check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Kula Kottage: , Eco-friendly with a beautiful view


Property Details

Updated: Oct 7, 2016
Two bedrooms, One bathroom. Sleeps 6

Kula Kottage is an eco-friendly vacation cottage located Kula, Maui's premier bedroom community. Constructed from beautiful red and yellow cedars, cherry hardwood floors. 180 degree view of central Maui, including North and South shore.

Twenty minutes to the beach and twenty minutes to Haleakala National Park. 15-20 minutes to Kula and Makawao forest reserves.

Beds are natural latex, linens and towels are also natural fabrics. Furnishings are from re-cycled teak.

We are permitted and legal:

Permit No: BBMP 2016/0001

  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks: english

26 Reviews

based on 26 traveler reviews


beautiful house, incredible views

  • 5 of 5

We loved our time in the Kula Kottage. The house is beautiful, was very clean, and well stocked. The linens were fresh on the beds and there were plenty of towels. There's even laundry, which was great for us as this was the end of our vacation and we could go home with clean clothes! The views from the porch are stunning. I found the beds to be very comfortable, and in Kula the weather is a little more brisk, and you get a great breeze with the windows open throughout the house. There is a nice TV with a bluray/DVD which we used one night without any troubles. We didn't cook much, but found there to be plenty of pots/ pans/ pitchers to do the things we needed to do. We saw zero bugs in the house, which is incredible as it is in the jungle more or less! They recommend keeping all fresh produce in the fridge, which is what we did.

I would highly recommend renting this out. It's beautiful, comfortable, and affordable. Kula is a perfect location for activities- some of our highlights:

-sunrise bike tour at Haleakala (only 20 minutes from where the bike shop meets at 3 am- which was very nice to be close by!

-road to Hana (you can drive the entire way around, and end right in Kula)

-Surfing goat dairy- amazing goat cheese farm nearby

- Ocean organic vodka distillery- very cool tour, beautiful location

We also had some very tasty food in Kula:

-Kula Bistro- delicious and fresh pizza/ salads / etc (1.5 miles away-- perfect for take out!)

- Grandma's Coffee house

-Kula lodge

All in all- highly recommend, I'd like to come back!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent Property!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Kula Kottage. We've been coming to Maui and staying in Kula for 13 years. This is the best property we have ever stayed at. Kula is our favorite place to stay on Maui, although we also stay in Kaanapali and Paia, and I wish we'd found Kula Kottage years ago!

The cottage has beautiful, high-end finishes and appliances and was immaculately clean and maintained. The listing is accurate and the photos don't really do it justice in terms of the interior, exterior and views. Deb, the manager, responded immediately to every question. We highly recommend this property to anyone wishing to stay upcountry in a superior property.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent clean cute affordable upcountry option

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at Kula Kottage for 10 days in early June, we lived in Kula for a number of years so it was a nice homecoming. The cottage was great, well laid out, clean and well appointed, with nice view of the west Maui mountains and Ma'alea. The two bedrooms are on the back side of the house, upcountry always has some rooster and dog noise but sleeping was quiet. At this elevation ceiling fans were more than enough cooling, we never needed heaters but there are a few in the house for the winter nights and cold-blooded guests. Kitchen is new and fully functional, and we took advantage of good upcountry restaurant options on nights cooking wasn't inspiring. (Kula Bistro is close and excellent). Overall a great modest-sized option at a good price, the rental process was smooth. Recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Romantic get-a-way

  • 5 of 5

Kula Kottage is the best if you like to be away from the crowds and neighbors. It has a lot of privacy which my husband and I really like. I really liked the shower, it is roomy and great. This was our 25th anniversary trip and treated it like we were newlyweds so the privacy was great! We weren't that far from anyplace we wanted to go and traveled all the roads. Up country is a little cooler than the beach places but didn't bother us. It was clean and well-maintained and Debra is a gem, brought us a battery charger when our car didn't start one morning. I highly recommend this cottage.

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: i am so happy you enjoyed your anniversary surprise visit to Maui. Come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Moscow, ID

Perfect for our first trip to Maui

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented this Kula Cottage for 4 nights on our recent, first trip to Maui. We found the cottage to be very clean and contain everything we needed. It could easily accommodate another couple of guests as there was one bedroom that we did not use. The views were spectacular and it was a great base to all the activities that we chose to do including visiting the volcano twice (trying to find the perfect weather to hike across it) and kayaking at Makawena Landing. If you like to be away from the "maddening crowds", as we do, Kula Cottage will work very well for you.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Stay on Maui

  • 4 of 5

All went well until the last day, when we somehow inadvertently put in the wrong date of departure. We don't know whose mistake this was, as our flight out was booked on the proper day. The owner was downright rude, and intimated that we were trying to pull something, and offered no help in our quandary, except for an expensive extra night option with double cleaning fees. In fact, it seemed he couldn't wait to get rid of us. We spent that night in a very expensive hotel.

Other than that, the house was fine except the beds were too small for two people. I would have highly recommended this place except for this misunderstanding which we feel was very poorly handled.

Any one who rents this property should deal with Jeremy and steer clear of Ben.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First let me apologies for any miscommunication. The records indicate that you intended to checkout on the 2nd and didn't until 4pm, we had others checking in a that time. The checkout time was 11:00 am. because people checking in we're friends, the offered to spend their 1st nite in the main house, so you could stay an extra nite. My offer to you was to pay the rate for the extra nite, but you would have to pay a 2nd cleaning fee. Keep in mind the maid had already started cleaning before your return and we paid her three hours overtime. Again I am sorry for the miscommunication. Aloha Ben
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3


Activity and Interests

Upcountry Maui is Maui's premier bedroom community. It overlooks the isthmus of the island with views of both north and south shores. Upcountry consists of the communities of Makawao, Kula, Keokea, and Pukalani. Above Makawao, we have the forest reserve and to the west, we have Kula forest reserve. Our temperture is moderate. Hiking, and biking in the forest or Haleakala National Park. And much more.

Other Activities: Zip lines


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Sep 17 2015 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Email Owner
Updated: Oct 7, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • cottage

Accommodation Type

  • Guest House


  • Romantic


  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet


  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television

Onsite Services

  • Housekeeper


  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • Mountain
  • Ocean View
  • Rural


  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 800 sq. ft.


  • Main Bath - toilet, shower
  • Our bathroom sports a very large walk-in shower. It has hand held shower plus multiple jets for an wonderful experience.


  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Guest - 1 double
  • Living Room Sleeper - 1 queen, 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Main - 1 queen
  • Our bedrooms are furnished with recycled teak and Natural Latex beds from the Organic Mattress Company. Cool quiet luxury. The bed linens and towels are all natural fabrics.


  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs


  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car