check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Summer Bungalow/Cottage named 'Middle Earth' a Very Short Walk to Beach or Bay!

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VacationRentals.com checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Jan 18, 2017
  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

1000 sqft, 4 Bedroom, 2 Full Bathrooms plus Large Enclosed Outdoor Shower

Quaint and beachy single story bungalow/cottage in the Ocean Ridge section of Davis Park, Fire Island (east of marina). Large deck wrapping from west side to south side. Sleeps 8+; 3 queen bedrooms and 1 bedroom with 2 single beds. Two built in couches also suitable for sleeping. Quick walk to the beautiful and unique ocean (Atlantic Ocean) beach which runs the entire length of the Island. Also, quick walk to the Great South Bay. Walk to all amenities!

Recent Review

About the Owner

Abigail Crosby
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Abigail Crosby

This home was built by our parents in the early 1960's, and is now owned by all their children.

Abigail Crosby purchased this bungalow in 1964

Why Abigail Crosby chose Fire Island

Fire Island is very unique and impossible to imagine if you have not been there. No personal vehicles...only board walks, sand and island greenery! All houses on stilts! Walk everywhere...within the community, or between communities! The beach is mostly white sand, going the entire length of the Island. Life Guard services at the public beach in front of the Casino Restaurant & Bar...at the end of Trustees Walk directly across the Island from the main ferry dock.

What makes this bungalow unique

Our house is small, quaint and rustic... No water views, but close to the bay and the Atlantic ocean! Kitchen opens to common area so no one misses the fun and the stories! House comes complete with beds made, and includes dishwasher and washer/dryer.

4 Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

1

Horrible!!!! Filthy and disgusting!!!

  • 1 of 5

Filthy. Unsanitary. The inside of the house had not been dusted in about 6 months. The refrigerator and stove were also very dirty. The bathrooms had mold on the ceilings and the showers had black on the floors. Ceiling fans were not wired properly with wires exposed. Not that we turned them on because there was about a 1/2 inch dust on all of them. The tv didn't work. The pictures on VRBO were deceiving. How dare they make you sign a lease to keep the house clean & tidy when you leave and when you get there, it is so disgusting and filthy. The beach chairs were rusted. The washing machine was out of service and I was advised that a new one would be coming on Tuesday. We only lasted 18 hours there. We were up all night and left the next day. We didn't even want the dog to stay there. Fortunately, I was refunded my money for the stay or there would've been a very big issue. We do not live in dirt and filth. I wouldn't recommend this house to anyone. I gave it 1 star because you have to rate it, but If I would have given it any rating, it would be a "negative -5 stars." This place was horrible!!! The owners should be ashamed of themselves for asking the amount of money for this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Truly sorry you feel this way about our house. Our entire community is rustic...not fancy... This is a true beach house, and we don't claim otherwise... If you were expecting extravagant, another community or the Hamptons is more suitable. The house is/was clean. We refunded your money immediately [including your one night] because this is the first time we've run into someone so unhappy...actually, we were startled by the whole thing... We inspected the house immediately after you left, with the cleaning people, and it's true you left sand in the showers. Otherwise your complaints of the house not being clean are just not accurate... I will tell everyone and anyone, the house is not fancy... It is a seasonal beach house, not an extravagant estate... Also, TV works perfectly...we leave specific instructions on how to use DirecTV too...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply awesome!!

  • 5 of 5

This was an absolutely amazing experience at Middle Earth! Beautiful home, beach, bay, fishing, sunshine, grilling every day and night, clamming feet from the house!

This place was in great shape, condition, etc. 3 showers!!!?? Perfect! Great communication with the owners/home away...

One major complaint.

We had to eventually leave this amazingness!!!

Nothing but love and happiness...

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Middle Earth-August stay

  • 5 of 5

House was great! Owners were awesome! Super fast response to any inquiry we had. Will absolutely be back!!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Patchogue ny USA
5

Middle earth

  • 5 of 5

Middle earth ,The house was nice and clean, all the Amenities,every quiet, couldn't ask for more

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

From the Owner

Fire Island is very unique and impossible to imagine if you have not been there. No personal vehicles...only board walks, sand and island greenery! All houses on stilts! Walk everywhere...within the community, or between communities! The beach is mostly white sand, going the entire length of the Island. Life Guard services at the public beach in front of the Casino Restaurant & Bar...at the end of Trustees Walk directly across the Island from the main ferry dock.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Barpub : Casino Restaurant & Bar at 0.2 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Casino Restaurant & Bar at 0.2 Miles Nearest Beach : Atlantic Ocean South Side of Entire Island at 0.1 Miles Car: not necessary

Fire Island is a barrier beach along the south side of much of Long Island, NY. The Island is very narrow, but more than 30 miles long. It is separated from Long Island by the Great South Bay. Each community/hamlet is accessed from different points and ferry companies on Long Island. Davis Park/Ocean Ridge is accessed via Patchogue, NY (Davis Park Ferry Company). Ferries are passenger ferries only. No personal vehicles on the Island. Transportation is on foot only, via boardwalks and sand.

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Contact Me Email Owner

Additional information about rental rates

Security and Damages Dep $300
Tax Rate 3.0%

Rental agreement will be mailed for signature and return. Pets are considered, but must be pre-approved.
Weekly rentals begin and end on Fridays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Updated: Jan 18, 2017
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

Our house is small, quaint and rustic... No water views, but close to the bay and the Atlantic ocean! Kitchen opens to common area so no one misses the fun and the stories! House comes complete with beds made, and includes dishwasher and washer/dryer.

Property Type

  • bungalow

General

  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Television ...

Suitability

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Attractions

  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • shelling
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Floor Area

  • 1000 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, shower
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower
  • Outdoor Enclosed Shower - outdoor shower

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single

Outside

  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car