Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous Spanish Style home with Pool and adjoining cottage!!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 167 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Two bedroom home and a one room cottage centered by a pool (rented separately)

We call this fabulous NEW spot here in El Castillo “Pie in the Sky”! A gorgeous location that lives up to it name in every way! This 2 bedroom home (Pie 2) and one room cottage (Pie 1), are two separate rentals, and are nestled above 7 private rooms of the Majestic Lodge B&B, on a secluded mountaintop. With 360 degree views of the primary rainforest, 26 mile Lake Arenal and the Majestic Arenal Volcano, you can see for miles in the privacy of this secluded setting. This large home is a single level, 2 bedroom home and fully equipped to make you feel right at home! The bedrooms are luxurious and inviting with custom made bedding and draperies, air conditioning, and private access to the outdoor porch for your convenience. All linens are provided. The kitchen, with granite counter tops and Guanacaste wood cabinets, is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need, including a center breakfast bar that seats 6 people.

The one room cottage, with the same amazing views, sleeps two with a Queen size orthopedic bed, small kitchenette, private bath and airconditioning. Take just a few steps off of the porch and enjoy the pool! These two homes are separated and private and centered by the pool, but close enough for a family or group to enjoy together.

We pay special attention to every detail to assure the best vacation for you and your family. We can accommodate large groups and welcome Private or group parties. Catering can be arranged. Complete tour and trip planning services available including travel from within Costa Rica. We offer a beautiful pavilion for wedding parties, family reunions, yoga retreats, etc. We offer private yoga and massage on premises and have a bar and grill for your convenience.

Outdoor area with pool and bar is on the property. Full housekeeping service is provided by request (with a fee)

We also arrange transportation for our guests from anywhere in Costa Rica.

Please note that you must have four wheel drive to access this home.

More Details

Property Manager
Nancy and Dan Zintsmaster /Contact us for availability
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 10, 2017

Amenities

El Castillo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 167 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Bathroom in bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Bathroom in bedroom
  • New bathrooms with hot water and all towels and soaps are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Large bedroom with a private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Large bedroom with a private bathroom
  • Both bedrooms have custom made bedding and draperies, a vanity with stool and mirror, an armoire for clothes, night stands and lamps and both have luxurious, private bathrooms.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Pie in the Sky will not disappoint. This home is located on the top of a mountain, away from it all, but close enough to all local activities. We do not provide transportation up and down the mountain, so you must have a four wheel drive car. Amenities at the Majestic Lodge are not for use of the private rental homes.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

5

Truly amazing!

  • 5 of 5

The pictures do not do justice, this property is absolutely amazing. Just don't make the same mistake as us and only stay 2 nights!

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Brad, See you when you return and stay longer 😉😉😉
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply Breathtaking

  • 5 of 5

The property was spectacular. We arrived a little later than what we had expected because of the drive. You definitely need a 4WD! My phone had no service out there and I had no idea that Z had tried contacting me. When we found the place I noticed a truck with its lights on in the dark and I instantly knew it was Z. He sat outside the property for God knows how long. I felt bad about that. It did however make a great impression. He had us follow him to the top where we'd be staying. It's a little tough to maneuver when you're up there with a vehicle so be extra careful. Z then showed us around and helped us book tours for the following day. He was definitely a chill guy. You won't regret staying at this wonderful place.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Awesome!

  • 4 of 5

We loved this place! The views with the wild jungle on one side and a beautiful view of volcano arenal and lake were mesmerizing! Dan (Z), our host was very friendly and helpful. It is easy to make friends here! Plus, we had the run of the property. We had no other vacationers there. There were a few negatives. The biggest negative are the beds. The beds are super hard and very uncomfortable. The wifi would not work, nor the tv.

Also. A stock of spices, sugar, oil, etc would have been helpful. Overall. A great stay!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our place! We are so happy that you enjoyed it and loved having you as guests! Unfortunately, it is very difficult to please everyone when it comes to beds, but we bought the highest quality, orthopaedic beds that we could and most people are very comfortable. That is one thing that all people have different preferences for. We do supply salt, pepper, vegetable oil, sugar and a starter of coffee to help our guests until they can get to the store. There is a store 3/4 mile from the home. We hope that you will return again someday! Nancy and Dan Zintsmaster
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful views, charming town

  • 4 of 5

The views from the property were as described. "Z" was a tremendous host and shared a lot of good information with us. Even though the drive can be tedious we felt that it was worth it. The only thing that we could recommend would be a better mattresses for the bedrooms as they were really hard. Luckily we were tired enough that we could have slept on anything.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Being off the beaten path is why our village is so special and the drive is so beautiful that it will take your breath away. I am sorry that you felt the bed was hard, but they are orthopaedic mattresses and so many people say they can't believe how comfortable the beds are! Everyone likes a different firmness, so it is impossible to please everyone in that area of hospitality, but we pride ourselves on comfort in our homes and took special care in choosing the best mattresses. You were wonderful guests and I hope that you will return again someday! Nancy and Z
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Gorgeous views

  • 4 of 5

The location is beautiful with gorgeous views. The property is well kept and in close proximity to town as well as Sky Trek zip line/tram/canopy walk, and hiking at Arenal observatory. The home is new and in great condition. Z was helpful in arranging a day at Sky Trek for us and pointing us in the right direction for a hike to Cerro Chato. Our only complaint is that the mattress is terrible and the bed frame squeaks A LOT. Worse sleep my husband and I have ever had. Every time one of us rolled over the other woke up...we are not big people...I weigh 115 lbs and my husband 190. There are several good restaurants nearby.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property and wonderful owners

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from staying at Pie in the Sky - a family with 2 young children - and this was our favorite rental in all of Costa Rica. Not only was Z incredibly kind and helpful, but the place itself was perfect for our needs and had gorgeous views of the lake and Arenal. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed hanging out in the Crow's Nest searching for animals, and we saw all kinds throughout our stay. The pool was a wonderful addition after mornings and afternoons spent wandering. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to friends or stay here again if we could!

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Green Season
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Peak Season
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$240
From
$265
Fri,Sat
$1,440
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall Green Season
Sep 1 2017 - Nov 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$240
$1,440
 
 
Fall Green Season
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 5 2018
4 night minimum stay
$300
$2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $45 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

These homes are rented individually. The rate of the cottage(Pie 1) is 135.00 per night and a one time cleaning fee of 25.00
Rates are subject to change without notice.
The rates above, for the two bedroom home, are for up to 4 people and 25.00 for each additional person.
Holiday rates are 25% higher than seasonal dates and include Thanksgiving, Xmas, Easter, Fourth of July, Memorial day. No weekly discounts available during Holiday dates.

Four wheel drive a must
Taxes are not included

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Email Manager Email Manager
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties