Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'The Getaway' 1000 Islands cottage

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,300 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 5 Sleeps

This is a lovely cottage located in the Thousand Islands. It's the

perfect get-a-away for rest and relaxation. A screened in porch

allows you to sit outside and watch the ships go by. A dock for

swimming and relaxing is available. A boat slip, if needed, can be

purchased at Blind Bay Marina - which is easily within walking

distance. This is a great cottage and I'm sure you will be very happy in it.

This cottage is actually the guest house to our house in Blind Bay. The cottage sits about 40 yards back from the River. There is a large dock for swimming and relaxing. This dock is shared with us and you.

PLEASE NOTE; ALL RENTALS IN JUNE JULY AND AUGUST ARE SATURDAY TO SATURDAY..

THANK YOU!

More Details

Owner
Laurie Robinson
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2018

Amenities

Hammond Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Please furnish your own bed linens and bath towels
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Please furnish your own bed linens and bath towels
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 child bed , Please furnish your own bed linens and bath towels
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Notes:
The cottage is fully furnished. It offers two large bedrooms. Bedroom #1 has a queen size bed, and bedroom #2 has a full size bed and two twin beds. There is a full bath, and a living room. There is cable TV, a dvd player, and internet connectivity. The kitchen has all new appliances including a microwave.

Reviews

4.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
'The Getaway' 1000 Islands cottage
average rating of 4.8 based on 5 reviews
Bronx, NY
4

Thousand Island Getaway

  • 4 of 5

We are an older couple, and found this to be a lovely location near the water, nice house, comfortably large enough for a family. Fascinating history of the Thousand Islands area—we had a great time, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The1000 islands are an incredible piece of New York State. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Western NY
5

Family retreat 2016- Very nice

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is clean and very adequate. Much larger than we expected! Very much a Northern NY feel inside and out!. The ships going by were so close it was fabulous! Water is clean and accessible. The screened in porch was the preferred gathering place it seemed. Boat launches near by and a marina all within walking distance. Owners met us and acquainted us with the area. Made sure we had what we needed. Prompt refund of deposit.

Definitely would choose this cottage again. Thanks to the owners!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Blind Bay, as we really do feel it is a piece of paradise.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

wonderful

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean and well equipped. We had everything we needed for our week stay. The owners met us when we arrived and showed us around the house and made sure we had everything we needed. The screened porch was great to set out and enjoy the peace and quiet. The house had plenty of windows which made it nice and bright and easy to watch the passing ships. The ships looked close enough that you felt like you could just reach out and touch them. We saw deer and turkey every day and a couple of Osprey. We would make a return trip here on our next 1000 islands trip. The only thing I would add is a child gate for the top of the stairs. We had our daughter with us and she wasn't used to steps because our own home is a ranch style. Other than that the house was perfect.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We have lived in Blind Bay for almost 20 years and it's hard to explain to folks just how special it is. We are so glad you enjoyed both the cottage and your stay. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
California, USA
5

Outstanding! Warm Hospitality, Beautiful Location

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful experience at this beautiful spot! My husband, daughter and I spent an amazing week here prior to our niece's wedding in A-Bay. Laurie warmly received us upon our arrival. The cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, a cozy living room and two very large bedrooms. We spent every day taking runs along the country roads, kayaking, enjoying the osprey and other birds and wildlife, relaxing on the Robinson's wonderful dock they generously shared with us and taking glorious swims in the crystal clear water. Every evening, we toasted another perfect day, as we watched the sun set behind the Canadian shoreline. Daily, my husband checked the St. Lawrence River website (wi-fi signal was strong) for the schedule of ships, then watched with anticipation as they arrived from the east or west. Laurie and Tom were gracious hosts and accommodated all our needs. Our only regret is the week came to an end too soon!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Blind Bay. It really is a piece of heaven! Safe travels, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
New Hampshire
5

Fabulous 80th birthday party and family reunion

  • 5 of 5

My family rented this property and another property in Blind Bay for a family reunion for 12 people to celebrate my Dad's 80th birthday. The property was in excellent condition. The owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and have a good time, including letting us use their double kayak.

This house is behind their own house (on a very seculded road) and the pretty dock picture does not do the dock justice - you share the dock with the owners, it is HUGE. My family had a wonderful time swinning from the dock and kayaking. We even saw a Mink (yes the litle critters they make coats from!) run across the dock one evening!

My 2 teen daughers had a great time kayaking to Canada - meaning they kayaked out to some islands in the river - they thought that was cool! We also Kayaked to the "singer Castle" and took the tour. The wildlife was amazing. In addition to the mink, we had a loon every morning in the little bay, an osprey nest with babies!! and we saw many great blue heron.

Also, the second bedroom, which they do not have a picture of, is large and has a double and 2 twin beds. It's also on the second floor. In the evening we sat on the screen porch - the bugs do get annoying so it was great to have the screen porch.

I cannot say enough wonderful things about how accomodating the Robinsons were to us. I HIGHLY recommend this cottage.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words.. I'm glad you were able to discover Blind Bay and enjoy our fabulous location. Everyone enjoys the 'Getaway', it sits in a very tranquil, private bay with a very nice view of the River and the ships going by. Thanks again; The Robinsons
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0

Map

Well, you're in the 1000 islands so there's always something to do,

but here are some of our favorites...

The Antique Boat Show, the Poker Run, the locks up in Mesina,

antique shopping, Uncle Sam's 1000 Island Boat Tour, boating, day trips to Alex Bay by boat and/or

car, the drive-in is a favorite, swiming, fishing, and life on the water.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100

Weekly Rate: $750 to $1,000


2018 rates are:
$750 a week spring: May through June 29th
$1,000 a week summer: June 30th through August 30th
$750 a week September 1st - Columbus Day
We do ask for a $100 security deposit, that will be refunded within 10 days
as long as the house is in the same great shape you found it in.
Discounts are given for multiple weeks. Our weekly rentals run from
Saturday through Saturday. Check in time is 3pm, and check out time
is 10am. We ask that you leave the house clean and ready for the next
tenants. A $50 cleaning fee applies if the house is not left clean.
The house is stocked with all needed cleaning supplies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.