Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

La Joya Merida Historical Center

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 bedroom, 3 bathroom and a studio with large garden in downtown Merida

La Joya is a beautiful house with a perfect combination of old colonial architecture with extensive modern funcionality located in the heart of downtown Merida, just 3 blocks from Santiago market and close to Santa Lucia, art galleries and restaurants.

The house has 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a studio with a sofa bed.

Also, it has an interior courtyard and a large terrace at the back plus a large pool with palapa.

Perfect for large group of friends and family, you will have your own Oasis in the heart of dowtown Merida.

More Details


Centro House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
High speed Internet Connection Cable TV with HBO and English spoken news channels Large swimming pool Close to theaters, restaurants, parks and markets 2 DVDs and 42" and 30 Flat Screen TV Stereo Dish washer Washer and dryer for clothes AC in al rooms and interior areas Three blocks from Zocalo


4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
La Joya Merida Historical Center
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Great cas and excellent location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at La Joya for the month of February. We loved the house and the mix of modern and colonial designs. Much thought was put into the property. The kitchen was well appointed with all that we needed. Especially liked the stove top and the cast iron 'plate' used to heat tortillas.

The casa's location is perfect for exploring the historical centro of Merida. Just a short walk to the main plaza, Santiago and Santa Ana markets, museums and restaurants. A car is not needed. The home comes as advertised. Availability of hot water and water pressure were excellent.

The home is very clean and included weekly visits from a housekeeper, pool cleaners and gardener.

The pool and outdoor areas are magnificent. a great variety of fruit trees, bougainvillea and hibiscus. We especially enjoyed the different birds that would come to visit each day including parrots.

We found the property manager very easy to communicate with and when necessary any minor issues we encountered were dealt with in a timely fashion and to our satisfaction. We highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Logan, UT, USA

Sanctuary in Merida

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The house was excellent - lovely, clean, spacious, good location.

Two courtyards with large screened windows/doors allowed a nice breeze. The house felt very spacious and comfortable for our group of 8. The pool was great for a refreshing dip after walking around town.

Location is just blocks from several plazas, avenues with historical points and restaurants, etc.

The refrigerator had some problems and the owner replaced it with a brand new one within a day. Very responsive.

Highly recommended. Next time we are in Merida, this will be our first choice.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
New York City

Hidden Paradise

  • 5 of 5

La Joya is truly a hidden gem, from the outside it looked plain, but when I opened the door it was paradise. I loved this home and have inquired a few more times since my visit, but it was unavailable at those times - understandably, it is precious. I was greeted by Omar upon arrival with a walk through of the house and he explained the appliances, air conditioning, wireless internet, pool and everything else. He gave me his personal phone number and showed me how to use the phone to make local calls - which was great. The house is HUGE, it must be 5,000 square feet. The first room near the street has a queen bed(usually loud in other colonial homes in Merida)but was quiet because Calle 66 is not a very busy street. The Merida English Library is right around the corner, centro a few blocks. Two bedrooms are Huge with gorgeous minimalist-designed private bathrooms and queen sized beds. Yet another bedroom is smaller with a bathroom right outside it's door - queen or double bed, can't remember. The living room is a delight and the entire home is a thoughtful combination of minimalist chic and refurbished colonial architecture (ie flat screen tv, grey plush sofa, fine wooden dining furniture, stainless nice, the living area gives a "loft-like" feeling, w/an open layout which includes the living room, dining and kitchen. The bathroom in the 3rd huge bedroom at the rear of the house has a door that opens to the patio/pool. Outside of the kitchen is a comfortable seating area with chair with comfy cushions. The pool was delightful. In January, it was not that hot, but a couple of days were hot enough to welcome the pool, which was not heated and did not need to be heated. Another wonderful aspect of this home is the palapa roofed area next to the pool, with hammocks and seating area, dining table...My group consisted of myself and 3 others, including creative writing professors I had invited to Merida for an event. EVERYONE loved this house and there was more than ample room for a lot of privacy. All in all, my experience was wonderful and I look forward to coming back again to casa La Joya. We never had a problem in 10 days. The washing machine is up a flight of stairs outside the backdoor and that made life easier as well. The home owners have a modest artistic flair that at once functional, beautiful and warm. Thanks so much, Omar, sorry I didn't write my review sooner and sorry La Joya won't be available next January when I am in Merida!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: January 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Sheila, it was my pleasure to have you and company as guests, I look forward to have you as a guest. Omar Fuentes
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Do not rent it!

  • 1 of 5

The house is nice, spacious and confortable, as seen in the pictures,it's closed to main attractions, but we had not a good experience with the management of this house, the swimming pool was for most of the time dirty, by management's orders they did not clean it and put the appropiriate treatment to it so half of our staying the water was green, I do have pictures of it and the person in charge of the swimming pool maintenance told us about it.

At the end of our stay, the administrator informed us that we have to pay a ridiculous amount of electricity because of the electricity of this house was connected to the next door house (so basically you have to pay the electricity for both houses) I am a mexican citizen and I know the cost of electricity, it was absolutally ridicoulus. We confront him about it and then he wanted to charge us for a stain on the kitchen's floor that was already there. Do not rent this property unless they change the management. It's such a pitty that the owner do not know about this, the house is nice but these type of incidents makes it not worth staying.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review Isela, I'm very sorry you had so many problems with the management, we will address inmediately the company/people who manages this house, however I was informed that you asked for a rate in which you would handle the services and pay for them yourself, I suggest in the future you leave this for the managers, on my part I will not offer the option to handle cleaning of pool by renters it becomes extremely dificult, specially on summer when storms are frequest and mantaining the pool is a chalenge. As for the electricity, the house counts with two meters indeed, it is just a house with a divsion in the facade but is the same property, it is perfectly legal and used commonly in Mexico to reduce the power rate. I will make this clear to future renters. Best Gabriela
Did you find this review helpful?
5 6

Property Manager

Vania Duran
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2018


Tours to Chichen Itza, Uxmal and other Mayan sites close to the city.

45 minutes from Progreso beach. Located in the center of Merida which

gives the occupants the

opportunity to enjoy festivals, art exhibitions, folklore and more;

everything at a walking distance.




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning fee $30

Rates: Weekly ($1,200-$1700 USD per week)
Monthly ($2,800-$4,000 USD per month)
Depending on number of guests and season.
Please contact for more info.
Special rates for longer periods.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.