Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Home on the Lake

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, Sleeps 10+

* Since 2004 - VOTED #1 Best Place to Stay in the Area!!

~NOW is your great opportunity to stay at the Jarvis Lodge in 2016~

This four-season house/camp, in the Appalachian mountains of Maine, is situated on pristine, three-mile long, mile-wide, quiet, and well-stalked Lake Hebron, just 13 miles south of Moosehead Lake, on a full private acre++ of pines, birches, ash, maples and grassy land. The Appalachian Trail passes right past our front door, and we are conveniently just close enough to the tiny village center. A tank of gas from Boston, and about a four-hour picturesque, interesting drive northbound, and you're there, where much of the traffic, noise, and everyday stress will be left behind with every mile.

More Details

Owner
Bob and Roberta Jarvis
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Bob and Roberta Jarvis

Bob was brought up in Maine, Rob was brought up in Massachusetts...Both New Englander's all our lives, we decided to retire in Monson...and we finally made it! Now I'll have to update our photos this year as some of the furniture may have changed a bit! (But still as comfy as always.) Here is Bob with the kayaks - before the days of selfies. I will upload one of the both of us first chance I get. :)

Bob and Roberta Jarvis purchased this house in 2003

Why Bob and Roberta Jarvis chose Maine Highlands

We're finally living the dream! Originally, we planned to buy a small one or two room camp. But 14 years ago we sort of fell into this opportunity to buy this home. We did not think we had a chance, but six months later when it was still for sale, we put in an offer and the rest is history. With family in the area, and now, many friends, we wouldn't want to retire anywhere else. And even though we have driven all over the USA, we still loved New England the best and couldn't live anywhere else!

What makes this house unique

Truly this is God's Country (as the sign says). The benefits of living up this way are PEACE of MIND! Out of the rat-race, with less traffic and hustle-bustle, life can go slow here and it's OK. It's ok to be backwoods. It's ok to have less...it's a lifestyle choice. Other benefits include all the amenities of why anyone would want to vacation here...the sheer beauty of the area and the wildlife is wonderful in of itself. We are happy to share our dream with you!

Amenities

Monson House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Half Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Lakeside - 1 queen
    Middle - 1 queen
    Twinroom - 2 twin/ single , Beds together for kingsize or separate for twin
    Loft area/Nook - 2 twin/ single , Trundle style twin, not a bdrm, no door
    Livingroom - 1 double , Futon doubles as a bed, with closing door for privacy.
  • A variety of sleeping situations, we do count the Queens as sleeping for two people. If you have a large group, expect two to a bed. We also have two cots, and one baby portable crib, like new, good for non-climbing babies.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
You may use the campfire in the middle of the yard, and we do provide the wood and plenty of outdoor chairs for your campfire moments. Please roam around the village as there is always more than meets the eye. Good local food and great music jams on Friday nights over at the Monson Community Center! Also, the Monson public beach is a great place to swim and safe (no slate!) for kiddies. Unfortunately, no dogs allowed, but there's lots of other places to go as well.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

5

Warm and Inviting Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful Lakeside property is still and serene during the winter months. Our visit was late January and we visited family and friends during our stay. Waking up in the morning to see the men out on the ice fishing for fun, sport, and maybe even dinner was a welcome surprise. A part of another persons' life rarely seen. my three children had a wonderful time playing out on the ice and sledding down "Granddaughter's- Hill"(?) they thoroughly enjoyed the 4' snowbanks and coming inside to the warm kitchen for hot chocolate, overlooking the lake. The Monson area is quiet and homey. There are lots of places to snowmobile and go extreme snowshoeing (I even saw a sign for dog-sledding). I love how kind the towns folk are and how they always seem to share a quiet but genuine regard for each other and even those that may be strangers/visitors/hikers. We will be sure to come back every year! Who knows maybe we will even add a second annual trip up to the Moose Head Lake region! Thank you to the Jarvis Family for sharing your home so that we might have a "home" of our own for the time we are away.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Holland, PA
5

Laurie, New Holland, PA

  • 5 of 5

We have enjoyed this rental property for many years now. It's such a beautiful place we would never think of staying anywhere else when we visit Monson. The accessibility of the lake is a big draw and the house and apartment is perfect. We also appreciate the upgrades we notice each time we come. We stayed for 2 weeks this time and it was an amazing place to relax and forget about all the hustle and bustle at home. Thank you to the Jarvis' for being willing to share your home with us.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! What a great gift - to end 2014 with such a nice review. Thank you so much! It does our hearts good to read these honest reviews, because we have no idea they are coming! We are so very grateful and happy to know that you sincerely enjoy our place, and we thank you so much for taking time to comment! It makes Bob and I work even harder to make the Jarvis place the very best place to lodge in the grand "Gateway to the North Woods"!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Warwick, RI, USA
5

Absolute perfection!!!

  • 5 of 5

All I can say is THANK YOU to the home owners for sharing their little piece of heaven with the rest of us! My family & I came up for a family wedding & stayed the week leading up to that special day. We planned to help with the wedding but also take some time to "vacation." We did do some things I had never done before, like taking the tour of Moosehead Lake on "The Kate" & going to see the crash site of a B-52 bomber that hit the side of Elephant Mountain back in the early 60s. Of all the things we did, our favorite times were at the house! The house is comfortable and clean. Very well kept. Everything you could need is there, & more. There were 2 members of our group needing handicapped accessibility & that was not an issue! The beds were very comfortable, & even though at times there were as many as 14 of us staying there, there was plenty of room for everyone. The extra space provided by the spacious back deck & the HUGE enclosed porch add to the area in a way you wouldn't expect. The porch isn't just any porch...it is an extension of the house, like a large L shaped room. With the large open windows, multiple ceilig fans, furniture & decor, & cross breezes the house was always comfortable in temperature & in feel! If it did get a tad warm upstairs there were air conditioners in two of the bedrooms & a window fan that cooled off the third room just as well-sometimes better. The owners have taken so much care to make this a comfortable place not only for themselves but for others as well!!! The personal touches of local, scenic places, & especially the art work that I can only assume was done by one of them are such a nice touch! We had people from the ages of 3 up to almost 70 & it would be impossible to tell who had the best time or who liked it the most. My favorite times, personally, were in the morning, sitting at the kitchen table with the 3 huge windows open & the breeze coming in. The view of the lake just down the hill with the loons popping in & out of the water and singing their lovely songs and the hummingbirds humming just outside the windows. I NEVER would have imagined we could have felt as at home as we did. THANK YOU so much to the owners for sharing this wonderful place! All 14 of us can't wait to go back, whether together or as individual families. I would recommend this vacation to EVERYONE! I don't know how the owners ever leave. I surely wished I could have stayed longer, we all did!

The Moorby family, Warwick, RI

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

A wonderful and well needed vacation!

  • 5 of 5

I had an absolutely fabulous time in this house. Rob and Bob were very thoughtful in their consideration of making sure the house is well stocked, beautiful and clean. Their family, Rich and his wife, lives in the area and were more than helpful to me and my friends who were visiting. The lake is beautiful to watch during the day, perfect for canoeing to have some relaxation. The firepit was used at least half the nights during our stay. A real treat that's fun to make and have long conversations by. The televisions--while I wasn't expecting to use them so much were actually great to keep my friends busy while I had work to do.

And yes, I had to work while on vacation and was very, very concerned about the internet situation. However, the internet did not disappoint! I was able to complete all my work and deliver large files within a reasonable amount of time to my clients.

The market and surrounding area are quiet and kind. Traveling to Greenville and Bangor is also quite fun (even if it's a long drive in the car but the scenic drives are amazing!).

And the trails around the area were my favorite part. Climbing Borestone (which is essentially in the backyard, it's five minutes up the road and then another fifteen up the mountain by car!) was the highlight of the trip. I did it twice!

If you'd like to have a beautiful, very quiet spot to relax away from everything--this is the place. I'm definitely considering coming back with a small group of friends for a possible writers retreat! A lovely place for such a stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
N Brookfield, MA
5

great family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place!!! My family of 10 from all over the country (and 1 Canadian) thoroughly enjoyed our week here and none of us wanted to go home. We had a group of mixed ages from 5-64. We rented both the house and apt, great for the 20 somethings since they liked to stay up later, no noise to disturb us older folks. The home is fabulous, well supplied, organized and has everything you could want or imagine to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. Spent most of our time on the deck looking out at the lake and ate dinner outside every night.

Weather was perfect all week long, lake temperature much warmer than expected! and so much privacy.... Owners were fabulous to deal with and everything was as promised! We hope to spend some time here next year as well (And my highlight, saw a moose!)

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thanks for sharing your experiences! I am glad you mentioned "we kept he place well supplied" because we do try hard to keep up with any and all needs that we imagine could arise. If something is missing, we replace it as soon as possible. If something breaks, we get it fixed or buy a new one! It is important to us that your stay is as comfortable and as memorable as possible, and we hope one day you will come back. Thanks for recommending us, as we appreciate it with all our hearts. Bob and Roberta
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
riverside RI
5

We love this house!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at a few rentals in Maine over the last 10 years, but this is the best one by far. We have a large family, with several children, and there's plenty of space for everyone. It's become an important family tradition, something we look forward to all year long. We just finished up our fourth year here, and have already signed up for our fifth. Scenic, quiet, and conveniently located (only 20 minutes from downtown Greenville, a fun place to eat & shop) we never run out of things to do here.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We were thrilled to be able to book your family for next year already, and it is a good idea for everyone to secure your favorite week(s) as quickly as possible. We are grateful and happy to accommodate our return guests, and this review was proof that our rental is worth coming back to again and again!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
May 27 2017 - Oct 14 2017
6 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50

**PLEASE INCLUDE PHONE WHEN SUBMITTING AN INQUIRY**

Peak Month Rates: $1200.00 per week, Saturday to Saturday. (May 27, thru October 14th).
Apartment Rates: 6 night min. Apartment (by itself) is $800.00 per week, (sleeps 4), and will not be rented to other parties while you are renting - unless of course you want to rent it for your own families or friends, in which case if you rent both house and apartment, the total fees will be lessened.
Off Season Rates: $1100.00 per week, Saturday to Saturday. October 15th - May 26th), Unless Event Rates are posted as something different, these are our 2017 rates.
Off Season Rates drop after October. Please Inquire regarding off season rates.
Also, the split color indicated on the calendar on Saturdays means one party is leaving in the morning, one comes in the afternoon.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties