Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Cozy Beachfront Home - AuGres

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 167 m²
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms plus loft, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 6

Welcome to your private beach on Lake Huron! This house has been in our family for decades and has been recently remodeled in 2015.

Located just outside Downtown AuGres, this cozy beachfront house has been fully updated including new furniture, tile floor, appliances, smart 55" flat screen TV, WIFI, paint and decor!

Bedroom #1 (upstairs lake view) has one queen bed and pullout couch.

The upstairs has also has a loft area with two single beds and a shared full bathroom.

Bedroom #2 (downstairs lake view) has one queen bed with a full bathroom.

First floor walks out to your private sandy beach area. Far from highways and noise, you'll enjoy being in a protected cove with clean shallow water and a sandy bottom; great for swimming, water games and children! Next door is a heavily wooded vacant lot which gives you even more privacy. Beach fires are perfect for roasting marshmallows!

This lake house is close to golf courses, canoeing, charter fishing, hiking, boating and town (AuGres).

Even more entertainment can be found about 20 minutes drive to Tawas City.

Come enjoy time with family and friends relaxing on one of Michigan's Great Lakes!

More Details

Owner
Jerry Bostwick
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 23, 2017

Amenities

Au Gres House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 167 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Half Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
Modern kitchen- dishwasher,microwave,stove,refrigerator Washer & Dryer Gas log fireplace, for use during cold months 12 x14 T$G cedar porch overlooking the lake Fire pit on the beach 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 baths Lower bedroom-queen size bed and has own full bath Upper bedroom #1 queen size bed/picture window overlooking the lake Upper bedroom #2 2- single beds-full bathroom for both bedrooms Many more extras-including a boathouse with bunks for kids to stay

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Cozy Beachfront Home - AuGres
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
5

Best Little Beach House EVER!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here from June 17-27, 2017. The house was recently remodeled and fresh and clean. The wall-hangings, decorations, and quilted bedding looked like something out of a beach magazine. The house is listed as a two-bedroom (both bedrooms with windows facing the lake); however, it is MORE than a two-bedroom, as there is also a loft upstairs that has two twin beds and a window. Both of the actual bedrooms have doors for privacy. The house has 3 HUGE bathrooms - two with showers - and there were lots of towels, too. There is also a top-of-the-line washer/drier combo in one of the bathrooms. The kitchen is very well-stocked with an electric stove, fridge, microwave, dishwasher, dishes, glasses, pots, pans, etc. The living room is perfect - lots of seating and a huge tv on the wall over a gorgeous fireplace. The sunroom facing the lake was my favorite place in the house - 3 walls of windows with screens. This place was above and beyond for a beach rental - wine and snacks on the table waiting for us, board games in the closet, a fire pit out by the lake, beach chairs in the boat house, etc.

The house is located in a very safe area (I know this because my dad lives a couple miles down the same road). Because of that, we felt comfortable leaving our bedroom windows open at night (although we closed the sunroom up and locked the doors). And, guess what? The house is close enough to the lake, and the lake has just enough personality, that you can clearly hear the lake at night through the open bedroom window.

This part of Lake Huron is in a cove. That means that the water is more shallow and calm here, making it perfect for kayaking and swimming. You have to go quite a ways out to get over your waist. The beach is golden sand with lots of sunshine. There is a wooded lot next to the house, so you have lots of privacy to wear your swimsuit. There are also birds and wild turkeys that live in the lot next door.

This house does not have air conditioning. We opened windows and caught the lake breeze and were comfortable. The showers are small, so if you are a larger person, that might be a problem. Honestly though, those are the only two minor things I can think of that were not positive.

Yes, this house and the beach and lake are REALLY as great as I described! We did not know the owners, but we found they were very easy to work with and responsive. Will we stay there again? You bet'cha!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for so many great details of your stay Vicki. We are happy to hear you guys loved the place.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice Lake House

  • 5 of 5

Very nice property! Plan to return.

Lake house is exactly as described.

Tastefully decorated, wonderful beach, etc. Our "Golden ", Brinkley really loved the swimming.

Special Thanks to the owner, for allowing dogs.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Just the right size house

  • 4 of 5

It was a nice quiet week. The house was just the right size for 5 adults, although the people sleeping upstairs said it was too hot to sleep well at night. Loved the fire on the beach at night and watching all the fireworks 4th of July week. Pleased to find a place that would allow us to bring our dog.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic home! Very clean & welcoming. Owner responded immediately to all questions.

  • 4 of 5

Home stocked with everything you need & very clean. Loved it! Outside area could have been more inviting. Lots of weeds & beach needed raked. Wooden chairs falling apart & lawn chairs old & in disrepair. Overall experience was great. We enjoyed the home & would definitely recommend this rental to others. Owner was easy to reach & very friendly. We were welcomed with wine on the table 🍷Nice touch!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southgate, Michigan
3

We reserved the property for 1 week. My husband, daughter, son-in-law, and 2 yr. old granddaughter.

  • 3 of 5

The house was very nice, clean and spacious, but there is no air conditioning. There are ceiling fans in the bedrooms and kitchen, but no fans in the living area. On 3 of the 6 days we where there, the temperature in the house got up to over 80-85 degrees. My granddaughter had trouble sleeping because it was so hot. My husband and I slept on top of the covers on those nights. There was no breeze at all from the beach which might have helped but without any breeze the ceiling fan just blew warm air around. It was very disappointing. The owners said that it usually is not a problem, that it was unusually hot for the week we were there. The problem with that is that we were there June 10-17, I am sure it gets hotter later in the summer. If that is true the house would have been unbearable. The house was very nice, adding air conditioning would make it much better for when it is really needed. The beach was nice and real close to the house which we loved. There were a lot of rocks however. Our daughter cut her foot the one day she ventured into the water. That was disappointing. Because of the reasons above we will not rent the property again.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sharon. I think several areas hit record highs this week. I suppose you never can predict Mother Nature in Northern Michigan! We appreciate your feedback, and our goal is to make the accommodations as comfortable and clean as possible, having ceiling fans as well as box fans available for situations like this. Although we cannot control the weather, we understand your frustration regarding the heat. Thanks again for spending a week at our house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Royal Oak, MI
5

Great Rental!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was just as described. Great Location, great house, and great property. Also the house was super clean and everything was in great working order.

Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Bar
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Right out your back porch
Car: necessary

Great fishing

Long walks on sandy beach

Biking & Hiking

Golfing

Swimming

Movies (Tawas)

Canoeing/Kyaking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Au Gres House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Rates
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,650
$5,500
 
 
2018 Summer Rates
Jun 2 2018 - Sep 8 2018
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,350
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $250

There are 2 vacant wooded lots directly next door, making this beach house even more of a special and private paradise!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable