Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sea Colony - Summer weekends available

Bedrooms 3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

Bright and sunny upper level end unit with 2 bedrooms and a loft. There are 3 single beds in the loft (perfect for 6-13 years old). With a queens size bed (new mattresses as of 2014) in each of the two bedrooms, this unit next to a swan pond, an outdoor pool and indoor/outdoor tennis courts, sleeps 6 (with young kids included). Short walk (5-8 min.) or bike ride to a 1/2 mile private guarded beach. Shuttle bus stop to the beach just around the corner. Shuttle bus goes around the Sea Colony resort every 3 min. between Memorial Day and Labor Day. The Marketplace at Sea Colony (3 minute walk) has 2 restaurants, a beauty shop, gift shops, beach goods store and bike rentals.

FREE wifi Internet access. HDTV in living room and master bedroom.

2.5 hours drive from Philadelphia, Baltimore and Washington, D.C. Perfect vacation destination for families with lots to do! Full calendar of summer events (Kiddie Kamp, bonfire on the beach, sandcastle contests, barbeques, dances, entertainment). See below for what previous guests have to say. Call or email owner for a free copy of Sea Colony Play Book which lists all summer activities (available in June).

Sea Colony is the premier family beach and tennis resort community, located in Bethany Beach, Delaware. Guests have exclusive access to a half mile of guarded beach, 12 pools (2 indoors), 34 tennis courts (incl. 14 Har-Tru clay and 4 indoor courts), world class facilities and instructors, and a Fitness Center with an Olympic-size indoor pool and a variety of programs for every age. Year-round adult tennis clinics. Summer tennis clinics for kids. Sea Colony was given the Outstanding Facility of the Year Award by the United States Tennis Association in 2012 and was named a 2014 Top 50 resort and No. 15 in tennis camps.

This beautifully landscaped community, with around-the-clock security, has biking and walking trails, playground and picnic areas, as well as trees and parks. Surrounded by wide open spaces on nearly all sides, there is a sense of peace and spaciousness. And yet the community is within walking distance to quaint shops and services and only minutes away from tax-free outlet shopping at nearby Rehoboth Beach. Golfers can spend days on the region's many championship golf courses.

This is a no smoking/no pet but kids friendly condo, with plenty of games, books and DVDs in the attic. Pictures of the ocean (yes, the Atlantic Ocean, not the bay) and the swan pond below are NOT taken from this condo.

More Details

Property Manager
Jane Tam
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018

Why Jane Tam chose Bethany Beach

We bought this unit when my kids were 7 and 5 years old. They fell in love with the loft right away. Sea Colony was where my kids took their first tennis lesson and their first junior lifeguard training. The memories created at the beach is simply priceless. We hope that our guests will enjoy this second home of ours as much as we do over the years.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thanks so much for letting us rent your home this past weekend. It was perfect-just the right size for a end of summer get away for us. The weather was great and got to spend lots of time on the beach and enjoying Sea Colony-everyone had a great time.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 8


Bethany Beach Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • A queen's size bed in each of the two bedrooms. Three single beds at the loft. One soda bed in the living room.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
- deck furniture - Queen size sleeper sofa and loveseat - kitchen faucet, kitchen sink, sile stone kitchen countertop - dishwasher - under-the-cabinet CD player - Refrigerator - Washer/dryer - Microwave - Fully equipped kitchen with cooking utensils, pots, pans, dishes, glasses, & silverware, coffeemaker, blender, & toaster - FREE wifi Internet access - Telephone (long distance calls charged to calling or credit card) - Central A/C & heat - 3 ceiling fans - 3 TV (1 HD in living room) - Lots of movies and games in the attic - indoor and outdoor pools No smoking/no pets. Please bring own linens and towels.


3.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

31% Complete
31% Complete
12% Complete
18% Complete
6% Complete
Sea Colony - Summer weekends available
average rating of 3.625 based on 24 reviews

Worn Out

  • 2 of 5

The lockbox was so old it was difficult to get keys out. We called the owner who responded three hours later. She never had responded to an email sent before our trip.

Furnishings and equipment were old and outdated. Microwave didn't cook properly, timer on stove didn't work. Dishwasher (which had to be emptied before it could be used) wasn't secured and tipped when filled.

We needed to put pillows on couch as it was so worn. Put two beach towels in dryer and they were still damp 45 minutes later.

