check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Beautiful, Quiet Home Right on Donner Lake with Private Dock

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Jul 24, 2016
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 6

Thank you for your interest in our Donner Lake home. This beautiful, comfortable Donner Lake lakefront 2 bedroom/1 bathroom is right on the water. This is the lake level quarters custom home. Wake up to a view of the lake and forested granite mountains. Walk down a 3 flights of stairs and jump in the lake or cast out a line.

Walk down a pathway toward the lake to the entrance. There is a living room, kitchen, 2 bedrooms, a laundry room and a full bathroom. The rental is completely self-contained. The kitchen has a stove/oven, a refrigerator, and a gas BBQ. The bath includes all the necessities. There is cable TV, a DVD player, a stereo and high-speed internet access.

Go down a flight of carpeted stairs to a carpeted (soft on your bare feet and great for laying out) private dock where you can moor a boat, a PWC, try your luck at fishing, swim, or simply relax.

Our home has 2 queen-sized beds and a sofa bed in the front room. We don’t want to rent to large groups. This is not a party cabin. It is perfect for a small family or a couple or two.

Access to our home involves 2 flights of landscaped stone steps(caution, some may be loose!) without railings and 3 additional wooden flights of stairs with railings from the entrance to the dock. There is enough room to park two vehicles in front of the house.

Truckee restaurants and shops are 15 minutes from the house.

No smoking or pets are allowed anywhere on property.

Please e-mail or call if you have any questions.

Thank you!

Evan

Booking Requirements:

For deposit, we require 50% at the time of booking to reserve nights and the completed rental agreement and then the remaining due 60 days prior to your stay.

Cancellation Policy:

A full refund is given up to 60 days prior to the first night, 50% up to 30 days prior, and cleaning fee refunded for cacellations within 30 days of the first night. If we are able to re-book the dates we had reserved for you at any time we would give a full refund.

More Details
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks: english

7 Reviews

4
based on 7 traveler reviews

1

Not so beautiful place

  • 1 of 5

Unfortunately, this property was very disappointing. First of all, the stone stairs down to the unit were dangerous (my 85 year old mother was with us). There were at least 4 loose stones, overgrown weeds and absolutely no lighting at the top of the stairs when you are there at night. When we arrived, there were crumbs all over the living room. The house cleaners had been there, as the beds were made. There were no towels on the racks. The pillows on the bed had to be 15 years old. Dirty, dingy. We arrived about an hour early and, once I spoke with the owner, a cleaning person came back over to finish the job. I was promised a refund on our cleaning fee, but have yet to receive it. The appliances, although functional, were straight out of the 70's and 80's (as is the yellow linoleum on the floors). The oven was filthy inside, the refrigerator's racks were rusted. The furniture seemed to be a collection of anything and everything. It seemed like these items were leftovers and the owners thought it would be cheap to turn this place into a rental by throwing this and that in there. The couch was very old and probably hasn't been cleaned in years.

For the price that they are charging to stay there, I expect much, much more. The location of this property was the only upside to our stay. Lakefront, with a private dock. But, there are several other homes on the lake that cost the same amount and, as we discovered, were much nicer and better maintained. This property could be a gem if a little time and money were put in to updating a few things and taking care of the landscaping around it and especially the broken stairs!!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately we did have an issue with the housekeepers on this stay and the guest has been refunded the cleaning fee for their trouble. We were able to have the house properly cleaned by the normal check-in time after the entered prior to check-in time and reported the cleaning to not be up to standards. The refund was forgotten and delayed while we worked to arrange proper cleaning. We pride ourselves on prompt responses to inquiries and issues though the refund portion of this response did slip through the cracks. The number of the stairs was disclosed upon request prior to Angela's stay and we do not advertise as an easy access house. The review is accurate that the path does get dark at night as the house is remote and we try to limit light pollution to maintain the fantastic night sky views. Some of the individual stones in the landscaped stairs come loose from time to time and we do repair them when we find them but we don't have the opportunity to inspect them between every guest visit. They are by no means broken or non-functional even with several loose stones. We have added more description to the listing to help make other guests aware of the stair situation. Lastly, the house is old and the photos accurately depict some of the dated interior style and decor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Great place in a beautiful location. A few of the steps down were loose, but other than that everything was perfect. There were plenty of clean towels and blankets, and the place was clean when we got there. I'd recommend this rental to a small group of friends or a family who wants to get away and relax

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful and Private

  • 4 of 5

We wanted peace and serenity with a private dock and we got it! The unit was clean and well maintained, we received good communication with the owners,and the directions for the cabin were easy to follow. Make sure your legs are in good shape for the 27 steps down to the cabin! We would book this again.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
vacaville,ca
5

south shore donner cabin

  • 5 of 5

This home is gorgeous! Its exactly as advertised. All the comforts of home. Extra linens, pots and pans. My family and I were extremely happy. As you walk down the serene steps (a few stones NEED to be replace for safety and liability issues) you are blessed with the beauty of lake donner. We entered thru the sliding glass door and were surprised to see our own gorgeous, private secluded view of the lake from every room. The first morning we woke finding a beautiful deer eating the foil age on the hill along the lake.

Whether you want to relax on the dock,swim on the lake, play on boats and jet skis, take an 8 mile walk/run/ bike around the lake you can do it all... We had the cabin Monday-Sat the whole week seemed like we were the only ones there. From night and sat morning is when people fro. All over started filtering in. Still so much more private and less traffic than Tahoe.

My kids are teenagers so we had to get out and find activities. If you like animals. Reno has an animal sanctuary "Animal Arc" dedicated to care for injured and non releasable wild life. Of course wild island has water slides. Go karting black light mini golf and bowling. Camp Richardson horseback riding was awesome. But what takes the cake is sitting on the dock watching the sunrise with a cup of coffee and seeing the amazing sunset when the bats come out to find their food. I Would DEFINITELY come back to this secluded hideaway. Thank you Mark and Evan for sharing your cabin with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sacramento, California
5

Great Vews and Location

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a five night trip and can't wait to return. Though this is a small place, it is in one of the best locations on the lake. We enjoyed docking our boat directly below the cabin and fishing off of the dock each morning and evening. The views from both bedrooms and the livingroom overlook the beautiful lake and provide a genuine feeling of relaxation. The beds were comfortable and we all enjoyed playing board games or watching movies on Netflix in the evenings. The town of Truckee is five minutes away for great restaurants and shops and we took advantage of the 30 minute trip to Reno for a little gambling excursion. The lake was a perfect temperature for cooling off, water skiing, tubing, and wake boarding. Early morning and late afternoon the winds die down to provide optimal conditions. We even rented a wave runner for an hour on the lake and our teenage son had a blast. We booked this rental less than a month before our trip. The owner was easy to work with had the place equipped just right for us to enjoy our stay. They even provided towels and sheets which added to the enjoyment of our family vacation. This would be a great find for either two couples, or a family with kids. We will definately return to this rental property again. I imagine it being beautiful in the winter as well when all of the mountains are coverred in snow and it would be a nice oasis after a day of snow skiing.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad Dan had a great time and speaks so highly of the place! As a note for future guests, Truckee is closer to a 15 minute drive as one must drive around the lake and Reno is about an hour(time flies though when its as beautiful a drive as this one is!). Also, although the house is gorgeous in the winter, we don't allow guests to stay because it is quite treacherous to reach the house in winter conditions(the driveway is steep and it can get quite slippery). We're open until the first snow drops so drop us a line! We highly recommend the fall as the lake quiets down quite a bit.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Santa Clara
4

Review of Donnor Lake Cabin

  • 4 of 5

The website and the owner's description is accurate. The there are lots of stairs to get to from the parking to the front door. The property was very clean and well stocked with linen, towels, dishes, etc. We ended up bringing way too much stuff that was already provided. The owners were great, very thorough with directions and very prompt in response to questions. The boat dock is absolutely amazing. We spent most days on the dock, fishing, swimming, and boating. It's like a private beach without sand. We loved it. The family is already talking about next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Swimming, fishing, and relaxing are all terrific on Donner Lake. There are great hiking and biking trails nearby. You can also rent kayaks, canoes, paddleboats, wake-board boats, and jet-skis on the lake.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Beautiful Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Fall Special!
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

damage insurance $49 + Tax
cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Nightly Rate: $150 - $350

Weekly Rate: $1050 - $2100

Rental Rates:
$300 per night (2-night minimum) plus $150 cleaning fee plus $49 insurance fee. We provide 6 towels and 3 sets of sheets.

$2100 per week (6 nights)

Holiday $300 per night (3 night minimum) $2100 week

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Jul 24, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront

Attractions

  • bay/sound
  • forests
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2

Outside

  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car