Quiet location 130m from the high street and beach. 3 bedroom, 2 washroom, yard
Why Vicki chose Saint Ives
Location, Location, Location!
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
The only problem...
It’s a lovely place...all you need to know is that it is a little hard to get to... the walk down from the carpark is quite steep and that the internet/cellphone reception is temperamental... the front of the House close to the entry door will be the best spot to catch the internet😂
The owner was great communicating with us... and when we asked for a French press so we could enjoy a cup of coffee it was provided the very next day...thank you🙏
What can i say, Dotties Cottage was so beautiful snug and evetyhig you need amenities wise.
We booked to stay at Dotties Cottage From Friday 2nd May to Monday 6th 2019. The accommodation was everything it described and even came with welcome Milk coffee, tea and biscuits which were delicious. The cottage was very cute and snug and big enough for our Family of 4. My mother also came with us and stayed in Arnies studio below this was also fantastic and came with its own amenities, the only 1 thing I would say is Arnies Studio could do with a little Mini Fridge so you can have some milk and butter for a coffee or toast when not in the main cottage. The children absolutely loved this cottage and want to come again the outside area is such a added bonus we managed to sit outside and have tea and cake in the sunshine, and the children played out their for ages.
I would defiantly recommend to stay here and the location is so perfect and close to everything. I will be booking again for next year. Loved it.
We have enjoyed a wonderful Easter week at Dotties Cottage and Arnie's Studio. We stayed five people with our pet, a Golden Retriever. The house is cosy, well preserved, fully equipped and well located in the fishing district of St Ives. The climate was very variable; the first few days, rainy and cold, became hot and sunny at the end of the week. Electric heating was enough to heat the house, studio included. The last days we could enjoy the garden on the terrace full of bells and green plants.
I would suggest reading the other reviews from a positive point of view because they are useful. The shower in Arnie's studio worked very well. In our case, the sheets and towels were clean and white. Parking was not always easy, but we found that there used to be free space at St Ives RFC, not far from the cottage.
I highly recommend Dotties Cottage and Arnie's Studie if you want to enjoy a quiet family holiday in a town full of character such as St Ives. Thank you very much, Vicky!
Beautiful holiday home
Just returned from wonderful stay at Dotties Cottage, great location and comfortable home. Vicki was helpful and accommodating making our stay perfect.
Typical fisherman’s cottage in Downalong, ideal for shops and harbour, couldn’t ask for more.
Great location in centre of town. Pretty cottage nicely decorated. Let down by tiny fridge and the most ridiculous hot water system which in desperate need of a pump. Bedding in need of replacement, pillows have indiacribable stains and no protectors! But a lovely comfortable stay and thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful and unique St Ives.
Thank you for your review.
I’ sorry to hear that the pillows were marked. It is always our intention to provide top standards. They have now been replaced along with pillow protectors and my house keeper has been made aware.
Regarding the hot water; is it just the bath that caused an issue? Unfortunately we do struggle with this due to supplies to such an old property however sinks and showers are usually always good.
I hope you were still able to enjoy your week.
Small and sweet house in a lovely location
Overall our stay was lovely! The house is a little awkward to get to for unloading/loading, but that might be less of a concern over a long stay, we were only there for a weekend.
As others have mentioned, the hot water pressure in the only bathroom (in the main house) is really poor, but the shower is very good. The towels are stained, but cleaned. My guess is the host does these themselves, rather than using a cleaning service.
The welcome hamper was lovely and had everything we needed for washing up etc, which is always useful.
There wasn't a coffee machine which the description on here suggested, but we didn't need it.
There were 4 of us sharing the main house and it was comfortable, 6 might be a bit of a squeeze, especially with only one bathroom! The extra studio is a real bonus, though!
My only gripe is the internet. I specifically booked somewhere with wi-fi as I needed to finish some work the first day we arrived, unfortunately the house does not have it's own wi-fi. The owner has been kind enough to share her BT WiFi password in order to use the BT WiFi with FON infrastructure, however the signal was too weak to stay connected most of the time. You can access it upstairs, with reasonable success, but not from the living/dining/kitchen room.
All in all, I'd stay here again, but I'd bring a WiFi repeater with me to amplify the signal.
Thanks for your review. You’re feedback is very important and we take it all very seriously. I’m sorry to hear you had difficulty with the internet and some linen was stained. We aim to provide excellent standards so if you had contacted us with these difficulties we would have done our best to address them. We have always experienced reliable Internet connection in the living/ dining area and linen should always been spotless. I’m glad that your stay was positive overall but sorry that we’re weren't aware of this issues to enable us to resolve them this time. We wish all our guests the very best of stays.