check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Luxury 8,000 square foot Mansion 5 blocks to the beach- huge beautiful pool


Property Details

Updated: Oct 11, 2016
House, 8 Bedrooms, 6 Baths, 26 Sleeps

Want to create great memories? This is one of the most famous mansions in South Florida. Built by JW Young founder of Hollywood and Port Everglades in 1925. Masterpiece, designed by renowned architectural house of Rubish & Hunter, with significant influences from famous Palm Beach architect Addison Mizner. Listed on National Register of Historic Places by US Department of Interior. Former presidents of the United States have played pool here. Beautifully restored and featured on HGTV, the mansion boasts 23 rooms with 7 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms, 8,000 square feet, a gym, billiard room, and a huge heated pool (30’ X 50’) with a cabana surrounded by beautiful gardens. Sitting on half an acre and only 700 meters from Hollywood Beach with the only beachfront boardwalk in Florida! It is also just a short walk to numerous fantastic restaurants. From the moment you enter the mansion you will realize that every detail was carefully thought out. Fantastic hardwood and cuban tile floors throughout. Adorned with a old world imported Spanish tile roof. As a guest you will experience beauty, comfort, and attention to detail that will have you coming back year after year.

More Details
  • Sleeps 25
  • 7 Bedrooms
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Manager
Speaks: english

31 Reviews

based on 31 traveler reviews


Lovely retreat within walking distance....

  • 5 of 5

We had a large group of friends that all stayed at Young Mansion together for two weeks and we had a wonderful time! The house is beautiful albeit old which we loved. We cooked group meals in the large kitchen, ate in the large dining room or by the pool and lounged in the cabana all day. The pool table was a hit with everyone. We were there for the Superbowl and the living room and TV was large enough to accommodate our large group. Even the dog had fun chasing the lizards around the pool. Michael (the caretaker) was nearby and available whenever we ran across a problem or question (which is bound to happen with an old estate this large). Richard was very responsive by email or phone whenever we had a question and sent us a very exhaustive list of guidelines/suggestions to help us prior to checking in. The beds were very comfortable and water pressure/temp was great (which can be tricky in an old house) - no problems there! The only thing I can even think of to suggest would be a commercial coffee maker - we were a large group of coffee drinkers and made many pots a day with the 12 cup Mr. Coffee maker - but other than that we had a lovely time in a grand old house with many nooks and crannies to explore! We are already planning our trip back next year. Thanks again to Richard Vest and Michael Neal for a wonderful time!

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tricia and her group where a joy to host. We are glad they had a good time and loved her "commercial coffeemaker" suggestion. Today we ordered two additional coffee makers for the property. We value our guest feedback which led us to purchasing waffle makers, juice makers, etc... Feed back like this is so helpful for us and our future guests. Hope to see you back next year Tricia!
Did you find this review helpful?
10 2

To the owners, absolutamente magnífico.

  • 5 of 5

As my dear beautiful friend Nayano hosts week-long workshops at the Mansion often, we had a large group that stayed for 1 week and we had a wonderful time! (Please disregard the date as I wasn't able to select the correct date.) It's an amazing place to stay; the feel, the warmth, the architecture, the detail, etc., etc. I could definitely go on and on. The owners did an amazing job with restoration. And needless to say, we had several amazing meals in that beautiful kitchen. As for the TV, pool table, etc., I have to say that we spent hte majority of the visit enjoying great meals, conversation, relaxing by the pool or enjoying a walk on the beach. I don't recall that we had any issues during our stay but I have to believe that the caretaker and owners would've been very responsive. Though unlikely due to personal difficulties, hopeful to be able to visit again.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The house was absolutely beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

Michael was extremely helpful. We had a couple of questions regarding a drip. He followed up very quickly. The house was well stocked in a great location and even nicer than the photos. 18 adult women with particular tastes celebrating a 50- year-old birthday we have absolutely no complaints. If ever in the area I would rent this mansion again.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

An amazing and beautiful property dated 1929 and many original architectural details.

  • 4 of 5

Our annual family reunion during the week of 8/6 was one of the best out of 13 so far, all due to this amazing home. There were 17 of us all sleeping comfortably with the aid of a few air mattresses on fold out couches. The kitchen was so roomy as to allow three to work on making meals without collision. Huge refrigerator and a gas stove/oven. Plenty of dishes and containers to support the clan. A massive wood table with 8 chairs but we managed to add several other chairs to seat 17. We spent time playing cards and celebrating my father's 90th birthday. Kudos to the house management who responded quickly to our requests. We needed the stair hand rail secured among a few other minor needs. Our only concerns were the traffic noise in the bedroom street side. This is only because the windows are original frames, and hardware. All the other bedrooms were reasonably quiet. This is a fine home for reunions but also perfect for murder mystery dinner games. Dark wood, metal work, thick drapery and stonework. We'd return should my father want to try for #14.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful spacious property with lots of character and charm

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay at the Young Mansion and I would highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in the area. I had booked the property to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday with a suprise family reunion - the house was spacious and comfortable for the 20 of us with a beautiful pool and garden area to relax by during the day. Although the kitchen was very well equipped we purchased a couple of other items during our stay to cater for the specific requirements of our group - Richard was so accommodating and purchased these items from us at the end of our stay (something that he did not need to do but was much appreciated as could not be taken with us). Thank you Richard for sharing your beautiful house!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A little old and outdated but very spacious and great pool

  • 3 of 5

The house is a little old and outdated but it's a historic marker of the owners who founded Hollywood Florida. The air conditioner didn't work that well in the bedrooms on the left side of the house. The backdoor going from the house to the courtyard to get to the pool locks so when you go out it locks you out. There is only cable in the living room but have Ruko (it's like Apple TV) in the other rooms. All the rooms had a TV. The pool and pool area is really really nice and clean. Very spacious to entertain. We had an issue with one of the toilets but the house manager responded immediately. Overall it would be like a 3 star resort.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is perplexing. The house is on the national historic register, not sure how to respond to “old and outdated”. What I can say is that as the owner of the house for the past 15 years my wife and I have personally invested approximately $800,000 to beautifully restore and upgrade this property….new roof, kitchen, bathrooms, imported marble statues, imported fountains, landscaping, the list goes on and on…..We had all air conditioning units service a month before summer, as we do every year, they all checked out fine and they are on Nest wifi thermostats which record the temperatures- after reviewing the records we show there are no issue with any of the four AC units, my house manager has confirmed this as well. The house has high grade Baldwin mortise handles and locks that need the button at the bottom pushed in to turn off the auto lock feature, we inform all guests of this and for the past eight years it has not been an issue. This is the first time we are hearing any problem about the door locks and unfortunately the guest didn’t communicate anything about this to our house manager or us during their weeklong stay. The entire house is under high-speed wifi-internet; television in the bedrooms is streaming with premium channels like Netflix, HBO, Showtime, and various other streaming channels. A year ago we installed high definition flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and chose a streaming video platform, as we have in our personal residence, our logic was that most guests are not local, are not familiar with local cable provider’s channel line up, and would rather have non-commercial programing. Three star resort????? Not even close, my wife and myself traveled to southern Spain after we bought the house and based our restoration on the many places we visited there such as Madrid, Seville, Granada, Cordoba, Toledo, and other areas of Andalusia. We won awards for our restoration and were on HGTV. Staying in a unique property like this, where you feel like you are vacationing in an Italian or Spanish villa, is not even close to a three star resort experience. Again this review is perplexing, these guests did request a late check out which we were not able to accommodate due to other guests checking in the same day. The house is huge, we pride ourselves on it's cleanliness, we needed the five hour time gap to properly prepare for the new guest's arrival.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Activity and Interests

The mansion is ideally located between Fort Lauderdale and Miami. World renowned South Beach is

just 25 minutes away. The home is close to both Miami and Ft. Lauderdale airports. Gulfstream Park

(horse racing, gaming, dining, and entertainment) is just 7 minutes away. Hard Rock Hotel and

Casino is just 15 minutes away. Only 17 minutes to Dolphins Stadium site of Super Bowl XLI. Famous Ft. Lauderdale Beach is only 20 minutes away and charming Hollywood Beach with the only beachfront boardwalk in Florida is a walkable destination as well as charming downtown Hollywood with great shops, outdoor cafes, wine bars, jazz bars, nightclubs, etc. Rent jet skis at the beach or charter a fishing boat, etc. Most South Florida attractions are within 30 minutes driving time.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
Jul 4 2016 - Dec 10 2016
4 night minimum stay
High Season
Dec 11 2016 - Apr 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $900
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 11.0%

Holiday Rates: 4th of July week $5,980, Thanksgiving week $6,980, Christmas week $7,980, and New Years week $8,980

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Manager
Updated: Oct 11, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • house


  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa


  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Location Type

  • Beach View

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf


  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3
  • Bathroom 4
  • Bathroom 5
  • Bathroom 6


  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Bedroom 6
  • Bedroom 7


  • Outdoor Grill


  • The mansion is a destination unto itself with almost too many amenities to list: You will feel like you are staying at a european restart. Pool table room with bar, gym, televisions and cable in every bedroom, beautiful formal dinning room and living room with imported limestone fireplaces for entertaining, surround sound, Jacuzzi tub in marble master bath, commercial grade stainless steel appliances in kitchen, 30 ft X 50 ft heated pool with lounge chairs and cabana with full bathroom. All framed with stunning formal gardens, imported marble statues, with great Moorish limestone fixtures that sets this property apart from all others.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car