check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar



Property Details

Updated: Oct 22, 2016
Bedrooms 2, Bathrooms 1.5, Sleeps 6


This charming home is located in San Diego's historic Sherman Heights neighborhood, and just minutes from all the action.

This home is ideal for families who want to be close to San Diego's main attractions, couples looking for a romantic getaway, or business travelers who need to be close to downtown or convention center.

This completely private home features a cozy, open floor plan, brand new kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances, and private tropical backyard and deck to enjoy the city lights!


-Sleeps 4 comfortably with queen bed in each bedroom

-Two luxurious bathrooms (one full, one half)

-Stainless steel appliances and granite countertops

-FREE high-speed wireless internet

-FREE Cable TV

-Spacious, secluded grassy backyard and patio table with seating for 6 and great views of downtown

-Stainless steel propane grill for cooking meals and entertaining the gang

-Free on-street parking

-Washer and dryer in your own laundry room

-Family-friendly home with portable crib and high chair available upon request


- The home is located in the historic neighborhood, Sherman Heights, which is an eclectic, urban area rich in diversity and history; located just a few blocks from the hip Downtown East Village neighborhood.

- View of downtown from deck

-Just five minutes to the heart of downtown and all the action

-Walk to some of San Diego's top attractions, and drive to the rest in under 10-15 minutes!


-Historic Gas Lamp Quarter with shopping, bars & restaurants

-Charming and Funky East Village

-Beautiful Petco Park, home of the San Diego Padres

-Convention Center


-The Pacific Ocean & Beaches

-San Diego Airport SAN (or taxi)

-Sea World

-Coronado and historic Hotel Del Coronado and Beach

-The Maritime Museums

-Scenic Old Town

-Petco Park Baseball Stadium - Home of the Padres

-Qualcomm Football Stadium - Home of the Chargers

-The USS Midway Aircraft Carrier Museum

-Horton Plaza Mall

-Seaport Village shops

-The San Diego Convention Center

-Little Italy (quaint shopping and dining, just blocks away)

-San Diego Harbor


-Less than 10 minute walk to Trolley Stop (Park/Market Station, 12th & Imperial, or 25th & Commercial are the nearest Trolley Stops).

-Just 5 minutes to downtown, and short taxi to Zoo, Museums, beaches, and more.

-We do recommend renting a car for at least part of your trip so you can explore all San Diego has to offer.

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Speaks: english, russian

23 Reviews

based on 23 traveler reviews

Boston, MA

Wonderful stay in the heart of San Diego

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this cozy home! The host was extremely accommodating with our arrival and departure times and the house was just as pictured/described. It had everything we needed for our short stay in San Diego and more! The house was extremely comfortable and clean. The area was perfect for being close to downtown and all San Diego tourist areas. We had a car available and parking at night was never an issue. We could also walk a short amount of time to downtown, restaurants, coffee shops, etc. if needed. We never felt unsafe at all in this neighborhood even with our 1.5 yr old! Would have loved to stay longer and will definitely stay here again when visiting San Diego!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate when guests leave feedback as it helps other travelers feel more confident in their choice. The home is located so close to all of San Diego's top attractions!. There is free street parking. We also gave this family early and late checkouts as we understand how it is traveling with small children. We always try to accommodate requests like this when we can. We also provide pak-n-play, high chair, beach toys etc to help the lil ones have fun too!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2

Fine house, lacking in service, area not so good

  • 2 of 5

The house was fine with enough space for the four of us. We received plenty of information on grocery stores, restaurants etc before arrival. Overall it was clean but when walking barefoot our footsoles became quickly very dirty. Also quite a few items were missing from the inventory list. The location is not so good (and we live in a big city, so we are used to the city life). A lot of homeless people camp out only a few blocks from the house which made the walk back from downtown not very comfortable even late afternoon with kids. Also a lot of houses in the area have watchdogs and barred windows. However it was nice to be not too far from downtown and the I5. The reason to subtract another star is that the owner has not responded to our emails of lacking inventory and dirty floor, but afterwards we did get a generic computergenerated email if we had any feedback at all. Finally another star is subtracted for the cleaner to arrive an hour early, which was rather annoying.

So to sum up, make up your mind if you want to stay in this area and be prepared for not very good and personal service from this letting Company once you have booked.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sincerely appreciate this guest's feedback and it helps us continue to improve.. Please know this is a wonderful home and is located close to all San Diego's top attractions. Please take the time to read other travelers review and how happy they are. The home is located just a few blocks from downtown, and there are homeless people in San Diego and they live close to the city center. But they are HARMLESS. There has NEVER been any issues at this home nor have guests ever been bothered. Other guests comment in their reviews how safe they felt and how they loved the area. We have many repeat guests also. This family is from Europe, and may not be used to the homeless people we have in the USA. It is sad, but please know, it's not an unsafe area. Regarding her comments that we didn't respond to her message regarding the floors and kitchen inventory...she sent if AFTER they checked out (not during their stay) and we did send an email asking for their full feedback (that was our reply she commented they received). We send a welcome email the day guests arrive asking guests to call our 24/7 maintenance line if there are any issues with cleaning or ANYTHING we can do to make their stay more enjoyable. They never contacted during their stay and didn't give us a chance to help out. Checkout some of our other reviews to see guests complement us on our communications and responsiveness. Our cleaning gal did arrive early that day (She was new) and that is not acceptable. We corrected that immediately so it doesn't happen again. We are sorry for that inconvenience. She didn't make them leave early, but it still was not polite for our team to show up early. We understand that travelers have different needs and expectations. While we truly strive to offer an exceptional experience start to end, it is inevitable that we may not meet every guest's standards and are disappointed we fell short of this family's expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great place to stay in a great city

