Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

720 Balboa Ct 4BR/2BA (2nd & 3rd fl) 100 ft. to ocean sand. August openings.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 157 m²
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Townhome - 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, LR futon, 12 Sleeps

South Mission Beach - 100 feet to the ocean with a large front deck. Kitchen and bathrooms remodeled in May 2017.

Sleeps 10-12. Combine with lower unit 718 (#7006161) to sleep 4-6 more or 14-18 total.

June 1st thru Aug. 31st - 7 night minimum (Sat. to Sat.) Sept. thru May - 3 night minimum.

4BR / 2BA upper level unit, 1700sq. ft. upper unit, with two decks. The living room opens onto a the large upper deck with partial ocean view. The deck is furnished with table, chairs, umbrella, 2 lounge chairs, and grill. Kitchen is stocked for basic needs and BBQs.

The 1st BR has a queen bed; 2nd BR has a queen bed; 3rd BR has two twin beds. The 1st BA has combination shower/tub and two sinks. The loft area is a master BR with a king bed and 2 twin beds. The loft/master BA has a separate shower and separate bath with 2 sinks.

The LR has a queen futon and two couches. The kitchen, living room and dining room all open to each other, and to the large front deck. The living room has a vaulted ceiling, fan and sky lights. One TV in living room. Washer and dryer are off the kitchen.

There is no AC but the unit cools even in summer with windows open to the ocean breeze.

There are 2 small parking spots for cars or small SUVs. One is a garage spot and the other is an outside covered spot.

Not rented on Craig's List, No A/C.

More Details

Owner
David Catalino
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017

About David Catalino

Grew up in NY State, and came to San Diego for law school. Love San Diego and been here 30 years.

David Catalino purchased this townhome in 2002

Why David Catalino chose San Diego County

Big deck that faces south and gets sun all day. Short walk to the biggest beach in San Diego (Lifeguard Tower 10). Beach has volleyball courts, and room for any beach game you can think of but also private spots for sunning.

What makes this townhome unique

Quiet area with mainly families and small children. Teenagers can find the action of the roller coaster by a walk or bike ride north. New restaurant Draft near roller coaster has great food and 40 beers on tap. Upstairs is Cannon Ball for sushi and other seafood, drinks and sun.

Amenities

Mission Beach Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 157 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single
  • LR has a queen futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • coin laundry
  • playground
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
1King bed; 2 Queen Beds; 4 Twin Beds; 1 Queen Futon; Washer/Dryer off kitchen. Wireless internet - 1 TV, with DVD. No A/C- open all windows and unit will cool down. Parking for 2 vehicles. Garage parking for one and outside for other vehicle. There is additional street parking on Mission Blvd. and in the nearby parks. There is wireless internet. Sand chairs; boogie boards; and beach toys for the little ones are shared with the lower unit. No Smoking on any part of the property or decks or patios. Maid service upon departure is included. There is no AC.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

720 Balboa Ct 4BR/2BA (2nd & 3rd fl) 100 ft. to ocean sand. August openings.
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 15 reviews
5

very satisfied

  • 5 of 5

We liked our stay very much. Spacious, clean, and attractive inside. Very close to the beach which is large and beautiful. The ad says limited parking which is true. We managed to get a 7 passenger minivan into the garage. That wasn't so easy as the alley in front of the garage is narrow. We could not have parked two minivans there. But that was not a problem for us as our second car was smaller.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aurora, Co
4

Enjoyable stay

  • 4 of 5

We recently rented this property and found it to have some positives and negatives. It was a wonderful location and spacious unit. Perfect for the 10 people we had. Close to the beach and boardwalk. It was clean and what we expected. The negatives were no dish soap ,laundry soap, and paper towel. It had plenty of extra pillows but no pillow cases for the pillows. Several of the dining chairs were falling apart, and the dishwasher was literally falling out of wall. We had a clogged toilet and owner was wonderful and came over and took care of it. He was also apologetic to the lack of supplies we were missing. I had contacted Dave before arriving to see if there were any table fans at the house, and he went out and bought us two new ones to accommodate us. This is a beach house, not perfect but we would rent again. Biggest downfall for us was parking. We had 2 large vehicle's and the spots were very small. However he does state that upfront on home description.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super close to beach and the bay. Quiet for us adults and adventurous enough for the kids. Great!

  • 5 of 5

The property is deceptively large. Perfect location. Walking distance to everything you may need: beach, bay, bars, boardwalk, Belmont Park, coffee shop, pizza and burrito joints, and 2 parking spots. Great! David Catalino is great and always easy to get a hold of. Do it again and again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Dated interior, old appliances, dirty carpet

  • 2 of 5

Would not go back and would not recommend this property. Refrigerator made a truck-like noise but we were able to reset it eventually after losing sleep over it the first couple of nights. This property is in desperate need for updates.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Vasile, I offered to fix these I issues while you were there and you declined. Frig. has been fixed and carpet was cleaned. Sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
4

Roomy and Family Friendly

  • 4 of 5

This unit is large with plenty of seating for meals and family time in the living room. All the sleeping areas were more than adequate and the loft area was in itself a great unit. We were able to find plenty of street parking and did use the garage for one vehicle. Very close to the beach. Great walking paths to both the ocean and the bay. Enjoyed the patio and the grill. Kitchen had plenty of cookware and dinnerware. Both bathrooms were more than adequate and it was nice to have a washer and dryer. The garage was filled with beach type items, though because of the time of year we visited, we did not use them. There were a couple of markets nearby for basic supplies and we were not far from larger grocery stores. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Awesome location and customer service

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I decided to invite his siblings who live on opposite sides of the country to come to our sunny California for the New Years holiday this year. We knew we would be unable to accommodate nearly 18 people in our little 4 bedroom home so began a search for a rental home that would fit all of them. We found this property on home away and requested to rent both floors (718 and 720). I kind of fumbled about trying to figure out how to reserve the place and even accidentally entered the wrong dates on one of the units. David was such a kind and helpful landlord. He responded to emails and phone calls very quickly and was also very flexible with arrangements. The weather was uncooperative during the week we were there so we spent a lot of time indoors and with that many people we never felt crowded indoors. It was a very short walk to the beach and a short walk to Belmont Park. Plenty of parking spaces as well. Thank you David for all of your help! We had a wonderful and memorable weekend!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
San Diego CA
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Beach Comber
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Riverwalk
Nearest Train
12 Miles
San Diego
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Interstate 5
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Draft/Cannon Ball at Belmont Paark
Nearest Beach
40 Metres
South Mission
Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Beach.

* Swim.

* Surf...

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Belmont Park.

* Roller Coaster....

Top Thing to do in Family:

* SeaWorld.

* San Diego Zoo.

* Legoland...

Surfing camp, boogie boarding, sailing, canoeing, bike riding, and charter boat fishing. Nearby attractions include:

Seaworld - 5 Minutes away. The San Diego Zoo - 10 Min.

Legoland - 30 Min. Midway Aircraft Carrier Museum - 10 mins. Balboa Park, Gas Lamp District, La Jolla Playhouse,

Birch Aquarium San Diego Wild Animal Park, Torrey Pines Golf Course.

Golf course, and Palomar Observatory, are all within a short drive. Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, the Queen Mary, Discovery Science Center are a two hour drive. Universal Studios, J. Paul Getty Museum, Norton Simon Museum, Hollywood and the Sunset Strip are within a three hour drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mission Beach Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 26 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Sept./Oct. 2017
Aug 27 2017 - Oct 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,400
$6,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$2,100
$4,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 14 2017 - Dec 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,100
$4,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 4 2018 - Jan 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$250
$2,100
$4,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Apr 11 2018 - May 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$350
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 1 2018 - Jun 8 2018
5 night minimum stay
$400
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 9 2018 - Jun 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$450
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 16 2018 - Jun 22 2018
5 night minimum stay
$500
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 23 2018 - Aug 11 2018
5 night minimum stay
$525
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 12 2018 - Aug 17 2018
5 night minimum stay
$500
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 18 2018 - Aug 24 2018
3 night minimum stay
$400
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 25 2018 - Aug 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$350
$1,500
$2,500
 
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 4 2018
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,100
$4,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Oct 1 2018 - Oct 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
$300
$2,100
$4,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Oct 15 2018 - Oct 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$250
$2,100
$4,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

Nightly Rate: $300 - $500
Weekly Rate: $2200 - $3800
Monthly Rate: $3500 - $14000

Sept. to May rates - 3 night min. $300 to $500 per night depending on date.
(Summer 2015)
June weekly - $2800 to $3400
July weekly - $3200 to $3800
Aug. weekly - $3000 to $3600
Plus 10% tax
Payment in full days prior

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable