Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

AMAZING DEAL; NEWLY REMODELED 2BD HOME; CLOSE TO EVERYTHING!

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VacationRentals.com checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Feb 28, 2017
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Bedrooms 2, Bathrooms 1.5, Sleeps 6

ABOUT THIS HOME

This charming home is located in San Diego's historic Sherman Heights neighborhood, and just minutes from all the action.

This home is ideal for families who want to be close to San Diego's main attractions, couples looking for a romantic getaway, or business travelers who need to be close to downtown or convention center.

This completely private home features a cozy, open floor plan, brand new kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances, and private tropical backyard and deck to enjoy the city lights!

FEATURES AND AMENITIES

Sleeps 4 comfortably with queen bed in each bedroom

Two luxurious bathrooms (one full, one half)

Stainless steel appliances and granite countertops

FREE high-speed wireless internet

FREE Cable TV

Spacious, secluded grassy backyard and patio table with seating for 6 and great views of downtown

Stainless steel propane grill for cooking meals and entertaining the gang

Free on-street parking

Washer and dryer in your own laundry room

Family-friendly home with portable crib and high chair available upon request

THE NEIGHBORHOOD

The home is located in the historic neighborhood, Sherman Heights, which is an eclectic, urban area rich in diversity and history; located just a few blocks from the hip Downtown East Village neighborhood.

View of downtown from deck

Just five minutes to the heart of downtown and all the action

Walk to some of San Diego's top attractions, and drive to the rest in under 10-15 minutes!

WITHIN 10-15 MINUTE WALK TO:

Historic Gas Lamp Quarter with shopping, bars & restaurants

Charming and Funky East Village

Beautiful Petco Park, home of the San Diego Padres

Convention Center

WITHIN 5-10 MINUTE DRIVE OF:

The Pacific Ocean & Beaches

San Diego Airport SAN (or taxi)

Sea World

Coronado and historic Hotel Del Coronado and Beach

The Maritime Museums

Scenic Old Town

Petco Park Baseball Stadium - Home of the Padres

Qualcomm Football Stadium - Home of the Chargers

The USS Midway Aircraft Carrier Museum

Horton Plaza Mall

Seaport Village shops

The San Diego Convention Center

Little Italy (quaint shopping and dining, just blocks away)

San Diego Harbor

GETTING AROUND

Less than 10 minute walk to Trolley Stop (Park/Market Station, 12th & Imperial, or 25th & Commercial are the nearest Trolley Stops).

Just 5 minutes to downtown, and short taxi to Zoo, Museums, beaches, and more.

We do recommend renting a car for at least part of your trip so you can explore all San Diego has to offer.

More Details

Recent Review

About the Owner

Michelle
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, russian
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
February 28, 2017

What makes this house unique

This charming home is located in San Diego's historic Sherman Heights neighborhood, and just underwent a complete remodel

Reserve early for 5-Star Luxury at 1-Star Pricing.

Read on for further details..

25 Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

5

Wonderful stay.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for two weeks in October 2014, with our (then) 1 year old.

We loved staying here. The property was really well appointed - it had everything we needed and more. Michelle very kindly ensured that we had a high chair and travel cot (pack and play) for our little one, and stair gate from the deck down to the garden.

Accomodation is all on one level, which for us, was great with a toddler. And we made great use of the private deck and garden.

Location & Neighbourhood: We walked (often) to the Gas lamp area and were an easy 10 - 15 minute drive from the main attractions and beach. On street parking (close to the property) was never an issue and we never felt unsafe.

It was our first time booking through HomeAway and were a little apprehensive but I can honestly say In addition to the property, what made our holiday a pleasure was dealing with Michelle. She couldn't have been more helpful: great communication beforehand, answering all my questions. She arranged for groceries to be in the property for our arrival and also facilitated a late check out. All of which was REALLY appreciated (particularly as we were travelling with a little one).

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very charming place

  • 5 of 5

Cute house- lovely interior. We were in town for a conference at the convention center-a 30-45 minute walk or $6 Uber.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Boston, MA
5

Wonderful stay in the heart of San Diego

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this cozy home! The host was extremely accommodating with our arrival and departure times and the house was just as pictured/described. It had everything we needed for our short stay in San Diego and more! The house was extremely comfortable and clean. The area was perfect for being close to downtown and all San Diego tourist areas. We had a car available and parking at night was never an issue. We could also walk a short amount of time to downtown, restaurants, coffee shops, etc. if needed. We never felt unsafe at all in this neighborhood even with our 1.5 yr old! Would have loved to stay longer and will definitely stay here again when visiting San Diego!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate when guests leave feedback as it helps other travelers feel more confident in their choice. The home is located so close to all of San Diego's top attractions!. There is free street parking. We also gave this family early and late checkouts as we understand how it is traveling with small children. We always try to accommodate requests like this when we can. We also provide pak-n-play, high chair, beach toys etc to help the lil ones have fun too!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
netherlands
2

Fine house, lacking in service, area not so good

  • 2 of 5

The house was fine with enough space for the four of us. We received plenty of information on grocery stores, restaurants etc before arrival. Overall it was clean but when walking barefoot our footsoles became quickly very dirty. Also quite a few items were missing from the inventory list. The location is not so good (and we live in a big city, so we are used to the city life). A lot of homeless people camp out only a few blocks from the house which made the walk back from downtown not very comfortable even late afternoon with kids. Also a lot of houses in the area have watchdogs and barred windows. However it was nice to be not too far from downtown and the I5. The reason to subtract another star is that the owner has not responded to our emails of lacking inventory and dirty floor, but afterwards we did get a generic computergenerated email if we had any feedback at all. Finally another star is subtracted for the cleaner to arrive an hour early, which was rather annoying.

So to sum up, make up your mind if you want to stay in this area and be prepared for not very good and personal service from this letting Company once you have booked.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sincerely appreciate this guest's feedback and it helps us continue to improve.. Please know this is a wonderful home and is located close to all San Diego's top attractions. Please take the time to read other travelers review and how happy they are. The home is located just a few blocks from downtown, and there are homeless people in San Diego and they live close to the city center. But they are HARMLESS. There has NEVER been any issues at this home nor have guests ever been bothered. Other guests comment in their reviews how safe they felt and how they loved the area. We have many repeat guests also. This family is from Europe, and may not be used to the homeless people we have in the USA. It is sad, but please know, it's not an unsafe area. Regarding her comments that we didn't respond to her message regarding the floors and kitchen inventory...she sent if AFTER they checked out (not during their stay) and we did send an email asking for their full feedback (that was our reply she commented they received). We send a welcome email the day guests arrive asking guests to call our 24/7 maintenance line if there are any issues with cleaning or ANYTHING we can do to make their stay more enjoyable. They never contacted during their stay and didn't give us a chance to help out. Checkout some of our other reviews to see guests complement us on our communications and responsiveness. Our cleaning gal did arrive early that day (She was new) and that is not acceptable. We corrected that immediately so it doesn't happen again. We are sorry for that inconvenience. She didn't make them leave early, but it still was not polite for our team to show up early. We understand that travelers have different needs and expectations. While we truly strive to offer an exceptional experience start to end, it is inevitable that we may not meet every guest's standards and are disappointed we fell short of this family's expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Great place to stay in a great city

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay. The location was perfect and the home was wonderful. All instructions for checking in/out were easy to understand. I will be sure to recommend your place if we know of anyone visiting San Diego in the near future.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
United States
2

Average At Best

  • 2 of 5

We arrived to the property after a long day of travel, only to be completely locked out due to owner not sending final waiver. I stood at door with my family, luggage in hand and all, unable to access property after she confirmed that all "was ready to go" weeks before our arrival. Keep in mind that I had paid for property months before and she still refused to give us access after it was her mistake. Finally cleared up with her husband after getting "waivers" signed.

The property inside is pretty much as described. Comfortable and stocked with everything you need, including beach toys. Sprinkler systems come on at 5 am so be prepared. We requested owners adjust time but they never did. Back yard is disappointing as it's completely covered in mud.

The neighborhood is "transitional." That means that you should not walk anywhere at night. Parking is very limited and you will be forced to park illegally from time. Vacant home next door (opposite of main picture of house( with people going in and out at night.

Overall it's a fair value but my regret was not searching harder. Oh well, live and learn.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been in business for nearly 5 years and have rented to 1000s of guests and this is the first 2 star review we have received. Unfortunately, this guest was challenging from the very beginning. After 6 attempts to receive a signed rental agreement, including a message notifying him that we cannot give him access to the home until receipt, he still showed up EARLY and ignored our communications. We immediately gave him access the moment he arrived, and then got the signed contract. We have a responsibility to our owners to ensure the homes are protected. We had no choice since he ignored all our requests. Once he arrived, he found things to his dissatisfaction, however, as you can see from all our reviews, guests love our homes. We just hosted a gentleman and his family for their 3rd stay at this specific home. The neighbors next door are remodeling, so yes, its vacant and probably quite busy there. The neighborhood is VERY safe, however, if diversity concerns you, then we would suggest guests stay somewhere else. This neighborhood is home to many great young professionals and families, from all ethnicities..a wonderful group of people!!. We understand we will get a guest that we just cannot please, and we knew from the odd communications and refusal to sign our rental agreement, that we may have issues when Isreal arrived. We try out best to offer an exceptional experience to everyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Golf : Coronado Golf Course at 2.1 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Phil's BBQ at 5.1 Miles Nearest Beach : Mission Bay | Pacific Beach at 5.9 Miles

5 Min to the Zoo, Balboa Park, Museums, Sea World, Downtown

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Email Manager Email Manager
Updated: Feb 28, 2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

This charming home is located in San Diego's historic Sherman Heights neighborhood, and just underwent a complete remodel Reserve early for 5-Star Luxury at 1-Star Pricing. Read on for further details..

Property Type

  • house

General

  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board ...
  • Washing Machine ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...

Attractions

  • zoo

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 0 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • 1.5+

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 Queen

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis

Notes:

  • *great views of downtown from private patio, close to convention center. Cozy private deck and backyard, Brand New A/C System, Two Deluxe Comfort Beds, High End luxury finishes all around; Ideal location and great value!!

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car