check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Peaceful Property for an Adventurous Gathering


Property Details

Updated: Oct 20, 2016
3 Bedroom, 2 bathroom with Mountain Views

Just 30 miles from the Arch Rock Entrance to Yosemite National Park and close to many year-round activities throughout Mariposa County sits Quarry House;

a secluded getaway committed to providing a smoke-free and clean environment for Yosemite visitors to rest and relax in.

The homeowner chose the name Quarry House for the unique granite outcroppings on the property. The house is surrounded by Black Oaks, Manzanita, Pine Trees and visited daily by various bird species and deer. The granite rocks, the wildness of the yard and how it changes with the seasons is part of the appeal of Quarry House.

The inside of the home, with three spacious bedrooms and two full baths will comfortably accommodate up to 8 people. The open floor plan, connecting the fully stocked kitchen, dining area and entertainment corner, makes this an inviting space to gather with family and friends. There is great Wi-Fi, no cable TV, and a landline with local and long distance calling (U.S. only), as there is spotty cell reception in most of the area.

Quarry House is a mere 7 miles from historic gold rush town of Mariposa, which offers an array of dining options, grocery stores, museums, wine tasting, antiquing and local boutiques. Enjoy the beautiful drive along highway 140 for easy access to the Merced River and Yosemite National Park.

More Details
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

As a long time resident of Mariposa County, I have greatly enjoyed living, playing and working in this beautiful mountain range. I spent many years in the backcountry of Yosemite constructing stone trails before going into the building trades. My experience as a stonemason and builder is what I have brought to Quarry House in order to elevate and express what this property has to offer. I spent time renovating the entire house, adding amenities and unique stone accents throughout the home to make it what it is today. I still stay there from time to time to continue working on sculptures and other art projects with the granite from the land. Quarry House was my home for many years. I decided to open it up as a vacation rental so that people could experience Yosemite from the comfort of a Sierra Foothills home. I hope you enjoy your stay at Quarry House!

Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our stay at the Quarry House was amazing! ♥

We enjoyed every miniute of it… the deer in the morning was probably the most amazing part although the trees and other wildlife were things we will always remember. Until next time, Quarry House, ♥
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 14

34 Reviews

based on 34 traveler reviews


yosemite adventure.

  • 1 of 5

We stayed in the house 3 nites ending sept 30. I just got my damage refund dated oct 17th. I inquired as to where it was a week ago and was told that contract says 14 days. Never happened to me before and I won't stay here again. I expect better treatment than that. I'm a customer for God sake. We are mature and left the place clean. I've done trips where we stayed at 5 different places, If everyone took 14 days, It would mean a lot of money hanging out there.

The house was nice inside. The swamp cooler is very noisy. Outside is being done by someone else. Barbecue was very dirty. Tables and chairs not usable without a cleaning.

It took two hours to get to Glacier Point from house. Park entrance is long way from main attractions in park.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Stayed over for a night on a quick trip to Yosemite. Nice and quiet and a beautiful starry sky at night. Cute little area and town nearby. Everything was clean and great.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The house was exactly as pictured.

  • 4 of 5

The house offers an open floor plan. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking needs. Bedrooms were spacious. The only problem we encountered was a broken recliner but they have a great sectional! The TV is new and has great picture quality but remember to bring movies or use Netflix as movie selection is outdated and there is no cable. Overall a nice experience. We were gone hiking most of the day to Yosemite which was about a 30+ min drive to park entrance. Good location for the town of Mariposa.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Séjour à Yosemite

  • 3 of 5

Maison très confortable et agréable au porte du Yosemite Park, nous avons passé un agréable séjour.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rented this house for 2 nights. Very warm, lack of fans/ACs. I paved and dusty driveway

  • 1 of 5

Rented this house. It's v warm, lacking fans/ACs, TV not working, unpaved and dusty driveway and over 32 miles far from Yosemite National Park. The property manager withheld our deposit for no logical reason. Never recommend this for vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is extremely rare for us to withhold security deposits from our guests at Quarry House. Security deposits would only be withheld for reasons that are clearly defined in our Rental Agreement. For the knowledge of our future guest, the reasons we have held the deposit in the past are excessive cleaning and unannounced guest. Cooling system controls are located in the hallway near the second guest bathroom. The driveway is flat and unpaved, dust can be controlled by regulating speed. The wall mounted flat screen tv functions properly and no satellite or cable is provided as stated in our listing.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable and clean house

  • 5 of 5

We had wonderful vacation in this house. It was spacious and clean. Bedding was comfy and cozy.

We will surely go back to this place when we visit Yosemite again. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Fresno International (FAT) at 72 Miles Nearest Barpub : The Hideout at 7 Miles Nearest Golf : River Creek Golf Course at 21 Miles Nearest Motorway : Hwy 140 at 2 Miles Nearest Ski : Badger Pass Ski Resort at 53 Miles Car: necessary


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning (guests 1-8) $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Oct 20, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • house


  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove


  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster


  • Dining
  • Dining Area


  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...


  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Mountain View


  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Floor Area

  • 1360 sq. ft.


  • Master Bath - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower
  • Fresh towels and linens are provided.


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king, Master Bedroom includes Cal King and attached Bath
  • Guest Room 1 - 1 king, 1 queen
  • Guest Room 2 - 1 queen
  • Clean sheets and extra blankets provided.


  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs


  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car