Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Very Spacious Upscale Cottage in a private setting on Brooks Lake

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,500 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Lake Front Cottage, 5 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 12


The Brooks Lake A Frame is a very private retreat. It sits on a quiet bayou with two different views of the water. The 100 foot frontage offers two docks, complete with a small row boat and paddleboat.

This spacious cottage boasts 3 levels of comfortable living, complete with 4 decks. The loft bedroom has 2 twin beds and another single bed on the

loft's balcony, the two main floor bedrooms each have a queen size bed, and the walk out level has one room with 2 twin beds, and the other has a full size bed.

Additionally, the lower family room has a full size futon that sleeps two. The lower level also features a bar area for entertaining. Take advantage of the two cozy gas fireplaces during winter months - the first is on the main

floor while the second is on the lower level.

We do ask that you smoke outdoors in respect to the owner's asthma.

There is plenty of room for kids to play in either the front or backyards. We even have a small sandy beach area at the water's edge. Water can be accessed right in front of the cottage with the levels starting at about a foot deep.

You will be able to invite the whole family as there is dinner seating inside for 16 people while the tables outside accommodate 10 more.

More Details

Property Manager
Janine Mayer
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2018

About Janine Mayer

I recently relocated to Columbia, South Carolina after living in the Greater Grand Rapids area for the past 25 years. I purchased this home after my father passed away and my mother retired out West with the intention of bringing the family back home to Michigan once a year for a summer reunion. I found that although this is a lovely time for the entire family it is more cottage and time than I can personally enjoy by myself. The idea to rent the home for a few weeks each summer to help generate funds to keep the home well maintained presented itself after owning the home a couple years. Most of my renters return as they have all found that because it is actually my personal cottage and not set up as a commercial rental the home is very comfortable and functioning.

Janine Mayer purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Janine Mayer chose Newaygo

This property is spacious, well maintained, and very private. Owner is helpful and staffs many cleaning, lawn and maintenance people to keep the property clean, up to date and free from any hazards.

What makes this cottage unique

Rental includes paddleboat, rowboat, firewood for bonfire pit and gas grill. Home is well stocked with cookware, and personal needs like hair dryer, iron and washer and dryer.


Newaygo Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Main Floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Lower Level
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 3 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , This Futon is actually located in lower living area of home
  • Books ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, silverware, cookware and utensils. Major appliances include: stove, refridgerator, microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker, toaster and mixer. NOTE: Cottage is on a septic and there is no garbage disposal. There are towels available for the bathrooms and showers but we ask that you bring your own beach towels. The bedrooms are comfortably furnished and include sheets, pillows, blankets, and comforters. Rooms have either a ceiling or floor fan. All bedding and towels used will need to be cleaned and replaced. Renters who fail to do so will be charged a $50.00 Service Fee. General Amenities include a TV, books, board games, washer/dryer, iron, stereo, and hairdryer and large gas grill. NOTE: There IS also cable TV and wireless internet. For your boat safety there are 2 child size life jackets, two adult life jackets and 2 floating boat cushions. Wood is also available for the bonfire pit.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Very Spacious Upscale Cottage in a private setting on Brooks Lake
average rating of 4.571429 based on 7 reviews

Beautiful & Private

  • 5 of 5

Everything was so nice! We will be returning!!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Rapids, Mi usa

We love Brooks Lake A-frame

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd time to spend time with family (ages 8-78) and friends at this lovely cottage. The setting is beautiful. The owner had made some nice updates since our last time here. We do not eat out while we are here. It is nice to have a very workable kitchen.

It is nice to have room for different activities to take place at the same time. We rented a kayak and had use of a family pontoon boat. The kids had a ball tubing on the beautiful lake and the oldster the sunset cruises. We loved sitting around the fire pit.

We are going to miss going this year. Family on the West Coast calls.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Brooks Lake Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The owner is very helpful, responds asap, with any phone call. Plenty of room, nice cabin. Great week. We had rented a pontoon, kids all loved it, and the bonfires every night. No large flat screen tv, which I was glad, everyone was outside the whole time. Brooks Lake is an awesome lake, two docks, which my kids were all jumping off and swimming there. , Great week, Thank you

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

I along with many friends stayed at this cottage for a wkend event, the house was beautiful, plenty of room, clean, and quiet. for anyone wanting to stay at this lovely cottage, you won't be disappointed, The kitchen was stocked with plenty of kitchen items needed for cooking, linens were clean and available, rooms set up nicely, with cleaned sheets and bedspreads, there were no smells whatsoever, was concerned when I had read this previous review, stating the problems, believe me, there were none, no mold, no issues whatsoever, a grill was also made available for this event. Outside table and chairs available upper deck and lower area, a fire pit was also a great addition for the evenings we sat by the fire. My friends which numbered around 10-12 that wkend had no issues whatsoever, with the septic or otherwise, would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a beautiful, peaceful getaway! The stores for supplies were located close by, everything was within a few miles radius, and very convenient!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
West Bloomfield, MI Oakland

