check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Oceanfront 1 BR -- Hale Ono Loa 403

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Dec 6, 2016
Condo, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 4 Sleeps

Oceanfront 1 BR sleeps 4 with 2 queen-size beds. Top floor of a 4-

story resort providing for a spectacular unobstructed ocean view

looking directly across the 10-mile Auau Channel to the island of

Lanai. This very clean and well-prepared unit has a large private

balcony facing SW with a chaise lounge, table and chairs. The unit

has a shower-tub combo, dining room, full kitchen, a queen sofa bed

in the living room, and access to a well-kept coin laundry one floor

below. The sound of the ocean is continuous – even from the bedroom.

The resort has a huge deck right on the water for sunbathing and

whale watching and one of the largest swimming pools in the area.

Kaanapali center is 2 miles to the south and Lahaina, the famed

whaling port and former capital of Hawaii is just 6 miles to the

south.

We are owner-operated allowing us to offer you the lowest oceanfront

rates in West Maui. This unit has high speed wireless internet and is a

“no smoking” unit.

Hawaii Tax ID#: W20162588-01

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks: english

10 Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

5

A sweet deal!

  • 5 of 5

What a view. We just loved the place. Okay its not the Westin but its a quarter the price. If you a looking to save some money and have a great place to come back to after a day of site seeing this is your place. We ate in two nights and there was plenty of pots, pans, and utensils (contrary to other reviews). The unit was clean and comfortable and Jim and Lorna went out of there way to accommodate us. Have already told a few folks about this place and plan to return when we have more time.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Condo for the Price!

  • 5 of 5

I live here on the island and have to say that this is one of the best deals for a condo with an ocean view. It's a great location, super peaceful, great trade winds, and nice pool/bbq. The condo is simply furnished and is comfortable. If you're looking for marble counter tops and crystal glassware for your wine you need to cough up three times the money and stay somewhere else. If you need a simple, clean place to call home while listening to the ocean, you're in the right place.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Condo

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I got away for our 20th anniversary. This condo was perfect for the two of us. We had a great balcony/lanai with unobstructed ocean view and the sounds of the waves. It exceeded what we had hoped for with one of the lowest prices we could find. Walking distance to a farmers market three days a week and the ABC store. Sat on the lanai every night with munchies and drinks. It was just the quiet getaway we had hoped for. If you're a germaphobe, clean freak that needs maid service then I'd go to place that costs $500 a night and up. This isn't it. But it was clean, quiet, roomy, and checked all our boxes. Would definitely stay there again without hesitation. They would quite literally have to charge an extra $100/night before I'd shop around. Also, let me add that the owners let us stay there till 5:30pm on checkout day on very short notice. We paid $50 for the maid service that had to be canceled and rescheduled due to our very last minute request. I gave it 5 stars due to the quality of what we received versus the low amount of what we paid.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful view, ideal location for our needs

  • 5 of 5

As long as you don't come here expecting a brand new luxury beachfront condo (which you can get if you pay two or three times as much!), this place offers great value for lovers of the sea. We had every meal on the balcony admiring the view. Though one must take care when the surf is up, it is possible to snorkel or bodyboard on the reefs in front. But better to drive 10-15 min either direction to DT Fleming or Honoapilani for beach access. We will return as soon as we have a chance.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Major let down

  • 1 of 5

I do NOT recommend staying in unit 403. The condo itself wasn't in great shape. There was mold on the ceiling in the bedroom and bathroom. There was no extra bedding (but a pull out couch and an air mattress, go figure) so sleeping more than 2 will be difficult. Most of the very few pots, pans, plates and untensils were in very poor shape. I agree with the other reviews, this is not the place to stay if you want to cook.

There were two boogie board and snorkel gear, but those had mold as well. They also do not provide beach towels (it's HAWAII!!).

On top of this, the owners were rude and unhelpful when we had contacted them with issues. My husband and I had to work remotely on the vacation and the "high speed internet" was not working when we got there. We were instructed to call the Internet company ourselves (who likes calling Internet companies on vacation!) who couldn't come out to fix the Internet for a whole week. When I email the owners to see what could be done, since high speed internet is part of the accommodations we paid for, their response was "oh bummer! Well you shouldn't be on the Internet on vacation anyway". They also rudely "reminded" us that they had OFFERED us a free night since we stayed for 14 nights so we "were already getting more than we paid for".

