Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

**** Family-Friendly Retreat Loaded With Amenities & Two Masters****

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VacationRentals.com checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Feb 11, 2017
  • Sleeps 10
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Boasting over 3600 sq. feet, with 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms.

Mountain Peak Villa is perched atop Moonridge allowing for mountain views and serenity! Whether an adult getaway or a family 'fun-cation', this home is certain to impress!

Log-style home built in 2003 with all the modern touches. Granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, a fully-stocked cooks kitchen, vaulted ceilings adorned with natural pine, beautiful slate flooring. Each bedroom has a flat screen T.V. with DVD/Blueray player and the house has Direct T.V. and wireless internet. The open game loft's amenities include a shuffleboard table, pool table, foosball table, air hockey table, blackjack dealer table, mini fridge, two flatscreens, a PS2 and a Wii. Come relax in our brand-new 7 person spa on the back deck while taking in the sights of the forest. Enjoy grilling on our BBQ grill, plumbed to the house gas. The 'Casita' is a separate Master Retreat with private covered entrance attached to the main house with a separate bathroom with jacuzzi tub, kitchenette, including coffee maker, mini fridge, microwave and wet bar. TWO MASTERS! Perfect for the mother in law, elderly, or newlyweds!

Casita Bedroom: California King, Flatscreen, DVD/Blueray, Ipod docking station

master bathroom with jacuzzi tub

Master Bedroom Main House: California King, Flatscreen, DVD/Blueray, Ipod docking station, jacuzzi tub, Rainshower with multiple body sprays

Bedroom 3: One queen bed, flat screen, DVD/Blueray

Bedroom 4: One queen bed, two twins (bunk bed)

Flatscreen, DVD/Blueray

Bedroom 5 (loft bedroom): Three twins (one single and one bunk bed)

Make yourself at home and enjoy your stay!

****MINIMUM AGE TO RENT HOME IS 25 YEARS OLD******

More Details

Recent Review

About the Owner

Jody Lozano
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 11, 2017

About Jody Lozano

It has always been a dream of ours to have a home in Big Bear. We travel often with our inlaws and now we have a home away from home to come to together. We grew up in San Diego and enjoy being able to go to the beach and the snow in one day! We have five children that will also enjoy the Big Bear experience with us. We love this home and hope that you do too.

Jody Lozano purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Jody Lozano chose Big Bear Lake

Mountain Peak Villa, as we like to call it, is special. There are little touches like the chandelier in the main living room. It was purchased by the previous owner from the Treasure Island hotel in Las Vegas, when they went through a renovation. When any closet door opens, the light automatically illuminates. Check out the tile on the deck and you will see little imprints of leaves in the slate. As well as by the main front door, and the Casita front door, a Kodiak bear is imprinted in the slate. The neighborhood is so serene and the National forest is a couple of houses down the street. The location lends itself to more snowfall than down in the valley, providing endless fun for my kids.

What makes this cabin unique

Since we like to travel with our inlaws, who also have kids, we wanted a house with two master bedrooms and bathrooms. This house not only has that, one of the masters is private. The loft is party central! There is something for everyone to play! A mini fridge is also in the loft, so libations are always at your reach!

I believe that we thought of everything with this house...you be the judge!

32 Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

5

Perfect Big Bear getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The house was amazing. Everything was clean and the house was well equipped with everything we needed. The kids and adults loved the gaming area upstairs. We had a few questions and the owner was very responsive. I would highly recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home. owners very helpful and organized. Would stay here again.

Cabin is located at the top of a hill so can be challenging to get there when residential roads are icy. This would be true for any home located on the mountain when looking for great views.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect set up and cozy feel

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time at this house. There were more than enough beds and so much to do. It was close to town and very easy to run to the store for groceries. A quite neighborhood but didn't bother us much, we just made sure to be quite when outside in the jacuzzi after 9pm especially. So many things in the house to entertain we never had to leave! We hope to be back next year!

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego
5

Incredible home and fantastic home owner

  • 5 of 5

The absolute BEST Vrbo we have ever stayed at. The rate was excellent, the home owner was fantastic to work with, and the home is incredible! Great for big families or a large group of friends. We will definently stay here again. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us💗💚💜❤️

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice but........

  • 2 of 5

First of all I would like to thank you for letting us stay in your cabin. The house was big and spacious. I'd like to offer some feedback as to the condition of the house so you may improve them for your future guests. Since there were only 3 bathrooms on the main house, it would be nice if you can make sure all of them work well before any guests come in. Like, the shower on the master bedroom and the sink in the accessible bathroom was broken and didn't work. You can imagine how cumbersome it is to be moving from one bath to another just to shower and brush your teeth one after the other.

In the kitchen area, the oven wasn't working. We also notified you of this at 12:11pm Saturday and got a response from you that the handyman will NOT show up at 6:53 the same day. This was very inconvenient and we ended up taking home food that otherwise would've been cooked in the oven and enjoyed by our kids during our very short time away. On the contract it would really help if it stated that there was no AC as this would give us more options to consider. Also, on Sunday, there was no hot water and half of us ended up leaving unable to shower. It was very frustrating. The neighbor as you already know now is another very frustrating thing. She was out of her house at 3 in the morning to complain about the noise which is very odd since we were all just talking, no music, at the balcony because inside the house was very hot. I can't imagine for those who may come to celebrate an occasion. Dining room sliding door was very difficult to open and close. The front screen door is attached with nails, that is very dangerous for the kids. The fuse continue to blow so we needed to reset breakers constantly. TV in the small bedroom did not work. Lastly the house in general could use some more cleaning as many parts were dusty and grimy. We go back to big bear yearly with our family and this is not the only time we had some issues in the house. Good thing is, everything is fixable. The neighborhood though is another story and sadly it is what will prevent us from coming back. Again thank you very much and good luck to your business.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ernest, First of all, this is my first bad review I have ever had! So congratulations for ruining my perfect score. I stayed in the home with my girlfriends, the weekend after your group left and didn't have any issues with the the sinks in the bathrooms or the showers. I am not sure if you are not accustomed to digital ovens, because the reason that it was not working was because whoever pushed the buttons, turned on the child lock! When I called to try and find a tech, nobody could come out until Monday. I understand that is inconvenient for both of us, but it was a weekend, and there was nothing else that I could do. I had to pay the tech $65.00 to go out to my home to tell me that someone in your group turned on the child lock. In which, I should have deducted from your deposit and decided not to, since it was an inconvenience for you and your group. There was still a stove, microwave and a BBQ to use, and you told me that you would "make do". Regarding the A/C; if you had read the VRBO description of my home, you would have clearly seen that the A/C box was not checked, indicating that the home doesn't have A/C, as well as thousands of Big Bear homes. Running out of hot water indicates to me that you had more than 10 people in my home, which is not permitted. We have never run out of hot water when we go with large groups of people. Also, the fuse has never blown the 4 years that we have owned the house, so I am not sure what you had plugged in? Quiet hours in Big Bear are all the same, no matter what neighborhood you choose. My neighbors require that the renters in the area abide by this rule. This is just common courtesy. It's a very quiet and peaceful neighborhood, and typically that is why people chose to come to a mountain retreat. Not to throw a rager! The front screen door was an issue and my apologies for that. The renter before you had kicked the screen in and it was in need of repair. I have since repaired the screen and is no longer an issue. The house is always clean and that is one compliment that you can see on almost every review. My mother/daughter team is thorough and professional. I take great pride in this home and my guests. I check in on each guest to make sure everything is perfect. The only issue that you brought to my attention was the oven. I wish you would have told me about your other issues, so that I could have addressed them while you were there. Good thing is that we get to rate our guests internally on VRBO too!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5

