Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Beach Front on Indian Lake

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VacationRentals.com checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Feb 20, 2017
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 4 Sleeps

The nicest sandy beach on Indian Lake! Comfortable, clean and cozy 2 story NON-SMOKING house. 2 bedrooms (queen and full), 2 full bathrooms plus outdoor enclosed shower and sink with hot and cold water. All bedding and towels supplied.

Washer, dryer, dishwasher. Fully outfitted kitchen. 2 flat-panel TV's, DVD. Wi-Fi. Large deck with gas grill, dock, floating swimdock about 200 feet from shore. Breathtaking sunsets. Use of canoe (use at your own risk).

Large 200-acre clear, spring-fed lake with 2 islands. Great sandy beach for swimming. The lake is shallow so it warms up quickly in the summer. The best bass & pickrel fishing right off your own dock. Ten minutes to ocean beaches, restaurants, shopping. Twenty minutes to Newport. Great restaurants, coffee shop, gym within a mile. Five miles to the University of Rhode Island. Beautiful 6-mile bike path a few miles away. This is a peaceful, family neighborhood - not a rental community.

More Details

Recent Review

About the Owner

Tracy Everett
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2017

15 Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

1

Dead Tree Falling on our Cars Really Put a Damper on our Relaxing Summer Vacation

  • 1 of 5

The location of this place was lovely as others have described, but our interactions with the owner after we left cause me to give this home the lowest review. While we were out one night, an obviously dead tree fell on the property on the driveway, damaging significantly two of our cars parked there. The damage included a smashed windshield, dents and multiple scratches on two vehicles (one car was just a few months old!). The crash was significant and the owner had already heard about it from the neighbors by the time we got home and called us right away. The owner was very apologetic and repeatedly assured us that all damage would be paid for. She sent a gardner over the next day to remove the tree limb from the vehicles. We then had to wait around all day for a windshield repair company to come and replace the windshield so we could drive the car. The lakeside location was nice, so that part wasn't that bad, but it was unnecessary stress on our vacation and it caused us to change some plans. We were understanding though and the owner was so nice and apologetic about it. But once our vacation was over, the owner went back on her word and refused to pay for the damage. We submitted the claim to our insurance company, and the owner still refused to pay the $250 deductible. She said she didn't legally have to because the dead tree falling was an act of god. Maybe she is right, but doing so was the right thing to do in my mind when vacationers have two cars badly damaged on your property due to an obviously dead tree. It's also what she said she would do repeatedly during the week. This is probably a rare situation, and the dead tree already fell so your cars will probably be safe. But the owner is not someone I'd like to do business with again and I share this experience for others deciding on this place.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christine, This is very disturbing. I know that the situation was disruptive to your vacation, and as I said many times, I am very sorry for that. But what you have stated above is simply not true. On 8/7/16, a large tree branch from the property next door (not a whole tree, just a large branch that was overhanging my driveway) came down and damaged your truck. I told you I would pay your deductible, which you said was $250. I did pay you $250 for the damage to the truck, exactly as I said I would. That check was sent to you on 8/15/16, and was cashed by you. I have the text messages from 8/12 where you said they charged you $250 for the windshield replacement, and you asked for my email, which I provided. You emailed me the invoice on 8/15, I replied to you that I sent the check on the same day, and you replied "Great, thanks so much". That is what I said I would do, and that is what I did. Why would you say I didn't? One month after the incident, on 9/7, you sent me a text asking who is paying for the damages, because there was a claim on another car also. I replied that I was not aware that there was damage to a second vehicle, and you replied that there were scratches on your car (in your text you said "scratches", but in this review you said "significant damage" and "badly damaged"). I replied that I did not have a claim with my insurance company, because the tree was not on my property, but on the association property next door. I had paid you the $250 out of pocket, and paid to have the tree trimmed out of pocket. I suggested you call the association president to see if they had a claim. I never said that I did not have to do anything legally, or that it was an "act of God". The text messages tell the story. You can see for yourself that I did not say anything about not paying the second $250. I said that even if the association had a claim, I doubt that they would cover the deductible. You asked me for the phone number of the association, and I gave it to you. That was the last I heard from you, until you wrote this review, which is now over 3 months since our last contact. Clearly I did not have to do anything legally, but I did what I felt was the right thing to do - cover the $250 deductible for the damaged truck. It is very disturbing to me that you said I went back on my word. You did not tell me about any damage to a second vehicle until one month later. That doesn't seem right, does it?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet Getaway

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our week on Indian Lake. The cottage is on a quiet dead-end street with direct access to the lake. We enjoyed fishing every day and the breath-taking sunsets at night. The neighbors were friendly without being intrusive. The house is in a great location only minutes from shopping & the RI beaches. Tracey was very quick to respond to our email questions.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your week at the lake! It's a great place for R&R, but yet there is lots to do nearby if you choose. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer! Thank you again, Tracy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love this Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

This was the best vacation for my family yet! This cottage was perfect for us. Even though it was small, it had everything we needed. We had great weather so we spent most of our days outside in the canoe, fishing from the private dock and enjoying the beautiful sunsets with our dog! We caught fish (large mouth bass, pumpkin seed, pickerel, and yellow perch) every day, which made my 9 and 6 year old boys very happy which means my husband and I had a good time too :-) Even though the cottage is in a quiet neighborhood, it's close to great beaches, restaurants and ice cream places.

We locked ourselves out of the house on one of the days and Tracy returned our call right away and fixed the situation for us. She was really helpful and understanding and an overall joy to deal with.

We would love to make this our yearly getaway if Tracy will have us back!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Stacy! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's such a great spot for kids to enjoy. Between fishing and swimming and canoeing, they never get bored. I hope that you are able to come back again next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Really nice lake cottage with Stunning Sunsets

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

Gr8 place. We arrived door was open and the house was earring out arranged by the host. Quite community no noise no hassle.

We where going to the New Port Charter Yacht Show and every evening we where racing to get back too see the stunning sunsets with a glass of wine. The place was perfect for us grill worded fine and we enjoyed being outside having a barbecue after a days work. We would sit on the Dock with our wines and cheeses waiting for the next best sunset ever :-)

The only recommendation I can think of could be a bit more ambient lighting on the decking outside to accompany the friendly atmosphere of the whole place

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bastiaan, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! The sunsets really are amazing. Wine and cheese on the dock, watching the sunset, what a way to end the day! Thank you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time and just loved every part of our stay. The house was perfect for us, having all the amenities a family needs, and the grounds were quite enjoyable. The cleaning lady even stopped by with extra towels as we were staying for 2 weeks. Our chocolate lab was in his glory swimming and trying to catch ducks and geese. Our children had a blast swimming and catching fish. We were also extremely pleased with its proximity to all our favorite local places.

Would we stay again? Definitely!

Thanks Tracy!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Julie, I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay! It really is a great place for kids and dogs to play, and for families to relax and enjoy each other. Hope you made some great memories! Thank you again. Tracy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay on Indian Lake! The house was clean, cozy, and well appointed with everything we could want. And, the owner Tracy was a dream to work with. She was immediately available every step of the way: from quickly answering questions before we booked our vacation, to helping us sort out a malfunctioning TV during our stay (she had a new one sent right over!), to helping us locate and retrieve a forgotten item after we left. We've rented other vacation homes in the area and have never had such a pleasant go of it. The lake itself is peaceful and serene with sunsets like none I've ever seen!

Our two weeks there during the summer of 2014 shall truly live in our memories as one of our greatest times together as a family! We hope to return again and again...

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alexis, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! It makes me happy to know that families are making great memories that will last a lifetime there at my house at Indian Lake, as my family and I did for so many summers. You were a pleasure to work with also, and I hope that you can return again soon! Tracy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 23 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Email Owner Email Owner
Updated: Feb 20, 2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Family

General

  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Stove ...

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront

Attractions

  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 900 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, combination tub/shower, This is on the second floor
  • Bathroom 3 - shower, outdoor shower, Outdoor shower and sink with hot and cold water
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower, This is on the first floor - small stall shower

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen, The master bedroom suite is the entire second floor
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double, This bedroom is on the first floor

Outside

  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car