Great location, too bad we picked the wrong unit.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Nice property/good location

  • 5 of 5

We spent the week at this condo and we're comfortable and happy. The upstairs loft was great for the three kids, ages 7-4. It gets a little hot up there, but the kids didn't seem to mind. It was a nice place to come for the evening after a long day at the beach/pool. Everything worked fine. The dryer doesn't really dry that well, but was a non issue really. The property was a great beach housing option at a great price.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. Sea Colony does have a lot to offer. I hope your family had a chance to check out many of the activities listed on the Sea Colony Playbook. We continue to find new favorite restaurants in the area and will continue to update our Welcome Package to include some insider tips! Hope that like many of our repeat renters, you will choose to stay with us year after year and create some of your best memories at Bethany Beach! Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wexford, PA

Fair, over priced, dusty

  • 2 of 5

The property is over priced, out dated and could use more coffee mugs & cookie sheets. The overall feel of the place was cold. Area rugs would be a nice update for this property as well. The toilet seats and dishwasher were broken upon arrival. Maintainence did come on the 3rd day to fix. However, we were not impressed with the property. We have stayed at Sea Colony for over 10 years- just not up to what we have come to expect. Disappointed.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that previous renters failed to treat the unit with the kind of respect we expect of them. At the time of this posting, we have replenished the unit with a new broomstick and duster pin, new coffee mugs and cookie sheets. Jane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location!

  • 2 of 5

We had a great time at Sea Colony. Its a great spot to take pre teen kids - pools, beaches and easy for them to walk around. We really liked the fitness center and the easy walks to restaurants, coffee, ice cream etc. The private beach access was also fantastic and the tram was a great option when we were tired at the end of the day and did not want to walk home.

The size of the house was fine but disappointed in some of the amenities - dishwasher was not working and the washer and dryer were really old and not working properly either. Not the end of the world but a few minor upgrades would go a long way.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The dishwasher has since been fixed. As to the washer/dryer, I was told that all units with stacked-up washer/dryers have similar limitations on their capacities. I hope renters find the instructions I put in my Welcome Package helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A relaxing visit to the beach

  • 3 of 5

We had a nice time staying at Round Robbin Way. We appreciated being able to rent for part of the week and the owner was very responsive. The condo was close to the beach and an easy walk to tennis courts. The loft worked out great for our middle school aged kids. It might be a bit of a safety issue for younger kids due to the open riser spiral staircase and the somewhat wide picket spacing though. We enjoyed spending time on the deck. Unfortunately, the cable tv and wifi was down for most of our stay and we couldn't get the dishwasher to latch. All in all, we had a good trip.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback. Yes, the loft is connected to the first floor through a spiral staircase. There is also no door or wall separating the loft from the first floor. I hope I have made it clear on my listing that the unit is most apt for a small family with pre-teen kids. We put in a brand new Bosch dishwasher this spring. Unfortunately, the installation was subpar, causing the dishwasher to sometimes dislocate from its position and failing to power on. As of the date of this posting, electrician has been called to fix the problem once and for all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Silver Spring, Maryland

Sea Colony is great. The apartment is not.

  • 3 of 5

This was our family's 4th stay at Sea Colony, and this rental was the shabbiest of them of all. It's old and poorly maintained. It seems that it's a heavily used rental property with little care from the owner. I was told to bring my own linens, and I was so glad I did as the pillows and blankets were so old, lumpy, and with stains. Double beds mattress needed to be thrown out years ago. Peeling paint on the wall in the attic. Kitchen had the most odd combo of utensils but was missing basic items as a cutting board and a tea kettle. Plus, during our entire stay the internet was out which meant no TV or WiFi, and the owner asked us to meet with the cable company to get it fixed. As always it's all about expectation, and listing this property as luxury villa is completely inaccurate. It's a basic rental and only worth it if you get a deal on it. Otherwise, there are plenty much better options at Sea Colony.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that the TV/internet didn't work. Unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding as to how to resolve the issue. As long as a tenant would give permission for a Mediacom representative to enter the unit in his/her absence, he/she does not need to stay at the unit when cable company comes in to fix the problem. We have a set of cutting boards in one of the kitchen cabinets. As of the date of this posting, we have already replenished the unit with a new tea kettle and a brand new set of utensils.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Bonfire on the beach.

* Sandcastle contest.

* Watching dolphins swim in the ocean.

* Mango's restaurant - sweeping ocean view.

* Air-conditioned indoor tennis.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* tax-free shopping at outlet malls.

* All-you-can eat crabs.

* Feeding ducks at the pond.

* Playing remote-controlled motor boat on the pond.

* Programs at Delaware Seashore State Park.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Jungle Jim's water park.

* indoor and outdoor miniature golf.

* Go-kart.

* Kayak.

* Playland.

Tennis, swimming, golf, hiking, biking, miniature golf, fitness

center (sauna, hot tub, etc.), kids' camp, kayaking, fishing, go-cart, water

park, outlet mall shopping.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $100

Sea Colony Recreation fee of between $12 and 40 per person per week (depending on the season) must be paid to Sea Colony Recreation Office upon arrival. The recreation fee gives you 2 parking permits and full access to ALL Sea Colony amenities (on both the ocean and bay sides) including the indoor/outdoor pools and tennis facilities, use of fitness center, and access to private guarded beach.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund