Rare 2-story Condo, 1 Bedroom, 2 full Baths, Sleeps 6
David & Marilyn
About David & Marilyn
Hello Future Guest, We have been in the rental business since 1985. We have rentals in the Disney World and Hollywood Beach, Florida areas. We also have great discounts on rental cars. “Among America's Best Beach Boardwalks Nestled between Fort Lauderdale and Miami is Hollywood, a classic Florida beach-town that's enchanted visitors since the 1920s. Hollywood Beach features a one-of-a-kind oceanfront promenade called the Hollywood Beach Broadwalk that stretches nearly two and a half miles along the Atlantic. Named one of America's Best Beach Boardwalks by Travel + Leisure magazine, this brick-paved thoroughfare is a haven for joggers, bicyclists, roller-bladers and all who'd prefer to take in the action from the comfort of one of the countless eateries and cafés along the way. The easy ocean access and village-like feel make this a can't miss destination with numerous highly-rated restaurants, small inns and hotels right on the broadwalk adding to its yesteryear charm. Family dining becomes stress-free, as Moms and Dads kick back to enjoy a seaside meal while their little ones entertain themselves in the sand just steps away. Two broadwalk parks attract kids of all ages to play paddleball at the historic Garfield Street courts or cool off in the whimsical dolphin play fountain. Locals rave about Josh's Organic Market which sets up shop on the south end of the Hollywood Broadwalk every weekend selling garden fresh produce and blending a variety of mouth-watering exotic, tropical smoothies from its seaside stand.” Thank you and enjoy! David & Marilyn
David & Marilyn purchased this Townhome in 2010
Why David & Marilyn chose Hollywood
One of the best locations on the boardwalk! Everything is walking distance, lots of Shops, Restaurants, Bike rentals, Trolley, Water Taxi and tours, and the Beautiful Beach that goes on for miles!
Pool / Spa
Children allowed - Cribs are available. Cribs are available.
Max guests: 6 (sleeps up to 6 adults)
Minimum age of primary renter: 25
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Damage and incidentals
You will be responsible for any damage to the rental property caused by you or your party during your stay.
The place was filthy smelled of mold we never stayed there . We were very disappointed
In the listing it talked it up as a beautiful place it was filthy but smelly extremely moldy everything was nothing like the ad said. We did not stay there it was so bad.
Hello, we strive at great lengths to make sure our guests are happy and that our rooms are professionally cleaned and sanitized by a cleaning professional. You gave me 1 star because you were mad about the refund which is not fair to a property owner. All our pictures were taken by a professional realtor which are true and accurate so the statement you made about the condo not being like the pictures in the listing is not a true statement. Thank you!
Hollywood Beach Hotel is very run down & in disrepair
Overall the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel/motel/VRBO. The hotel property is in disrepair. The lobby is shabby. Homeless can walk onto the premises as it has small stores along the beachfront walkway. There is a security desk by the elevators to stop people from going up but overall the building is very run down. Sure the entire property is not the fault of the VRBO owner but we asked for a refund and got stuck with day rental and cleaning fee because we paid in advance, signed a rental contract. when we arrived and located the room after coming up 7 stories the elevator said 4... We stepped off into a dim lit hallway that reminded me of a horror movie and smelled of smoke and some strange must. The room also had a sweet yet musty smell so strong that we couldn't stand it so we turned off AC, opened windows, grabbed a couple of the towels and headed to pool. Security stopped us because we didn't have shirts and shoes on. We went back up to the room to fix that then headed to pool again. Finally located it outside and across a patio courtyard that open to the general public. Directions to it are not well marked. Found we needed a key & front desk charged for it! Went to pool and it was cold. Spa/Jacuzzi was cool as well and both had debris. As we were trying to swim, a maintenance person came and poured something (I assume chemicals) into the pool and jacuzzi WHILE we were in it making us uncomfortable at being in it so we crossed the walkway to the beach. The beach and boardwalk behind the hotel on the beach side was fine. To one side was very clean and enjoyable. To the other was more and more run down with the Hollywood Beach Hotel being right at the edge of acceptable. We returned to the room and it still smelled musty and strange. The upstairs bedroom door opened to a hallway that was even more dimly lit than the one leading to the room. The door opened/was held closed by simply a deadbolt that looked to have been broken into and repaired. The ceiling outside the door had a 1 ft x 6-8 inch black mold looking spot that was dripping water to the floor; likely the cause of the horrible smell the room had. We called VRBO to tell them we'd like to refund and cancel the stay. They said we had to work with the owner. The owner charged us the full cleaning fee & a day rental. We did not stay and were overall very unhappy but at least they refunded part of the cost. I will NEVER rent VRBO / HomeAway again.
