Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Incredible Breathtaking Views -a Summer Vacation at its best-Free shuttle

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 399 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 18

Our vacation home has spectacular views and a shuttle right at the corner for your convenience. In the winter, use this cozy home-away-from-home as your base for skiing all 4 peaks a short shuttle ride away, and the magnificent runs of Vail, Keystone, Copper and more mere minutes by car. Or enjoy the snowboarding, cross country, snow shoeing, hiking, rock climbing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, swimming, ice skating, tennis, racket ball, yoga, pilates, basketball, workouts, concerts, art shows, antique show, ice sculptures, and skating rink.

In the summer, use this regal sun-facing chalet as you contemplate golfing, hiking, running, fishing, river rafting, fishing, horseback riding, tennis, swimming, art shows, Oktoberfest, or climbing 6 14000 ft peaks.

THE GREAT ROOM takes your breath away with its 22 foot window-view of the serenity that only mountain highs can provide. Choose to gaze at nature, or a LCD flat panel TV above the see-through fireplace. Check out the seating for eight in the dining room, or a cozy family gathering at the breakfast table. Roam the open space on the first floor as you stay in touch with any and all in your group who are also seated at the bar in the fully stocked, totally modern, high tech open kitchen.

THE KID ZONE is a 'wow!' surprise. Unofficially designated as 'adults by invitation only', large screen tv, DVDs, dart board, pool table, foos ball; full-bed convertible puzzle sofas, soft drink bar, games and CDs galore.

THE MASTER SUITE -on the main floor, has every amenity you could desire: King bed, armoire housing TV, Jacuzzi bathtub, separate shower; and overly-magnificent views.

PATIO 1. Open the door from the Master Suite to the balcony that envelopes you with the tranquility that only nature can do. The perfect place to eat, chat, or contemplate.

PATIO 2. Directly accessible on the KidZone level. Sauna on your left; brand new Jacuzzi straight ahead. 180 degree mountain view from inside the hot tub.

STATISTICS:

TVs Six

Bedrooms Five + Kid Z one

Sleeps Eighteen

Bathrooms Three and half (incl double shower)

Patios Two

Garage Two car garage, electric door.

Location 4 mi from town; half-block from shuttle.

BED COUNT

Bedroom # 1 King Bed 2

Bedroom # 2 King Bed 2

Bedroom # 3 King Bed 2

Bedroom # 4 King Bed 2

Bedroom # 5 Bunk Bed/

Twin Top/Queen Bottom/

Queen Trundle 5

KidZone 4

Twin Aero Bed 1

TOTAL SLEEPING: 18

This property can accommodate a maximum of 12 adults, or 18 total with children.

More Details

Owner
Jan Gordon
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2017

About Jan Gordon

We are Jan and Lawrence Gordon.

This home was meant to be our 'family ski home' and we have been a family of skiers since our kids were small which led us to Breckenridge and this home.

We have used it and loved it many times with our children and grandchildren but since everyone is so busy in their own lives, we decided to rent it for other families to enjoy.

Jan Gordon purchased this house in 2007

Why Jan Gordon chose Breckenridge Area

This home is a little more contemporary than our others. Inside you cannot stop looking at the wonderful views.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The criteria that brought us to this home to spend Memorial Day Weekend with family: 5 bedrooms, hot tub and pet friendly. 4 of the Bedrooms had king beds! The 5th BR had a bunk bed (great for kids and across the hall from the game room). Hot tub was outdoor with awesome mountain views. And this is one of the very few pet friendly VRBO homes and had a modest pet fee. Was great to have a 2 car heated garage as it did snow while there. The great room is plenty big for our group of 10. We cooked every meal in the house. Tons of towels were provided for showers and hot tub. And there's a steam shower in the lower bathroom. Host was gracious to provide a bottle of wine and a lb of ground brand name coffee. Game room downstairs was enjoyed by the kids. This did not affect our family group, but only 1 Full Bathroom is on-suite. The other 2 full bathrooms are accessed off of hallways. The home is located about 10 minutes up Baldy Mountain from the town of Breckenridge. We found ourselves driving up/down quite a bit.