Very private get away that's most accommodating

  • 5 of 5

I just wanted to communicate what a lovely time we had with our family at Brooks Lake A Frame. First of all upon arrival we found the rental to be exactly as it was described on the website. In fact it was much more spacious than we had expected. Typically rentals are cramped for space, especially the bedrooms but we had plenty of room for all our luggage and "extras". We absolutely loved the serenity of the setting. Morning coffee on the deck while overlooking the lake from two views was peaceful and serene. This week was a week we shared with some of our extended family and the home seemed to accommodate all the different ages. The toddlers could wade into the waters edge and play on the small beach, the preteens had fun on the paddleboat while the teenagers could take the rowboat out to fish out on the lake. Even our parents found the glider benches and the bonfire at night relaxing. In addition to the house meeting all our needs, we found downtown Newaygo had all kinds of shopping, crafting, dining and even some activities to offer on days we wanted to venture into town. One day all the kids went to Wisner Canoes and rented tubes and floated down the river!

We are excited to return to this rental. It has taken us years to find a quality home that can accommodate our entire extended family under one roof! Bravo!

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Stayed there many times, mostly good last time bad

  • 3 of 5

My sister's name was on the contract but this is Kathleen writing. We have enjoyed staying at this cottage for the last four years.

This time through no fault of our own, the septic system flooded over, it just happened to top out the week we were there. The owner was quick to send out a plumber, septic cleaners and in-home cleaners however we had to live 24 hours with feces all over the floor in the laundry room, and a horrible stench filling the bottom floor. The plumper asked us to be careful so we voluntarily took very short showers, and only flushed if we went #2. We collected toilet paper in bags. After the cleaners left the smell was still very bad in the bottom bedroom which was carpeted and had been flooded with the septic water. We were unable to use that bedroom for the rest of the week (4 nights), and the entire downstairs remained smelly.

My sister respectfully asked for some of our money back but was told that since we had received a discount (small), no more money would be forthcoming. She went on to say that our family is no longer welcome at the cottage! We did not cause this problem and voluntarily took the measures above so as not to contribute to it.

Needless to say this business has some problems. The bottom floor may still be polluted with the remains of the flood, and there was inappropriate refunding for terrible conditions, inability to use one floor and loss of use of one downstairs bedroom. The ceiling also leaks water onto the downstairs bar. There is mold and mildew in the ceiling above the bar and in the downstairs bedroom.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this review was posted in an attempt to discredit me as the house owner. Let me reassure anyone that is considering renting Brooks Lake A Frame that the main reason why this particular renter had an issue with our septic is because they had campers and tents on property in addition to filling the house beyond the recommended capacity. The septic system was over loaded and unfortunately failed. We did send out professional cleaners and a septic company...both guaranteed their work. It was unfortunate that because of the extensive shampooing in the one basement room that while that particular room dried out it did have some dampness and odor as would any basement room having to under go this kind of extensive cleaning in the middle of a very hot and humid summer. I even invested in a dehumidifier to assist in the drying process. I have a history of this family complaining about miscellaneous issues over the years and chose NOT TO RENT TO THEM, which is my privilege when renting out a 1/4 of a million dollar home that essentially is my private cottage...not really a "rental". The home has expensive art, personal affects and this family damaged a lot over the years. It finally became apparent was their overcrowding and disrespect to the home. I will gladly give anyone considering renting this home a guided tour upon their request to reassure them of any doubt or concern that this disgruntled tenant might have created. I am appalled that they expected any kind of discount after I have honored a discount year after year only because they were a distant acquaintance and knowing that their neglect during their stay ended up costing me $10,000 in repairs. We had to put in a new septic drain field and consequently a new well had to be drilled!
Did you find this review helpful?
19 3


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Grand Rapids
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Downtown Newaygo
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Lake Michigan
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* River tubing.

* Antique stores.

* Restaurants...

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Fishing.

* Biking.

* Hiking...

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Wisner Canoe Rental.

* Festivals....

Located just minutes away, downtown Newaygo offers a variety of

activities including; shopping, dining, swimming, fishing, boating,

canoeing, tubing, festivals, antiquing, biking, mini-golf and night

life. Just one lake over is The Smugglers Cove Restaurant,

offering lake side dining on beautiful Hess Lake.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable Damage Deposit $1,000

Nightly Rate: $250
Weekly Rate: $1300 - $2000
Monthly Rate:NA

The Brooks Lake A Frame is available June-September for a rate of
$1700 per week with the exception of July 4th which will be $2000.
Off season Oct-May rates are $1300/week or $300/night
with a two night minimum stay.
We require a 50% deposit within one week of reserving the cottage with signed contract
Bal is due 2 wk prior arrival

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.