2 Rooms, sleeps 4 in a charming fishing village - waterfront !
- english, french, german, portuguese, italian
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
An absolute gem. Wonderful views. Comfy bed. Charming little town.
Paul Do Mar stay in November 2018
We very much enjoyed our stay in Paul Do Mar, It is a most wonderful location right on the sea shore in a small fishing village with views over the blue sea. Close walking distance to three bar/resturants serving local fish but quiet and peaceful at night. You need to have a hire car but access to the island is very good now with all the new roads, only 35-40 mins from the airport and less into Funchal. Good simple accomodation with everthing you need for your stay. Giorgio, the owner, was most helpful and made sure everthing was prepared for our arrival. The island is lush and beautiful with temperatures in the low 20s, so green and sunny compaired with a grey and cold UK in November. Will be be going back? You bet!
Tranquil. Nothing but the sound of the ocean as if each wave somehow is recharging you
Idyllic. Well equipped retreat. Local bars and restaurants very close.
Beautiful ocean front house
My family of 4 loved staying at this beautiful little house. You literally open your window and have the ocean right in front of you with no obstructive views. Every night we enjoyed the sound of the waves to put us to sleep and during the day the ocean breeze felt great. An extra bonus was having your own private outdoor patio on the 3rd floor with plenty of seating to relax and enjoy the amazing views.
On paper this apartment seemed an ideal place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Metres from the sea, rooftop terrace with wonderful views looking out to sea and the surrounding area. On entering the property in the early hours of a Saturday morning we were met with cockroaches scuttling around the floors, kitchen walls and in the cupboard. We immediately wanted to turn around and leave. We were very tired after the flight and needed sleep. The following morning we gave the accommadation a good clean. The place did look clean but if these things had been crawling all over the place it obviously wasn't. We purchased some insecticide and gave the place a good spraying. All the windows and doors were shut at night. The following morning, more cockroaches!
We reluctantly perservered as the location of the apartment was so good. What really broke the camel's back was finding one of them crawling on me in bed in the early hours. We contacted the owner who apologised but thought the only solution was to send a maid with a tin of insecticide to spray the accommodation. This we had already done! The following morning several more cockroaches were found in the living area floor, cupboards etc. I thought the owner of the property would have enquired how things were, but nothing. We sent a further email advising that we were vacating the premisises and booking into a hotel and we were now pretty disgusted with the accommodation. Still no further reply from the owner.
Pretty disgusting customer service if you ask me. We originally tried to book the accommodation through a booking agent but after several problems with dates the owner contacted us and we sorted everything directly. We have since wondered if this has been very convenient for the owner as there would conceivably be no comeback.
Before you book this place I would strongly advise unless you have good stomach for these dirty little creatures scrambling all over the place i would look for alternative holiday accommodation.
As we have written previously in our response to our guest we apologize for the happening and we stress the excepcional hot weather that we were experiencing in the last week , ( cockroaches fly through open windows). The maid was sent immediately and did the best she could with a spray, but with no avail. Cleanines and good housekeping is extremely important for us and our record of client's satisfactory reviews is there to prove it.We apologize again for the inconvenience and the reaction caused. When we returned to the house with a professional insect control the guest had already left.
The Atlantic Ocean is literally two metres from the front door. The local harbour and beach is only one hundred yards walk along the sea wall, where you can also buy freshly caught fish from the fishermen. Local traders also bring fresh bread, fruit and vegetables to the village in vehicles . There is a local supermarket, baker, a hairdresser and bank within 100 metres walk. Paul do Mar is really a traditional fishing village and life continues as it has done for many hundreds of years. This means that you could wake up to find a large pile of freshly caught, tuna fish lying outside your neighbour's front door! Well, he is one of the local fishermen after all. You will also see the boats moored in the harbour and the local ladies filleting their fish on the sea wall.
Until a few years ago, the only access to this village was by sea ! Recently, new tunnels have been constructed, connecting the village to the main highway and the capital.