check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Discounts for available October 2016 dates.Amazing Views! Hot Tub! Arcade Game

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 7, 2016
Cabin, 6 Bedrooms, 6 full Baths, (Sleeps 21). Views! Near Gatlinburg.

Smoky Mountain High is perched above Gatlinburg with a close-up view of Mount LeConte and the surrounding Smoky Mountains. Come and enjoy this magnificent true log cabin with your friends and family. Four of the bedrooms have a king-size log bed, Jacuzzi, attached full bathroom, TV and a spectacular view. The 5th bedroom is geared for our young visitors furnished with 2 sets of log bunk beds, attached full bathroom and great view. The private loft bedroom has 2 twin beds, sofa, TV and the same great view! There are bunk beds in the lower entertainment room, plus sleeper sofas in the living room and upstairs TV area.

Each room in the house features a fantastic panoramic view of the wonderful scenery. The 3 decks entice you to sit outside and absorb the scenery. The open floor plan allows you to enjoy time with your friends and still have your own space. Relax and enjoy the hot tub, fire places, pool table, board games, air hockey, arcade games and foosball. Wireless internet and cable TV is throughout the entire cabin! Smoky Mountain High has a well equipped kitchen and plenty of room to entertain.

Smoky Mountain High is only a few miles from Gatlinburg and a short drive to Dollywood, Pigeon Forge Townsend, Cades Cove and The Smoky Mountain National Forest. You have easy access to outlet stores, restaurants & entertainment.

It is close to everything yet you feel so far away in this tranquil paradise!

You can enjoy the Mountains, Hiking, Fishing, Rafting, Scenic Drives, Horse Back Riding, Picnicking, Swimming, Boating, Zip Line, Golf, Tennis, Water Park, Mini Golf, Family Attractions, Crafts, Shopping, Outlet Malls, Theater, Amusement Parks, Dining, Festivals, Museums and much more!

More Details
  • Sleeps 21
  • 6 Bedrooms
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

We live in Miami, Fl but we love the mountains and the friendly people in Tennessee. Tom grew up in in Switzerland and Lucinda grew up in New York state. Together we have traveled to many countries for hiking and beach vacations but the Smoky Mountains and the Florida Panhandle are top on our list. We enjoy all the outdoor activities that both areas offers and the warmth of smaller town living!

Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german

78 Reviews

4.9
based on 78 traveler reviews

Oklahoma City, OK
5

Amazing View and a great location.

  • 5 of 5

We selected Smoky Mountain High because it was close to Gatlinburg. We like to walk around town and go to the Arts and Craft area. We were surprised that the cabin was so close to town but still very private. We didn't see another house when we were at the cabin! We had our annual end of summer family get together and we always do a lot of cooking. We spoke with the owners before we arrived and they assured us that there was plenty of cooking utensils, pots, pans, etc. We were very happy with everything that was supplied. There was even waffle irons and a popcorn maker! We were even able to bake a cake! The cabin is very spacious and nicely decorated and comfortable. We enjoyed the game room and loved the video arcade games (brought back memories!!). We especially enjoyed the deck seating. There was plenty seating for all of us to enjoy the view (which was so beautiful). We were even able to eat meals outside. One afternoon we saw a bear from the deck! Tom and Lucinda were pleasant to work with. They answered all our questions before we booked (with 15 people we had a lot of questions!) During our stay, they called us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves and to ask if we had any questions about the cabin or area. We have taken many family vacations to Gatlinburg but this was our best one yet!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Ted We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed the location and amenities at Smoky Mountain High. It is wonderful that you take a vacation together each year! We try hard to make our cabins a great place for families to share time together. Of course cooking is a big part of our lives and providing a well equipped kitchen is something we think is necessary! We love the proximity to downtown and the solitude when we are at the cabin- it always amazes us that we are so close to town, but we feel out in the woods! We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectation. We hope that you will consider staying at one of our Tennessee Cabins or Florida homes again in the future. Thank you, Lucinda and Tom
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Maryland
2

Nice Cabin but the owners Not so Nice!

  • 2 of 5

once you get past cameras in your face the cabin is nice and if you stay here I am sure you will like it unless you have the misfortune of having a problem an contacting Lucinda. I was not upset that we could not get in at 4 like promised because the cleaning people where still there. Are problem started a couple of hours after we arrived the the fire alarm went off and They tell you what to do if the burglar alarm goes off but not the fire. So we had the fire Department an the police show up. The fireman where able to reset the alarm but the smoke detector down stairs kept beeping. So at that point I had to call the owners, Lucinda answered the phone and right away blamed me for the alarm said we burn't something cooking, Well we did not cook that night we bring lunch meats with us for are first night. then she told me she could not get someone out there until the next day. I informed her that was not acceptable and that we could not put up with the noise. She turned it back on me and said I was being unreasonable. she then told me to go down stairs and pull down the smoke alarm and unplug it. Sounded to me like they have had this problem before because she know how to unhook it. Being a volunteer firefighter myself I refused to unhook a smoke alarm. I would not unhook one in my home and surely was not doing it her. Lucinda got more upset with me and told me again it would be okay to do. After I kept refusing she did finally have someone come out and take care of it. This was the highest price cabin I have ever rented in the area and I do not feel it was wrong to ask to have the smoke alarms repaired and maybe you should not be so forward as to atack your tenants for what was your own problem. Tom I never try to snick my dogs anywhere I told you up front I have pets an you never once told me that only two pets where allowed. as you can see on your cameras they are three small Chihuahuas in which they are kept in a crate. I did not know you only allowed two dogs until I paid you in full and you sent out the rules. Maybe you should inform pet owners this up front. Had I known I would of asked you to make and exception or went else where. Just a little info, This cabin has a very steep driveway an if you plan on staying in the winter you really should have 4 wheel drive in case it snows and I am not sure that will get you up the hill, But it is in the mountains and that is what you need to ecpect

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bill: We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Smoky Mountain High. We have to disagree with the time you arrived. As our cameras show, you were there but never even tried to get in. Yes, the cleaner was there to drop off some extra amenities (did you enjoy the cold beverages we left for you?) Once she saw you were there, she answered questions you had and departed immediately. There was no delay in accessing the cabin. As for the fire alarm, the fire chief told us that there was cooking in the cabin that caused the alarm to go off. Our alarms do not go off for no reason. The downstairs alarm, as I mentioned to you, was not connected to the system. It is a standalone smoke detector. As a volunteer fireman or even just a home owner, you could have taken the battery out. But we understood that you did not want to touch it and we sent someone up at 9:30 pm. Our handyman was very surprised and uncomfortable to find you very intoxicated and walking around with a bottle of liquor. He changed the batteries quickly and departed. We called you the next day to check to see if everything was okay and we never received a call back. Our pet policy is clearly noted on our booking sites and the terms and conditions that guests agree to. It is not hidden. You either did not read it or chose to ignore it. The fact that you did not inform us when you did finally see it, confirms our belief that you knew our policy all along. We had every right to ask you to board 1 dog being you agreed to our terms prior to making the deposit and final payment, but we did not. Our driveway is no steeper than any other mountain home with a great view. In icy weather, any road (flat or hilly) could be dangerous to drive on. On a final note, we had our cleaner go by midweek to pick up the trash. While she was there a few of your family members came outside and spoke with her. They said that the loved the cabin, location and amenities. They were very happy and enjoying themselves. We pride ourselves in offering a wonderful vacation experience and taking care of our guests-our reviews speak for themselves. We, unfortunately, could not make you happy no matter what we did. Tom and Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saginaw, MI USA
5

SPECTACULAR VIEW!!

  • 5 of 5

This year was the 10th time visiting Gatlinburg with family. Ages 3 to 92 (20 of us). This cabin has the best view by far. The kitchen was amazing from dishes to silverware to the spice rack (more than basic spices). Perfect for large families. All the bathrooms very roomy stocked with extra face cloths, body wash, extra hooks on back of doors. Bedrooms nice size and comfortable. Decks had plenty of chairs (never seen that many with other cabins). Have to mention driveway :) I was pleasantly surprised that the steep part was not that long. After couple of times up and down I wasn't nervous at all. To get that kind of view usually requires that type of drive times 5! Kids and adults really enjoyed pool table. I like how it was kind of in its own room. Also appreciated Lucinda responding so quickly to any questions/issues that we had. Mostly burned out light bulbs. When my brother brought his dog which I didn't plan on, Lucinda said no problem added pet fee. So stress-free.

The only negative was the hot tub jets. They were pretty non-existentant. That was disappointing. Other than that I loved this cabin. It's beautiful and Tom and Lucinda put so much attention to detail. Still best part is that million dollar VIEW!!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Naomi We are glad Smoky Mountain High made your family reunion a unforgettable one. We take pride to provide as many amenities as possible and have a extremely well stocked kitchen to make our guests vacation as homey as possible. The only thing we can not change are the unobstructed fantastic views.... Thank you for staying with us Tom + Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exactly what we needed for our large family

  • 5 of 5

Tom & Lucinda were so very helpful when I had questions. Lucinda even called when we arrived to see if everything was OK. The house was exactly as pictured and the view was amazing. The beds were so very comfortable - even the sofabeds - nobody felt the bar because of the great mattress. There were 17 of us and we had plenty of room.

The kitchen was very well stocked, with every gadget, pot/pan, appliance you could need. They even supplied a stocked spice rack which really surprised me.

We rented a jeep to go bugging around in - so much fun. Guys went golfing several times while the ladies and kids did their thing. We were so close to the attractions, but far enough away for privacy. We found a Catholic Church not too far away, so we got to go to Mass Sunday morning.

I would highly recommend this place for a fun filled vacation, but wouldn't recommend it for anyone with physical disabilities as there are 3 floors. Young children and teens would love this place,

Thank you, Tom & Lucinda, for providing this rental. It was awesome.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Geraldine Thank you for the nice comments - it is nice to know that your family had a great time Smoky Mountain High. We do our very best to supply our guests with a very well equipped kitchen, comfortable furniture - and plenty of it. Thank you for choosing Smoky Mountain High Tom + Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exactly as pictured

  • 5 of 5

We were celebrating our 60th anniversary and had the entire family with us. There was more than enough room for all 17 of us. The kitchen was very well stocked and we were surprised to find that you even included a spice rack with all necessary spices and every gadget that we needed. The beds were very comfortable, even the sofa/sleepers - nobody felt the bar that you usually feel on a sleeper. The views were awesome from the porches and we spent a lot of evenings there just chatting away. We rented a jeep and had fun bugging around in it. Kids loved the pool table/foosball table also. A few of the men went golfing while the women & kids did their thing. There was a Food City very close by to pick up groceries as needed. We went out for dinner at the Crystal Creek restaurant which was off the main tourist area, but close by, and had a wonderful meal and they took care of our large group very nicely.

The driveway was, at first, intimidating, but after the first climb it got better. One daughter had a stick shift and made it up, but we told her the next time she would use the car was when she left. We just all shared cars.

For the most part, the house was very clean with the exception of the toilets. They didn't clean under the rim of the toilet. When we left, I put a note on the counter advising the cleaning crew of that.

We were very close to all the attractions so as a group, we could go into town - park the cars - and went off exploring.

No one wanted to leave because it was so beautiful up there and so very relaxing. In the evenings, we did puzzles, played cards/games, watched the Olympics on the big screen TV's or just relaxing on the porch. This house was perfect for the entire group. Would love to come back.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing view! Awesome cabin! Everyone was sad to leave!

  • 5 of 5

We spent 9 days in the cabin with our extended family for my mother and father-in-laws 40th wedding anniversary. In all we had 9 adults and 7 kids. Between sitting on the deck taking in the view, playing pool, air hockey and games, the hot tub, and eating lunch on the deck, it was an all around great experience. The cousins (who ranged from 12 to 3 years old) loved being able to sleep in their own bunk bed room together and spend some time having fun away from their parents! I have to admit, the driveway to the cabin was a little intimidating at first but by the end of the week we were very comfortable navigating up and down. It was perfect location to be able to venture out during the day and then get off the beaten path to gather back at the cabin at night to make supper and just relax and hang out! It's awesome that you can be so close to everything but still feel so far away from all the people! We all had a wonderful time and my kids were very sad to leave! Hopefully we can take another trip back and stay at Smoky Mountain High again soon!! The pictures of the cabin and the view are very accurate to what we saw when we walked in the door, however the pictures do not do the view justice! You have to see it in person! The only thing that I heard anyone mention all week as a suggestion is that they wished it maybe had two hot water heaters as if your the last to shower in the morning it could be a chilly one! Overall we all loved our time there and can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Kyle We are thrilled Smoky Mountain High was everything you expected to have a memorable family vacation. As you mention the unforgettable views can not be described or put in pictures - we can never get tired of sitting on the deck and enjoy it - or gaze at the stars at night Thank you for staying at Smoky Mountain High Tom + Lucinda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Clingman's dome road
Newfound Gap
Pigeon Forge

From the Owner

We chose the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area for a number of reasons. It offers great recreational activities year round. It has something for everyone- from kids to seniors. You are close to everything but still feel like you are far away. The area has wonderful scenery, national parks, mild weather and friendly people. Plus the area is centrally located and easy to get to from many states. You can return to Eastern TN year after year and still find new things to do!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Knoxville at 40 Miles Nearest Barpub : In Gatlinburg at 3 Miles Nearest Golf : Gatlinburg Golf Course at 9 Miles Nearest Motorway : Interstate 40 at 24 Miles Nearest Restaurant : In Gatlinburg at 3 Miles Nearest Ski : Ober Gatlinburg Tram at 3.5 Miles Car: necessary

Dollywood, Smoky Mountain National Park, Cades Cove, Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Parrot Mountain

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 23 2016 - Nov 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$460
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,300
 
 
Late Fall 2016
Nov 5 2016 - Nov 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
$375
From
$400
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,000
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 18 2016 - Nov 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
$895
$4,600
 
 
December
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 16 2016
3 night minimum stay
$375
From
$400
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,000
 
 
Holiday 2016
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$895
$4,600
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 7 2017 - Jan 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
From
$370
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,795
 
 
MLK Weekend 2017
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$425
$1,850
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 16 2017 - Feb 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$295
From
$370
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,795
 
 
Pres. Day weekend 2017
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$425
$1,850
 
 
Winter 2017
Feb 20 2017 - Feb 24 2017
4 night minimum stay
$295
From
$370
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,795
 
 
Eary Spring 2017
Feb 25 2017 - Apr 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,250
 
 
Easter 2017
Apr 13 2017 - Apr 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$2,350
 
 
Spring 2017
Apr 18 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,250
 
 
Summer 2017
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,695
 
 
July 4 week 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,945
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,695
 
 
Late summer 2017
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$475
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,495
 
 
Labor day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$525
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,595
 
 
Sept 2017
Sep 8 2017 - Sep 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$460
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Booking $45
Pet Fee $65 + Tax
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Rent 5 get 2 free!
(All weekly rates are already discounted)
Holiday weeks may be priced higher.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

You must be 25 or older to rent this property.
Additional deposit required for longer than 1 week stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Sep 7, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

You will enjoy the closeness to Cades Cove, Smoky Mountain Park, Dollywood, shopping, all activities, restaurants and other attractions. In addition, when you are in the cabin, you will feel like you are a million miles away from it all! This really is a bit of paradise!

Property Type

  • cabin

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...

Kitchen

  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • jetted tub ...

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • Mountain
  • Mountain View

Attractions

  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Floor Area

  • 3500 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, Attached to bedroom 1
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, combination tub/shower, Off living room
  • Bathroom 4 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, Attached to bedroom 3
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, Attached to bedroom 2
  • Bathroom 5 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, Attached to bedroom 4
  • Bathroom 6 - toilet, combination tub/shower, Attached to bedroom 5
  • 6 full bathrooms, 4 jacuzzi tubs

Bedrooms

  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 21
  • Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single, Private Loft bedroom
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king, 1 baby crib, Jacuzzi Tub, Deck access, Attached Bathroom
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king, Jacuzzi Tub, Deck access, Attached Bathroom
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king, Jacuzzi Tub, Deck access, Attached Bathroom
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 king, Jacuzzi Tub, Attached Bathroom
  • Bedroom 5 - 2 bunk bed, Attached Bathroom. Bunks are twin/full and twin/twin.
  • 4 king beds, 2 twin beds; 2 twin over twin bunk beds, 1 twin over full bunk bed, 2 Queen Sleeper Sofas; 1 Portable Baby Cribs (Mattress measures 24' x 38')

Outside

  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • The commuinity centers in the area have pools and recrational equipment.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car