Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxurious Retreat in Heart of Historic, Riverfront Wilmington!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 4 Sleeps

Welcome to 'The Gallery!' One visit and we know you will agree that The Gallery is a perfect getaway for a couple's or friends' retreat. 'A destination unto itself' as one of our guests best summarizes (see our online guestbook link below). Park your vehicle and take a short stroll to fabulous restaurants, shopping, art galleries, museums, dance clubs, pubs, cafes, day spas, historic tours, Screen Gem Film studio tours, live theater, and other local attractions -it's all within walking distance (some destinations even on the same block as The Gallery)! Or better yet, sit back, relax and enjoy the Trolley or the Historic Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride Tour - it's just a half-block down Market Street.

The Gallery is located at 112 Market Street in the heart of Wilmington's beautiful and nostalgic riverfront Historic District half a block from the riverfront!

'The Gallery' is a fabulous, designer decorated, two-story 'Manhattan style loft' condo. Beautiful exposed brick walls can be found in the living room, bedroom, and bathroom; all refinished hardwood floors; new contemporary Scandinavian furniture/furnishings; an expansive collection of modern art displayed in every room; and wonderful color throughout! 'Lots of style and energy' as one of our guests describes (see our guests' comments link below).

The second floor bedroom is beautifully decorated and has a very comfortable, queen-size bed, full-size dresser w/mirror, Sony CD/radio/alarm clock. The luxurious livingroom leather sofa has a queen-size pullout. Fine linens are provided for both the queen bed and queen-size sleeper. The Gallery is very well equipped with the vacation and business traveler in mind (FREE WIFI). See our 'amenities' section below for a full description of all that The Gallery has to offer.

Spend the day at Wrightsville Beach (just minutes away) or Bald Head Island and return to 'The Gallery' to explore the southern charm of historic Wilmington in the evening. And remember, everything is within walking distance if it's a late night! We will be more than happy to make some restaurant, cafe, sight-seeing, etc. recommendations, just let us know - we definitely have some favorites that we would love to introduce you to!!!

So, come and enjoy what The Gallery and historic Wilmington have to offer, and 'live like a local!'

~Gift certificates available~

**Check-in is no earlier than 3pm and check-out is no later than 12noon.

*All quoted rates below already include all taxes, departure cleaning, linens, etc. No other rental fees.*

Check out our guests' comments provided by the link below.

**Sorry, NO SMOKING AND NO PETS.**

More Details

Owner
Liz Mark
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2018

About Liz Mark

My husband and I are from Michigan and relocated to NC over twenty years ago for our jobs. We fell in love with NC and North Carolinians! What a beautiful state and what friendly people! We are proud to call NC home!

Liz Mark purchased this condo in 2004

Why Liz Mark chose Historic District

We fell in love with historic, riverfront Wilmington and were spending so many weekends there that we decided to find a place of our own. The beauty and nostalgia of the area combined with the friendliness of the locals is what drew us and continues to draw us to Wilmington. Location was paramount in our search for our vacation spot in Wilmington. We wanted to be able to walk to everything and we finally found a condo that met that important criteria. It took some time to renovate, but was well worth it to be in the heart of historic Wilmington.

What makes this condo unique

Live like a local!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Liz,



I just wanted to take a moment to Thank You!



We had such a wonderful time in Wilmington … mostly stalking everything OTH: studios, basketball court, past and current filming locations and more. The beach was great too! (We added a small 50 SPF parasol to your collection of beach paraphernalia.)



My daughter met Shantel VanSanten and Bethany Joy Galeotti. But absolutely amazing was that Rob Buckley was strolling by as we were parking the car across the street. He was completely charming and even got her on the set as an extra for the day on Thursday … she is still ten feet off the ground and my sister-in-law and I along with her!!



I hope that the tradition of Dawson’s Creek & OTH continues for Wilmington. It would be sad if people did not get to see this charming location in the future now that OTH is finishing up!



Enjoy and thanks again.

Anna
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Historic District Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bathroom on second floor.
  • Exposed brick walls and full size tub/shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Beautiful second floor bedroom with exposed brick walls, original hardwood floors, and luxurious linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Expanded standard Cable TV, Stereo/Surround Sound System, 5-Disc CD Player, DVD Player with movies, WIFI (and ethernet cable), Full-Size fully-equipped Kitchen, Dishwasher, Full-size Refrigerator, Cooking Utensils/dishes/glassware/flatware/pots & pans provided, coffee maker/grinder, coffee/filters/tea/sugar/creamer provided, blender, toaster, hairdryer, alarm clock/CD player/radio in bedroom, iron/full-size ironing board, umbrellas, ice cooler for beach and two beach chairs, and coin-operated washer and dryer available on first floor of building and free on third floor. Fine linens (sheets and towels) ARE provided at NO additional charge. Sorry, NO SMOKING and NO PETS.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(120 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxurious Retreat in Heart of Historic, Riverfront Wilmington!
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 121 reviews
5

Perfect Location!

  • 5 of 5

I really enjoyed my stay at the Gallery. It’s in the perfect location downtown, close to everything I wanted to be near. It was clean and decorated beautifully. The only issue, not really an issue though, I had was with the WiFi - seemed to only really work when I was downstairs. The owners are so nice and we’re easy to contact. Even with the bustle and noise of downtown’s late night scene, you can’t even really hear it when inside the apartment. The fact that you need a code to enter the building made me feel very safe. Will definitely be staying here again! Thanks for having me!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We really do try and make our guests' visits as enjoyable as possible. We will look into why the WiFi access upstairs was not working well. It worked the other month when we were there. We might have to put in a booster. Thank you again and we hope you can plan another visit soon! :) Liz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC
5

WOW!! Fantastic Getaway! Will be back again!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I throughly enjoyed The Gallery during our five night stay! The Gallery is beautifully decorated and was spotless and I am a clean freak! It is located in the middle of where you want to be...everything is within walking distance yet the condo is very quiet (no noise) which made for very relaxing sleep (we slept in every morning because the bed is extremely comfortable and I don't sleep in. So, I checked to find out what kind of mattress and wrote it down :). My husband and I frequently visit Wilmington and we are so glad that we found The Gallery and now have a home away from home!! "Two thumbs up!" "Raise the Roof!" "Love it!" You will be hearing from us shortly to book our next visit! Regards, April

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2009
  • Stayed: February 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend away. The Gallery was perfect! The location is amazing... right in the middle of downtown Wilmington. The apartment was stocked with everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. We also took advantage of the area reviews provided by the owner's. The restaurants suggested exceeded our expectations! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy getaway

  • 4 of 5

We spent two weeks here. Cozy little apartment nestled in the downtown area. Apartment was clean and perfect for solo travelers or a couple. Within walking distance to attractions such as The Bellamy Mansion, Burgwin-Wright Museum and Gardens. Or take a walk along the Cape Fear River. Lots to see and do and this the place to stay if you visit Wilmington.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Okay with some issues

  • 2 of 5

Nicely decorated, clean and well equipped. Downstairs ac & WiFi did not work. No downstairs restroom. Stairs were steep and painted black. Difficult to see if you’re sixty +. No windows with a view of anything other than a brick wall & trash. Blinds not adequate to keep alley lights from coming in bedroom.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Steve, Thank you for your feedback. We do everything possible to make our guests' visits as enjoyable as possible. Once you called us about the downstairs ac Sunday afternoon, we did contact the repairman immediately and he was on-site the next morning. Sorry the part could not be installed before you checked out the following day. I wish you would have told us that the WiFi was not working. We would have suggested unplugging the router at the outlet and plugging it back in as sometimes this needs to be done to reset it between users. Yes, no downstairs bathroom, as our listing states it is located upstairs next to the upstairs bedroom. The stairs are typical stairs and there is a light that illuminates the whole stairwell if you turn it on. Strange you saw anything other than the building next door, but if you press up against the windows you may be able to see the alley below. And, there are glass block windows downstairs to let in natural light on the first floor. The blinds are actually custom-made black out blinds so I am surprised you found them inadequate at keeping the light out. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the condo! After a reading snafu (sickness and lack of sleep) we were able to get into the unit and enjoy our stay. The pull out needs a little love, but I have yet to stay on a pull out that is comfy.

Thank you for allowing us to stay at this amazing condo. We loved it!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that you all loved the condo Dana! Glad we were able to get you in quickly after you called us.. no worries, you were sick and very tired. We are always only a call away if you need us. We hope you can plan another visit soon! Best, Liz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4.4 Miles
Wilmington International Airport
Nearest Barpub
Too many to list within walking distance
Nearest Beach
8.7 Miles
Wrightsville Beach
Car: not necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Sightsee.

* Shopping.

* Great Restaurants/Night Life.

* 15 minutes to Wrightsville Beach.

* Historic Tours.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Wrightsville Beach (only 15 minutes away).

* USS North Carolina Battleship.

* Historic Tours...

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Wrightsville Beach.

* USS North Carolina.

* Serpentarium.

* The Henrietta Ferry Boat.

* Historic Tours.

Wrightsville Beach and Surrounding Beaches, Restaurants, cafes,

U.S.S. North Carolina Battleship Tour, Shopping, Golf, Live Theater,

Museums, Historic Homes Tours, Antique Shops, Parks, Riverboat

tours/dining on "The Henrietta," Lounges/Bars/Pubs, Tennis,

Basketball, Fishing, Cinemas, Sightseeing, Swimming,

Snorkeling/Diving, Boating, Sailing, Sea Kayaking, Water-skiing,

Surfing, Windsurfing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Shelling, Hiking,

Biking. Just 45 minutes to North Myrtle Beach. Ten minutes from

Wilmington International Airport.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax

Sorry, No Smoking and No Pets.

PEAK SEASON (May through September) 2 night minimum and 3 night minimum for weeknight stays.

OFF SEASON (October through April) 2 night minimum.

** Holiday and Festival Weekends require a three night minimum stay.

** Discounts available for extended stays (more than 90 days) and security deposit may apply.

**Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

**Please note: All guests must be at least 24 years of age or accompanied by their parent.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.