Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Renovated Cabin. Modern Amenities. Pet Friendly with Fenced Yard.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 55 m²
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom cottage across from lake. Hot Tub, WiFi, 2 High Def TV's, Cable.

Enjoy lake views from our recently renovated cabin, just steps from the lake, one mile from the village, and three miles from Snow Summit.

The cabin combines the comfort of a high-end home with the charm of a mountain retreat.

Ask about military, honeymoon, and fall discounts.

----- COMFORT -----

*Hot Tub

*Master bedroom with King bed and high-definition television.

*Fully fenced backyard.

*High speed WiFi.

*Central heat.

*Keurig Coffee Maker (please remember to bring K-Cups!)

*Propane BBQ.

*Linens and towels.

*Hairdryer

----- CHARM -----

*Lake Views from the living room and front bedroom.

*Original wood floors, freshly sanded and refinished.

*Tongue and groove plank ceilings.

*Professionally decorated, with new couches and beds and arts and crafts era handmade wood furnishings.

----- ENTERTAINMENT -----

*40" wall mounted, flat screen, high definition television in the living room with Premium Cable (no movie packages) and TiVo DVR recorder.

*32' wall mounted, high definition, flat screen, television in the master bedroom. Bedroom television does not have cable but does have Amazon Prime and Netflix.

*Netflix and Pandora stream to both televisions.

----- COZY BEDROOMS -----

The cabin comfortably sleeps four adults.

The master bedroom (in the rear) has a King bed, high definition television, and overlooks the back yard.

The front bedroom has a Queen bed and partial lake view.

The living room has a double sleeper sofa.

To ensure the comfort of all guests, 4 person maximum occupancy.

Cleanliness is important to us! Mattresses and pillows are encased in protective/hypoallergenic covering that gets bleached regularly, then covered with sheets and pillow cases that are also bleached between each visit.

If you need extra sheets for any reason, please let me know. There are extra sheets stored throughout the house and we are happy to point you to them.

----- FULLY STOCKED KITCHEN -----

The kitchen has been fully upgraded, with new appliances, granite counter tops, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. The cabinets are stocked with pots, pans, plates and bowls, flatware, and baking tools. The dining table seats four with the leaf extended (extra chairs are stored under the bed in the front bedroom or can be brought in from the backyard).

----- PETS WELCOME -----

We warmly welcome your friendly pets at no additional cost. The back and side yards are fully fenced. The cabin is just steps from the lake.

We apologize, but for liability reasons we require that all dogs stay in the house, in the yard, or on leash. Aggressive dogs are prohibited.

*** For larger parties, we are pleased to offer the adjacent property, the Bears' Lair!!! ****

VRBO Listing # 892145

Discounts available if you book both properties.

If you have any concern about whether the Snow Den is large enough for your party, then we strongly recommend the Bear's Lair!

----

If you are interested in using a boat for all or part of your stay, please inquire about our 2016 Malibu Wakesetter VLX with surfgate and extra ballast (awesome for wakesurfing).

Boat rental is $300/hour (2 hour minimum) and subject to the availability of our captain (boat cannot be rented without captain on board). Rental price includes driver, use of equipment (wakeboard, wakesurf board, inner tube, life jackets, ropes, etc.), and gas. Full release of liability is required.

----GENERAL----

Open flames of any sort- including but not limited to bonfires or fire pits- are illegal and strictly prohibited. We will cooperate with local police and fire departments in prosecuting any guest who violates this. We want to keep our home, and our neighbors' homes, safe.

We do not warranty that household electronics, including the hot tub, will work. We have many guests and some are not as careful as you would be with these items. If something is not working we will try to replace it as soon as possible, but we are not able to offer further refunds. If something major breaks (hot tub, stove, refrigerator, wifi, living room television) we will also give you 20% off your next visit or allow you to cancel the remainder of your stay at no charge.

We do not have full time staff. If the cabin is out of toilet paper, please buy some and we will happily reimburse you. If the BBQ is out of propane, please take the tank to the 711, have it refilled, and we will reimburse you. If we are out of salt . . .well, you get the idea. We try to keep the cabin well stocked, but we cannot promise it will be restocked on a regular basis. What we can promise is we will reimburse for anything you buy for the house and will respond quickly to any issues.

---BARTER---

If you are a licensed contractor or other licensed building professional, we are looking for someone to install a fence at our neighboring property and would be happy to trade a week at the cabin for the work (we pay for material).

If you have a vacation rental in Santa Barbara, Las Vegas, Park City, Hawaii, London, Paris, or any other awesome destination, please inquire about housing swaps! We are open to adding additional payment to make the swap work.

----DISCOUNTS ----

10% discount for active military.

Third night free (subject to availability) for a pre- or post deployment visit; if you let us know when booking, we are happy to offer a free night when available as a thank you for your service. If we don't have availability, or you don't have time, let us know anyway and we will figure something out.

----COMMUNICATION---

To prevent fraud and eliminate any ambiguity about the content of discussions, we require that all communication be in writing through the VRBO messaging application and/or by text message (if by text message, please specify the property about which you are messaging us). If you have an emergency that requires immediate communication with us, please text us. Please do not contact us using the number posted on the house as that number does not receive texts and phone calls go to our local contact, not the owners. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

More Details

Owner
Christina
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2017

About Christina

Alex and Christina live on the beach in Los Angeles with their three Siberian Huskies. They met in law school, got engaged 9 months later, and have been married since 2004. Alex enjoys snow boarding and surfing and is passionate about conservation. He is actively involved with several animal rescue organizations, with a particular focus on elephants. Christina grew up in the Tahoe foothills, but, at 36, is still learning to ski. She loves reading and going to the spa, and completed her first marathon in 2014.

Christina purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Christina chose Big Bear

No one wants to vacation in a grubby or dated house. The Snow Den has been newly renovated, with all new appliances, high end furnishings, resort-style amenities, and up-to-date technology. The cabin's rustic charm was preserved by restoring the original wood floors, adding tongue and grove ceilings, and furnishing the house with locally made wood furnishings.

A special note for families with pets:

We are pet-friendly people and this is a pet-friendly house.

The backyard is fully fenced. We do not charge a pet fee. The house is close to the lake, which is a real treat for dogs who enjoy chasing birds and splashing (we recommend an extendable leash to keep everyone safe; it's all fun and games until a bird gets hurt). We do NOT recommend this house for families with allergies to dog fur, since it is a dog friendly home. The cabin is also less than a mile from a snowy hill and park that is great for hiking.

What makes this cottage unique

Dog friendly with fully fenced back yard

Available for rent with neighboring property for large groups!

Walking distance to the lake, with lake views.

One mile from the village.

Three miles from Snow Summit.

Fully modernized, with new appliances and furnishings; high definition, wall mounted televisions; Tivo; Wii; and high speed WiFi.

Optional boat rental, at almost half the price charged by local marinas in a newer and faster ski and wakeboard boat.

PACKAGES:

Honeymoon package: $1,250 for one week, includes champagne and couples massage (fall and spring rate).

Lake Package: $1,500 for one week, includes use of Malibu VLX for half day (subject to availability of captain).

***Prices subject to availability and do not include tax. Offers not available on peak weekends or holidays***

Amenities

Big Bear Lake Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 55 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Front Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Rear bedroom with King memory foam bed and high definition television. Front bedroom with Queen bed and partial lake view.
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
In home massages can be arranged for an extra fee- just ask! Wakeboard/water ski boat available for rental. Larger parties, please inquire about our neighboring rental, the Bears' Lair!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

5

Wonderful little cabin

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here with our young granddaughter. The house is exactly as pictured, a perfect retreat, just big enough for a small family. The owners were very responsive when we asked for early check-in and late check-out. We especially enjoyed how close it was to the lake and the village. Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Definitely recommend

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was so cute and cozy. Pictures don't do it justice. We had everything we needed for our stay. The backyard was well fenced for our pets. The kitchen had everything needed to cook meals. We grilled a couple of times as well. The hot tub was clean and relaxing.

We biked into the village in 10 minutes or so.

Communication was good- directions were clear. Owners were accommodating. Even the dogs down the hill that were mentioned in a previous review only barked when we went by- and they ARE dogs, after all.

We definitely want to come again!

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect cabin for families with 4 legged members.

  • 5 of 5

One of the best stays ever with our two golden retrievers. The yard is completely secure with a high privacy fence, the floors are all hardwood, and the owners were so accommodating and gracious when we asked if we could leave our dogs unattended. They even have dog bowls. Our puppies say "four paws up!"

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute and clean

  • 4 of 5

This was a very cute cabin in a great location. Took a minute to discover where the driveway is.

Just like another comment: aggressive annoying dogs straight down the hill. (When you drive out of the long driveway, it goes by the property where these two dogs are. The fence is loose in one corner so I was afraid these two would be able to easily get out. So we couldn't go on easy morning walks for fear of this! What a shame that this is allowed!!! Of course this is no reflection of the actual property but just a jerk of a neighbor who makes these dogs stay outside even in the cold conditions and obviously doesn't care if these dogs bark alllll the time. They did get quiet at night-)

Anyway, property totally updated and very clean. The backyard is so cute and even private even though surrounded by several homes. Hot tub felt great and we enjoyed one evening while there. Did have a mildew smell to it but they had the cleaner floating in it.

Bed was comfortable. Shower was nice-low pressure but fine.

They did have a loose towel rack that looked like someone had done a while back. I let the owner know so I wouldn't be held responsible and they were quick to get back to me.

Peak a boo view of lake-

Furniture very nice, but wish there had been at least one more chair. Bummer no real fireplace or stove but not a deal breaker.

Overall I would certainly recommend this cute place. Cozy and modern and quiet and clean.

I only gave four stars because I am STILL upset about the dogs for neighbors who messed up my morning walks. :(

Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cute but Minor Issues

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was quaint and cozy however we experienced some minor power issues. The outlet in the master bedroom is faulty and triggered the power to short on us about 10 times before we figured it out. When I brought this to the attention of the owners they never responded (still haven't received a response 2 weeks later). Also, I keep things very tidy and somehow we kept finding trails of ants in the kitchen, I would clean the counters, keep food off the counters and somehow ants kept appearing. We also refilled the propane tank but since I never heard from the owners didn't think they would reimburse our purchase. All in all, the cabin was adorable and comfortable and the above issues can be quickly remedied for future renters.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

cozy cabin

  • 2 of 5

The cabin was nice but the TV's were not working. I was interested in the cabin because I wanted my dogs to be able to play in the snow in a yard and I relax and watch TV. We arrived at 4 on Friday and the TV's were not fixed until 11:15am the next morning. The directions on how to use them are in correct as well.

The yard was nice and secure and the dogs and kids had fun I was just expecting that the cabin would have been in full working order before we arrived.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Rebecca- We are sorry we were not able to accommodate your request for a full night's refund because the prior guest had moved the HDMI cord from the living room into the bedroom. We had hoped that rushing over a replacement HDMI cord the next day, after you told us you wouldn't even know what one looked liked, would be enough to salvage your trip, but from the many unsuccessful demands for a refund you have made to us and VRBO, we understand that asking you to move a cord from one room to another was a significant burden. We were surprised, however, to read that neither television worked because you wrote us that same day that your brother had enjoyed watching Netflix on the bedroom television. Next time, we would suggest you stay at a hotel as they do tend to be more generous with the sorts of discounts you seemed to want. Thank you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 16 2017 - Aug 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
July 4
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 5 2017
5 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$750
Flat fee
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 2 2017 - Dec 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 3 2017 - Dec 7 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 8 2017 - Dec 8 2017
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 9 2017 - Dec 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 11 2017 - Dec 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 15 2017 - Dec 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 7 2018
4 night minimum stay
$299
From
$299
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 8 2018 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 13 2018
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 14 2018 - Jan 18 2018
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 19 2018 - Jan 20 2018
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 21 2018 - Jan 25 2018
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 26 2018 - Jan 27 2018
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 28 2018 - Jan 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 1 2018 - Feb 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 2 2018 - Feb 3 2018
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 4 2018 - Feb 8 2018
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 9 2018 - Feb 10 2018
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 11 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 17 2018
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 18 2018 - Feb 22 2018
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 23 2018 - Feb 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
$249
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
Nightly Rate
Feb 25 2018 - Feb 28 2018
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$616
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$99
From
$149
Fri,Sat,Sun
$799
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

*Saturday night visits must be accompanied by another night (either Friday or Sunday) at the weekend rate. The third night is priced at the standard weekly rate. If you want to make a Saturday and Sunday night reservation, we add an additional charge (normally $100 or $149) to the room rate for Sunday night to convert it into a weekend night. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Friday and Saturday night visits are, by default, priced properly.

*Please notify us if you are a repeat visitor; we are happy to waive the deposit for return guests.

*$400 deposit required for guests under 26; contact us for exceptions.

*Reservations not secured until first payment is made.

*Minimum Stay:
3 Night - MLK, President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day & July 4
4 Night - Thanksgiving
5 Night- Christmas, New Year's

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Owner Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties