check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Private Ocean Front property with bathing cove and deep water swimming

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Aug 21, 2016
3 bedroom cape, 1.5 baths situated on the water's edge; sleeps 6

Check THIS one out! What a spot! Situated almost at the tip of the peninsula Gun Point on Great Island, this location offers spectacular views of Casco Bay. Facing southwest, one can behold outstanding sunsets behind Orr's and Bailey Islands across Gun Point Cove, and admire the vastness of the open sea of Casco Bay beyond, all while soaking in the warmth of the setting sun. The 3 bedroom well kept and modern cape is on the ocean's edge. The movement of the tidal waters will soothe and relax you making your getaway one you will not soon forget. For children of all ages, the bathing cove, formed by the ledges and right in the front, offers great fun for swimming at high tide and exploring tidal pools for sea creatures at low tide not to leave out the collection of seashells of all shapes and sizes. And for the older, experienced swimmers, there is a dock shared with owners for deep water swimming during any tide. It is a very quiet spot yet close to public beaches. Sight seeing drives through quaint coastal towns is a must. You will not be disappointed. Come and experience what living on the Maine coast is all about!

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks: english, french

6 Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)
5

Best Maine vacation

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful, peaceful water's edge home in a culturally rich area.

All needs are met and the additional second floor bedrooms/bath allow privacy on both floors.

We look forward to our fourth vacation in August.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great family break

  • 5 of 5

This is an idyllic spot with beautiful views. Our kids loved the beach, swimming, rock-pooling and fishing; we enjoyed the peace. The property is fully equipped with everything you need for this type of holiday and the owner could not have been more welcoming and helpful. One of the best places we have stayed at in this truly wonderful corner of Maine.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Oceanfront home away from home

  • 5 of 5

This spot was perfect for our vacation! It was even better than we were expecting. The view was amazing, owners were wonderful, the house was great, and it was nice and quiet. We hope to spend many more summer vacations in this home.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation, and thank you for the fine review. We would be pleased to have you return next year..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Cottage on the Sea!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful place to stay & visit in Maine! Nicely kept grounds and home! One of the bonuses is that the home was on the coast. Easy access to Harpswell and surrounding areas for eating out and seeing many amazing places. The pleasant property manager was close by for any needs we might have, but we never felt hovered over or that our privacy was compromised. This is a 5 star plus Cottage on the Sea! Looking forward to our next vacation in Maine! Wilson Family

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, spacious home on quiet waterfront

  • 5 of 5

Our yearly visit has become a tradition. The home is perfectly located on a wide, quiet bay offering enough visual variety but no overwhelming touristy atmosphere. Comfortable furnishings, bedrooms and bath on both levels, and a complete kitchen make this an immediate home.

The friendly owner is right next door and always available.

Local restaurants and nature preserves are marvelous and Brunswick offers all the cultural amenities one could hope for.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

a disapointment

  • 2 of 5

Unfortunately this was a very disapointing experience for our family. When we arrive we were told that the towels would not be available until monday due to large group that had preceeded us. We were also told that a $50.00 charge would be added for an additional guest for one night. The owner who lives just yards away visited unanounced 11 times in the first 24 hours!! The oven did not work and we were told to "try it again" because maybe we didn't know how it worked. Then she offered to replace the oven during our stay which was unacceptable to us to have our vacation disrupted by workmen. Unfortunately we had to have a firm conversation with the owner about giving us some space for our vacation. We have rented via VRBO in many spots around the country and had wonderfull experiences. We could not recomend this beautiful spot due to the owners attitude and behavior.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Response to review #12375501 It is disheartening that this renter was dissatisfied with his stay. This was in spite of the fact that we did make numerous attempts to accommodate his needs, and allowed him to occupy the rental despite his failure to pay in full upon arrival as is our policy. The rental is listed as sleeping a maximum of six, and as is customary there is a surcharge for exceeding this maximum. This renter, however, did not actually pay the surcharge. We do regret that the oven was not working properly, and had unfortunately not been made aware of this by previous renters. We did give the renter the option of rep[lacing it immediately; he preferred to utilize the working stovetop and microwave rather than having it replaced during his stay. The unit has now been replaced with a brand new one. As always, beds had been made with fresh linens, and towels were available. An ample supply of extra linens and towels was delivered within 24 hours of arrival. Although this renter's expectations were not met, this property is indeed a beautiful, quiet location that has been enjoyed by many guests since 2002. Should an interested party have any questions or concerns, please, feel free to contact the owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Portland International Jetport at 42 Miles Nearest Ferry : Portland, ME at 40 Miles Nearest Golf : Brunswick at 15 Miles Nearest Train : Brunswick at 12 Miles Nearest Motorway : 295 in Topsham at 15 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Harpswell at 12 Miles Nearest Beach : Popham Beach at 40 Miles

Harpswell has the last remaining cribstone bridge in the world. It connects Bailey and Orrs Islands. Land's End on Bailey offers an excellent view of open ocean and a large gift shop. Harpswell also has several hiking trails.

Brunswick is the home of Bowdoin College which has museums, and is the site of the Maine State Music Theater which presents 4 outstanding productions each summer. Brunswick is also where the Joshua Chamberlain House is located. The Maine street has many restauranrs and coffee houses. Near Cook's Corner there is a mini golf course and driving range. and a bowling alley.

The town of Bath boasts the Maine Maritime Museum, a quaint Main Street and Bath Iron Works.

Within a one hour drive are: Popham Beach in Phippsburg; Reid State Park in Georgetown; L.L. Bean in Freeport.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer
May 28 2016 - Sep 10 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

$1500 per week (tax included)
deposit is $750 to reserve
Balance is due one month prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Aug 21, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront

Attractions

  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double

Outside

  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car