Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Book for a March vacation and receive two kayaks to use during your stay!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,220 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Bring your own boat! 1 block from the Bay. Pets considered.

Do you want to escape the big city and your busy lives? Well, you can step back in time and visit Port St. Joe where everyone is friendly and very welcoming. You can get back to basics of life and enjoy all that St. Joe has to offer.

This cozy cottage sits on two lots which is perfect for parking your boat, jet ski or other vacation toys. The cottage is situated only two blocks from the beautiful St. Joseph's Bay which is great for kayaking, fishing, scalloping, or just sightseeing. The beautiful sandy white beaches of the gulf are only 2.5 miles away. The home is fully equipped with all appliances, linens, dishes and towels. Nearby is a gorgeous riding/walking trail with two stocked ponds for catch and release fishing. The cottage offers 4 beach bikes to use during your stay.

More Details

Owner
Jaimee Underwood
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2018

About Jaimee Underwood

We purchased The Kiwi Cottage in May of 2016 because we love the Port St. Joe area. It is great for fishing, kyaking, bicycling, and enjoying an old fashioned vacation with family.

Jaimee Underwood purchased this cottage in 2016

Why Jaimee Underwood chose Port St. Joe

I have always loved Port St. Joe and Cape San Blas. It is a beautiful area. I love the beaches and the bay. Plus, I have fun at all the annual events in Port St. Joe. Check out the Upcoming Events in St. Joe.

Amenities

Port St. Joe Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1220 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No loud music or noises after 10 pm
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • One bathroom is handicap equipped.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Has flat screen TV in room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Has flat screen TV in room
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Has flat screen TV
  • Each bedroom is equipped with new flat screen TV's. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
PETS: *Pets will be considered based upon size and breed. $75/pet nonrefundable fee *You must pick up after your pet, so make sure to take doggy doo bags with you and your pet. *Pets must be on a leash at all times when not in the home. *******Leash Law: It is a requirement by Gulf County ordinance that all dogs be leashed

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
17% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Book for a March vacation and receive two kayaks to use during your stay!
average rating of 4.535714 based on 28 reviews
5

Beautiful cottage with huge yard!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage and huge yard were great accommodations. Extremely beautiful and comfortable master bed. Quiet and secluded location but only a short distance to the bay, Perfect yard if you have your boat with you. We really enjoyed it!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Clifford: I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you as our guests again in the future. We have several vacation rentals in the area if you want to check a different one out next time. Thanks, Jaimee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charleston, SC
5

Lovely week in a lovely cottage

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a week in Jaimee's cottage and loved it! It was super clean, bed was very comfortable, AC was spot on, and water pressure was great. Those are the 4 things we care about the most. After a fun day on the bay, it was a great place to come back to and relax. The kitchen is well stocked with updated appliances and the rest of the house's decor is lovely. There is a TiVo on the living room TV which was a great surprise. This cottage had everything we needed and more. We can't wait to return next summer. Thanks, Jaimee!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Brandy: Thanks so much for the nice review. I love that you had a lovely time at the cottage. We always strive to offer the best vacation experience possible. Thanks again, Jaimee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Concord, GA
5

Clean and accomadating

  • 5 of 5

No surprises, as advertised and the owner was very accommodating. Would recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great little cottage close to everything!

  • 5 of 5

Right next to town and the bay; quick drive out to the cape.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home like feel to the place! Comfy beds and blankets. Will stay here again next time I am in town.

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for 5 days/4 nights with seven of my friends and family for a fishing trip. The air conditioner froze up on our first night, I believe the people before us turned the system down too low on their last day. I texted Jaimee first thing in the morning and within 30 minutes someone was there checking it out. It was fixed before we even finished breakfast. We had no other issues with the house the remainder of our stay. Pots, pans, dishes, some cooking spices, and most importantly a programmable coffee pot were there for our use. Highly recommend!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Paul: Thanks for the great review. We hope you will vacation at one of our cottages again in the future. All of our rentals offer boat parking. Thanks again, Jaimee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Griffin, Georgia
1

Don't waste your time and money

  • 1 of 5

My now husband and I came down for July 4th. When we arrived, we noticed that the a/c wasn't cooling very well. After staying the night we called owner to explain that the a/c wasn't working good and seems to be running all day and night. The owner said they would come out to see what the problem was. While gone they said they came out to fix the problem, but it was still acting the same. My husband went out to check the outside unit and took a picture of it to show them it was frozen sold. I sent them the picture and got no response until the next day. Bottom line, they never fixed the a/c while we were there. They did offer us a free night stay but why would we stay another night with the a/c not cooling??? Please beware that they charge a pet deposit per pet. Their site doesn't state that nor were we told until they noticed we brought more than one dog. I got a rude text from the owner stating we needed to pay more for the pet deposit. I didn't mind paying for our pets but didn't like the surprise of extra money to be paid. Our dogs weigh less then 7 pounds each and are house broken. When we were not there they were in a crate. After that the owners sent a message saying they didn't like that our babies were in a crate all day?? Huh? It seems that the owners let themselves in while we weren't there a few times. I would never leave my dogs crated all day. We came in and out all through out the day to let them out. We even took them to the beach several times through out our stay. Please tell me why they think it was ok to come in and out while we were gone without notifying us?? One more thing to top off our stay is they sent the Tv guy 20 mins before notifying us out to fix the Tv's that we weren't watching so we had to wait on him before we could leave. Really? Don't waste your money and time renting from these people. Our trip to Port Saint Joe could've been so much better. Next time we will stay with family! On a good note, the house was clean but the bed in the master wasn't comfortable. After our stay we stripped the bed to wash the sheets and noticed the mattress was extremely dirty. Had I huge stain. I almost died knowing that was under us while sleeping. Note to owners "get a new mattress and use a waterproof mattress pad" spend the money and make sure your next guest enjoy their stay. I'm very disappointed. We won't be renting from these people again and we will let friends and family know all about our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We try very hard to make sure everyone who visits one of properties enjoys their time here in Port St. Joe. To address some of the comments made, first we do not enter the properties without first notifying our guests. In this case, we did contact you to let you know that we would be coming by to resolve the air conditioning problems. The technician told us that the problem has been solved. The fact that it was not, caused us to call a different company and they are working on it now. As far as the pets are concerned, we do not keep any pet fees collected. The cleaners charge us per pet for cleaning. If guests are dishonest about how many pets they have, the additional cleaning fee has to come from us. We did not realize that there were any stains on the bed and we are in the process of replacing that bed this week. We always strive to offer great customer service and continually improve our properties so that guests can have the best experience possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
59.4 Miles
Panama City
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130
Pet Fee $75
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $100

Check-in is at 3:00 pm
Check-out is at 10:00 am
No early check-in's allowed in June and July.

Pet fees - $75 nonrefundable pet fee for the first pet, $50 for each additional pet. Maximum of (3) pets.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.