Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Moe's Place Holiday Lodges And Tours San Ignacio Cayo, Catering / Self Catering

Bedrooms Studio
Space 310 sq ft
Property type lodge


About the property

Riverside Vacation Lodges Available With Mountain And Riverside Access


We have singles ,couples and group accommodation vacation riverside lodges available.

Free morning trips into San Ignacio town center in our truck when we collect our fresh fruit, vegetables, fresh meat, free range eggs and poultry.

We also organise daily adventure tours tailored to suit your requirements.

We have come a long way from when we first started out a year or so ago.

We have 4 fully furnished open planned lodges available.

We have a fully air conditioned vehicle available for airport pick up.

We also have constant running water and electric supply direct from the national grid. Including high pressure back up water tanks. In addition to Free internet access.

Each lodge has its own internal water supply.

Our 5 acre low cost vacation resort offers good value for money.

At Moe's Place we provide riverside lodge modern rental accommodation in a safe and secure Belizean and western managed environment.

The lodges are a minimum of 280 sq ft to 336 sq ft,

They are furnished with a open plan studio design

Kitchenette, soft furnishings, bed, dining area, off street parking and a daily laundry service and cleaning service.

Installed water and electrics from the national grid supplied as standard in all of our lodges.

Set in 5 lush acres and direct access to the emerald waters of the Mopan river where you can snorkel, swim and fish to your heart's delight.


There is an abundance of butterflies and exotic birds that visit Moe's Place, Humming birds, parrots, toucans and kiskadee's to name a few.

24 hours airport transit to Moe's place on arrival available, . and transit to the airport at the end of your stay.

Please inform us at anytime if you require this service.

Atm"s local banks, shops, cafes and restaurants close by,

Just 15 mins to San Ignacio Town center. Daily transportation to San Ignacio and beyond, plus an inexpensive public bus service runs regularly throughout the day.

Qualified massage therapist on site.

Ideal for holidaymakers who are looking for a safe secure, quiet and cost effective accommodation in Cayo Belize.

Moe's place in Cayo is geographically located to meet easy access to several historical Mayan sites of interest such as Xunantunich Mayan temples, Cahal Pech archaeological site Mayan ruins, El Pilar, the famous sink hole and much much more.

More Details

Property Manager
James and Thelma
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, Creole And Welsh
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 5, 2018

About James and Thelma

I would consider myself to be a Happy and fun loving person and enjoy travel and meeting people. I love cooking and entertaining.

James and Thelma purchased this lodge in 2012

Why James and Thelma chose San Ignacio

Low cost vacation rental accommodation, clean quiet pretty surroundings,

What makes this lodge unique

I chose Cayo because the views, climate and people are just fantastic


San Ignacio Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Building Type:
  • lodge
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 310 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Two shower rooms, ceramic hand basins and toilets on site - toilet , shower , The shower rooms are well maintained and cleaned regularly
    Shower room meets modern standards - toilet , shower , All shower rooms are cleaned at least 3 times a day
  • Designed to meet Modern day standards, studio open plan living
  • Studio, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , The Cabanas Are Open Planned The Bedroom Area Compliments
  • Extra beds supplied on request Designed to meet Modern day standards open planned studio living.
  • Books ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing


3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Moe's Place Holiday Lodges And Tours San Ignacio Cayo, Catering / Self Catering
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews
ma, ar

A place to call home.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent a little over a week here at Moe's. We liked the location, it was close enough to everything we wanted, but off the beaten path a bit. Our hosts had answers to all our questions about sightseeing, restaurants to local customs. The landscaping contained trees and shrubs many blooming with bright colorful flowers. Having our little cabin to come back to was always a welcome sight returning from our treks to ancient ruins, a trip to the local market, or even just exploring the town of San Ignacio. Thanks again James and Thelma. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Rick and Sammy how are you. It was a real pleasure hosting you and your wonderful wife. There can be no doubt you Rick and your absolutely delightful wife were very kind to us indeed. We certainly do miss you both to this very day. We felt very fortunate indeed that you chose to stay with us for the duration of your vacation, your such a wonderful and happy couple. We very much do hope that one day we will all meet again. We are of course glad that we have been of useful service, and glad that our little truck was of service to. Words can not describe how happy we are in getting to know you and your wife. Rick we will always be here for you mate. Please take the very best care of yourself. We and all the staff, are still missing both your presence at Moe's Place. Bless you Rick and your absolutely wonderful wife . From James and Thelma. Owners of Moe's Place
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Denver, Co

Not what was expected!

  • 1 of 5

Property description is leaving out some rather important details;

The so called shuttle they speak of is the back of his truck sitting on a spare tire. Which was never mentioned to me until we exited the airport and walked to "the shuttle". This made for a pleasurable 3 hr ride in the dark with it raining off and on. The one time we tried to use the ferry to get back from town the locals told us not to walk that way because it was not safe. This resulted in us taking a 25 minute cab ride that cost us $15US.

I never saw any place within 25min driving to get food.

The 5 acre property is nice however the cabins are on one one side and the bathroom is on the other. This means walking across 5 acres of possibly wet grass "with a hill and no steps" in the middle of the night to use the restroom.

On the last night he came knocking on our door and told us he wanted additional money because VRBO was charging incorrectly.

P.S. The Internet does not work in the cabins, only intermittently on his front porch. We also were kept up throughout the night by several barking dogs.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did indeed offer you a private transfer on the understanding that it was designed to save you some funds.We have checked our reply to you when you asked for a pickup from the Airport. It was in our reply to you that gave you the choice to seek either a shuttle service at the going national rate or indeed allow us to collect you at a significantly lower cost, meaning to cover the fuel used for picking you up, and something towards the wear and tear.To which you agreed. Had you wanted a shared shuttle service you could and indeed had the option to make alternative travel arrangements and paid significantly more. Unfortunately it was raining a matter that i have no control over due to the fact that it was an act of God. We have a truck with a spare tyre which is used for seating and a cushion. I did not hear you complain when you wanted a lift the following day in the same truck sitting on the same tyre. Other methods of transport was available to you, ie, car hire , local bus and taxi, speaking of which you chose none of them. The ferry you refer to is safe for travellers I know of no tourist being accosted and we take health and safety seriously. furthermore the rest rooms are 49 yards away from your cabin and not 5 acres away, there are no steep hills here either, wet grass only applies when there is dew or if it rains. Quite obviously we look to all holidaymakers to apply basic common pedestrian and road sense when travelling around unknown surroundings, like anywhere else. As i understand it the locals who advised you to be careful were just giving you some sound and intelligent tourist advice and were looking into your interest 'that is how the people are here, kind and friendly. I understand that you resent paying a nominal 15 dollars for your fare for two persons, and 25 mins to come through by road was also met with distaste.You did have the choice to arrive by bus for just 3 US Dollars for two persons but chose not to take this method of transport either. You were advised that a slight error was made in the cost of the booking, of which was waived. Dogs barking at night are also inherent countrywide in and out of town. As in all third world countries the internet often plays up. some days are better. We also note that you did not observe the supermarkets locally , Chinese eating houses, Spanish, and Creole bbq street vendors only 12 mins away walking from Moes Place, your lack of observation is beyond our control. We wish you well.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Awesome Cabanas Way off the Beaten Path

  • 5 of 5

Moe's Place was minimally difficult to find. It was new about a month open when we arrived. So no one knew what we were talking about when we entered the correct neighborhood. But it was a pretty quick solution as we continued down the road. I imagine this situation will disappear as the facilities are open for longer and the neighbors get to know them.

The property is beautiful! Very quiet. The cabana was clean and spacious. One room. Water was provided as was Christmas cake.

There was no running water and the toilet is located a small hike across the property, which is uncomfortable during the night hours. The shower is also located in the same place, which is less problematic for me. Bring a flashlight. The owners were an absolute joy! The internet was fast and reliable. We brought groceries, but breakfast is offered. We stayed one night and then moved closer into town as we were without a car.

Personally, I like to have a bathroom a little closer. It is a good idea to have a car for this property. We hiked a short mile to the river and took a river taxi across to the center of San Ignacio. We got a ride to the river and then a taxi driver picked up on the other side after a while. You could easily arrange to have a taxi pick you up. The river taxi replaces a bridge that was washed out a number of years ago. The ride was $.50/ person. It was exciting!

We loved this property!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Katie and family entered into the spirit of the time they had at Moes Place. We all enjoyed there company very much, and do hope to one day meet again. We found Katie and Family full of life and very adventurous, also very kind to us, sociable, helpful, tidy and respectful. A wonderful and very happy Family. and a great sense of humor, A great time had by all. Many thanks Katie. We wish you all the very best in all that you do, now and in the future. Thank you so much for your custom and taking the time to write a review.We are always in pursuit of constantly improving our customer holiday experience at Moes Place and will continue to make those improvements as an ongoing progression. We are proud of the charm of being in a safe and peaceful riverside location . and only a short distance from San Ignacio town Center. About 22 mins or so. I must stress that we do have constant running water , the confusion rest with my wife and i both thought that one of us had already pointed this out, constant available tap running water is at the side of the lodges. In the interest of good hygiene it is considered prudent to have the rest rooms / wc and bathrooms a short way away from the lodges. The grounds at Moes Place are constantly lit up with soft lighting right through the night. A car of course is always a major asset when on holiday, however our backpackers and lodge cabin guests that have stayed at Moes Place enjoy the charm of negotiating there holiday as pedestrians just the same along our beautiful country lane. We also do daily shuttles to san ignacio town center every morning and a pick up at night. For people who prefer to be close to the riverside, mayan temples and places of natural beauty as opposed to the pollution, congestion and hustle and bustle of the town center then Moes Place is geographically located to meet those preferences. We have several local shops nearby for groceries and eating out to. About 4 minutes by car from Moes Place. We offer an above average budget accommodation experience. Champagne good living at lemonade rates. All our lodges are clean tastefully decorated and have insulated sheetrock / plasterboard wall finishes with a good decorative finish including polished floors and soft furnishings. Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner is served on request. SELF CATERING BBQ IS AVAILABLE AT ALL TIMES TO.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Central Farm ( Tropic Air Airline )
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
Elvis Sports Bar
Nearest Ferry
100 Metres
Branch mouth
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Santa Familia Village
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Old Belize
Car: not necessary

We are sited on 5 lush acres on the Mopan riverside, accommodation at Moe's Place. We are a 10 minute walk from grocery stores in the village, gas station, cooked food can also be bought such as fried chicken, creole and Spanish dishes. A bus service also operates which stops on request right outside Moe's Place.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.