check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand



Property Details

Updated: Jul 13, 2016
1 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, (NO SOFA SLEEPER)

The ''Mango'' house is located at a cool elevation and just 2 miles from kahaluu beach park for snorkeling and 10 minutes from Historic Kona Town! All the creature comforts are available in this very comfortable 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom gem. It is a triplex and my girlfriend and I live upstairs and we have the 1 bedroom and the studio on the first floor. We are very quiet and take pride of ownership for our guests.

We also have fruits and veggies when in season! Beach chairs, coolers,beach towels, 2 boogy boards, snorkel gear and flashlights for a volcano run are available here for you. Unit is 10 feet from your parking space and no stairs. One stair in unit and one stair from bedroom to patio.FREE INTERNET- We have either wireless or hardwire internet connections.

Please use a compact or midsize car for our parking space. Vans are not the best option....


No security deposit required from our guests. We rely on the HONOR system!

We have many activity brochures and a 'suggested best bets list' including beaches and restaurants to help you plan. Sip a cold one and watch the sunset out on the patio or use the bbq and enjoy... We have buffed this place out so you can experience the Aloha Spirit as we say in Hawaii!


The kitchen has plenty of counterspace, a microwave, oven, full size

refrigerator and all kinds of pots, pans and utencils which is a full

kitchen. Ocean view from kitchen too.

2, New 42' HDTVs are located in living room and master bedroom.


Soothing Ocean view from the kitchen, living room and master bedroom!

Living room has new couches and lounge pillows you will love as well.

The bathroom has marble counters, maple cabinets, with a tile shower along with a brand new 17in water saver toilet and tile floors.

Further Details: We have been on the big island for 30 years and chose sunset because of the perfect central location. We are easy going and care about all our friends wants and needs! We love to surf and play tennis-

NOTE: if this unit is booked we have another one roomed unit that is immaculate as well and has similar pricing!

It is homeaway # 3004616-check calendar, it is always updated.

The reason we bought this house was the location just 3 miles up from kona town and the ocean view. All of our neighbors share the 'Aloha Spirit!' with us and our guests...

This unit faces east/west and gets the daytime west winds and the cool nightime east winds for peaceful sleeping...-No A/C needed because of our 600 foot elevation...... 3 ceiling fans for ventilation anyway...Feel the natural breezes here! Usually it is sunny in the daytime and then towards sunset time we may get a nice, cool shower or two and then the next morning is usually nice and sunny....Kona weather is very comfortable-

We have a hot springs HOT TUB on the ocean side of the house so you can relax after a day of fun and see the ocean and a sunset too. Just steps from the unit. it is always at 97 degrees.

Located just 10 miles south of Kona airport and only a quick 3 miles to Kona town, our cool elevation cools your mind and body after a day of activities or anything you want to do in paradise! Prestigious neighborhood great for walking or hiking.


. DIRECTIONS to be provided upon booking.




Bookings canceled at least 60 days before the start of the stay will receive a 100% refund.

Bookings canceled at least 30 days before the start of the stay will receive 50%


More Details
  • Sleeps 2
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

We are from southern california and bulgaria! We love to share aloha with our guests and live happy in kona...

we love fishing, snorkeling and tennis!

Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

This 1 bedroom was a perfect location for me since I am doing work on my home here in kona. The unit has all the amenities a traveler would need including a flashlight and snorket gear-

Lots of brochures, etc.

I liked the large 42 inch vizeo hd tv too with premium movie channels and sports-The best value in kona in my opinion-

This place could be easily priced at $100 a night but it is much less...
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 1

67 Reviews

based on 67 traveler reviews


Great time at the Mango House

  • 4 of 5

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the Mango house. Surrounded by beautiful flowers and gorgeous sunset views, there was no better way to end a day of fun in the sun with a rejuvenating hot tub. With great service, reasonable pricing, and wonderful owners, who are extremely welcoming and hospitable, we can't wait to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Base Camp and More!

  • 5 of 5

Mark and I stayed here recently and had a wonderful time. The hosts are lovely people whom are there to accommodate your needs while being somewhat invisible at the same time. They are quiet and keep a low profile.

Their place is centrally located and makes a good base camp for day trips. You can rest assured you will be returning to a comfortable place with a kitchen for the culinary vacationer(s). There are reasonably priced restaurants in the area, including Splashers Grill.

Having morning coffee outside is peaceful, quiet and visually rewarding. Lots of birds, even sand grouse, accompany you.

The grounds are kept up nicely and pride of ownership is readily apparent.

Having the snorkel gear and beach chairs is nice. You can grab them and head out to find your perfect beach.

Yes, we would most certainly return.

Mark and Kim

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent accomodations and hosts!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time in Kona while staying in this 1 bedroom unit. Hosts Henry and Marusya had it immaculately clean, and stocked with all the amenities needed for our vacation on the Big Island. Everything from snorkeling equipment and boogie boards, to ice cooler, beach chairs and umbrella, sunscreen, and even bug repellent (which we didn't need, fortunately). The unit is spacious and comfortably furnished, and there is access to a hot tub, a BBQ and washer/dryer. We were amazed at how quiet the neighborhood is at night even while being close to town and nearby beaches and restaurants. The unit overlook the sea and town from about 600 feet in elevation, so there are beautiful views of the sunset from the patio. Henry gave us some great suggestions on his favorite restaurants and on places to visit. Marusya was also a super host and lovely person. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing get-away!

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable and nice location. The hosts were very considerate of noise for their guests and very accommodating. We had a late arrival and late check-out because of our flights. Much nicer then staying at a hotel or busy resort. We enjoyed making our breakfast in and then packing our lunch for a day trip. We would return at the end of the day to enjoy the cool breeze and watch the sunset, then bar-bq dinner. Great neighbourhood for a walk, safe and friendly. Beach gear included and lots of friendly advise for where to go, beaches, restaurants etc. Make sure to check out Evolution Bakery if you are looking for wheat free baking and Bite Me fish market for fish tacos! Mahalo Henry and Marusya!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We arrived at Mango House to find a beautiful home away from home. With a sizeable bedroom, living room and bathroom, as well as a kitchen. Maps and activity books were also provided. The owners were very friendly and made recommendations. They were also kind enough to let us eat tangerines off their tree. I got injured at the beach and had to go to the hospital. Henry, the owner, met us and we followed him to the hospital. We spent a couple days in Volcano renting and it was nothing but a headache. Homeless our last day on the island, the lovely owners of Mango House let us watch our last sunset on their deck with a spectacular view. We were able to shower before heading home. Kind people. Beautiful house. Convenient location.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Pretty house - well maintained

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean and well kept and had a great balcony. Downtown is close, so it is an easy jaunt to restaurants and stores. The rental comes with off-the-street parking, which is nice.

I guess the only off-putting item is that the owner seemed a bit obsessed with the fear that we would break something. Every time we saw him, he asked if we had broken anything, which after a while made me feel a little paranoid about using anything in his house. If he is so concerned with breakage, I'd recommend getting unbreakable dishes and decorations.

Other than the breakage fear, the owners were very nice and we had a great stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marysusan for the great review! Since we do not ever ask for a security deposit from our guests, we rely on the honor system. Upon check out we make it really easy and ask if anything broke, usually glasses, and to make sure you put the key back on the hook. We appreciate the 5 stars! Henry and Musi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

We have lived all over Kona and this area is the nicest location in proximity to Kona (3 miles) plus 600 ft elevation, plus a great place for walks.....

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Kailua-Kona Airport at 10 Miles Nearest Barpub : Kona Brew Pub, Bongo Bens, Mai Tai Bar at 3 Miles Nearest Golf : Kona country club at 3 Miles Nearest Motorway : Queen Kaahumanu highway and Kuakini highway at 1 Miles Nearest Restaurant : many restaurants within 3 miles on and near ocean at 2 Miles Nearest Beach : Kahaluu Beach park at 3 Miles Car: necessary

Other Activities: Health/Beauty Spa, Parasailing, Diving, Racquetball, Miniature Golf, Shopping, Kayaking, Basketball Court


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

From 99/nt US Dollars-Rates based on 2 people-
extra guests more than 2 people are $50 per night, per guest-No exceptions/

No security deposit from our guests. We rely on the HONOR system!

1 parking space included/xtra guest $50 per nt PER GUEST-
13.25% hotel taxes and $100 cleaning fee added to rates
tat # 01616712-01


. Bookings canceled at least 60 days before the start of the stay will receive a 100%
refund. . Bookings canceled at least 30 days before the start of the stay will receive 50%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total estimated amount
Email Owner
Updated: Jul 13, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • bungalow


  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet


  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural


  • cinemas
  • marina
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Floor Area

  • 650 sq. ft.


  • Full 1 - toilet, shower
  • see pictures and video


  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King Bed


  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck


  • Guests provide their own meals

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website


  • Handicapped Accessible (may have limitations): email for details, Cell Phone: Bring your own cell phone-no phone, Ocean View: nice ocean view from the living room, bedroom or the outside patio....Gas/Electric BBQ Grill: located outside in central location, Premier Direct TV with 42 inch HDTV-Top of the line direct package with the maximum movies and sports and everything-coin operated washer and dryer. $1 to operate each.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car