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay. The location was perfect and the home was wonderful. All instructions for checking in/out were easy to understand. I will be sure to recommend your place if we know of anyone visiting San Diego in the near future.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
United States

Average At Best

  • 2 of 5

We arrived to the property after a long day of travel, only to be completely locked out due to owner not sending final waiver. I stood at door with my family, luggage in hand and all, unable to access property after she confirmed that all "was ready to go" weeks before our arrival. Keep in mind that I had paid for property months before and she still refused to give us access after it was her mistake. Finally cleared up with her husband after getting "waivers" signed.

The property inside is pretty much as described. Comfortable and stocked with everything you need, including beach toys. Sprinkler systems come on at 5 am so be prepared. We requested owners adjust time but they never did. Back yard is disappointing as it's completely covered in mud.

The neighborhood is "transitional." That means that you should not walk anywhere at night. Parking is very limited and you will be forced to park illegally from time. Vacant home next door (opposite of main picture of house( with people going in and out at night.

Overall it's a fair value but my regret was not searching harder. Oh well, live and learn.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been in business for nearly 5 years and have rented to 1000s of guests and this is the first 2 star review we have received. Unfortunately, this guest was challenging from the very beginning. After 6 attempts to receive a signed rental agreement, including a message notifying him that we cannot give him access to the home until receipt, he still showed up EARLY and ignored our communications. We immediately gave him access the moment he arrived, and then got the signed contract. We have a responsibility to our owners to ensure the homes are protected. We had no choice since he ignored all our requests. Once he arrived, he found things to his dissatisfaction, however, as you can see from all our reviews, guests love our homes. We just hosted a gentleman and his family for their 3rd stay at this specific home. The neighbors next door are remodeling, so yes, its vacant and probably quite busy there. The neighborhood is VERY safe, however, if diversity concerns you, then we would suggest guests stay somewhere else. This neighborhood is home to many great young professionals and families, from all ethnicities..a wonderful group of people!!. We understand we will get a guest that we just cannot please, and we knew from the odd communications and refusal to sign our rental agreement, that we may have issues when Isreal arrived. We try out best to offer an exceptional experience to everyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

House was great, clean, and comfy.

  • 5 of 5

Our experience with Michelle was fantastic, the house was great. If I were being really really picky, I might be able to come up with something, but we were really pleased.

Michelle was really responsive to our questions leading up to our visit and we really appreciated having responsive communications! I really liked that they sent us a pre-arrival guide which had the answers to most of our questions. It was definitely nice to have it printed out when we arrived.

We really liked the large bath towels. We liked the sheets on the bed, they were very soft and comfy.

We were worried that parking would be an issue based on other people's comments, but we were able to park relatively close every time and it wasn't an issue.

The picture on the listing is a REALLY good picture of the house! Check out Google street view for another view of the house. We would gladly stay in this house again, but when we showed up late at night, we were a little suprised at how urban it appeared to be.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Anchorage, Alaska

The Definition Of Perfection

  • 5 of 5

Well, where do I start? I was headed down to San Diego for a weekend trip and I decided instead of using a typical hotel I would try something different. I've used HomeAway in the past so I know how reliable it can be, but only for international trips. Let me just say that I was glad I chose to use it again because this place was everything we wanted! Booking was easy through this website and the owner Michelle was in constant contact throughout our stay.

This is a two bedroom/1.5 bathroom house with an amazing location. It's seconds away from the Highway 5 entrance which was able to get us around San Diego within minutes. I cannot emphasize how important this fact is. We drove in from Las Vegas and arrived roughly 30 minutes before check in time. The lock is timed for use during your stay so we weren't able to get into it when we arrived, but with a quick call to the owner she unlocked it early and allowed us in.

The pictures of this place, while accurate, really don't do it complete justice. This place is gorgeous! It's been very recently remodeled. Clean hardwood floors throughout, high ceilings, recessed lighting, cushy couches and beds, comfortable covers, washer/dryer and grill on site. This place really had it all. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the utensils you will need for your stay. There isn't a stove however there is a toaster oven that works perfectly fine. They did have an electric stove top that we used extensively.

I can go on and on about this place but the bottom line is this place is an A+ and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in sunny San Diego! It will definitely be the first place I look when I come down again.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Activity and Interests

Nearest Golf : Coronado Golf Course at 2.1 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Phil's BBQ at 5.1 Miles Nearest Beach : Mission Bay | Pacific Beach at 5.9 Miles

5 Min to the Zoo, Balboa Park, Museums, Sea World, Downtown


Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Manager
Updated: Oct 22, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


From the Owner

This charming home is located in San Diego's historic Sherman Heights neighborhood, and just underwent a complete remodel Reserve early for 5-Star Luxury at 1-Star Pricing. Read on for further details..

Property Type

  • house


  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board ...
  • Washing Machine


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...


  • zoo

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 0 sq. ft.


  • 1.5+


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 Queen


  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis


  • *great views of downtown from private patio, close to convention center. Cozy private deck and backyard, Brand New A/C System, Two Deluxe Comfort Beds, High End luxury finishes all around; Ideal location and great value!!

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car