Save yourself the headache and stay somewhere else!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our website, and the listing, are both clear that this is a one bedroom unit with a queen size hide-a-bed in the living room (which did have bedding on it). There is also an inflatable bed if you would prefer to use that…yes you would have to move the bedding from the hide-a-bed. However, they were on their honeymoon so I am not sure how this is relevant to them anyway. As to the pots, pans, and utensils this is just not true. A brand new set of pots, pans, and utensils was put in the unit on April 16th and their stay was in early May. Regarding mold on the boogie boards and snorkel gear I cannot say. The previous guests may have put them away wet…it is Hawaii so mold can happen quickly but it could also be quickly cleaned off. Beach towels—we used to supply them but as we told these folk in March (before they came) the maid service charges about as much to clean them as it cost to buy. Costco has the best towels on the island for $12 and instead of us having to charge you additional for beach towels you can bring your own or buy some at Costco and take them home. As to “issues” there was only one…the internet was not working. We called the internet company and they recommended that the guests contact them directly to see if they could troubleshoot it over the phone. I also called the internet company to see if I could get them to out come sooner to no avail—things do not move quickly in Hawaii. What they neglected to mentioned was that we offered to pay any additional data charges they might have while the internet was down. My comment about them getting more than what they paid for (we gave them a free night) was in response to her message stating “As I said before, we want to get everything we are paying for on this vacation.” Frankly, it is hard to me to imagine how we could have been more accommodating…we offered to pay for their additional data charges, we helped arrange for them to send packages to themselves prior to their arrival, and we put together a list of restaurants for them to enjoy on their honeymoon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3
Oregon
2

Barely....

  • 2 of 5

I've been going to Hawaii since the 1980s. All the major islands - have rented condos every time - probably close to 20 trips. This unit is in a great place - good view, good complex. But it is very marginal in terms of condition and amenities. If you're interested in cooking at all - not the place for you. You might be able to boil an egg, but probably not two at the same time - any saucepan there would be too small. We had to go to Kahului to Walmart to find a pot to buy that was big enough to cook some rice. And there are bugs all over the kitchen sink, drawers - roaches and some little black bugs I couldn't identify. The price is good for the location. But I wouldn't go there again.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Grossly unfair… The review above does not accurately represent the condition or amenities of this unit. Sadly we were given a 2 star rating for 2 issues that were corrected for less than 2 hundred dollars. If there is ever an issue in our unit the guests have our number and the number of the maid service and we make every effort to correct it as quickly as possible. In this case no contact was made and instead an overly critical review was left. We agree that the bugs should not have been there. In Hawaii bugs can get out of control in a hurry. The maid service saw the situation and did bate and spray before their arrival but apparently it did not resolve the problem; an exterminator was brought in after the guest checked out and the problem was immediately corrected. As to the pots and pans this also should not have happened (but things do disappear sometimes in rental units). A complete new set of pots and pans are in the unit. We are trying to improve the unit; in December we spent over $5,000 tiling the unit and over $1,000 on furniture. Additionally, we have spent $1300 on new front drapes that were installed last month. Our goal is to have every guest pleased with the value they receive. We really do believe that this unit represents the value in West Maui.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 6

Location

Activity and Interests

Sunsets, great walks, whale watching, snorkeling, surfing,

beachcombing, hiking, sailing, jet ski, parasailing, wind surfing,

kayaking, great restaurants, 10,000 foot dormant volcano -- drive

right to the top, mountain bike down the side of the volcano,

sunbathe on balcony or deck

Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: Dec 6, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • condo

General

  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool

Suitability

  • pets not allowed

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1

Outside

  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • high speed wireless internet, ceiling fans, free off-street parking, stove/oven,large private balcony with chaise lounge & table/chairs, microwave, free cable TV, DVD/VCR, iron/ironing board, toaster, icemaker, CD player, free local phone, handicap accessible, radio, blender, pots/pans/tea pot, check in/check out maid svc, alarm clock, bath linens, refrigerator, swimming pool, vacuum, coffee maker, gas BBQ, beach chairs, coin laundry, large deck for sunbathing & whale watching

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car