House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 7
About Spencer Rand
Thistledown has been a family home for four generations. The Watts live in Florida, the Rands live in the DC area and Marcia lives in St. Louis, but we love to come back to Glen Arbor and the peaceful views of Lake Michigan and the Manitou Islands. We all enjoy getting together at Thistledown and making memories.
Spencer Rand purchased this House in 1972
Why Spencer Rand chose Glen Arbor
Once you come to Thistledown, you will be making lifetime memories. We love sharing it with families who appreciate how special are the Glen Arbor area and Sleeping Bear Bay. We have had family weddings, and many happy announcements of engagements and babies' arrivals at Thistledown.
What makes this House unique
We hope you will enjoy the views and the location as much as we do. It is just a few yards from the beach of Lake Michigan, yet close enough to walk into town for ice cream or shopping.
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Max guests:8 (sleeps up to 7 adults)
The beach is for use by only the residents staying in the house.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
A sweet Christmas getaway
Instead of presents, we took the fam Up North for a Christmas getaway. Great A-frame house, perfect location, very nice fireplace, kitchen and bathrooms. So comfy! Walked for miles along the beach and were thrilled to see a Snowy Owl! We would definitely recommend this VRBO gem!
Sadly terrible experience
First we received a message check in time may be later than what was said due to cleaning.
We drove many hours to get there and when we arrived we were greeted with tens of thousands drain & fruit flies. I have videos & pictures. It was absolutely disgusting. I called the Owner Spencer immediately and he was in no hurry to take care of the issue. This was my first & last VRBO experience. He told me he would get back to me. I couldn't find any other properties available nearby and we had a lot of family driving up from out of state. So i then started cleaning the house and trying to resolve the problem. No one slept the 1st night because they were flying in our face. The second day Spencer & Marcia finally called back and asked how it was going. LOL. I asked when the exterminator was coming and they were going to make a call. I did mention i was able to kill and get rid of a few thousand. He told me to put out traps and she told me to go to the hardware store and ask the owner for his advice. Glad im doing all their maintenance work on my vacation. We couldn't even have any food or dispose of any trash in the house. I went and bought a tent so my son and i could sleep in that the second night. Still no exterminator! Other family arrived and all we did was clean the house and leave the property to see if the chemicals were going to work. On and on. Marcia offered to buy us dinner though. Besides this there were someones socks and undies left in the bed upstairs. We had to fix the wheelbarrow tire to get the wood to the fire pit. Sink faucet upstairs leaked all over the floor. Bring 3 prong to 2 electrical adapters because none of the electrical is up to date. The property is in a great location and would be wonderful if it was managed correctly and followed the VRBO guidelines. The owner was only willing to credit 500 of our 2000 plus our 100 dollars in chemicals, plus the clothes i ruined and our time taking care of his property. Sadly a miserable vacation for our entire property. I wish they would have sent someone over the next day and i would of been of with a 1 night credit. Especially since Marcia even said the previous renters had flies as well. Ill revise if i get a full refund for such misery! For paying this amount there are way better places that are manged correctly.
I’m sorry that you had to deal with fruit flies during your stay. The renters before and after you said that it wasn’t an issue, so you may have been the subject of bad timing since it was fruit fly season in northern Michigan. Regardless, we’ve changed a few things on our end to hopefully keep the fruit flies from coming back in the future.
As you and I discussed, we tried our best to solve the problem. You told me about the fruit flies the night you arrived. I called an exterminator the following morning and his professional recommendation was to set out traps, which you did after you and I spoke on the phone. The exterminator said that fumigating the house was not a safe or feasible choice. When the traps didn't get rid of all of the fruit flies to your liking, you should have let us know and we could have discussed possible solutions. I'm sure it would have been a major inconvenience to ask your guests to turn around and go back home even though that may have been the best option. When I asked for an update later that day, your response was "we finally got a control on them this am." That led us to believe that things were fine. You didn't tell us that it continued to be a problem until after you checked out.
You told us about the tire on the wheel barrow and the leaking sink after you left our home and this is the first time that we’re hearing about the clothes that were left behind. If you had told us about these issues as they came up, we would have addressed them while you were there. Our goal is to make sure our guests have a pleasant stay while in our home, so we recommend contacting us as soon as possible if something isn’t right so we can remedy the situation.
Bayview excellent at Thistledown
This was our 2nd time at Thistledown and enjoyed very well. They have updated their kitchen. The beds are super comfortable. Enjoyed having 4 campfires near the beach, the wood is supplied and burns well. I would like to have at least 4 tall chairs to sit on at the campfire, as they only have what I call sand chairs very hard to get up and down with. Especially as you age....Also supplying bath towels would be nice, too much to pack traveling or flying. Overall very nice place to stay, would go back again.
A week on the shores of the Inland Sea
Very well maintained classic A frame that fronts on Lake Michigan's Manitou Passage between the Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes and the town of Glen Arbor. A great place to kick-off your shoes and relax.
The home was perfect for a winter escape and imagine it would be equally wonderful in the summer.
The location and view truly could not have been better. The house has absolutely everything one would need to enjoy a wonderful holiday.
A Quiet Getaway
This is a special property that has been well cared for over the years.
Situated on the water the home is quite private, yet a short walk to town. Everything is very clean, and the well-stocked kitchen and outdoor gas grill made food preparation fun. (The array of spices were greatly appreciated!) Our group used the home as a base for bike rides, hikes, and touring. Swimming was quite cold, but we went in three times and loved it. The home's style is warm and welcoming, with a usable fireplace and outdoor fire pit. Stars galore at night. We all had a fabulous time at Thistledown would love to return one day.
Do you enjoy spectacular views of an ever changing lake? Is it blue
or green today?
Do you enjoy relaxing on a private beach, soaking up the sun or
hunting for Petoskey stones?
Do you enjoy watching brilliant sunsets while toasting s'mores
and listening to the waves around the campfire?
Do you enjoy counting the stars and watching for Northern Lights in
the clearest night skies that you can imagine?
Do you enjoy hiking and biking the paved trails in the woods?
Do you enjoy climbing the Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes to take in the
view of Glen Lake and Lake Michigan? That's only 5 minutes away.
Do you enjoy kayaking and canoeing? Bring yours or rent one in Glen
Arbor and see the bay and the Crystal River from the water!
Do you enjoy fishing? Charter a fishing boat in Glen Arbor and
catch a salmon!
Do you enjoy golfing? Four 18 hole golf courses nearby.
Do you enjoy walking to town by road or beach to shop, get a cup of coffee, or eat an
ice cream cone?
If these sound appealing to you, you'll enjoy these magical moments