check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Plaza View Stay 2/Bd-2/Ba Apartment Overlooks Arcata Plaza

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Aug 30, 2016
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

Note: Single nights may be booked in some situations but are subject to Owner/Manager's discretion. We handle our own bookings and charges to save you money. This property is EXCELLENCE rated by Tripadvisor.

Plaza View Stay 2 bedroom/2 bath vacation rental, which can accommodate 6 guests, is part of Arcata Stay Lodging Network of Exceptional Accommodations. The 2nd story apartment actually overlooks Arcata's downtown Plaza square, and is 8 blocks walk to Humboldt State University. Enjoy downtown events from the balcony or stroll to boutiques, eateries, nightlife venues, movies, the Marsh Wildlife Sanctuary, Redwood Park Trails, and HSU campus.

Plaza View Stay is a bright and cheerful space with high ceilings and skylights, appointed with exquisite accessories, antiques, and art gleaned from around the world. The master bedroom has a queen bed, side tables with reading lamps, walk-in closet, and an attached bath with tub and shower combination. The 2nd bedroom has twin beds, two walk-in closets, and an attached bath with a stall shower. The kitchen is fully equipped and is adjacent to a dining area with a large farmhouse table which can seat 6 guests.

Separating the two bedrooms and baths is the living room with an antique entertainment armoire, gas fireplace, and a comfy sofa that can convert into a bed which can accommodate 2 additional guests. A door in the living room opens onto a balcony which overlooks the Plaza, has a patio bistro set, and fountain. Enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of fine Humboldt wine while people watching from the balcony.

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Pets considered
  • Internet

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

5 of 5 stars

Reviewed August 13, 2014



I stayed at Plaza View 2 bdrm with my husband and two teen girls. It was impeccably stocked and furnished. We had plenty of room and loved people watching from the balcony. We had beautiful weather, and left the windows open at night, which was a little noisy with the people below but we were provided with earplugs which helped tremendously. We walked all over town and to HSU for the tour. The Farmer's market, Fern Canyon, Trinidad, Arcata Community forest and all the gorgeous beaches were fabulous. Renata's Creperie was unbelievable. We hope our oldest daughter choses HSU so we can stay here several times a year! We feel so lucky to have stumbled upon this wonderful getaway. Thank you Christy and your amazing staff. We will be back.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 8

3 Reviews

4
based on 3 traveler reviews

New Providence NJ
5

The place to be in Arcata!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, 14 yr son and I stayed here for a week for spring break. I noticed that a previous review complained about the noise. Here's the thing. We debated between a remote and quiet rental with an ocean or mountain view, or a place right where the action is, walkable to all of Arcata. We chose the latter. No Regrets! I don't think it is fair to review a place poorly based on the fact that it is in the middle of the exciting Arcata Plaza. If you want a quiet secluded place, then no, this isn't it. However if you want an spotlessly clean, comfortable, fully equipped apt with a fantastic view of the plaza, look no further. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your thoughtful (and 5 star) review of Arcata Stay's Plaza View Stay vacation rental, and your keen understanding that the downtown district activity does make for a greater noise level than a quiet residential neighborhood. Your point is well taken that being right on the Plaza steps away from shops, eateries, galleries, theaters, night life venues, and activity on the downtown square, is definitely where the action is in Arcata. Arcata Stay on-line information does address the fact that the Plaza is a noisier location than those off of the plaza, but the trade off is being close to the commercial district. We are pleased that you believe that you will definitely return to stay with us again. Happy summer....Christy for Arcata Stay Lodging Network
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oakland, CA
5

Beautifully furnished accommodation in the center of Arcata

  • 5 of 5

4 members of my family recently stayed at the Plaza View rental and we were very pleased with our experience. The apartment is beautifully and tastefully furnished, with comfortable beds and furnishings, and wonderful local artwork everywhere. Everything you could need is included, right down to bathrobes, and a complete picnic basket.

With it's location right over the plaza, there is always the concern over noise issues. The owners have done their best, with double paned windows, white noise machines by the bed, and even ear plugs. However, on our stay none of this was needed. Even though we were there on a weekend, and the plaza was busy on Sat. night, the noise was never at a level that we noticed. I would say that if you were there on a big college weekend, say opening weekend or Homecoming, I think you might have some issues. The owners do have 2 other smaller properties there that don't overlook the Plaza that might suit you better if you are a light sleeper. However, in our case, we actually loved looking over the plaza from our balcony, and being so ideally located for walking to restaurants and shops.

The apartment exceeded our expectations- even our local Arcata daughter was very impressed. The price was also excellent, especially compared to having to book 2 hotel rooms instead. We look forward to returning to this location again someday.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
NB Canada
2

Sleepless in Arcata

  • 2 of 5

Located overlooking the local town square, this renovated building has several units. Very well decorated, it has a tiny closet kitchen, behind bifold doors. A wonderfully distressed kitchen table, charming artwork, fast WiFi and coordinated furniture make it warm and inviting. There are two modest BRs - each with a  well appointed bath. The small central LR is cozy with a cast iron Jotel gas stove which serves as the heat source for the entire apartment. Surprisingly, in early March, this worked well with the down quilts that kept us toasty warm.

The adjacent Plaza features night clubs, restaurants, fast-food joints and an endless supply of scalliwags whose antics during daylight are entertaining. At night, not so much. 

The ear-plugs supplied were a nice gesture but futile.  Noisy. Very noisy. 

If you want any sleep avoid this prettily furnished, charming, high-priced downtown location. On the other hand, if you are inured to street noise, it's cozy, comfortable and well located near food, drink and small-town night life.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Arcata Stay Guest, Thanks for taking the time to submit your very thoughtful review to VRBO.com. I always appreciate feedback from our guests and you took great care to describe Plaza View Stay. The interior of the vacation rental is something that we can control, and we do our best to provide our guests a pleasant home away from home. What occurs outside of the apartment is something that we cannot control. Arcata is a University town which had classes in session during early March. You booked lodging on Arcata Plaza, where most town activity occurs around our downtown square, so yes, the noise level is greater than in other locations. That being said, the vacation rentals on the Plaza in the Stillman building still consistently book and of Arcata Stay's over 140 5-star reviews on line at the top travel review website, many of them are for the Plaza vacation rentals. If a future trip brings you back to Arcata, I would be happy to have a conversation with you to discuss other lodging options in our Network that are in very quiet locations. All the best......Christy Laird, Manager for ARCATA STAY
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Arcata is located just 7 miles north of Eureka and less than an hour's drive to State and National Redwood Parks, home to the tallest trees in the world. Enjoy majestic redwood groves, miles of pristine coastline, Humboldt Bay, a famous wildlife refuge, and a lively town square in arty, progressive Arcata, which is also home to Humboldt State University. Between scenic Humboldt Bay and forested hills, our town is a popular destination for visitors to the redwoods and is the ideal 'home base' from which to take recreational day trips or attend events on the Arcata Plaza, including the Kinetic Sculpture Race, Oyster Festival, Pastels On The Plaza, North Country Fair, Arts Alive, and Saturday Farmers Market. Within a 15-30 minute drive from Arcata, visit Old Town Eureka's Victorian Waterfront Heritage District, the Victorian Village of Ferndale, or the quaint fishing village of Trinidad, Trinidad Head and beaches, and Patrick's Point State Park.

Nature Oriented Activities:

Redwood National Park, State Parks, Humboldt Bay, Stunning Beaches

and Forests, Arcata Marsh Wildlife Sanctuary, Hiking, Birding,

Wildlife Viewing

Outdoor Sports:

Biking, Marathons, Golf

River And Ocean Activities:

Kayaking, Rafting, Boating, Sailing, Surfing, Windsurfing, Salmon &

Steelhead Fishing, Beachcombing, Whale Watching

In-Town Activities:

Arcata Plaza Festivals And Saturday Farmers Market, Humboldt State

University, Sightseeing, Old Town Eureka Waterfront, Ferndale

Victorian Village, Trinidad Seaside Village, Shopping, Restaurants,

Live Theater, Art Community, Touring Victorian Architecture, Music

Festivals, Museums, Cinemas, Zoo

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
Jun 2 2016 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$199
$1,183
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$199
$1,183
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Tax Rate 12.0%

Nightly Rate: $199 - $229

Weekly Rate: $1183 - $1393





Rates and Policies:
Per Night Rate (4 Guest Occupancy):
1-3 Nights - $199.00
4-6 Nights - $184.00
7 or more - $169.00
Per Week - $1183.00
* 6 guest maximum
* A two night minimum is required unless manager makes an exception
* No smoking allowed
* Sofa Bed: Additional guests $15.00/person/night
* Pet fee: $25.00

Payment: Credit cards, cash, checks. A credit card number is required to hold the reservation.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Manager
Updated: Aug 30, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic

General

  • Internet

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Downtown

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2

Notes:

  • Overlooks Arcata Plaza, off-street parking Fully equipped kitchen, laundry center, 2 baths Beds: Queen, 2 twins, sofa bed, sumptuous linens Fireplace, skylights, spa robes Wifi, expanded cable, TV, DVD player Coffee and tea service provided

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car