check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Fabulous Cabin, Outdoor and Indoor Pools, 0.5 mi. to Parkway

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 21, 2016
2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms near Parkway & attractions, home of Baxter the Bear

Relax and enjoy 'Our Hiking Hideaway', a 3 level duplex cabin located at Big Bear Lodge & Resort. As our guest, you’ll enjoy all the amenities of the resort including free WiFi & Netflix, indoor and outdoor pools, game room, exercise room and conference room. Our cabin is private, yet conveniently located minutes away from Pigeon Forge attractions, restaurants and shopping. Drive 10 minutes further to experience Gatlinburg and the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

Baxter the Bear resides in the upper loft, much to the delight of our guests. While you're staying with us, please help us complete the story of Baxter's journey to Our Hiking Hideaway.

Features of the main level of our cabin include:

• living area with leather sofa, stone gas fireplace, flat screen TV with BlueRay DVD player, Netflix, stereo system with Ipod player, and dining area,

• fully equipped kitchen (including coffee-maker)

• large half bath,

• washer and dryer

• screened porch with four person hot tub.

Like to hike? We love to hike in the Smokies. The guidebooks located in the armoire on the main level are provided for our guests wishing to experience the magnificence of the Smokies through hiking. The guides describe location, distance, level of difficulty, and highlights of all 900 miles of trails within the National Park boundary. Note: this could keep you VERY busy!

On the upstairs level, you’ll find:

• a loft with love seat,

• Baxter the Bear (he's not fake),

• master bedroom with king bed, 2 dressers and TV,

• full bath with shower and tub

• outdoor balcony to enjoy the view.

The downstairs suite is perfect for kids or other couples. For the comfort of our guests staying in the suite, we offer:

• kitchenette with sink, coffee- maker, microwave and mini refrigerator,

• stone gas fireplace,

• flat screen TV,

• queen sleeper sofa,

• bedroom with queen bed and 2 dressers,

• full bathroom with shower and tub.

Note that the downstairs suite opens to a large deck with gas grill and outdoor table and chairs.

Welcome, and enjoy your stay!

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

We moved from Michigan to Knoxville in 1978 to attend the University of Tennessee. We immediately fell in love with East Tennessee so we stayed and raised our family here. We're so fortunate to live at the gateway to one of the country's most beautiful and popular national parks.

Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We absolutely loved the cabin - it was great. Had a great time in the mountains other than getting a little bruised from tubing down the river. The cabin was beautiful and our kids loved the bottom level - they basically had their own house down there. Thanks again and we will rent from you next time we visit the Smokey’s!
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 7

68 Reviews

4.5
based on 68 traveler reviews

Upper Sandusky, OH
4

Great cabin at a fantastic price

  • 4 of 5

This cabin was perfect for our family of 4 vacation. Very roomy & clean. The kids had their own little "apartment" in the basement, which was really nice. The master bedroom was literally THE most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, I'll be missing that for sure! It's located right in the hart of Pigeon Forge, so depending on what you're looking for, that may be a pro or a con. I've stayed at more secluded places, which were nice for a romantic vacation, but we had the kiddos with us, so this was just fine. Short drive to all the action. Very close to the outlet mall, Wonderworks & The Island area. Easily walkable. The indoor & outdoor pools were decent & the hot tub in the cabin was very nice. Our stay was wonderful & I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was like living in a dream!

  • 5 of 5

It was like living in heaven! Beautiful place. Hottub inside and out. Indoor and outdoor pool. Fresh air. Quiet. Clean and cool for the hot nights. Wow. It is better than home! Decorated nice too!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and you can't beat the location!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived to a clean, spacious and well stocked home. The location was practically walking distance into Pigeon Forge where there was all the shopping, shows and restaurants you could ask for. The floor plan was perfect for all; the kids had their own space downstairs with sleeping quarters, tv, bath and mini kitchen, we had ours upstairs in the master bedroom with our own tv, then at meal time we all met on the middle floor (when we didn't eat out)to dine or watch movies, so the kids loved that arrangement! The beds were heavenly after a day of walking around Dollywood, and the hot tub was so soothing in those evenings. The cabin was so close to town yet so peaceful and quiet it was hard to believe we were so close to the Parkway. We had questions about hiking trails and Kristin was available to answer them the first time we called, she was very polite and helpful.

Both indoor and outdoor pools were steps away from our cabin! All around we had a fabulous stay! Location, location, location, reasonably priced and well worth the money. We come to Pigeon Forge several times a year and have never had such a conveniently located cabin before, so this one is definitely our new home in the Smokies! Would recommend this place to everyone! Give the cleaning staff a round of applause and thank you for your hospitality, 5 stars!

Kathryne, Chris, Katie, Bill and Evlyn

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, Comfortable & Convenient!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay for a quick trip to Pigeon Forge. Was a little concerned after reading a couple of negative reviews but the owners assured us that measures had been taken to resolve those. As noted, the cabin was clean, comfortable and very convenient. We loved the layout and it really worked well for our family. The beds seemed just fine for us - I guess everyone has their own preference on beds! The location is so convenient to everything but once you get back to the cabin it seems like you are miles away from all the noise and action. We love going to the Island and Dollywood and this was a great quick trip for us. Thanks for letting us enjoy you cabin!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

BEWARE!

  • 1 of 5

There are 2 huge problems with this cabin, the rude cleaning lady and the owners. I won't even address the dirty floors, dusty walls, cobwebs in bathroom or the filthy & broken gas grill. Check in was 3, we arrived around 3:10. Cleaning lady was there and acted disgusted with our presence. She rudely told us we were not supposed to be there until 4. We left and came back after she was gone. The day we checked out we got vague email from owners stating items were reported missing and they were doing inventory. I asked multiple times for them to explain & they continued to avoid giving me any specific details. In statement email that they were keeping deposit it stated because of items taken..linens, paper towels, toilet paper & shampoo and to change locks (still haven't figured that out).  I told them repeatedly we DID NOT take anything yet their reply was basically they believe the cleaning lady over us. When we arrived there was less than 1/3 rolls of toilet paper in all the bathrooms and even less than that left of a roll of paper towels. There is what I'm assuming (since they refuse to explain) what they are referring to as the "owners closet" in the tiny living room that was UNLOCKED with toilet paper in it.There was nothing stating these items were off limits. Normal people would lock areas they didnt want accessible.  I did replace the 3 rolls from here, left what we didn't use, who takes toilet paper?? I replaced the paper towels with a roll that I brought from home and I did take that with me when we left. As far as linens, we left everything we used and did not remove any from the cabin. I had even brought extra linen so I definitely did not need nor want theirs. They have the tiny little shampoo, soap, lotions, etc in bathrooms like most all places do. It's universally known those are to be used and we did. Yet these people, who have gone on the word of an obviously unhappy individual, are stealing my deposit for us using $5 worth of items. I have NEVER been accused of stealing anything before nor have I stolen anything. I have been coming to cabins in this area for many years and never had a problem.  Obviously the owners are sticking to their accusations that we took items but I KNOW we did not. Enjoy my money that you kept, I regret every dime we spent for this cabin.  We will definitely be staying at better accommodations in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that there was initial miscommunication on the check in time, we changed cleaning services 6 months ago and our welcome letter did not get updated to reflect the 4 pm check-in time. Apparently the guests arrived while the cleaning was being done and after a long day there must have been some words exchanged. After the guests left we got a message from our cleaning crew saying that the owners closet had been broken into and cleaned out. We replied back to confirm that the items missing were not from a previous guest and our cleaner said she was positive since she knew what she had in the closet. We informed the guest that we had a situation where our owners closet was broken into and we would be checking to see what the damages were. We got a reply saying that they only took toilet paper, soap & lotion. We went back to the cleaner and they reported that when they opened the closet it was bare and they took items not belonging to them. We ended up buying king and queen sheet sets, shampoo, toilet paper and paper towels to replace the missing items. We have no reason to not believe our cleaning crew and asked multiple times if they were sure of the situation. We have never kept a damage deposit from a guest in the past so this was a big deal to us and we wanted to be sure before we did that. Unfortunately, this guest accessed our private owners closet, took items not belonging to them and lost their damage deposit. We certainly regret the entire situation and would not rent to this guest again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

In need of repair

  • 1 of 5

The washer (Dial just spun, you couldn't tell what cycle you were on, then didn't always spin and drain clothes) and dryer (it ran but didn't dry) they didn't work properly. The sleeper sofas were broken, one didn't work at all the other would go back in so it had to stay open and in the way all the time. The mattress in the master bedroom is so worn out it was hard to sleep on. There were huge indents were others slept and I mean big. The mattress needs to be replaced before anyone else stays there. The teflon is all scratched and in some places scraped off on pots and pans so cooking was a challenge. This not what we anticipated on finding when we got there. Cabinet hinges are loose and cause doors to pop when opening. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, this guest experienced some issues that spoiled their visit. We got a call from our cleaning crew saying that the washer dial was broken and the guests wanted to clean towels every day. We had the dial worked on in the past and thought it had been fixed. So we called out the appliance service company and they determined that the timer was the culprit and that it would be two days for them to order the part and repair. We decided to order the part online and have it shipped for next day delivery to expedite the repair. The part did not arrive in time to repair that next day but it was repaired the following day, while the guest was still there. During that time, we instructed our cleaning crew to gather up their towels and wash them daily to help the situation. The sleeper sofa is difficult to close but it is regularly closed by other guests and our cleaning crew. Bed comfort is always a personal preference, we have gotten recent reviews that say the master bed is very comfortable but we will look into the complaint. We are sorry that this guest had issues - it seems like the washer issue sparked a lot of negative feelings particularly based on the majority of our reviews. We will be reviewing these comment to see how we can improve visits from our future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

We purchased our cabin in 2002 to allow us to be closer to the Smoky's for our hiking and fly-fishing adventures. The location at Big Bear Lodge & Resort is incredibly convenient to everything you need to enjoy this wonderful area. In 2012 we decided to forego rental management companies and rent on our own.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Knoxville McGhee Tyson Airport at 36 Miles Nearest Golf : Gatlinburg Golf Course at 4 Miles Nearest Motorway : I-40 at 14 Miles Nearest Ski : Ober Gatlinburg at 12 Miles Car: recommended

The Great Smoky Mountains National Park is minutes away. Hike (there are 900 miles of trails to choose from), explore Cades Cove, fly-fish, go tubing, or just take in the views. Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg attractions include Dollywood and Splash Country, live country music shows, the Titanic museum, Ripley's Aquarium, outlet shopping and many others. Outdoor activities include hiking, zip-lining, fly fishing, whitewater rafting, tubing, golf, go-karts, miniature golf, skiing, ice skating and sledding at Ober Gatlinburg. Harrah's Cherokee Casino is only 45 miles away

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 9 2016 - Nov 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$140
From
$145
Fri,Sat
$900
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 5 2016 - Nov 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
$135
From
$140
Fri,Sat
$880
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$140
$900
 
 
Winterfest 2016
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$125
$800
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$145
$900
 
 
Winter
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$120
$750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$130
$830
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
cleaning fee $70 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.25%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Sep 21, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

Our cabin is perfect for guests who want to be close to shopping, restaurants, and all of the Pigeon Forge attractions, but still feel a sense of privacy. We love to use it for our 'base camp' for hiking in the Great Smoky Mountains!

Property Type

  • cabin

Theme

  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...

Suitability

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Mountain View

Attractions

  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Floor Area

  • 1400 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • 2.5

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Convertible bed(s)
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • King size bed (1) master bedroom upstairs, Queen size Bed (1) lower level bedroom, Sleeper Sofa Queen in lower level

Outside

  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • Starter quantities of paper towels, trash bags, dish and dishwasher detergents, shampoo, soap and conditioner are provided.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car