Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 2-10. On Streetcar line.

Bedrooms 2
Space 139 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-10)

Nicknamed 'The Smile House' due to its unique front of the house that gives the appearance of a smiling face.

*****This House Will Be Exclusively Yours With Your Own Private Courtyard.*****

If this house is not available on your requested dates please see our other listing:

Vrbo #577066

This 1500 square foot historic home is located in the heart of the Marigny Triangle, only 3 blocks from the French Quarter and Bourbon St. And only 1 block from the music filled Frenchman St.

Please see reviews which all state pictures do not do the house justice!

The kitchen has custom made cabinets with marble counter tops and a unique pot sink. The kitchen is fully stocked with all your culinary needs to keep you busy during your vacation whether you are just looking to make a quick breakfast or if you are serving dinner for eight! Small courtyard in rear of house.

Enter the home into a sitting greeting room with 2 recliners and a daybed. Day bed has 2 TWIN size mattresses. Sitting room opens into main living room with oversized couch, 2 recliners, electric fireplace insert, 32' flat screen TV w DVD, Ipod dock w CD player. Beyond living room is the amazing updated eat in kitchen w table seating for 8, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, coffee maker,etc.. Off kitchen is laundry room, 2nd bedroom and bath. The bath features a just updated walk in shower stall. 2nd bedroom has 2 FULL size beds with linens.

Also off the entry sitting room is the master suite. Suite has its own living room with oversized couch and love seat, apartment size refrigerator, 32' TV w DVD, Ipod dock w CD player. Living room opens to master bedroom. The Master bedroom features a large armoire, QUEEN sized Tempur-Pedic bed w linens, desk, Chaise Lounge, 37' flat screen TV w DVD. Off the master bedroom is master bath including: Whirlpool Bathtub, separate shower w jets for 2.

ON DEMAND water heater. This means you will never run out of hot water no mater how many people are taking showers!

House features 12 foot high ceilings, original wide planked wooden floors, tile floors in kitchen and baths, tons of natural lighting, exposed brick chimneys, and much more.

The home is great for families and groups of all lifestyles. The neighborhood is friendly and accommodating to all, host to many local bars and restaurants for all tastes and styles. The home is non-smoking, but smoking is permitted outside in courtyard.

Keywords: House Mardi Gras French Quarter

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Jesse

I have searched for a second home in this neighborhood for several years. I feel that I have found the perfect location, central to everything you need, and the peacefulness of a safe residential neighborhood. I am extending my home to you when I am not there because it is too beautiful not to share.

Jesse purchased this house in 2011

Why Jesse chose Downtown

1 block form Frenchman street which has the best music and food to be found in New Orleans.

3 blocks from French Quarter.

Tons of amazing restaurants and shops within the surrounding blocks.

Safe and friendly residential neighborhood.

What makes this house unique

Historic home with all the right updates while keeping all the important vintage features.

12 foot ceilings and floor plan make for a very cozy yet open home.


Nearest Airport
15.37 Miles
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Iggy's at Marigny-Bywater
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.05 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Ruby Slipper at Marigny-Bywater
Car: not necessary


Faubourg Marigny House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 139 m²
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • ON DEMAND water heater. This means you will never run out of hot water no mater how many people are taking showers! Master bath has amazing whirlpool bathtub and stand alone oversized stone walk in shower. Second bath has claw foot tub with shower.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (1) In master bedroom. Tempurpedic. , Double Beds (2) 2 full sized beds in 2nd bedroom., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Daybed with 2 twin matresses. Can be pushed together or kept seperate.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(201 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 2-10. On Streetcar line.
average rating of 4.915423 based on 201 reviews

Great house, great location

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful, and in such a great location. Jesse was incredibly helpful, and responsive even when we thought a hurricane was going to make a direct hit on NOLA (ended up missing us). Awesome experience, and would definitely recommend!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

The house was wayyyy nicer than I expected. The master was amazing! It can fit 8 people but 6 "comfortably" the house is so close to everything. The owner was amazing. We Couldn't have picked a better house! I would def book this house again!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Comer back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Smile House Stay

  • 5 of 5

Sleeps 10 comfortably, easy walk to the French quarter and really affordable. I wouldn't have changed anything about our visit. Couldn't want much more from a lodging perspective. I recommend the Smile House.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Come back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house, perfect for a large group to stay! Great location! Overall pleased!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place, but non-functioning A/C made it a tough stay. Would not stay again.

