check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Secluded Log Home, Family & Pet Friendly, Perfect For A Private Getaway


Property Details

Updated: Oct 22, 2016
2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Log Home, Private Woodsy Setting

Secluded, private setting in mountains, 2 bedroom 2 bath log home with large 4-season sun porch, back deck with hot tub, sleeps 8. Family, pet friendly, also perfect for romantic getaway or girls' reunion time. Living room with cathedral ceiling, gas fireplace and TV with DVR and full channel service. Large master bedroom, has door leading to back deck and hot tub and grill. Computer desk with Wi-Fi. Full bath with tub and shower. Sunny front porch with fold-out sofa, and futon, also has bistro table to enjoy scenery, while relaxing having morning coffee or any other time of day. Board games for a quiet evening. Fully supplied kitchen, with dishwasher, microwave, toaster and coffee maker,and lovely marble breakfast bar, with stools, in addition to full size dining table. Please enjoy the complimentary fresh ground coffee that is there for you. Washer, dryer and all supplies in utility room. Three twin beds with shower bathroom in upstairs loft. Lots of room to hike, and the Edneyville area has so much to see. Many roadside stands, fresh apple cider, breads. Near Lake Lure, Chimney Rock for sightseeing, shopping, swimming, paddle boats, and Asheville with its cultural activities, diverse dining experiences, Biltmore Estate, Grove Park Inn. Also take a relaxing stroll on Main Street, Hendersonville with its quaint shops, museums, and court house, with an extensive display of military memorabilia. Nearby is Dupont Forest with its beautiful waterfalls and hiking trails, and wildlife center.

More Details
  • Sleeps 8
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks: english

29 Reviews

based on 29 traveler reviews


Lovely cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful cabin! We had such a great time. Our kids loved the loft bedrooms , the hot tub and the tree swing! It was close to many activities but a quiet place to return to after a full day. Thank you again!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely comment. We are glad you had a good time, and look forward to taking care of your vacation or get away plans in the future. Many regards Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty and insects

  • 2 of 5

Tom was helpful and suggested places to go and eat. The house was very dirty. The oven hadn't been cleaned in months, maybe years. A number of lights were out. We asked for a vacuum cleaner to try to get all the mess of the floor and the vacuum cleaner was so weak it took an hour and a half to sweep the house. Underneath all the chairs, couches and lamps, there was lots of dirt. The upstairs bathroom was open to the upstairs. All they need to do is hang a curtain up for privacy. There was a book to leave comments. All the comments were positive but there were a number of pages torn out so why bother. There was a wasp nest under the hot tub so we never went out except to grill a couple of times. We had 2 kittens with us and they were trying to eat the tiny insects. The house needs a good pest treatment. We went to some very nice places, especially Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Lake Lure was nice as was Chimney Rock. We had a nice time but the kitchen was poorly stocked. My wife had to cook trout with 2 forks. We bought some supplies and left 2 wine glasses there. Maybe 28 days was too long. It would be fine for a long weekend.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I know that your stay was 28 days. Usually the average stay is from a weekend to about a week. It is difficult for me to comprehend how the house could be as dirty as you describe, as every other review we have received over the last couple of years have all been positive. I never heard any complaints from you in all the time you were there, and if I had, any problems would have been taken care of immediately. We did have a wasp problem under the house at the time you were there, and it was difficult, but after a few attempts at trying to eradicate them, they are gone. The house is fully supplied, with dishes, utensils, glasses etc. and we even supply fresh coffee and coffee maker with spices, condiments for our guests to use. so it is really difficult to believe that you only had two forks with which to cook. We welcome constructive criticism, and we will be closing off the upstairs loft bathroom for privacy, however, most of what you stated was complaining, and if you had any problems, I wish you would have gotten in touch with me so I could have taken care of the problems while you were there, not after you left, but as I said, we never heard a word from you in the whole month you were there. We did, however, receive a call from the party that stayed after you, alerting me to the fact that they found insulin syringes and lancets that were left there, and the caretaker called me to let me know there were syringes in the garbage. We were unsure if one of you used these, or if one of the cats had diabetes and needed daily insulin. In any case, these are biohazardous, and they were not disposed of in a proper manner, in a biohazard sharps container as they are supposed to be. It is also hard to believe that just 8 days earlier, the guests that stayed before you mentioned nothing about the house not being supplied well, or that it was dirty, or that it looked like it had not been cleaned "in months, or even years". I am so sorry that you felt you had to use this public forum to list all of these complaints, especially since after you checked out, you wrote to me stating all went well and you had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ladybug Hill took on our large crew!

  • 5 of 5

We came to LH with 4 granddaughters, 2 daughters, and the 2 of us. The granddaughters really enjoyed the tree-swing! We enjoyed the house with its room and its seclusion. However, it also worked out as a good hub for sight-seeing.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Cynthia, It was a pleasure having every one of you visit Ladybug Hill and the beautiful Western NC mountains. I also enjoyed and appreciated our conversation by phone, and hope that we will get to see you and your family again. We took all your suggestions to heart, and know that you are really a person that cares ! Many fond regards, Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Morrill, ME

an Oasis in NC

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Chris and Tom -- as you know our trip to Ladybug Hill was a series of mishaps but from the moment we stepped into your house til the moment we left, we had only relaxation and peace we needed to rejuvenate. We did some business near Asheville and this was a really great location to travel to and from -- we always took a different path around and very much enjoyed the mountain roads and beauty that surrounds you! Chimney Rock was gorgeous! and Ingles grocery not far from LH was a great place to stock up. Their beer selection was a treat!

Thank you again for your kindness, hospitality, and serene space for us to settle in for a few days -- the Schachtners

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, and so very glad after all the difficulties you had getting there, you had some peace and quiet. Good luck to you in all your travels, and hope you consider taking time to stay at Ladybug Hill when you pass through the Western NC mountains again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful place in a beautiful, peaceful setting!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had a delightful experience at Ladybug Hill. Incredible setting, comfy beds; all perfect for cooking, walking, and talking into the night. Thank you for providing your airy but cozy home for our reunion weekend. Even the dogs were delighted with the space and had room to play. Thanks for being so pet friendly!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review, and so happy that your reunion turned out so well. Hope that you will have occasion to stay at Ladybug Hill again sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this cabin. Set away from the town, on the side of a mountain (at least I'm pretty sure it's a a Floridian it was a mountain :D). For our family size, we own a 12 passenger van and the driveway up to the cabin proved interesting with that beast. Haha! For any smaller vehicle, it's not an issue at all. We managed just fine though. The on site manager was a help to us by helping carrying suitcases inside and giving us a few tips on things in the cabin. The hot tub was a huge hit with our kids. :) We really enjoyed our stay!!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words, and we will look forward to having you as guests the next time you are in the beautiful Western North Carolina Mountains. It is a wonderful place for children to experience nature, and we are so glad that your family had a good time. Most sincerely, Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Asheville at 20 Miles Nearest Golf : many public golf courses within a half an hour at 13 Miles Nearest Motorway : I-26 at 11 Miles Nearest Restaurant : numerous within a half an hour at 10 Miles Car: necessary

Near Bat Cave, Chimney Rock, Lake Lure, Dupont Falls, Pisgah Forest, Biltmore Estate, Carl Sandburg Home, Flat Rock Playhouse. Areas of Hendersonville and Asheville, with shopping, great dining, cultural activities, sports.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning fee $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Weekly or longer stays may be negotiable during off weeks
Pet fee $100 (one time payment for entire stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Oct 22, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • house


  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub ...


  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • Downtown
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
  • Rural
  • Village


  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 1500 sq. ft.


  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower, main floor
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower, in loft


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 sleep sofa /futon, sleep sofa & futon on enclosed porch
  • Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single, 3 twin beds in loft
  • House has two full bedrooms. The room that is listed as bedroom 3 is a front enclosed porch with windows that has a fold out sofa that sleeps two, and a futon that sleeps another person. Accomodates 3 in this room


  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...


  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car