Hello Cathy, we strive at great lengths to make sure our guests are happy and that our rooms are professionally cleaned and sanitized by a cleaning professional. You gave me 1 star because you were mad about the refund which is not fair to a property owner. :-( HomeAway told you and myself that if they were in my shoes, they would have given you $0 refund, but since I am so kind, I only charged you for the 1 day you were there. HomeAway said that I went above and beyond to give you any type of refund and you can care less on how nice and giving I was to you, that is really Sad!! Th You said there are certain people coming into the mall, well, it is a public place with a coffee shop, small stores as what you stated and liked, and bike rental so anyone can come in to look and buy things, and when certain people come in, they are professionally escorted out by OUR 24/hr security guards if they do not meet the residence guidelines.
You do not even have 24 hr security guards at some of the very expensive hotels! They even caught You guys not following the rule of "No shoes, No shirt" and they enforced the rules with you and told you to go back up stairs and put on some cloths and flops! You say the lobby and The resort is old in disrepair, when it is called the Historic Hollywood so it has some of the old beauty from the 1930's that I guess you did not like. I talked to you several times on the phone and told you about the building and some of the older decor and you said that the older decor does not bother you, but I guess you were wrong, IT DOES!! You wanted and demanded a full refund even after you checked in and stayed and dirtied up our unit and opened up the windows and left them OPENED!! What?? It states in the Rental Agreement and I told you a couple of times on the phone not to leave the windows opened because of the 100% humid air from the Ocean comes into the unit and freezes up the AC coils making it not cool or makes it very difficult to cool and to remove the humidity and then the humid smell you will have in the condo, in which you caused and complained about. You totally disregarded that rule and left the unit windows wide opened and then complained about the humid smell so you should not have said it was our fault. Thank you!
Not Family Friendly- felt unsafe
Stayed in this condo for a full week. The building is old and mostly vacant. The condo units are rented out by the individual owners and some don't seem to care who they rent to. The hallway smelled of marijuana the entire week and security did nothing about it. Some units seemed to be having a party 24 hours a day for the whole week with various groups of people wandering the hallways. Doors to other condos on the floor were left unlocked and cracked open with questionable characters coming and going. My wife and children would not leave the condo by themselves after dark. The condo had one 2-person couch and one table with 2 chairs, so we had to trade off on who got a comfortable seat. The unit was generally clean but not to our standard so we vacuumed and wiped down surfaces ourselves after paying the costly cleaning fee and a second visit by the maid (who seemed disinterested in actually cleaning). I'd visit this location but wouldn't consider staying in this building again. This is no reflection on the owner. He seems like a nice guy that just bought into a sketchy building.
Sorry to hear that you thought the Historical Hollywood Beach was old, that is why it is call just that, Historical! I did tell you that over the phone when you booked. It has that historical flare about the resort that our guests told us that they just love! Not sure what you are talking about regarding the security guards because we get good reviews on their promptness to attending to all of our guests matters and/or concerns. I had told you to let me know if you have any problems with anything, and you never mentioned this to me. There are some condos that are not rented because the owners choose not to rent their own units out , which is a great thing because there are less people using the pool and facilities!! If you wanted to could have stayed at the new resort that is 4X the cost of our large 2 bath, 2 story condo, with a full size kitchen and a much larger pool. Please let me know if you have any other questions. Thank you for the great compliment about me!! David
Run down. Needs major updates.
We really didn't like it at all. In fact we only stayed half the time and decided to go elsewhere.
Hello Susan, so sorry to hear you think the hotel is run down. Everyone else that stays with us loves it because they understand that it is an Historic building with different architectural designs and that it was built rock solid back in 1927. They understand it is not designed like a brand new building but we have one of the largest lots and pools and beachfront on the whole Hollywood Beach boardwalk. The walls are made thick and solid and we never hear our next door neighbors. I wish you would have contacted me before writing a review without ever letting me know your feelings. Please give me a call to discuss. Thank you! David
So bad that I walked in and as I told my girls (my last spring break with my daughter in high school) and a long drive ... I will not stay here. One of the girls pulled back a bed spread and there was blood. I lost all of my money and from the grace of God the Beach Tower next door had room. Don't rent through this company or this condo. It has not been updated for at least 30 years and it a future disapointment. I am sorry for this bad review but you live on a great beach! UPDATE!
Hi Beth, sorry to hear you were disappointed. Our town home was updated a couple of years ago. Everyone that has stayed in our town home really likes it. You have to understand that this building was built in 1927. It is a historical building and people realize that it has an older architectural design and was not designed to look like the new type of designs that is why the hotel does not look updated. Please call me with any questions.
Thank you! David
Activity and Interests
Nearest Airport : Ft. Lauderdale International-FLL- at 5 Miles
Nearest Golf : Hollywood Beach Golf Resort at 0.25 Miles
Nearest Train : Tri-Rail/Amtrack at 5 Miles
Nearest Beach : Hollywood Beach
Car: Not needed
Hotels Directions from Ft. Lauderdale International Airport – depart on Terminal Drive and take ramp to Federal Highway South (U.S. 1 South) towards Dania Beach. Continue on to rotary (Youngs Circle) and head east on Hollywood Blvd. At the end of Hollywood Blvd. turn left onto A1A North. Make your first right onto Arizona Street and then take a quick right on to Ocean Blvd. Follow that around for 100 yards and turn right into the hotel entrance.
Hotel Directions from Miami International Airport – When you depart the airport take ramp to SR 826 East. Continue on SR 826 and exit onto I-95 North. Exit at Hollywood Blvd East. Proceed 2.9 miles and turn left onto A1A North. Take your first right on to Arizona Street and then take a quick right onto Ocean Blvd. Follow that around for 100 yards and turn right into the hotel entrance.
The Hollywood Beach Boardwalk has more than two miles of areas for walking, jogging, bicycling and rollerblading with a beautiful view of the sea. Shops, bars & restaurants line the Boardwalk. There is a wonderful organic market at the south end of the boardwalk every weekend that features garden fresh smoothies and produce. A trolley service runs Wednesdays, Thursdays & Sundays from 10am-10pm and Fridays & Saturdays 10am-11pm.
• 3.5 mile paved walking, jogging and biking path with eco-friendly
• 7 miles of beach
• 10 consecutive years as a Blue Wave Certified Clean Beach by the
Clean Beaches Council
• 2010 Travel + Leisure America's Best Beach Boardwalk
• 2009 Fodor Travel Guide 'Best Beach for Families'
• Dozens of restaurants and shops
• 3 oceanfront parks featuring playgrounds, paddleball courts, ping
pong tables, interactive water play fountain, picnic pavilions and
• Free outdoor concerts at the Hollywood Beach Theatre
TRAVEL TO HISTORIC HOLLYWOOD BEACH RESORT BY AIR
If you chose to fly to Hollywood Florida, the nearest major airport is Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL / KFLL). This airport has international and domestic flights and it is less than 10 minutes drive away from our hotel. Another major airport is Miami International Airport (MIA / KMIA). The airport is 22 miles from Hollywood, FL. Palm Beach International Airport (PBI / KPBI) has international and domestic flights from West Palm Beach, Florida and is 52 miles from Hollywood, FL.