Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Colorado River Retreat, Sleeps 8

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 story home with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, boat access, fisherman's vacation

Our vacation home #76B is located on the Colorado River, midway between

Matagorda and Matagorda Beach....features include three bedrooms, two

baths, sleeps 8 persons, lighted fishing pier with cleaning table,

Bar-B-Q pit, spacious upper and lower decks, lawn chairs, central

heat and air and great views of the Colorado River and East and West

Matagorda Bays from the deck. Our location puts you within a few

minutes drive of Matagorda Beach. The Intracoastal Waterway and both

Matagorda Bays are easily accessible by a short boat ride. You will

also be within a few minutes drive of the Matagorda Jetties, local

bait camps, River Bend Restaurant and the town of Matagorda.

PLEASE NOTE: Linens and towels are not provided with any rental!


Sorry, no pets.

More Details

Property Manager
Tracy Savell
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 15, 2018

About Tracy Savell

My brother and I have owned and managed rental properties for more than 30 years. Our rentals are treated as homes. We welcome you to our property and hope you enjoy everything it has to offer.


Matagorda House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible


3.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

14% Complete
28% Complete
28% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
Colorado River Retreat, Sleeps 8
average rating of 3.2857144 based on 7 reviews

Perfect fishing vacation

  • 4 of 5

My group had a great time . The house was as expected . No frills but good enough for a group of men to stay a week and fish and the fish were biting . Enough room on the dock to tie up 3 boats. The dock could use some repairs and the refrigerater handel fell off. Other than that the AC worked great and we had fun. Thanks for a great time and I look forward to next year.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not a bad property, however; it is not great.

  • 3 of 5

Not quite what we expected. The smaller upstairs bedroom mattress was very dirty. The upstairs A/C was very loud in one of the bedrooms. The bathrooms appeared recently renovated and nice. With the exception of a downstairs picnic table, there is no outdoor seating. Thankfully, we brought our own chairs. We brought them to the upstairs deck for morning coffee and then hauled them downstairs to fish. The dishes provided did not include coffee cups so bring your own or paper. For a guy fishing trip, the property is okay, for a family getaway, not so much.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good Location enjoyed the stay!

  • 3 of 5

Just wanted to let you know the stay was good!! Good location!! The house was comfortable but was disappointed with the Bar B Q pit whoever stayed there last left it with food on it and a plate on it and it wasn't cleaned so didn't use it...didn't not use the dishwasher guess the last set of guest there left it full of dishes that appeared clean..left the dishwasher like it was found...we brought all of our own paper goods used in kitchen...and if money is kept for cleaning services that part of it needs a little help seem money wasn't used to its fullest...also a mop bucket sitting on deck by back door full of water and other stuff just pushed it off to the side...didn't use anything in the downstair deck area....other than that the stay was good...would do it again..Thanks!

*the bathrooms were good liked the showers!!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

The pier and deck were as advertised. This house is in a perfect location for fishing and the beach.

  • 2 of 5

We stayed for 4 nights. We enjoyed crabbing and fishing off the pier. This home is in a very good location and has a nice deck and lighted fishing pier as advertised. There are plenty of windows for a beautiful view of the river. However, the inside was not ready for guests. The walls, floors, and freezer were not clean and the the dishwasher was full of dirty dishes. It was very hot when we arrived and took several hours to cool down. The air conditioner DOES work very well. The house remained at the set temperature after several hours of turning the air on and was very comfortable during our stay. The hot water heater also was not turned on. We were charged a service and cleaning fee, so I was very surprised. I would stay here again, but I would make sure the house was clean and cool before arriving.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

could be a nice place

  • 2 of 5

This property has a lot of potential to be a really nice place. The exterior is nice , the showers are very nice. The furniture in the living room was really worn. fresh paint would help a lot. the railing needs to be replaced , a safety issue with children or anyone who would lean on it. A few boards need to be replaced on the dock. A minimal investment could make this a nice piece of property.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great fishing camp

  • 4 of 5

All was as advertised. Only complaint the upstairs AC didn't work as well as the downstairs AC.And the house could have had trash service. Other than that we had no problems . Plenty of room to tie up two pontoon boats . Two shrimp boats three houses down for fresh shrimp to eat. Thanks for a great week of fishing

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you David! We are happy you had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Refundable Damage Deposit $200

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.