check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Renovated Cabin. Modern Amenities. Pet Friendly with Fenced Yard.

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Sep 29, 2016
2 bedroom cottage across from lake. Hot Tub, WiFi, 2 High Def TV's, Cable.

Enjoy lake views from our recently renovated cabin, just steps from the lake, one mile from the village, and three miles from Snow Summit.

The cabin combines the comfort of a high-end home with the charm of a mountain retreat.

Ask about military, honeymoon, and fall discounts.

----- COMFORT -----

*Hot Tub

*Master bedroom with King bed and high-definition television.

*Fully fenced backyard.

*High speed WiFi.

*Central heat.

*Double pane windows.

*Propane BBQ.

*Linens and towels.

*Hairdryer

----- CHARM -----

*Lake Views from the living room and front bedroom.

*Original wood floors, freshly sanded and refinished.

*Tongue and groove plank ceilings.

*Professionally decorated, with new couches and beds and arts and crafts era handmade wood furnishings.

----- ENTERTAINMENT -----

*40" wall mounted, flat screen, high definition television in the living room with Premium Cable (no movie packages) and TiVo DVR recorder.

*32' wall mounted, high definition, flat screen, television in the master bedroom.

*Netflix and Pandora stream to both televisions.

----- COZY BEDROOMS -----

The cabin comfortably sleeps four adults.

The master bedroom (in the rear) has a King bed, high definition television, and overlooks the back yard.

The front bedroom has a Queen bed and partial lake view.

The living room has a double sleeper sofa. To ensure the comfort of all guests, 4 person maximum occupancy.

Cleanliness is important to us! Mattresses and pillows are encased in protective/hypoallergenic covering that gets bleached regularly, then covered with sheets and pillow cases that are also bleached between each visit.

If you need extra sheets for any reason, please let me know. There are extra sheets stored throughout the house and we are happy to point you to them.

----- FULLY STOCKED KITCHEN -----

The kitchen has been fully upgraded, with new appliances, granite countertops, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. The cabinets are stocked with pots, pans, plates and bowls, flatware, and baking tools. The dining table seats four with the leaf extended.

----- PETS WELCOME -----

We warmly welcome your friendly pets at no additional cost. The back and side yards are fully fenced. The cabin is just steps from the lake.

We apologize, but for liability reasons we require that all dogs stay in the house, in the yard, or on leash. Aggressive dogs are prohibited.

***** For parties of more than four people, we are pleased to offer the adjacent property, the Bears' Lair!!! *****

-900 square feet, 6 person maximum occupancy.

-Front porch and deck with partial lake views.

-Master bedroom with King bed and high def television.

-Rear bedroom with a double/twin bunk and high def television.

-Gourmet kitchen with granite countertop, kitchen island with gas stove, dishwasher, kitchen aid stand mixer, coffee maker, toaster, and professional waffle iron.

-Wood burning stove.

-Pet Friendly with fully fenced back yard.

-We are happy to discount the Bear's Lair to the same nightly rate as the Snow Den for guests who book both properties.

----

If you are interested in renting a boat for all or part of your stay, please inquire about our Malibux VLX Wakesetter, which is docked at a local marina.

Boat rental is an additional $300 for 3 hours, plus gas and a $500 deposit. If you want to rent the boat, we will refer you to our captain to confirm dates and times. Packages are available!

----GENERAL----

Open flames of any sort- including but not limited to bonfires or fire pits- are illegal and strictly prohibited. We will cooperate with local police and fire departments in prosecuting any guest who violates this. We want to keep our home, and our neighbors' homes, safe.

We do not warranty that household electronics, including the hot tub, will work. We have many guests and some are not as careful as you would be with these items. If something is not working we will try to replace it as soon as possible, but we are not able to offer further refunds. If something major breaks (hot tub, stove, refrigerator, wifi, living room television) we will also give you 20% off your next visit or allow you to cancel the remainder of your stay at no charge.

Please note thst we do not have full time staff. If the cabin is out of toilet paper, please buy some and we will happily reimburse you. If the BBQ is out of propane, please take the tank to the 711, have it refilled, and we will reimburse you. If we are out of salt . . .well, you get the idea. We try to keep the cabin well stocked, but we cannot promise it will be restocked on a regular basis. What we can promise is we will reimburse for anything you buy for the house and will respond quickly to any issues.

---BARTER---

If you are a licensed contractor or other licensed building professional, we are looking for someone to install a fence at our neighboring property and would be happy to trade a week at the cabin for the work (we pay for material).

If you have a vacation rental in Santa Barbara, Las Vegas, Park City, Hawaii, London, Paris, or any other awesome destination, please inquire about housing swaps! We are open to adding additional payment to make the swap work.

----DISCOUNTS ----

10% discount for active military.

Third night free (subject to availability) for a pre- or post deployment visit; if you let us know when booking, we are happy to offer a free night when available as a thank you for your service. If we don't have availability, or you don't have time, let us know anyway and we will figure something out.

----COMMUNICATION---

To prevent fraud, we prefer written communication (via text message, personal message, or email). If you have an emergency that requires immediate communication with us, we are happy to receive text messages at the phone number on the listing. Please do not contact us using the number posted on the house as that goes to a local representative, not the owners. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Alex and Christina live on the beach in Los Angeles with their three Siberian Huskies. They met in law school, got engaged 9 months later, and have been married since 2004. Alex enjoys snow boarding and surfing and is passionate about conservation. He is actively involved with several animal rescue organizations, with a particular focus on elephants. Christina grew up in the Tahoe foothills, but, at 36, is still learning to ski. She loves reading and going to the spa, and completed her first marathon in 2014.

Speaks: english

45 Reviews

4.7
based on 45 traveler reviews

Long Beach, CA
5

Cozy Pet-Friendly Cottage-Excellent Location

  • 5 of 5

This is a cozy little cabin, just a short walk to the lake. We stayed two days with our 70 lb dog and both she and we loved it! The back yard is completely fenced in and pet-friendly. She (the dog) enjoyed lounging in the living room and looking out the large windows overlooking the lake. For us, the mattress on the larger bed in the back bedroom (the only one we tried) was incredibly comfortable and we really enjoyed streaming movies at the end of both adventure-filled days! The kitchen has all the supplies you need! Just pick up some K-cups (coffee), some groceries and make yourself a nice meal to eat while taking in the view of the lake. We did a lot of exploring on foot and the village/grocery/ski area is only a short drive away. Alex and Christina (the owners) are very friendly and responsive to questions; they got right back to us and were very accommodating. I do recommend bringing a roll of toilet paper just incase the previous renters didn't leave any, but as explained in the 'house rules," just let Alex and Christina know and they'll happily reimburse you. We are coming back for sure! I would recommend this cabin for couples, even two couples or a small family. My hubby travels for work and is in hotels 2-4 nights a week, so it was nice to enjoy a get-away in a comfortable homey atmosphere, rather than a sterile hotel room/suite, though I must say this place had everything we needed to make it a great home-away-from-home! Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Love the coziness

  • 5 of 5

This is my second time using this cabin. We love getting away and having our own comfort zone and this bacon has it! The cabin is gated, you have the privacy to enjoy the jacuzzi. Our two year old can play all day out side no real worries of him running out to the street. We literally spend all weekend doing nothing and we loved it. We are going back in August to enjoy the water this time. Best part is that it's carros the lake but you don't pay the expensive prices. Cabin is clean! Not old like you see a lot of other places. Super comfy and relaxing. Alex and Cristina are really friendly and will accommodate you. Highly recommend this place. It's our favorite get out of the city destination.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Mountain Escape!

  • 5 of 5

We chose this home after searching for a place close to where my family owned a cabin during the '70's through the '90's. My sister and I wanted to treat my parents to a weekend getaway in Big Bear - the place my father, in particular, had loved for so many years. We simply could not have been happier with our choice. A perfect layout for 4 people. Pride of ownership definitely comes through in this cabin. The home is super clean, and easy to navigate. It provided all of the modern amenities we desired, yet maintained the quaint and rustic mountain-cabin feel we wanted for our escape from the city. The owners (Christina and Alex) were fantastic - warm, friendly, and on-the-spot responsive. We had one issue when we first arrived and they were in direct contact with us almost immediately to resolve it satisfactorily. I highly recommend this place, and hope someday will be able to return myself.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Bear's Lair: Spotless, roomy, comfortable

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful experience to stay in such a great place in Big Bear Lake! The 2-bedroom cabin was truly more like a private home than the usual rustic mountain cabin. Modern, comfortable and extremely clean. The kitchen was impressive. Bedrooms each had television and comfortable beds. Location was perfect - adjacent the lake and a short distance to the Village. All around excellent vacation rental!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Had a great time at this adorable cabin

  • 4 of 5

This cabin is adorable. It's bit smaller than what we expected, about 900 sq ft.

There were four of us staying at the cabin the only little minor inconvenience we had was there is not room for 4 at the dining table, only two and there is only one couch that sat 3 people. Besides that, we loved our trip to this cabin.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tim- Sorry for any inconvenience about the table. The table is a drop leaf that pulls away from the wall to seat four, and there are extra chairs under the bed in the front bedroom. As always, please feel free to contact us with any questions.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

IT WAS OKAY

  • 3 of 5

Property was nice but the back yard was nice and enclosed but there were a lot of weeds (fox tails included and every dog owner knows how bad they can be). The cabin was clean and nice. Everything we expected. The bedroom TV did not work and the wifi password on the wall did not get us on the Internet. A little disappointing but we were there to get away for a couple of days. Doesn't seem like they owners have been there for a while or they wouldn't let it get like that.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you did not have a better time, but wish you would have contacted us about your trouble with the Internet. The wifi password is written on the router, on the VRBO app, and on the wall- if you had any issues at all with getting online, we would have been happy to walk you through it. As for the yard, my husband and I visit the cabin at least once/month and make every effort to ensure the yard is weed free, but your visit was on Spring and weeds can grow quickly then. Again, we wish you would have contacted us with your concern so we could have sent someone over to take care of this for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

No one wants to vacation in a grubby or dated house. The Snow Den has been newly renovated, with all new appliances, high end furnishings, resort-style amenities, and up-to-date technology. The cabin's rustic charm was preserved by restoring the original wood floors, adding tongue and grove ceilings, and furnishing the house with locally made wood furnishings. A special note for families with pets: We are pet-friendly people and this is a pet-friendly house. The backyard is fully fenced. We do not charge a pet fee. The house is close to the lake, which is a real treat for dogs who enjoy chasing birds and splashing (we recommend an extendable leash to keep everyone safe; it's all fun and games until a bird gets hurt). We do NOT recommend this house for families with allergies to dog fur, since it is a dog friendly home. The cabin is also less than a mile from a snowy hill and park that is great for hiking.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Ontario Airport at 58 Miles Nearest Golf : Big Bear Mountain Golf at 5.6 Miles Nearest Ski : Snow Summit at 3.1 Miles Car: recommended

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,000
Flat fee
 
 
Winter
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 16 2016
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter Break (Christmas)
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,250
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$249
Fri,Sat
 
 
MLK Weekend
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,000
Flat fee
 
 
President's Day Weekend
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 13 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,000
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$99
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$799
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

*Saturday night visits must be accompanied by another night (either Friday or Sunday) at the weekend rate. The third night is priced at the standard weekly rate. If you want to make a Saturday and Sunday night reservation, we add an additional charge (normally $100 or $149) to the room rate for Sunday night to convert it into a weekend night. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Friday and Saturday night visits are, by default, priced properly.

*Please notify us if you are a repeat visitor; we are happy to waive the deposit for return guests.

*$400 deposit required for guests under 26; contact us for exceptions.

*Reservations not secured until first payment is made.

*Minimum Stay:
3 Night - MLK, President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day & July 4
4 Night - Thanksgiving
5 Night- Christmas, New Year's

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Contact Me Email Owner
Updated: Sep 29, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

Dog friendly with fully fenced back yard Available for rent with neighboring property for large groups! Walking distance to the lake, with lake views. One mile from the village. Three miles from Snow Summit. Fully modernized, with new appliances and furnishings; high definition, wall mounted televisions; Tivo; Wii; and high speed WiFi. Optional boat rental, at almost half the price charged by local marinas in a newer and faster ski and wakeboard boat. PACKAGES: Honeymoon package: $1,250 for one week, includes champagne and couples massage (fall and spring rate). Lake Package: $1,500 for one week, includes use of Malibu VLX for half day (3 hours, gas extra). All packages are TOTAL prices, including cleaning fee and tax, no additional fees except where noted!! Prices are higher on holiday weekends and in winter.

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub

Suitability

  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...

Location Type

  • Downtown
  • Lake View
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Water View

Attractions

  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Floor Area

  • 600 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, shower

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
  • Front Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Rear bedroom with King memory foam bed and high definition television. Front bedroom with Queen bed and partial lake view.

Outside

  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • In home massages can be arranged for an extra fee- just ask! Wakeboard/water ski boat available for rental. Larger parties, please inquire about our neighboring rental, the Bears' Lair!

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car