Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Shamrock Cottage Overlooks Bumble Bee Creek in Texas Hill Country near Kerrville

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Baths, Sleeps 5. Large pool, Free Cable, WiFi, Local phone

Shamrock Cottage is a 500 sf house accross the driveway from Bumble Bee Lodge ( listing 386) in the Texas Hill Country.

It has a king bed in the partitioned sleeping area and a queen hide-a-bed couch in the living/dining area.

A screened porch off the kitchen has a full and twin bed that overlook Bumble Bee Creek.

Guests in the Cottage have full access to the 1,000 sf pool in front of Bumble Bee Lodge.


Property Manager
Rocky McAshan
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2017

About Rocky McAshan

Dairy farm stone house with 2 other buildings and 2.2 acres purchased by R. B. McAshan in 1945. He added first Hill Country pool in 1947. House remodeled in in 1946 and pool modernized in 2008. Cottage rebuilt in 1990. Property now in family partnership managed by Robert B. (Rocky) McAshan, III.

Rocky McAshan purchased this house in 1945

Amenities

Ingram House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
Kitchen has a 4 burner electric range with an oven, undercounter refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Cable TV, VCR, free wireless internet and free local phone. A/C and ceiling fan. Free Washer and Dryer available for use. Utensils, linens and towels provided.

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

Dead roach under leaky sink, dirty bathroom. Clean dishes still in drain. Filthy stove top. Had to ask for coffee pot. Decided not to cook breakfast because didn't want to put up someone else's dishes. Bleach stained small, very used bath towels, no wash cloths. Front porch desperately needed sweeping. Decorating outdated, cluttered with unrelated items. Because of the appearance, not sure about the sheets, but didn't come home with bed bug bites. Beds on screened porch mildewed and filthy. Will not recommend or go back. Motel 6 in Kerrville better option! Only one star because will not accept no stars!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely property &the pool was great .However. ..

  • 3 of 5

The Shamrock cottage was perfect for our stay,however the place was not clean. Dusty,dirty bed sheets, coffee pot , floor etc. We didn't have sheets for the sleeper sofa and few eating utensils.

The pool was very clean and lovely.

I would love to stay here again but suggest Rocky have a talk with the are takers.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We have implemented a checklist for housekeeping in the Lodge and Cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Screened Porch is the best.

  • 3 of 5

We had a very relaxing time in the cottage. We really enjoyed sitting on the screened porch and looking out at the creek and trees. When we arrived the creek was dry but then the rains dumped so much water, it filled up and was flowing beautifully. We loved listening to the sound of it and we saw a hummingbird. The cabin itself is basic. I agree with another reviewer that it could use a really good cleaning. The freezer part of the small refrigerator was frozen over so we couldn't put our ice packs in it. (No hair dryer available to defrost it.) There were only 2 small fry pans and the handle was loose on one of them so if you plan to cook for a group, bring your own pan etc. Our Chihuahua liked it. There is plenty of grassy area to walk around with her. We didn't find any trails to walk from the property but we did walk the short way down to the creek. The king bed was very comfortable. Ask for the wifi password before or when you get there. We couldn’t find it listed anywhere in the room so we emailed the property manager. There are board games like monopoly and boggle as well as several books and magazines. The Texas Stonehenge II and Easter Island Heads display is just down the road. It's a quick stop to walk around and take pictures. All in all, it was a very nice stay.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Shamrock Cottage

  • 4 of 5

We were pleased w/the cabin. The bed was really comfortable & the cabin was supplied w/most everything we could have needed. The only complaint we have was that there was no water in the 'creek'. However, the setting was private & pleasant and there is public access to the river just little ways down the road. I do recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Shamrock cottage

  • 2 of 5

The shamrock cottage is in a great location and the bed is super comfy . However that it is advertised as sleeping 6 is a joke . The porch is filthy and I wouldn't let my dog sleep out there . There was dirt all over the beds and dust and dirt on everything. If you were wanting a camping experience you would at least shake out the tent first . The rest of the place was only a little better . It's really a shame because it could be a really nice place .

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Girls Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Some girlfriends and I wanted to get out of town for a night, and this was the *perfect* getaway!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. Get a larger group and try the Bumble Bee Lodge next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
Mar 17 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$120
Fri,Sat
$700
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Nightly Rate: $100 - $120

Weekly Rate: $595 - $700

Monthly Rate: $1,785 - $2,100



$15/night per person over 4 people. $20/stay for pets.
15% discount November 1 to March 1, Except Holiday weeks
10% discount if Bumble Bee Lodge is rented at the same time, Except Holiday weeks

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car

You might like these similar properties