  • 2 of 5

The interior of the house was really nice and well taken care of - as described. We went down as a bachelor party of 10 and did not struggle with only having 2 bathrooms, though your miles may vary depending on the group.

However, the biggest issue and flaw we had was lack of A/C while we were there. Our stay was 4 days in the middle of June, and we were without A/C for roughly 2 of those days. It was absolutely BRUTAL. 85+ degrees in the house made it unbelievably difficult to sleep, function, and have a good time. Upon our arrival (2pm Thursday), we tried to turn the A/C on, but were unsuccessful. We waited some time before reaching out to the owner to ensure that there was no way the A/C was working. Upon notifying the owner, we were told that he had reached out to his service tech, but it was probably too late in the day to have someone come out and fix the problem so we would have to wait until the morning. In the meantime, we were told to "go out and have a few drinks, and when we got back we wouldn't notice the heat anymore."

The service tech came the following morning (Friday), poked around for an hour or so, said our issue was fixed and went on his way. The A/C worked for less than 24 hours. Saturday afternoon we notified the owner once again that the A/C had stopped working, to which we were told that he had called another service tech that worked on the weekend about our issue, and that he was to come by the house between 5-6pm. However, it wasn't until after 7:30pm that anyone showed up. I was called at approximately 8pm by the technician to be told that he could not complete the work that evening, and would need to come back the following morning (Sunday) at 8am to take care of the A/C unit. Promptly at 8am, he showed up and worked for the following 4 hours to get our A/C up and running. Thankfully, he got the job done, and we had A/C for the remainder of our stay. Our check-out was Monday at 10am.

We were given a refund of 1/25th of our total spent for our inconvenience - hardly worth it for the time we spent there without proper A/C that we PAID for. I would never recommend this house to any group that was going to the area during a hot time of year. Yes, the location is convenient and the house is furnished nicely, but I would trade both of those things to get a proper night's sleep and to not have to stay around the house babysitting service techs to make sure our belongings weren't stolen.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly sometimes things are out of our control. As the guest stated, as soon as they contacted me I got on the phone to get a service guy there for the AC issue. Unfortunately as guest said it took about a day and a half for the issue to get fully resolved. I am sorry they felt short handed in this experience. I did everything I could including paying both holiday and weekend rates (Father's day weekend) to resolve the problem. Many owners would have waited until Monday to save money. This was an isolated situation of dissatisfaction which the rest of my 5 STAR reviews will show.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Review: Wow! What a time. Amazing property with more character than we knew could exist. We were here for a bachelor party-9 of us-and had more than enough room for everybody. We all agreed it was the best weekend of our lives. Jesse was so flexible with both check in and check out times to accommodate our flight plans.


- Iggys bar. Go here as soon as you can and introduce yourself to all the bartenders and local regulars- they are so friendly and hilarious. It is open 24 hours, yes you read that right, 24 hours!? Recommended for either daytime drinking or your last drink of the night. Within 30 minutes of being there the first time we met LuLu who is the sweetest southern lady. She offered to cook all of us a brunch on Sunday and asked for only $80-we were slightly worried we wouldn't see her again, but she was so nice we gave it a go. Sure enough on Sunday morning knock at the door and it's Lulu who has premade a ridiculous amount of amazing southern home cooking-everything from chicken wings to crab cakes to fried shrimp, gumbo and bread pudding. She gives everybody hugs wishes us best of luck and heads back over to her spot at the bar at Iggys. Now we all understand the meaning of Southern hospitality!

-EVERYWHERE on Frenchmen Street which is about 5 minute walk from the Smile House. We spent one night on bourbon, but instantly realized that Frenchmen is where you want to be. Phenomenal live music in every single restaurant and bar on the street! Our favorites were Spotted Cat, Apple Barrel, and 30/90 bar.

There came a point that we spent all our money on drinks and tipping the great musicians-so we just went and bought cheap beers and walked around and danced to the live bands playing on the street.

Jesse thanks again. We are jealous we don't own this gem of a house. Hope to come back as soon as our wallets have recovered.

Nola Bachelor Party 2017!!!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Could't ask for a better review. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Insurance $49
Cleaning Fee $99

CANCELLATIONS - A thirty (30) day notice is required for cancellation, and 60 days for festival bookings. Cancellations that are made more than thirty (30) days prior to the arrival date will incur a $149. Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay, that are made within 30 days of the arrival date, forfeit entire amount paid. Early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.