check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

The Hideaway-Steps to Humarock Beach!

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Jun 27, 2016
House, 4 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

For summer 2013 we have just added a giant 600 square foot deck that wraps around 2 1/2 sides of the house, plus a flat screen TV.

Deceivingly large cape house located on Hummarock in Scituate which is a 5 mile long island connected to the mainland by two bridges.

Hummarock is actually only accessable through the town of Marshfield but is part of scituate. The island is only about 300 yards wide at any point, with the ocean on one side and the North River(great fishing) on the other side. Hummarock is like vacationing 40 years ago: there are no gas stations, banks, chains, etc. on the island,

just a couple of souvenir stores, general stores, beer stores and a couple of restaurants/bars. (but all of this is available within a mile or two over the bridge on the mainland!) It is only about 25 miles south of Boston and commutable to Boston. The house has two bedrooms and a full bath on the second floor with room to sleep as many as you can fit. The first floor also has two bedrooms as well. The house has a full modern kitchen and a separate eating area and a large common area/TV area which is great for gatherings. It has a

fenced private yard big enough for any barbecue, etc. The house is also one of the only houses on Hummarock with a full basement for storage of bikes, beach stuff, etc. The house has a brand new outside shower with hota and cold water. The house is the third house from the river and about a hundred yards to the ocean waves, easily close enough to walk back to go the bathroom. It is within a five minute walk to the restaurants, store, ice cream shop and the bridge to the mainland. The house comes with everything you'd need, even coffee maker, lobster pots, blender, gas grill, collander, numerous games, beach chairs, buckets, washer and dryer, cable TV with the Boston Red Sox channel and others, books, videos to watch, X-Box- you name it! House has several great golf courses in the area also!

More Details
  • Sleeps 10
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine

Recent Review

About the Owner

We live in Westwood, Massachusetts and have three kids, 2 high schoolers and a middle schooler.

Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

This was a good place and it had everything we needed. There was plenty of stuff to do around and we liked the privacy of the yard, and the deck furniture was new. It rained one day but we had plenty of stuff to do and the kitchen was well stocked and the place had plenty of room for everybody. The beach was excellent, (but the water was pretty cold!)
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 1

6 Reviews

3.5
based on 6 traveler reviews

5

Location, location, location

  • 5 of 5

What's not to love about a place that is 200 steps to the beach, 200 steps to the river and 200 steps to ice cream? Hung out here for a week with my 2 daughters. The place is big, well equipped and has a great porch. My daughter even brought her portable hammock and had a place to read in the back yard. I grew up at Humarock Beach and now live in the midwest. It was the perfect place to give my girls a flavor of my childhood. I was also very impressed that the owner always got back to me with in 2-3 hours of any email inquiry I made before and during our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Love the Hideaway

  • 5 of 5

We love to try new places. We really liked The Hideaway when were there a few years ago, but thought it was great this past year with the new deck. It is great having 2 bedrooms on the first floor with the half bath both for privacy of friends who come and go all week and for the ease and convenience of my parents. There is plenty of room to play cards, chat or watch the big Tv. And of course the beach. Literally a stone's throw away. No more packing up the car and dealing with parking. The river is lovely too and we can walk to The Bridgeway for a burger, coke or beer and a short walk home. I love not having to drive anywhere and not worrying about the kids. It is ideal!!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Marshfield
5

Perfect accomodations near both river and ocean

  • 5 of 5

We moved into this charming ocean/river home in Scituate and have loved every minute of it. As mentioned the home is steps from both the Atlantic Ocean and the North River. The home is within walking distance of numerous stores/restaraunts and the community of Humarock is warm and welcoming. Our family of four has plenty of space both downstairs and up and there are more than enough rooms for family stopping in. We are especially enjoying the large wrap around deck on any warm fall/winter evening. We would rent this property again in a second.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Weymouth, MA
1

Dirty and has fleas

  • 1 of 5

The things I liked: Close to the beach, close to a great restaurant, nice wrap around porch, nice outside shower, and big rooms. Things I didn't like: dirty pots/pans/blender, dirty floors, leaking bathroom dripping and wetting the couch downstairs and FLEAS.

I contact the owner after my niece was covered with dozens of flea bites and her dog was also covered in fleas. The rest of us had some bites but not as bad as them. He did send someone to treat but we had to leave for a few hours after putting all food away and taking everything off the floors. When the guy came he said he had treated on Saturday and asked if we had washed the floors. We had, oophs that washed off the treatment. Had I been told the place had been treated I would not have washed the floors and I would have had let the dog stay there. Honesty would have been appreciated!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
abington ma
1

Beware!!

  • 1 of 5

I am not one to even bother to write a review but after renting this house I feel the need to let other people know what they are in for. We live local and just wanted a beach house to sleep over and have somewhere to cook. It is correct that the house is located steps from a beautiful beach and there is a great restaurant nearby what is not mentioned is the disgusting smell when you enter the house and the filthy carpets and walls. The ceiling fans do not work which is not fun on a 90+ degrees week, also the stove did not light and the oven does not heat up over 200 degrees. Over the 7 night period we only slept over 3 nights and that was 3 night to many as 3 out of the 5 people that stayed have flea bites all over our ankles and feet!! So be warned and I just emailed the owner to recommend the house be painted, re-carpeted and cleaned thoroughly before anyone else rents it.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We've rented this house for more than 9 years now without a problem. We usually rent to a winter tenant and we did so this year. The tenant was a woman with three girls who was going through a divorce and needed a place to stay. We were sympathetic and, just before we signed the lease she begged us to let her have her dog stay with them. She promised she would keep it on the first floor, and that it would always be treated. Clearly she didn't. The above review was written by the first tenant for the summer. The place had been fully cleaned by our cleaning person but apparently there were fleas in the house. We received an email Friday night at about 11:30 and by 1:30 a.m. Saturday were contacting people to treat for the fleas. The house was completely treated within 12 hours after we got the email and we re-cleaned the house again and have made other offers to the woman, who was understandably upset. I wish she had contacted us earlier in the week as soon as she knew she had a problem, because we would have done the same thing. We were particularly excited this summer because we just installed a giant deck, bought all new brightly colored patio furniture for the deck and installed a 40' hi def TV that we were convinced would excite people, which is what we want to happen. There is some merit to what the woman wrote, but the house was not dirtier than any other beach house- but I'm sure if FELT dirty if one is getting bitten by fleas. As for the oven, she was correct about that it didn't heat past 200 degrees(we didn't know, most people don't bake in the summer). The stove did work, but needed to be lit with a match. We have ordered a new stove in any event. The ceiling fan also is being replaced, but was located not 8 feet from the air conditioner and we had 2 other floor fans on stands nearby as well. We are very sorry about this woman's experience, but believe this is a great house in a great location, which has been vastly improved by the addition of this wonderful deck. Sadly, we will have to change our policy on pets completely as there is "always one person who ruins it for everyone." We welcome any inquiries about this one bad review or anything else at any time. This is not just a rental property, this is a place where we spend time as well and we have tried hard to make it a place that people can relax, unwind and have basically everything they need. Sincerely, The Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1
Phoenix, AZ, USA
4

Scituate vacation rental

  • 4 of 5

The pictures are exactly what you get. Walking distance from a beautiful beach, close to convenient stores, nice neighborhood. Also, fresh lobsters were available within walking distance and a nice restaurant and cafe as well. The house was fully equipped with all kitchen and bbq tools, plates, cups, etc. (Bring your own towels). We did experience a leak from the shower on the second floor that dripped onto the couch downstairs, but the landlord was notified and said it would be dealt with. The backyard was large enough for us (we had 11 people). All and all, I highly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Location

From the Owner

We bought this property because we love Humarock and we both have large families that the house can accomodate. It is not on the ocean which makes us have less worries about storms, but it is only a short walk to the Atlantic! It is in the middle of everything but it still is so relaxing to go there because of the Scituate/Humarock/Marshfield beauty and attitude.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Marshfield at 4 Miles Nearest Barpub : Sands End at 0.15 Miles Nearest Golf : Widow's Walk, Scituate at 5 Miles Nearest Train : Scituate at 5 Miles Nearest Motorway : Route 3 at 6 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Sand's End Cafe at 0.15 Miles Nearest Ski : Central Massachusetts at 85 Miles Nearest Beach : Humarock at 0.05 Miles

All water sports activities nearby including ocean, river, marina within 200 yards, restaurants with live music, etc. Everything you would want and expect in a New England summertime vacation area.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

$2,200 in July and August, slight less in other times. We usually rent to winter tenants from September to May or early June. The week of July 4th we usually get upt to $2,500 depending on how it falls. Thanks!

Half of the rental fee is expected when booked and the remainder at least one week before the rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Updated: Jun 27, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

From the Owner

Central to everything, near both the ocean and the river and a great out door shower, private.

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities

General

  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Room

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1
  • Half Bathroom

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen, 2 double
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen, 1 double
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single

Outside

  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • Microwave, cable, dishwasher, washer and dryer.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car