We are pleased to share that we had an amazing experience renting this cabin. The house was FULLY equipped (much more than you can possibly expect). It has tons of entertainment for all ages (jacuzzi, EXTRAORDINARY game-room, barbecue, video games, books, multiple TVs/DVDs, fireplace, movies, toys, Internet... you name it!). All spaces are beautifully decorated. When you walk through the house, you quickly realize that the owner thought of every possible detail for people to have the best experience. The owner (Jody) is sweet, professional, and always available to help you. She even calls you to be sure that everything is ok. Not just the house, but also the owner gives you the experience of a 5 stars hotel. We have spent 3 magical days in this cabin for our daughter's birthday. Thank you Jody!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Juan Andres, I am grateful for your kind review. I am so glad that your group was entertained throughout your stay! Come back again soon! Jody
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

Mountain Peak Villa, as we like to call it, is special. There are little touches like the chandelier in the main living room. It was purchased by the previous owner from the Treasure Island hotel in Las Vegas, when they went through a renovation. When any closet door opens, the light automatically illuminates. Check out the tile on the deck and you will see little imprints of leaves in the slate. As well as by the main front door, and the Casita front door, a Kodiak bear is imprinted in the slate. The neighborhood is so serene and the National forest is a couple of houses down the street. The location lends itself to more snowfall than down in the valley, providing endless fun for my kids.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Big Bear City Airport at 3.8 Miles Nearest Barpub : Black Diamond Tavern at 2.8 Miles Nearest Golf : The Gold Mine Golf Course at 2.1 Miles Nearest Motorway : 18 at 2.8 Miles Nearest Restaurant : The Bear Belly Deli at 2.1 Miles Nearest Ski : Bear Mountain at 2.1 Miles Nearest Beach : Swim Beach, Big Bear Lake at 4.3 Miles Car: necessary

Bear Mountain Ski Resort 2.1 miles! Located nestled atop Moonridge Mountain with majestic views of the Gold Mountains. The National Forest with hiking trails is situated less than a block away. Only 2.8 miles from Big Bear Boulevard with shopping and restaurants.

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Peak
Feb 21 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$750
From
$950
Fri,Sat
 
 
Spring Season
Apr 1 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$625
 
 
Summer
May 30 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
Independence Weekend
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$750
 
 
Summer
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$575
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 20 2017 - Nov 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$750
 
 
Winter
Nov 28 2017 - Dec 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Winter Peak
Dec 15 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$775
From
$995
Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas Week
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 28 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
Winter Peak & Spring Break
Jan 4 2018 - Jan 11 2018
2 night minimum stay
$950
 
 
New Year's Weekend
Jan 29 2018 - Feb 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$575
 

Additional information about rental rates

One time cleaning fee $250 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 10.0%

Five Cars Maximum, Minimum age requirement of 25 years old

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Email Owner Email Owner
Updated: Feb 11, 2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

Since we like to travel with our inlaws, who also have kids, we wanted a house with two master bedrooms and bathrooms. This house not only has that, one of the masters is private. The loft is party central! There is something for everyone to play! A mini fridge is also in the loft, so libations are always at your reach! I believe that we thought of everything with this house...you be the judge!

Property Type

  • cabin

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities

General

  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub ...

Suitability

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Mountain View
  • Rural

Attractions

  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Floor Area

  • 3600 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Mudroom Bathroom 3 - toilet, shower
  • Main house master bathroom - toilet, shower, jetted tub, Rain shower, multiple body sprays, hair dryer
  • Hallway Bathroom 2 - toilet, combination tub/shower, hair dryer
  • Casita Bathroom 4 - toilet, combination tub/shower, jetted tub, hair dryer

Bedrooms

  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Main house Master - 1 king, New linens and pillows
  • Casita Master bedroom - 1 king, New linens and pillows
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen, 1 twin/ single, 1 bunk bed, Pack and play also available, new linens and pillows
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen, New linens and pillows
  • Loft Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single, 1 bunk bed, total of four twins, new linens and pillows

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car