversary and my 74th birthday celebrations possible.
Dec 2016
  • 1 of 1

Guestbook comments from the owner

After such a tragic beginning - the first cabin we rented burned to the foundation - we were offered a stay at the owner's luxury 6 bdrm cabin and it was definitely luxury! The view was incredible and nothing was left to the imagination as the cabin was amply stocked for a huge crowd. My brother and his wife joined us and we accomplished our 'mission' and learned where we do and where we do not want to live, although with shortcuts to avoid tourists! I could not be more grateful to Tom and Lucinda who made our 50th anniversary and my 74th birthday celebrations possible.
Dec 2016
  • 1 of 1

75 Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(75 traveler reviews)

5

Beautiful views!

  • 5 of 5

Great home to stay in. Just minutes away from Gatlinburg. The property and view were beautiful. The owners were easy to communicate with and kept in touch the entire stay. Great place to stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at Smoky Mountain High. We are glad that tourists keep coming to the area - as you saw - there is no sign of any of the recent fires in the area of the cabin and Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge are still in full swing and your support by visiting is appreciated. We are thankful that Smoky Mountain High was not affected - we did loose our 3 bedroom cabin in Pigeon Forge to the fires unfortunately. Tom + Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A breath of fresh air!

  • 5 of 5

After our original cabin burned and the company we were using cancelled our reservation and booked another group we were in a panic that our trip may not happen. That's when I came across Smoky Mountain High and I'm so happy I did! The cabin was beautiful, the view is amazing, and I spoke with Lucinda on the phone a couple of times and she was so kind and helpful! The group who stayed before us left a note about the cable on two tvs on the lower level not working, but between the hot tub, pool table, Pacman, games and puzzles we were too busy to watch tv anyway! I hope we can return to this cabin next year!

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Lauren We are so happy that we were able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed Smoky Mountain High. We agree that the views of Mount Leconte are amazing from all 3 decks as well as from most rooms in the cabin. Thank you for coming to the area. As you saw, Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and Sevierville are doing great after the fires. In many areas (like when you are at our cabin), you do not even notice that there was a fire. The Smoky Mountains are still as beautiful (and fun) as ever!! Even though there is so much to do in the cabin, we still want all of the 8 TVs to work. Once we knew about it, it was an easy fix with Comcast sending a signal to the boxes. We appreciate you taking care of our cabin and hope that you will return to one of our TN cabins in Gatlinburg or houses on St. George Island, FL. All the best, Tom and Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

First Smoky Mountain Family Christmas

  • 4 of 5

Tremendous Home. Very well equipped Kitchen! If you like to cook on Vacation...it is soooooo nice to have a kitchen that has not just the basics, but the essentials too! Going to the store 88 times is no fun! The Pool Table and Arcade games provided hours of enjoyment...and the 3 levels of patio chairs provided hours of conversations and relaxation. We're loyal people - it's always nice to stay at a home away from home when on vacation...shall we visit Gatlinburg again...Smoky Mountain High would be our home once again.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Dan We are so happy you enjoyed Christmas with your family at Smoky Mountain High - and who knows - maybe it will become a tradition for your family. The layout, amenities etc allows large groups to stay together - yet still have privacy if they wish. Thank you again for choosing Smoky Mountain High Tom + Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Holiday Family Get Together

  • 5 of 5

Every three years I bring together all of my children and grandchildren for a fun trip. This year I chose Gatlinburg and we could not have picked a better cabin. We are 20 in number...8 adults, 5 teens, 5 little ones, and 2 infants. This property had it all....no one was bored and there was plenty of room for everyone. The teens enjoyed the arcade style video games, the pool table, the air hockey and foosball. Several of us enjoyed the spa on the deck and the spa tubs in the rooms. The cabin is well stocked with board games and we had a family game night. The main sitting areas and each bedroom each has it's own television, although one of our party stated that the downstairs televisions were not picking up cable, but I chalk that up to operator error. The teens used the huge TV downstairs for the xbox games and I used it for hooking up Apple TV and having family movie night.

The view was my favorite thing. Each floor has its own balcony and the mountains looked different overtime i sat and looked at them. The dining table does not accommodate 20, but what table does. The teens and little ones were plenty happy at the kitchen island. The kitchen was well stocked with every utensil you would need. The fridge is a little small for a cabin that holds so many, but it is no big deal. If you have a large party, and are staying several days, plan a couple trips to the Food Town at the bottom of the mountain. We cooked family meals most nights and preparing meals was no problem.

Lucinda called me on our first day to make sure we got checked in ok and when I called her back to make her aware of a small repair and maintenance issues, she was quick to have her handyman address the issue. Tom and Lucinda are very responsive property owners. The serious wildfires occurred after i booked but before our trip. I was in touch with Tom and Lucinda about the status of the cabin and they assured me this property was untouched. (Unfortunately, they did lose another property).

The cabin was decorated for Christmas and I enjoyed having a lighted tree during our stay. I could not imagine any group not having a great time at this property. It is centrally located to everything you need and would want to do.

Slight warning to those not familiar with mountains.....the driveway is a little steep, but once you master it, it is not a big deal. If you wanna be above it all, you got to get above it all.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Russell Thank you for staying at Smoky Mountain High. We are glad we could help to make your family holiday vacation a success and that everybody liked the cabin, its location and amenities. Happy New Year Tom + Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply beautiful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Gorgeous Views ! Cant say enough good about this cabin. Plenty of room and very well stocked. We brought extra pots and pans to cook Thanksgiving dinner, but it wasn't needed. This place has it all. Our family had a great stay and Tom and Lucinda are wonderful to do business with. I would recommend this beautiful place to anyone. We will be back. Thank you Tom and Lucinda for a memorable Thanksgiving ! Praying for all affected by the wildfires. As a retired firefighter I have witnessed what its like to lose life and property.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Keith We are glad you enjoyed Thanksgiving at Smoky Mountain High. First thank you for the thought and prayers for the affected people of the Tennessee Wildfires. Our 3 bedroom cabin - All About View - unfortunately burned down to the foundation but thank god nobody got hurt. So far Smoky Mountain High and Mountain View Retreat are ok as long as the fire do not re ignite around it Thanks again for staying with us Tom and Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Smokey Mountain High

  • 5 of 5

We had a family Thanksgiving at the house everything was as said, kitchen very well stocked the beds were comfortable the view was amazing. Only thing I would add would be hand rails on bath tubs. Would like to know if this house was effected by fire

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Jeanne we are happy you enjoyed Smoky Mountain High with its amazing setting and views and amenities. Thankfully it survived the fires so far. Sadly our 3 bedroom cabin All About View burned don to the foundation but luckily nobody got hurt Thank you for staying with us Tom + Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Clingman's dome road
Newfound Gap
Pigeon Forge

From the Owner

We chose the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area for a number of reasons. It offers great recreational activities year round. It has something for everyone- from kids to seniors. You are close to everything but still feel like you are far away. The area has wonderful scenery, national parks, mild weather and friendly people. Plus the area is centrally located and easy to get to from many states. You can return to Eastern TN year after year and still find new things to do!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Knoxville at 40 Miles Nearest Barpub : In Gatlinburg at 3 Miles Nearest Golf : Gatlinburg Golf Course at 9 Miles Nearest Motorway : Interstate 40 at 24 Miles Nearest Restaurant : In Gatlinburg at 3 Miles Nearest Ski : Ober Gatlinburg Tram at 3.5 Miles Car: necessary

Dollywood, Smoky Mountain National Park, Cades Cove, Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Parrot Mountain

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Eary Spring 2017
Feb 25 2017 - Mar 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,250
 
 
Last minute SALE!!
Mar 4 2017 - Mar 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
$340
From
$382
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
 
 
2 night SPECIAL RATE
Mar 16 2017 - Mar 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$370
 
 
SPECIAL
Mar 21 2017 - Mar 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$385
 
 
Spring 2017
Mar 25 2017 - Apr 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,250
 
 
Easter 2017
Apr 13 2017 - Apr 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$2,350
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 18 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,250
 
 
Summer - 7th night FREE
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$616
$3,699
 
 
July 4 week 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,945
 
 
Summer- 7th night FREE!
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$616
$3,699
 
 
Late summer 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$475
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,495
 
 
Labor day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$525
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,595
 
 
Sept 2017
Sep 8 2017 - Sep 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$460
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,300
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 30 2017 - Nov 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$470
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,395
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$895
$5,370
 
 
Early Winter 2017
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$460
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,300
 
 
Holiday 2017
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 3 2018
5 night minimum stay
$895
$5,370
 

Additional information about rental rates

Booking $45
Cleaning $235 + Tax
Pet Fee $65 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Rent 5 get 2 free!
(All weekly rates are already discounted)
Holiday weeks may be priced higher.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

You must be 25 or older to rent this property.
Additional deposit required for longer than 1 week stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Email Owner Email Owner
Updated: Feb 23, 2017
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

You will enjoy the closeness to Cades Cove, Smoky Mountain Park, Dollywood, shopping, all activities, restaurants and other attractions. In addition, when you are in the cabin, you will feel like you are a million miles away from it all! This really is a bit of paradise!

Property Type

  • cabin

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...

Kitchen

  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub ...

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • Mountain
  • Mountain View

Attractions

  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Floor Area

  • 3500 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, Attached to bedroom 1
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, combination tub/shower, Off living room
  • Bathroom 4 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, Attached to bedroom 3
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, Attached to bedroom 2
  • Bathroom 5 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, Attached to bedroom 4
  • Bathroom 6 - toilet, combination tub/shower, Attached to bedroom 5
  • 6 full bathrooms, 4 jacuzzi tubs

Bedrooms

  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 21
  • Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single, Private Loft bedroom
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king, 1 baby crib, Jacuzzi Tub, Deck access, Attached Bathroom
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king, Jacuzzi Tub, Deck access, Attached Bathroom
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king, Jacuzzi Tub, Deck access, Attached Bathroom
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 king, Jacuzzi Tub, Attached Bathroom
  • Bedroom 5 - 2 bunk bed, Attached Bathroom. Bunks are twin/full and twin/twin.
  • 4 king beds, 2 twin beds; 2 twin over twin bunk beds, 1 twin over full bunk bed, 2 Queen Sleeper Sofas; 1 Portable Baby Cribs (Mattress measures 24' x 38')

Outside

  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • The commuinity centers in the area have pools and recrational equipment.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car