Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

90 dollar/night Large studio room in 2 bed/1 bath by Central Park/Columbia U

Bedrooms 1
Space 69 m²
Property type apartment


About the property

Despite the pricing of my rental this is not just a 'room to lay your head at night'.Excellent location,full amenities,very clean is what you get.$90/night for a single and $15 each additional guest guarantees a spacious efficiency in a new 2 bedroom corner apartment right on the park.Room has refrigerator,microwave,coffeemaker. There are also utensils/glasses/cups/plates in the room for your convenience. You have use of the main kitchen at all times and share the bathroom.There is a dishwasher for any cleanup and the whole apt is air conditioned with WIFI.Full closet and 3 arced windows facing south and west for amazing exposure to Morningside Park/Cathedral of St.John the Divine.5 minutes walk to Columbia University.Brand new queen size platform bed with a new air bed for a third guest/2 children.Although the room is non-smoking,I have access to the hall landing for smoker's convenience.Washer/Dryer on premesis.10 minute walk from Central Park and the Harlem Meer.This is one of the most desirable areas in upper Manhattan with our own new 'Restaurant Row'of Harlem/Morningside.The subway(b/c) is 2 blocks away and there is a fantastic supermarket(Best Yet) about 5 minutes walk.This is the apex of residential living with all the trappings of nightlife and convenience right around the corner.If you are culturally intrigued,you only have to walk 3 blocks to the best Sunday Gospel Churches and the African Market is not much farther.If your aspirations are for midtown/downtown,the train gets you where you need to go in 20 minutes.Please inquire as I do offer discounts for week or more stays.This is as close as you can come to having your own studio for a hostel price and you will want for nothing

Alex Meyer
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german, spanish, Bahasa Indonesia
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Alex Meyer

Languages: Bahasa Indonesia, Deutsch, English, Español

School: Florida Atlantic University (music)

Work: Clothing retail in NY/Realtor in FL

About: Outdoor enthusiast and martial arts practitioner.Originally from FL moved to NYC 25 years ago.Still have family in Palm Beach County and have my realtors license.Lived for many years overseas as an expat in Bali,India and Thailand.Have done extensive traveling and enjoy languages and learning.Experience in textiles and garment cottage industry as well as contracting.Have done most work on my homes myself.Have a 5 1/2 year old son

Alex Meyer purchased this apartment in 2001

Why Alex Meyer chose Manhattan

The area here is one of the last laid back residential feeling areas in upper Manhattan which had proximity to all the things I cherish(parks,museums,Columbia U).I wanted to be part of a neighborhood that has flavor and is growing with out being sterilized.Could'nt be happier in Manhattan

What makes this apartment unique

My apartment has many arced windows,roof access and a view to the Americas largest Cathedral right from the studio Bay window.The Park is directly across the street and Central Park a stone's throw.I enjoy that it is a new building with the old style charm from the outside without all the slapped together feeling you get in most affordable coops in the city.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Veeeeeeeeeeeeeeery cool couple who give off the aire of being young purpose seekers despite being entrenched in real parenthood.I would love to see these two on their own turf. Félicitez les admirables français
May 2014
  • 1 of 1


Upper Manhattan Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 5
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 69 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • Glass shelving for guests use.All neccesities provided such as toilet paper/air freshener,etc.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Futon in room with a seperate air mattress for 3rd guest.Includes all linens towels and other amenities
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
My room is truly private and affordable for those that are looking for space and tranquility at hostel prices.It has the feel of a studio.I am away from the bussle but around the corner from nightlife and shopping.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(66 traveler reviews)


Nice Place!

  • 5 of 5

Clean and comfortable room. Mr. Alex was friendly and helpful. I recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a charming and endearing couple.I would phrase it the same that you can book them without hesitation!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Just like Alex said :)

  • 5 of 5

Just as Alex described the property, no surprise. We did have an overwhelming first day in NYC and fell asleep early then woke up at 4 am and realized we didn't have any food or drinks with us. (Alex said later that drinking the tap water would've been fine, but we weren't sure, and didn't want to wake him or dig through his kitchen) My daughter and I walked to a nearby store which was further into Harlem around 5 am, which we probably wouldn't do again, but we survived it :) If you're not super physically fit, try to make sure Alex is there to help you up the stairs with your luggage or down, when you leave. Overall very pleased with this property and our stay. Alex was welcoming, respectful, helpful, and easy to get along with. Hope to stay here again! Thanks, Alex! Keep playing your music :)

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

I feel like I was blind sided once we arrived no where in the description does it read that the host will also be staying here while you are as well. When I asked him if he was going to be there prior to my arrival he said yes but "I was in luck" that he had a last min trip to Florida and will not be at the apartment which I don't think so until I had mentioned if he was going to be there. He also left his dog there while he left to Florida without any instructions not knowing if the dog was going to get fed or walked how does a person even leave their dog without any notice or telling me that the dog will be staying there. Saturday morning came and we woke up to a stench in our room where our door was closed the dog pushed the door open and pooped allll over our things he had diarrhea. When I rushed to call Alex he made it seem as if this was my fault that his dog had diarrhea. When I asked to get a refund he went on to mention this is why he ever rents to young ppl again blaming us for his dog. He said that his assistant was going to come clean the stuff up not once again knowing that another person was going to be in and out of the apartment while we were there sleeping. Alex was so rude and handled this very unprofessional. Oh yes and every time you open the front door you'll get a whiff of dog it's nasty. First night we stayed there (Friday) we came back from the city when we opened the door to Alex being in his underwear and later at night him and his gf had a whole date night at the apartment. Will never be staying here again.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ladies, I do hope in future you read the host listing information a bit more closely- this will make for a better outcome overall.I would choose to give you the benefit of the doubt when you arrived with 4 guests when you paid for only 2 that it was an honest mistake.Sadly it is even more disconcerting that a host gets blindsided as a thank you for relinquishing their entire residence rather than deny such occupancy. As a general note to any prospective guests reading here please understand that it is my house policy to provide all/any information freely about whether my plans have me at home or specifics about the household dynamic, and if you have further questions please ask! For anyone concerned about the dog in this incident, His dog walker did clean up the unfortunate mess, he made a speedy recovery, and is on a strict "no people treats" diet.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Les Monts de Corsier

Perfect stay in NYC

  • 5 of 5

We spent a great time in this nice and private room. It’s situated in Harlem and close to the subway and good restaurants. It was really quiet during the night. Alex is a great host and very helpfull. Our daughter really enjoyed playing with his son and the dog. Just perfect to visit NYC.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Naguabo, Puerto Rico

I will stay again there when I go back to NYC!

  • 5 of 5

Alex was a very good host and he helped us to get comfortable and gave us advice to where to go to grab something to eat and to have fun.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Thank you, Alex

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this property for the first 3 days of our visit and we enjoyed it. The location is good, close to subways, parks and restaurants. But it was the little things that impressed us. The room was very nice and private. Alex, his son, and the dog were fun and provided a homey atmosphere for us. It rained heavily our first 2 days and a large umbrella was waiting for our use. Alex thought of everything. The only downside, the apartment is on the 5th floor with no elevator. But I would recommend this location highly.

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Dog freindly owner but guest pet restricted to 25 lbs and must be altered.Owner has freindly dog on premises when present(short haired).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Email Owner Email Owner

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties