check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

La Joya Merida Historical Center

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Nov 30, 2016
3 bedroom, 3 bathroom and a studio with large garden in downtown Merida

La Joya is a beautiful house with a perfect combination of old colonial architecture with extensive modern funcionality located in the heart of downtown Merida, just 3 blocks from Santiago market and close to Santa Lucia, art galleries and restaurants.

The house has 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a studio with a sofa bed.

Also, it has an interior courtyard and a large terrace at the back plus a large pool with palapa.

Perfect for large group of friends and family, you will have your own Oasis in the heart of dowtown Merida.

  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

Speaks: english, spanish

4 Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Great cas and excellent location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at La Joya for the month of February. We loved the house and the mix of modern and colonial designs. Much thought was put into the property. The kitchen was well appointed with all that we needed. Especially liked the stove top and the cast iron 'plate' used to heat tortillas.

The casa's location is perfect for exploring the historical centro of Merida. Just a short walk to the main plaza, Santiago and Santa Ana markets, museums and restaurants. A car is not needed. The home comes as advertised. Availability of hot water and water pressure were excellent.

The home is very clean and included weekly visits from a housekeeper, pool cleaners and gardener.

The pool and outdoor areas are magnificent. a great variety of fruit trees, bougainvillea and hibiscus. We especially enjoyed the different birds that would come to visit each day including parrots.

We found the property manager very easy to communicate with and when necessary any minor issues we encountered were dealt with in a timely fashion and to our satisfaction. We highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Logan, UT, USA
5

Sanctuary in Merida

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house was excellent - lovely, clean, spacious, good location.

Two courtyards with large screened windows/doors allowed a nice breeze. The house felt very spacious and comfortable for our group of 8. The pool was great for a refreshing dip after walking around town.

Location is just blocks from several plazas, avenues with historical points and restaurants, etc.

The refrigerator had some problems and the owner replaced it with a brand new one within a day. Very responsive.

Highly recommended. Next time we are in Merida, this will be our first choice.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
New York City
5

Hidden Paradise

  • 5 of 5

La Joya is truly a hidden gem, from the outside it looked plain, but when I opened the door it was paradise. I loved this home and have inquired a few more times since my visit, but it was unavailable at those times - understandably, it is precious. I was greeted by Omar upon arrival with a walk through of the house and he explained the appliances, air conditioning, wireless internet, pool and everything else. He gave me his personal phone number and showed me how to use the phone to make local calls - which was great. The house is HUGE, it must be 5,000 square feet. The first room near the street has a queen bed(usually loud in other colonial homes in Merida)but was quiet because Calle 66 is not a very busy street. The Merida English Library is right around the corner, centro a few blocks. Two bedrooms are Huge with gorgeous minimalist-designed private bathrooms and queen sized beds. Yet another bedroom is smaller with a bathroom right outside it's door - queen or double bed, can't remember. The living room is a delight and the entire home is a thoughtful combination of minimalist chic and refurbished colonial architecture (ie flat screen tv, grey plush sofa, fine wooden dining furniture, stainless refrigerator...so nice, the living area gives a "loft-like" feeling, w/an open layout which includes the living room, dining and kitchen. The bathroom in the 3rd huge bedroom at the rear of the house has a door that opens to the patio/pool. Outside of the kitchen is a comfortable seating area with chair with comfy cushions. The pool was delightful. In January, it was not that hot, but a couple of days were hot enough to welcome the pool, which was not heated and did not need to be heated. Another wonderful aspect of this home is the palapa roofed area next to the pool, with hammocks and seating area, dining table...My group consisted of myself and 3 others, including creative writing professors I had invited to Merida for an event. EVERYONE loved this house and there was more than ample room for a lot of privacy. All in all, my experience was wonderful and I look forward to coming back again to casa La Joya. We never had a problem in 10 days. The washing machine is up a flight of stairs outside the backdoor and that made life easier as well. The home owners have a modest artistic flair that at once functional, beautiful and warm. Thanks so much, Omar, sorry I didn't write my review sooner and sorry La Joya won't be available next January when I am in Merida!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Sheila, it was my pleasure to have you and company as guests, I look forward to have you as a guest. Omar Fuentes
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1

Do not rent it!

  • 1 of 5

The house is nice, spacious and confortable, as seen in the pictures,it's closed to main attractions, but we had not a good experience with the management of this house, the swimming pool was for most of the time dirty, by management's orders they did not clean it and put the appropiriate treatment to it so half of our staying the water was green, I do have pictures of it and the person in charge of the swimming pool maintenance told us about it.

At the end of our stay, the administrator informed us that we have to pay a ridiculous amount of electricity because of the electricity of this house was connected to the next door house (so basically you have to pay the electricity for both houses) I am a mexican citizen and I know the cost of electricity, it was absolutally ridicoulus. We confront him about it and then he wanted to charge us for a stain on the kitchen's floor that was already there. Do not rent this property unless they change the management. It's such a pitty that the owner do not know about this, the house is nice but these type of incidents makes it not worth staying.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review Isela, I'm very sorry you had so many problems with the management, we will address inmediately the company/people who manages this house, however I was informed that you asked for a rate in which you would handle the services and pay for them yourself, I suggest in the future you leave this for the managers, on my part I will not offer the option to handle cleaning of pool by renters it becomes extremely dificult, specially on summer when storms are frequest and mantaining the pool is a chalenge. As for the electricity, the house counts with two meters indeed, it is just a house with a divsion in the facade but is the same property, it is perfectly legal and used commonly in Mexico to reduce the power rate. I will make this clear to future renters. Best Gabriela
Did you find this review helpful?
5 6

Location

Activity and Interests

Tours to Chichen Itza, Uxmal and other Mayan sites close to the city.

45 minutes from Progreso beach. Located in the center of Merida which

gives the occupants the

opportunity to enjoy festivals, art exhibitions, folklore and more;

everything at a walking distance.

Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: Nov 30, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

Property Type

  • house

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, shower
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet, shower
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet, shower

Bedrooms

  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon

Outside

  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • High speed Internet Connection Cable TV with HBO and English spoken news channels Large swimming pool Close to theaters, restaurants, parks and markets 2 DVDs and 42" and 30 Flat Screen TV Stereo Dish washer Washer and dryer for clothes AC in al rooms and interior areas Three blocks from Zocalo

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car