Fairly easy drive... with some great views of town & the mountains. Finishes and some furnishes are a little dated, but the home was very clean and for the $$'s, this was a very good value for location & space.
May 2017
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Woodmoor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 399 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Half Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen , 1 twin/ single , Bunk Room
  • The 5th bedroom has a bunk bed with a queen size bottom, twin top, and queen trundle. The Kidzone has 2 puzzle sofas that become 2 double beds to sleep 4 people.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
THE KID Z ONE is unofficially designated as “adults by invitation only”, it houses a built in movie projector and screen, pool table, full-bed convertible puzzle sofas, TV, DVD etc. PATIO 1. Open the door from the Master Suite to the balcony that envelopes you with the tranquility that only nature can provide. The perfect place to eat, chat, or contemplate. PATIO 2. Directly accessible on the KidZone level. 180 degree mountain view from inside the hot tub.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

56% Complete
31% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Incredible Breathtaking Views -a Summer Vacation at its best-Free shuttle
average rating of 4.4375 based on 20 reviews
Denver, CO
5

Spacious home with great views

  • 5 of 5

The criteria that brought us to this home to spend Memorial Day Weekend with family: 5 bedrooms, hot tub and pet friendly. 4 of the Bedrooms had king beds! The 5th BR had a bunk bed (great for kids and across the hall from the game room). Hot tub was outdoor with awesome mountain views. And this is one of the very few pet friendly VRBO homes and had a modest pet fee. Was great to have a 2 car heated garage as it did snow while there. The great room is plenty big for our group of 10. We cooked every meal in the house. Tons of towels were provided for showers and hot tub. And there's a steam shower in the lower bathroom. Host was gracious to provide a bottle of wine and a lb of ground brand name coffee. Game room downstairs was enjoyed by the kids. This did not affect our family group, but only 1 Full Bathroom is on-suite. The other 2 full bathrooms are accessed off of hallways. The home is located about 10 minutes up Baldy Mountain from the town of Breckenridge. We found ourselves driving up/down quite a bit.

Fairly easy drive... with some great views of town & the mountains. Finishes and some furnishes are a little dated, but the home was very clean and for the $$'s, this was a very good value for location & space.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Other than some plumbing issues. We loved this gorgeous home, as well as the awesome setting!

  • 4 of 5

Gourgeous home & views! Only negative were some plumbing issues w toilets.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The property is beautiful, but there were quite a few minor issues that affected our enjoyment

  • 3 of 5

Could not get into the property when we arrived - check-in was 4 pm and could not get in until about 5:30 pm. House has no AC (which is to be expected in the mountains) but most of the operable windows are non-functional, marginally functional, or in the process of breaking, making it very difficult to keep the temperature manageable. We had to have all of the doors open most of the time (or it would be over 80 degrees), but blockaded in some way to keep our two tiny dogs in, requiring us to constantly worry about them getting out, falling off the balcony, etc. Had to use matches to light the gas stove as it will not self-ignite (maybe one time out of 10 it would on one burner). Sink in kitchen was dirty on arrival (grime all over faucet - kind of gross). Toilet overflowed in master bedroom several times - we did nothing "unusual" to cause this - seems like it needs to be snaked. The arrangement of the furniture in the game room was bizarre - all of the seating (which is also very uncomfortable) is located on the same wall as the TV so you would have to stand to watch TV - we had to spend time moving the couches, which are unwieldy. Several people stepped on carpet nails where carpet is pulled away from threshold in master BR. Water temperature in showers very finicky - going from hot to cold and back frequently, and the hot water is also way too hot and several people were scalded in both showers and kitchen sink. Refrigerator and stove small for a property that is advertised to sleep so many people, and compared to other comparable properties we have stayed in through VRBO in Colorado.

Basically, we found ourselves spending way too much time trying to deal with maintenance issues and idiosyncrasies, which was frustrating. Again, the house is beautiful - it just seems to need some maintenance. If there had been one or two issues, I would have nothing to say, but there were enough little things that I felt compelled to right this review.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh My God- As the owner, I deeply apologize for these problems in face of expecting perfection and a lovely vacation. We were between management people and this disgrace was the result. So sorry. The original lockout was an unfortunate locking of the inner door by the previous guest. We now have extra keys available to prevent this. The home has been "deep cleaned" Carpets deep cleaned also. The plumbing issues have been fixed. Hot water issue fixed. Furniture is all in place- nails are gone. Window company on the way to fix all windows. Our apologies again. Sincerely Jan Gordon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5

Awesome views, clean place to say with great amenities. Kids loved it.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Baldy Mountain House

  • 3 of 5

The home was very nice and the view was absolutely breathtaking

The house is advertised as sleeping 18. While this is technically true, there is truly only enough BED space for 13 people. The other 5 have to sleep 4 on a “puzzle sofa” an one on an air mattress. This is not a very comfortable for adults or teenagers. This is stated in the description however if you are looking for total comfort for 18 this would be hard to accomplish at this home. Unfortunately we experienced some issues with the hot water also. We had 12 in our group and with ½ of us showering in the morning and the other ½ at night there were always a few without hot water. We were told no one else had ever complained about this before but let me assure you, the water in the mountains is very cold! Our biggest issue was that the oven was broken and we were not able to use it the entire time we were there. We did not realize this until we had spent an arm and leg on groceries. The owner was very responsive to this issue and had a repairman come out but a part had to be ordered so again, no use of the oven at all. They offered to pay for our groceries but we met some very kind neighbors who let us use their oven during the hours that they were not cooking, which made dinner times interesting! I have asked (via email) the owner if they would consider a refund of some kind for the inconvenience of not being able to cook in the oven but have heard nothing so I’m doubting it will happen. Finally – due to some confusion our damage deposit was never refunded. I called VRBO, they got in touch with the owner and fixed the situation but had I not called VRBO seeking resolution I probably would have never gotten the refund. All in all, we had a great time, location is great but there were a few hiccups ..

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry for the oven problem. As a guest I also would have been terribly upset. However you were so understanding. Thank you. Also we are on auto refund and as the gentleman from VRBO said- when we changed the amount on your second payment that auto facility went off, unbeknowst to us. Sorry again , but fortunately you did call or we would not have known about it. Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic place for a family reunion / ski vacation

  • 4 of 5

Met up with my family at the Baldy Mountain Retreat in Breckenridge for a four day ski vacation. We were a group of 11 and the place was everything we had hoped for....great location, stellar views, super spacious, easy check in / check out. The VRBO ad is 100% accurate in my opinion. There were a couple very minor tech issues (needed to call the hot tub people to figure out how to get the hot tub out of sleep mode / some of the bedrooms were way too warm), but other than we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay in Breck. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I 70

This is a beautiful colorful small town with hundreds of restaurants, galleries, cafes , etc.. We love just walking through town and browsing and eating ice cream.The mood is very relaxing and un-fancy. The moment you arrive, it feeds your soul. It’s the stuff real ski towns are made of. This historic, yet hip persona is one that brings people back over and over again. Breck will transform you, but will never transform itself. We’ve always been Breck.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Woodmoor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 10 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Early Ski
Nov 3 2017 - Nov 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2017 - Nov 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$750
 
 
Regular Ski
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Xmas
Dec 18 2017 - Dec 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,350
 
 
New Years
Dec 27 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
Regular Ski
Jan 6 2018 - Feb 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
Prime Ski
Feb 3 2018 - Mar 2 2018
5 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 3 2018 - Apr 6 2018
6 night minimum stay
$850
 
 
Late Ski
Apr 7 2018 - Apr 22 2018
3 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$650
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $360
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $750

Peak Season Cleaning Fee is $460
Peak Seasons are:
Feb 1st - March 4th
march 5th - April 1st
Nov 23rd to Nov 27th
Dec 19th - Dec 26th
Dec 27th - Jan 2nd
Refundable security deposit of $750.00

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable