Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

3 BR, Near Ski Lodge! $125 - $165/night / Sleeps 10 /Hot tub, pool table, wifi

Bedrooms 3
Space 167 m²
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

3 bedroom, 2 full baths, sleeps 10

Come enjoy our beautiful cabin in the Smokies and make memories that will last a lifetime! 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath chalet and we can accommodate up to 10 people comfortably!

Makin' Mountain Memories is a private 3 bedroom, 2 bath chalet located in exclusive Chalet Village about 3 miles from traffic light #10 in downtown Gatlinburg and the main entrance of the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. We are just minutes from the Ober Gatlinburg Ski Lodge and within a short 5 minute walk to the Club House with swimming pools, tennis courts and even a play ground for the kids (club houses are typically open from Memorial Day through Labor Day and our guests will enjoy free access). Many fun filled attractions and lots of shopping outlets close by in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge is only 15 minutes away.

After a busy day of shopping or hiking in the park come back to the cabin and enjoy a BBQ on the over sized deck or soak your cares away in your own private 6 person hot tub on the deck or we also have a whirlpool in the master bath . The main level has 1 bedroom and 1 full bath, large living area with cable tv and a wood burning fireplace. Pool table. New leather living room set with sofa sleeper added in April of 2012. The fully equipped kitchen is complete with all the necessities including a full size refridgerator, stove, dishwasher, coffee pot and microwave etc. etc. etc...... of course there are many terrific restaurant selections from BBQ to Fine Dining just minutes away.

Upstairs boasts 2 additional bedrooms, each with a private balcony and 1 full bath. The loft area has a tv and a new leather futon for additional sleeping.

Whatever your dream getaway experiences are, you can enjoy them all and make your own mountain memories that will last a lifetime...

More Details

Property Manager
Rebecca Helton / Makin Mtn Memories
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

" Unit was very clean. Beds very comfortable. Plenty of dishes and cooking utensils. Very happy with the hot tub. Overall a very rewarding experience. Going to make it a yearly event and will use The Heltons were very helpful."
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 6


Chalet Village Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 167 m²
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , main level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , upper level
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Upper Level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Upper Level
  • Living room sofa makes a queen bed and there is a futon in the loft for addtional sleeping. Will accomodate 10 people comfortably.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Accomodates up to 10 people comfortably. There is a bedroom and a bath on the man level for elderly and the shower is a stand up shower that is oversize, big enough for 2 with bench seat on either side.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)


Great affordable family getaway

  • 4 of 5

This is a great affordable cabin for a family getaway. We especially enjoyed the hot tub and mountain location. We enjoyed relaxing in the cabin as well as making trips to Smoky Mountain National park, Gatlinburg, and Pigeon Forge. We definitely plan to return in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

First time chalet rental & disappointed

  • 2 of 5

Clean but not well maintained. Upstairs shower had clear inside liner only (see thru, actually purchased outside liner & installed) & duct taped faucet. Outside security lights not working, you need them at night. Lack of outdoor & indoor furniture, 6 guests & 4 chairs? Window blinds missing slats & not functioning. Every multi-bulb light fixture missing or burnt out bulb, had to move some bulbs around.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Ok trip

  • 3 of 5

I was at this cabin during the last week of June during the summer travel season & just wanted to leave an honest review for future guests.

The location was okay, however there was no view except the woods and close by neighbors cabin. This meant we heard a lot of commotion one of the nights (after midnight) when a neighbor had a party. We drove in from pigeon forge off of the bypass and planned to go to Gatlinburg by leaving the cabin and going the other way as told by GPS and written directions from website. However we were unaware that the road that takes you into gatlinburg (5-10 min drive from cabin) was closed off due to construction so we had to turn around and drive back the way we came which took 15-20 minutes just to the entrance of Gatlinburg. The cabin itself was okay, needs a little work outside, the inside was decent but needed a little extra cleaning. The carpets need a deep clean which was obvious by eye but even more obvious when my kids feet were black within minutes of walking barefoot. There were no bathroom rugs laid out anywhere and the 1 I found under the sink didn't look clean. In the upstairs bathroom there were 10-12 carpenter ants on the toilet, wall, or shower at any given time and I also saw several worms in the tub. The bedrooms were good sized, plenty of space to sleep, but door knobs in both upstairs bedrooms leading to balcony were loose and this made me nervous. The extra pillows found stored in closets need to be replaced because they were very yellow/stained. Several lights didn't work & some bulbs needed to be replaced. We brought extra toiletries like paper towels and toliet paper, but there were only 2 garbage bags provided for the kitchen trash. We didn't realize this until it was time to take all the trash out and was very inconvenient. The pool table was okay, but the pockets need to be fixed or replaced. They were very loose and there were exposed nails which made it dangerous for our children to be around. Air worked fine, beds were comfortable, plenty of towels, and pool area was very nice. Considering the issues we had I wouldn't pay the same rate again to stay, but overall our trip was nice and we were mostly in the cabin at night. We did see 2 bears and enjoyed being on a quick trip in the mountains.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Double family vacation

  • 2 of 5

We took our vaction to Gatlinburg this year and there was 4 adults and 2 children with us. The house had plenty of sleeping space for all of us and had plenty of towels. And the boys (even the big boys) enjoyed the pool table. I will say I was a very dissapointed in the fact that the upstairs bedroom with the queen bed smelled like a stale ashtray and was very noticable that the carpets had burn marks on it. My children and I are very sensitive and my son has to get allergy shots to control this problem so I stayed in that room but I had to keep the door open and open the windows just to make it where it was not nauseating. I also found dried blood on the throw pillow that was on that bed. That was very disappointing for me as I work in the healthcare field and know the problems that can occur from blood/bodily fluids. There was also no grill that could hold enough food for all of us as pictured in the pictures for the home. We just ate out instead so that would not be a reason not to stay again. But the over abundance of smoke smell and blood on the pillow was enough for me to say we will probably not stay there again. It was very close to Gatlinburg and easy to get to where we needed to be to make the most of our vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Heidi, We spoke about the charcoal grill during your stay. Again the city requires that we do not have charcoal grills on the deck any longer and that is why we have the brand new park style grilled installed just off the deck... I was not aware of any of the other items that you mentioned during your stay or I would have been happy to come up and address it It is our goal to make sure your stay is pleasant and comfortable while you are here..... Our cabin is non smoking and we have never had a problem with smoke smell in the cabin at all. I will be going up there today to check it out... and to replace/remove the decorative throw pillow. Thank you again for your visit
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

We made some mountain memories!

  • 5 of 5

We made last minute reservations to stay in the Gatlinburg area and were very impressed with the accommodations! The boys loved having their own rooms, and the view from the hot tub and porch were great. Lots of room, everything was clean and worked properly -- it was money well spent. We enjoyed the location -- very close to Ober Gatlinburg, but an easy drive down to town, to Pigeon Forge, and the national forest.

Quick notes: the pool table was cramped into a corner, but the boys still had fun playing. There is a very small charcoal grill on the parking pad -- not the grill that we saw in the photos, but it also worked just fine. Just don't plan on extravagant grilled dinners on it. None of these were a negative -- I just wanted to point them out for future renters.

We would definitely stay at one of the houses on the property again including this one. I want to express again that it was clean, roomy, everything worked properly, plenty of linens and towels, and the owner/manager welcomed questions before and during the stay.

And we saw four bears.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! So glad that you enjoyed your stay at our cabin. We hope that you will visit with us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sylvania, Ohio

Perfect vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for our spring vacation! It was so clean and comfortable. We were comfortable with the beds, the kitchen had everything we needed, and the hot tub was perfect to start and end our day. We loved waving to the visitors on the tram to Ober Gatlinburg! Thank you for living up to your advertising! The cleaning people were great, we couldn't even find a speck of dust!

Highly recommend Volunteer Pizza--they deliver and the pizza was fabulous, plus the people were so friendly. We went to Bryson City and rode the Smoky Mt Railroad--totally worth the trip. Then ate at Anthony's Italian across the street from railroad---great food with generous portions. !

We definitely recommend this rental! Will return--love the house and love the area!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0



Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 8 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $99 + Tax
Accidental Damage Insurance / Travel Guard $49
Tax Rate 12.75%

$125 - $225.00
We do not accept arrivals or departures on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car