Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pet Friendly Cottage Close to Pool and Rathtrevor Beach - Quiet Location

Bedrooms 2
Space 80 m²
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Sofa Bed, 1 Bathroom - Sleeps 1 - 6

Morning-Glory is a cozy Arbutus floor plan cottage in the Oceanside Village Resort. Under new ownership, look for some refreshing changes as we continue providing the great amenities that have made it a popular vacation home. This cottage has all the amenities, and when you arrive we supply a welcoming bottle of wine along with the cuddly terry robes so you can begin relaxing immediately.

Designed with the outdoors in mind, the cottage has two bedrooms. The windows let in the glorious sunshine and the comfortable design of the cottage encourages rest, relaxation and rejuvenation. The kitchen is fully equipped with all the necessities - including patio glassware, dishes, pots and pans, toaster, coffee maker, blender, mixer and placemats. Full size appliances are provided.

The dining room table comfortably seats six and the stools also work at the eating bar. Play board games, plan trips with the brochures provided or enjoy meals prepared in the fully equipped kitchen or on the gas grill on the patio.

The living room has a sofa bed, HDTV with DVD player and a stereo. It opens onto the sunny deck which has a new barbecue and picnic table for those who enjoy outdoor meals. The vaulted pine ceiling in the living and dining room gives a wonderful light and airy feel to this cottage. The ceiling fan and gas fireplace are there to ensure you are comfortable whatever the weather. Watch the TV (cable included) or videos/DVDs or curl up with a book. A supply of games, puzzles and DVDs provide hours of entertainment.

The master bedroom has it's own TV and DVD player. We have a new high quality queen size mattress after hearing from a few guests that the previous one was no longer comfortable! The second bedroom has a double bed and duvet. Warm terry robes are supplied for adults. The one large bathroom has a tub and a separate shower. All towels are supplied..

The cottage is also equipped with local telephone and high speed secured wireless internet access that is not shared by any other cottage.

You will have access to the Resort's indoor pool, hot tub and exercise room; while the beach is a short 10 minute walk away. For beach days, we supply beach chairs, towels and sand castle building toys. Adjacent to the complex is Riptide Lagoon Miniature Golf and bumper cars. You're just minutes from the centrally-located Community Park, loaded with activities for all ages and it's expansive beach. A varied mix of shops, cafes, grocery and specialty stores make up the Parksville shopping district just minutes away. After a day of walking, hiking, swimming, biking, golfing or shopping, indulge yourself at the Tranquil Moments Day Spa & Salon on site, or sit back and enjoy meals from the restaurant. There is also a hair salon. For dining purposes, we have other fine restaurants that are within a short walk or drive of your cottage.

We only charge 5% tax, no cleaning fee unless the cottage is left dirty and no extra fees for additional guests. We charge $20.00/day + 5% GST for pets to a maximum of $100.00 + GST.

More Details

Arlene Bianco
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 14, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful stay! The house is well equipped. Having towels and sand toys to use at the beach was a nice touch!
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 53


Nearest Barpub
0.1 Kilometres
5 min walk
Nearest Ferry
31.2 Kilometres
45 min drive
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
7 golf courses in a 1/2 hr drive
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Kilometres
2 min drive
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Kilometres
2 min walk
Nearest Ski
104.6 Kilometres
1 hour drive
Nearest Beach
0.7 Kilometres
10 minute walk - 3 minute drive
Car: recommended
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Golf.

* Kayaking.

* Art Galleries.

* Spa.

* Beachcombing.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Beach.

* Hiking.

* Shelling.

* Fishing.

* Crabbing.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Beach.

* Hiking.

* Shelling.

* Biking.

* Minigolf.

Morning-Glory is in close proximity to:

Beach (less than a ten minute walk)

Golf (7 courses within a half hour drive)




Art Museums, Theatre

Milner Gardens

Fishing, Kayaking


Adventure tours


Parksville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 80 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Resort ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , New high quality mattress as of May 2017
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Queen size bed Double bed 1 bathrooms Laundry Facilities 1 full size sofa beds All linens including robes, bedding and towels Stove, Fridge, Dishwasher, Microwave Secure Wireless Internet 2 televisions, dvd players, vcr, stereo and cable tv Patio furniture, barbecue Beach chairs, sand toys, picnic basket Down duvets and pillows


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Pet Friendly Cottage Close to Pool and Rathtrevor Beach - Quiet Location
average rating of 4.857143 based on 60 reviews

Happy Renters

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was more than expected, very clean, quiet and well stocked. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! As new owners, we are striving to ensure our guests our comfortable and enjoy their experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

I'm always worried when I book a property, will it be as good as the photos, etc. Well, this property met all my expectations and then some. The house was clean, well stocked and quiet. We appreciated being able to do laundry when we arrived. I would recommend this cabin to my friends. It is a nice walk to the beach.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you felt comfortable and enjoyed our cottage! We will continue to try to improve where we can, to ensure that guests always enjoy their vacation experience with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great stay at Morning Glory Guest House

  • 4 of 5

It was a very cute cabin perfect for our small family! It was a great spot, and so great that we could bring our dog. The kitchen had everything we needed, as we stayed for 7 nights and did lots of cooking. The pool was great and the beach was about 15 min walk away but we brought our bikes and could get there really fast. The only problem was the mattress in the master bedroom was really uncomfortable so I had a lot of back aches every morning, also the duvet cover did not appear to washed as it had blood stains on it when we arrived. Overall, the rest of the cabin was clean and it was so nice to have the week to enjoy it :)

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review – we appreciate it. This is the first time anyone has complained about the mattress – I also suffer back-pain at times so we chose a mattress which had lots of support and of a better quality. We have had several reviews from people who said they loved the comfy beds and we are fortunate to have many guests who love to return to the Guest House year after year. However, mattress choice is very personal and that is why there are so many different models. I hope that your back has improved. Our cleaner has been with us for 3 years and we appreciate all the extra work that she does – she goes out of her way to make sure that everything is clean and working properly for our guests. However everyone makes mistakes and if you encountered a problem with the duvet, I wish you would have called us immediately so we could have rectified it for you. The duvets are stored in the closet because not everyone appreciates the extra warmth they provide. Protocol is that these duvets be unrolled after each stay to check that they have not been used or stained. Although we have asked guests to leave soiled linens out when they leave, not everyone admits to having had an accident such as a nose bleed or a child coloring with felt pens which caused a problem. Many times they have carefully rolled up the duvets and it appeared they were not used. It would be easy to miss if pushed for time. We have extra duvet covers in the cottage and could have changed it out for you if you had called us as per the instruction sheet on the table. We appreciate your comments and will review the procedures with our cleaner to make sure that this doesn’t happen again. I have also included the review you had left in our guest book in fairness to all who read this review. “Walked to Rathtrevor Beach and had a fire and played in the park. Pool was great. Very clean cabin with everything we needed. Thanks for the dog treats and bottle of wine. Can’t wait to come back next year.”
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Great month stay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and rented this cottage for a month (mid Dec - mid Jan). When we arrived the cottage was spotless and so very well equipmented that you only need to bring your clothes. We had no problem with anything but if we did we were sure the owners would have addressed it right away. We enjoyed the indoor pool in the complex and the location near Rathtrevor Park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon!

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy that you had a great vacation and we look forward to seeing you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Banff, Alberta

Christmas Vacation - 1st VRBO experience

  • 5 of 5

Location - Great ... walking distance (with dogs) to Rathtrevor Beach , quick in & out for highway access, not "busy" in and around unit.

Cottage description was totally accurate - completely stocked kitchen - down to spice rack ! Set-up was great - bedrooms, living & dining areas and bathroom all clean, comfortable and well-stocked (linens, etc). Amazing to have washer & dryer on site

Pleasantly surprised at reasonable rate over "busy" Christmas period - having worked in hotels, usually rates spike over Christmas & New Years.

Communication before, during and after was good - expectations were clearly laid out.

Was above & beyond our expectation ..little details that were unexpected: Christmas Tree, welcome package and treats for both us and our dog !, selection of movies, games and for summer guests beach chairs/toys and towels.

We took a couple cards and have recommended this as an option for friends who may be looking for rental options on Vancouver Island.

Sadly with family and visiting we "underutilized" a lot of the options ... even to watch a couple movies, rad a book or use the pool !

Woudl definitely recommend this cottage for a "quiet" getaway of any type ! We'll have to try it again.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again - all returning guests receive a 10% discount. Thank you for giving us a review and for passing our cards on to your friends!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great cabin with tasteful decor!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at morning glory for two days and it was such a great palce to stay. Clean and well organized with all the amenties of home. Unfortunately we had no time to enjoy this cabin as we were invovlved in a weekend wedding. Coming back with my dog as he would love it here in Parksville.

Thanks for the wine and the great experience.

Sherry & Dean

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sherry and Dean - we look forward to your return visit with your dog. Please remember that all our returning guests receive a 10% discount! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Cheers Colleen and Marty
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.0%

Reservation Policy
•A $300 deposit is required as soon as your reservation is confirmed
•The remaining balance is due to 45 days prior to arrival
•Rates for pets are $20.00 per day to a maximum of $100 each per visit

Cancellation Policy
•45 days before stay: Refund deposit minus $25 fee
•Less than 45 days before stay: No refunds unless unit can be re-rented

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.