Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Grand Mediterranean w/Ocean View, Ping Pong, One Mile to Downtown or Beach

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 nights


About the property

Ocean and Mountain Views Make Lovely Sunsets. Perfect home for 6 - 15 guests.

Beautiful vacation home is on Santa Barbara's popular Mesa and less than a mile from downtown Santa Barbara or several beaches. The home is walking distance to the Mesa Village Center (fine & casual dining, grocery, drugstore, Mira Bella spa, Lazy Acres).

Views of downtown on one side and the ocean on the other make this an ideal spot for relaxing and enjoying Santa Barbara's amazing beauty. Perfect for families, couples, or friends, the property is three minutes to the most intriguing and famous destinations in the city including the architectural marvel Courthouse, Mission, Downtown, Chase Palm Park, the Harbor, Stearn's Wharf, and Zoo.

Bedroom 1: King bed, TV, views of ocean, mountains and downtown. Bathroom with large tub and separate shower (two twin foam floor-mattresses can be added to sleep parites of 12)

Bedroom 2: Queen bed, two twins (trundle bed), TV, Wii, piano, views of the mountains, steps to bath

Bedroom 3: Queen bed, step to bath

Bedroom 4: Full/double bed, step to bath shared with bedroom 3

Living room seats 8-10 with satellite flat screen TV, DVD and DVD/video library numbering in the triple digits.

All the comforts of home are provided including beach and bath towels, sheets, blankets and pillows ample for a party of 10.

Newly remodeled kitchen is two steps to the back yard making dining with the Santa Maria style BBQ, fire pit, and amazing sunset viewing an easy reality. Fully stocked, the kitchen includes pots, casserole dishes, spices, oil/vinegar, and plating for 8-12.

We're looking forward to providing your home-away-from-home here in Santa Barbara.

More Details

Property Manager
Lynn or Lety
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2017

About Lynn or Lety

Your hosts enjoy welcoming guests (including Flat Stanley) to Santa Barbara and providing view homes that are warmly decorated, clean and comfortable and also in close proximity to all that's wonderful about Santa Barbara.

Lynn or Lety purchased this house in 1995

Why Lynn or Lety chose Santa Barbara

The views and close proximity to all there is to do in Santa Barbara.

What makes this house unique

Hot Tub, Ping Pong, Parking, Sunset Patio

Guestbook comments from the manager

From the Guest Book: "Great views, comfortable furnishings, love the layout, kids enjoyed ping pong and parents the hot tub. Relaxing trip, great accomodations, fond memories. Thanks for providing a wonderful home-away-from home."
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 2


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)


Lovely, clean, kids friedly

  • 5 of 5

We spent one of our long weekend in this house last January. House size was perfect for a 4-family-group. House was very kids friendly with high chair and toys. We also enjoyed hot tub. Since whether was chilly we did not spend time in the back yard, but it looks nice with a nice view. House is only 10 min driving to downtown or to mission and few dining places in walking distance.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Sanem and Family, Thank you for staying at Grand Mediterranean w/Ocean views. We hope to host you and your family again in the near future. We appreciate the wonderful job you did at check-out - our maid staff was very impressed - and also the time you took to post this review. We know you are busy and your thoughts are wonderful to receive. ;-) We look forward to hosting you all again in the near future. Blessings for a wonderful Spring. Lynn and Staff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My family rented the Grand Mediterranean for a weekend in late January. It was the perfect place for us. Plenty of

communal space in the living room, dining room, and on the veranda. Nice ocean view from the back and awesome

mountain view in the front. The kitchen was very well equipped and easy to work in. Of course, the hot tub and

outdoor fireplace were wonderful plusses. We hope to stay in this place again in the future. The Mesa area is

close to both downtown and the harbor, so it's an ideal location. I wish it were mine!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Shirley and family, Thanks very much for choosing Grand Mediterranean w/Ocean Views for your stay. We know you have many choices and appreciate that you chose one of our properties. I enjoyed meeting you and your family. You all are a hoot! Sure hope we have the opportunity to host you all again. Thanks also for posting a review. Your time is valuable and we want you to know we appreciate the time you took. Blessings for a wonderful Spring. Lynn and the SB Mesa Rentals Staff
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bay Area

Wonderful Home, great location

  • 5 of 5

What a great house! We had such a fun time in the hot tub, playing ping pong, and enjoying the view from the patio. Beautiful views of the mountains and oceans, loved it! Will be back :)

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house but some issues

  • 3 of 5

The house and location is great! It has a beautiful view of the ocean, which was great to watch sunsets. The photos do not do the place justice. We enjoyed our time together with friends, but unfortunately, there were some issues that made our vacation less than perfect.

(We have stayed in many other VRBOs, so we are comparing to our stays in those.)

The property was clean, however, the laundry bags from the previous tenants stayed on our door step the entire time of our stay. The trash bins were full when we got there and no one came to put it out like stated. Each bathroom had one roll of toilet paper and we had to provide the rest during our stay. This would have been good to know before hand. Also, the main reason we rented this house was for the hot tub, but when we arrived it was not heating up. When I called the supervisor because the owner was on vacation, she told me the previous tenants also complain of this issue, but no one was sent to check it out. I finally contacted the owner and was told someone would come fix it, but no one did during our stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah, we're so sorry the hot tub could not be fixed during your visit. Because of New Year's Eve/New Year's Day, the need for a part and your short stay it was not possible to repair the hot tub. Since your visit we've hired a new spa company that we believe will be more responsive. Our rates are lower than many homes in Santa Barbara because we don't provided unlimited paper products - one extra in addition to that on the roll. I'm so sorry that policy reduced your comfort in the home. Our goal is to create joy and wonderful memories and clearly these issues took away from that for your group. We hope to host you another time and wish you a happy and healthy year ahead.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Grand Rapids

Well Placed

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed here during my wedding at the Fess Parker's Doubletree Hotel. It was seven minutes to the hotel and the house provided a nice place for our small reception dinner the night before. The house was clean and laid

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Views and Comfort

  • 5 of 5

This was a really nice place. The beds were comfortable and the layout worked well for our group of kids and adults. The house has enough parking for three or four cars (had a problem with that on a previous visit) and is about three minutes to downtown - easy trip. We went downtown several times, did Farmer's Market on Tuesday, Sea Center, shoppping, Courthouse (beautiful when you go up in the clock tower) and ate out - favorite restaurant was Palazzio (tons of food).

The house has a great back patio with dining table, benches and fire pit...we watched the sunset a couple nights...amazing.

If I had to give one suggestion it would be to change the full size bed in the one bedroom to a queen.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
28 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Out Clean Fee $275 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Nightly Rate: $479 - $599
Weekly Rate: $2895 - $3900
Monthly Rate: $8995
Out clean fee: $265-$295 (depending on number of guests)

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Alta Mesa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 11
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Memory Foam Mattress, California King
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Queen and Twin Trundle (twin on top, pullout twin below)
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Double sleeps one comfortably, or two small adults/youth
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
* Wireless Internet * Fireplace * Outdoor Firepit * Santa Maria Style BBQ * Hot Tub * Washer/Dryer * Parking * Linens * Dishes

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car