Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

720 Balboa Ct 4BR/2BA (2nd & 3rd fl) 100 ft. to ocean sand. Aug. dates available

Bedrooms 4
Space 157 m²
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Townhome - 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, LR futon, 12 Sleeps

South Mission Beach - 100 feet to the ocean with a large front deck.

Sleeps 10-12. Combine with lower unit 718 (#7006161) to sleep 4-6 more or 14-18 total.

June 1st thru Aug. 31st - 7 night minimum (Sat. to Sat.) Sept. thru May - 3 night minimum.

Not rented on Craig's List, No A/C, small parking spots.

4BR / 2BA upper level unit, 1700sq. ft. upper unit, with two decks. The living room opens onto a the large upper deck with partial ocean view. The deck is furnished with table, chairs, umbrella, 2 lounge chairs, and grill. Kitchen is stocked for basic needs and BBQs.

The 1st BR has a queen bed; 2nd BR has a queen bed; 3rd BR has two twin beds. The 1st BA has combination shower/tub and two sinks. The loft area is a master BR with a king bed and 2 twin beds. The loft/master BA has a separate shower and separate bath with 2 sinks.

The LR has a queen futon and two couches. The kitchen, living room and dining room all open to each other, and to the large front deck. The living room has a vaulted ceiling, fan and sky lights. One TV in living room. Washer and dryer are off the kitchen.

There is no AC but the unit cools even in summer with windows open to the ocean breeze.

There are 2 parking spots for cars or small SUVs. One is a garage spot and the other is an outside spot.

More Details

David Catalino
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2017

About David Catalino

Grew up in NY State, and came to San Diego for law school. Love San Diego and been here 30 years.

David Catalino purchased this townhome in 2002

Why David Catalino chose San Diego County

Big deck that faces south and gets sun all day. Short walk to the biggest beach in San Diego (Lifeguard Tower 10). Beach has volleyball courts, and room for any beach game you can think of but also private spots for sunning.

What makes this townhome unique

Quiet area with mainly families and small children. Teenagers can find the action of the roller coaster by a walk or bike ride north. New restaurant Draft near roller coaster has great food and 40 beers on tap. Upstairs is Cannon Ball for sushi and other seafood, drinks and sun.


Mission Beach Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 157 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single
  • LR has a queen futon
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • coin laundry
  • playground
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
1King bed; 2 Queen Beds; 4 Twin Beds; 1 Queen Futon; Washer/Dryer off kitchen. Wireless internet - 1 TV, with DVD. No A/C- open all windows and unit will cool down. Parking for 2 vehicles. Garage parking for one and outside for other vehicle. There is additional street parking on Mission Blvd. and in the nearby parks. There is wireless internet. Sand chairs; boogie boards; and beach toys for the little ones are shared with the lower unit. No Smoking on any part of the property or decks or patios. Maid service upon departure is included. There is no AC.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Aurora, Co

Enjoyable stay

  • 4 of 5

We recently rented this property and found it to have some positives and negatives. It was a wonderful location and spacious unit. Perfect for the 10 people we had. Close to the beach and boardwalk. It was clean and what we expected. The negatives were no dish soap ,laundry soap, and paper towel. It had plenty of extra pillows but no pillow cases for the pillows. Several of the dining chairs were falling apart, and the dishwasher was literally falling out of wall. We had a clogged toilet and owner was wonderful and came over and took care of it. He was also apologetic to the lack of supplies we were missing. I had contacted Dave before arriving to see if there were any table fans at the house, and he went out and bought us two new ones to accommodate us. This is a beach house, not perfect but we would rent again. Biggest downfall for us was parking. We had 2 large vehicle's and the spots were very small. However he does state that upfront on home description.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Super close to beach and the bay. Quiet for us adults and adventurous enough for the kids. Great!

  • 5 of 5

The property is deceptively large. Perfect location. Walking distance to everything you may need: beach, bay, bars, boardwalk, Belmont Park, coffee shop, pizza and burrito joints, and 2 parking spots. Great! David Catalino is great and always easy to get a hold of. Do it again and again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Dated interior, old appliances, dirty carpet

  • 2 of 5

Would not go back and would not recommend this property. Refrigerator made a truck-like noise but we were able to reset it eventually after losing sleep over it the first couple of nights. This property is in desperate need for updates.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Vasile, I offered to fix these I issues while you were there and you declined. Frig. has been fixed and carpet was cleaned. Sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Roomy and Family Friendly

  • 4 of 5

This unit is large with plenty of seating for meals and family time in the living room. All the sleeping areas were more than adequate and the loft area was in itself a great unit. We were able to find plenty of street parking and did use the garage for one vehicle. Very close to the beach. Great walking paths to both the ocean and the bay. Enjoyed the patio and the grill. Kitchen had plenty of cookware and dinnerware. Both bathrooms were more than adequate and it was nice to have a washer and dryer. The garage was filled with beach type items, though because of the time of year we visited, we did not use them. There were a couple of markets nearby for basic supplies and we were not far from larger grocery stores. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Awesome location and customer service

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I decided to invite his siblings who live on opposite sides of the country to come to our sunny California for the New Years holiday this year. We knew we would be unable to accommodate nearly 18 people in our little 4 bedroom home so began a search for a rental home that would fit all of them. We found this property on home away and requested to rent both floors (718 and 720). I kind of fumbled about trying to figure out how to reserve the place and even accidentally entered the wrong dates on one of the units. David was such a kind and helpful landlord. He responded to emails and phone calls very quickly and was also very flexible with arrangements. The weather was uncooperative during the week we were there so we spent a lot of time indoors and with that many people we never felt crowded indoors. It was a very short walk to the beach and a short walk to Belmont Park. Plenty of parking spaces as well. Thank you David for all of your help! We had a wonderful and memorable weekend!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great family property just a short walk from Mission Beach.

  • 4 of 5

The property was perfect for my family and I who were in town for my little brother's graduation from Marine Corps boot camp. David was very clear and helpful. The unit is very spacious and easily slept our party of 10 with everything needed to have a home away from home. I would not hesitate to stay here again!!

Thanks for everything, David!

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad your family enjoyed the unit. We are close to MCRD for graduations and near the beach too. Thanks, Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Spring 2017
Mar 5 2017 - Jun 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
Sept./Oct. 2017
Aug 27 2017 - Oct 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

Nightly Rate: $300 - $500
Weekly Rate: $2200 - $3800
Monthly Rate: $3500 - $14000

Sept. to May rates - 3 night min. $300 to $500 per night depending on date.
(Summer 2015)
June weekly - $2800 to $3400
July weekly - $3200 to $3800
Aug. weekly - $3000 to $3600
Plus 10% tax
Payment in full days prior

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties