check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

New Luxury Villa Close To Golden Circle, Panorama View, River Side


Property Details

Updated: Oct 20, 2016
New luxury Villa close to Golden Circle, panorama view, river side.

Berg-house is a new modern luxury house in south Iceland. It has a panorama view, with a stream running through the land. It is perfectly located, close to the golden circle. The house has four bedrooms, each with a king size bed and an extra bed in two of them. There are two large bathrooms, a big kitchen area and a spacious living room. Outdoor is a big playground, with a trampoline, football goal, 200 m2 terrace with a hot tub for 10 persons, a large grill (gas) and garden furnitures.

  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Speaks: english

10 Reviews

based on 10 traveler reviews

St. Louis, MO US

Great house and location

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house! It is spacious, in a great location and in a beautiful spot. It has everything you will need. We bundled up and took advantage of the great grill outside many evenings. The size allows you to get a little privacy when needed but has big enough spaces for everyone to gather. We had a few issues with hot water when we were there and never did quite figure out what we were doing wrong. But not a huge deal. We will always remember this trip, not least of all because my fiancé and I got engaged next to the big rock in the yard! Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we are glad you liked the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good House, average owners

  • 3 of 5

We started off badly with car problems and were delayed. When we phoned the owners about an hour's delay, they were not happy, and the irritation was quite evident from their side, even though I apologised. When we did arrive, the owners gave us a very rapid tour of the house, after I asked for it..they probably expected us to figure everything out ourselves. The TV and Dvd player did not work together, so we couldnt connect any devices to the TV or watch DVDs..

The owners had told us there were very few toiletries reality, there was enough hand wash and tissues to cover our stay. There were a lot of cooking items/groceries, which if we had been told, we wouldnt have bought..this after I had asked what was in the house..

That being said, the house is fantastic on all levels, and everything worked. Great privacy, playing space for kids, views, and a good place to explore south Iceland.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry, but we were just nervous because we were missing a flight. Best regards, Bergur and Audur
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, United States

Great house, very private, view

  • 5 of 5

Our family recently stayed at this house and were very happy with the experience. The house is private and has an efficient design. There are two bedrooms and a bathroom on each side of the house with a common area consisting of a living room, dining room, kitchen and laundry in the center. One of the best things about the house however is the view from the front window. And if you have kids, there is a spacious yard in the front.

Even though we visited in the Spring, we experienced significant snow so unless you are going in the Summer, a 4 wheel drive is HIGHLY recommended.

The house is about 1/2 way around the Golden Circle so you have relatively short drives to interesting sites. It is however one hour, 20 minutes from the Blue Lagoon but the drive (especially by the ocean) was pleasant.

For restaurants, we most liked Grimsborgir Restaurant which is very close (about a 3 minute drive and open for breakfast 8-10 and dinner 6PM -) and Red House, or Rauda Husid ( which had very good food and a more fine-dining feel to it (they also had a children's menu which isn't as common in Iceland). The Rauda Husid is approximately 20 minutes away and near the ocean.

One thing that many people overlook is that there is a geothermal power plant that you can visit. It's on the way to the airport, and just outside of Reykjavik. You can get a tour and since we visited during a snow storm, we had a private tour that was well worth the trip. The people working at the plant could not have been nicer or more helpful.

A few things to be aware of:

- No apparently way to turn off exterior lights – makes it hard to see Northern Lights from inside

- TV has very few working channels. This was actually good for my family!

- Good WiFi in common areas.

- The gate to the community where the house is is sometimes locked and you have to get out of your car and lock, then relock it. Not a big deal so mainly an fyi

- Recommend stopping by grocery store on the way to the house so you have supplies and can truly start the relaxation process.

- Some tours, (such as the Super Jeep) that we booked will pick you up at the house rather than having to drive into the city. This saved almost 2 hours and let us avoid driving on certain tours altogether.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Best holiday we have ever had!

  • 5 of 5

Went as part of a group of nine people and we had an amazing time. The property is beautiful and we couldn't recommend it more. We saw the Northern Lights pretty much every night from the hot tub which stayed between 30 and 37 degrees even though it was -15 outside some nights! We preferred the hot tub to the blue lagoon. The owners are very friendly, helpful and very flexible with arrival / departure times. We'd advise hiring a 4x4 if you are travelling during winter months as the roads around the property can be quite difficult to get the cars along. It took us around 60 minutes to drive to Reykjavik due to the snow, but what a fantastic drive. The scenery is just beautiful. The property is also very secluded which we wanted as a group of 20 somethings! We would love to go back in the future as we had such a fantastic time. Thank you for the best holiday we have ever had - we are all missing our time in Iceland already!

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Absolutely perfect for 3 generations!

  • 5 of 5

This house was amazing, period! It is so private and quiet with no neighbors around, and the all glass provides stunning views. The layout of the house was fantastic as the bedrooms are away from the living area which is perfect for entertaining because it is wide open. The beds were a little too comfortable and the floors were heated. We had great weather and the kids ages 9-13 spent most of the day on the trampoline and the video games in the annex kept them entertained while the adults winded down in the hot tub with amazing sunsets. My mother even said she had a better time in the hot tub than at the Blue Lagoon! We grilled and cooked and had almost everything we needed. There is even 2 fridges. The back gets the sun in the morning and the front in the evening, The grocery store is about a 20 minute drive. We had our parents 50th wedding anniversary at the hotel Grimsborg at the bottom of the hill, which was amazing! Day trips were good 1 hour to 1 1/2 hour to all the places we wanted to see. We had nice walks around the property and for our group of 11, made up of grandparents, children and grandchildren it was perfect. The owners were great too. Would love to go back some day!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jennifer for your review. Good to hear you had a great time and liked the house and we love the comment about the hot tub. Audur and Bergur
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

A magnificent setting!

  • 5 of 5

Getting there was half the's a fairly short drive from the city but full of sights to see. The renting process was professional but very friendly...Audur made things quite easy for us. Traveling as a group of 8 adults (4 couples), we were looking for both comfort and privacy - the house delivered on both! ...and the hot tub was wonderful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to anyone who wants a quiet setting with a beautiful view. The house is very well organized with everything you need to cook dinners, BBQ, etc. It is well maintained and very clean. The drive is very easy...takes about 40 minutes to get downtown...there was never any traffic to speak of. All in all...a great place!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, great to hear that the house meet your expectation.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Rauda Kaffihusid Cafe & Bistro
Hafid Blaa
"Beware of the waves they can be very dangerous "
Thingvellir (Þingvellir) National Park
"20 minutes walk from Hveragerði is a hot river."
Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon
Grimsborgir Restaurant
Kerid Crater
Eldsto Art Cafe and Bistro
Fridheimar Farm
Thorbergur Centre Restaurant

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Keflavík at 100 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Ondverdanes and Kidjaberg at 7 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : Grímsborgir at 1 Kilometres Car: necessary

The house is located only 50 minutes drive from Reykjavik in a quiet area, with a small river few meters from the house and a panorama view. The house is close to the golden circle, Gullfoss, Geysir and the national park Tingvellir. 5 minutes from the house is a outdoor public swimming pool ( at Minni Borg) with jacuzzi and water slites and two good 18 holes golf courses. There is also a good nine hole golf course which you can play for free. ON the way to Minni Borg swimming pool you pass Kerid, a volcanic crater with lake in the Bottom. The closest village Selfoss is approx. 15 min. driving with all service needed. Eyjafjallajökull is one hour by car.

Berg house is close to Thingvellir, one of the most beautiful place in Iceland. In 2004 Thingvellir was officially added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List. Thingvellir is not only a natural shrine of outstanding natural beauty, but also a place with a history. Althingi (Parliament) was founded in Thingvellir in 930 and continued to assemble every summer until 1798. Althingi was to regulate common affairs of the country, pass common laws, and arbitrate the disputes between the local areas and decide judicially regarding killings and lawlessness. Prior to the formation of this Althingi each area of the country had its own local thing (governing general assembly) headed by the local godi, the chieftain.

For 868 years every summer, chieftains, farmers who owned land and ordinary men and women from all parts of Iceland left their homes and villages and headed towards Thingvellir for the annual fortnight long meeting which would start on the first Thursday in the eleventh week of each summer. For people coming from the east part of Iceland, the trip on horseback could take up to 17 days.

At Logrétta (Law Council) the Godar, the all powerful local chieftains and bishops gathered to debate and pass new laws and amend old ones. Then the Law-Speaker (lögsögumaður), the president of Lögrétta would stand on a nearby tall cliff, the Law Rock (Lögberg) in Almannagjá and recite the laws from memory. The high lava flank of the fissure behind him gave good accoustics which gave resonace to his voice. His words were recited by other speakers standing on farther cliffs to reach the entire audience.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 20 2016 - Dec 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
Summer high
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
Summer high
Jun 1 2018 - Aug 31 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Min. stay 7 nights

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Manager
Updated: Oct 20, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • house


  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Location Type

  • Lake View
  • Mountain View


  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • horseback riding

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 200 m²


  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, shower
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower
  • The house has two bathrooms with wc and shower.


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king, Bedroom 3 has one king
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 king, Bedroom 2 has one king
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 king, 1 twin/ single, Bedroom 4 has one king bed and one single bed
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king, 1 sleep sofa /futon, Bedroom one has one king size bed and one single bed


  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill


  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car