check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

5000 sq ft Luxury Beach Home, TPC-10 min away-500' to Ocean


Property Details

Updated: Oct 18, 2016
House, 3 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, sleeps 8 comfortably. Photos current April 2015

If you're looking to be in the Jacksonville Beaches area, then the Surf Shack is the place for you. It is located walking distance to all Jax Beach Nightlife, across the street from the ocean, and at the same time is very private. It is the perfect place for that special event such as a wedding, birthday party, or any special occasion that calls for an elegant, relaxed setting. There are numerous decks and balconies with ocean views, and plenty of areas for outside entertaining, eating, or just soaking up the Florida sun by your OWN pool. No condo rental can come close to offering what this home offers. The master bedroom is upstairs with its own jacuzzi tub and fireplace, wet bar and TV and the Master has its own private balcony so you can step out and hear the waves at night or feel the ocean breeze. There are 2 bedrooms downstairs one with a California king and one with a full queen be. The home also has two separate living room areas, a game room with dart board and poker table, new 9 foot pool table and two separate kitchens, 7 televisions and the list goes on...

Some other features this amazing property has is a complete commercial style workout facility with a T.V. and stereo, surfboards and beach gear in the garage, a crows nest with amazing ocean and panoramic views (I guarantee you spend at least one sunrise or sunset up there!), two fireplaces, detailed marble and stone architecture, multiple level decks, a 300 gallon bow front saltwater fish tank, steam room, outdoor shower and bathroom next to pool, and a television in every room of the house plus wi-fi, fax line and land line.

The Surf Shack is truly a luxurious house that is elegant but not so sterile you cant enjoy it.

More Details
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 4 Bathrooms, 2 Half Baths
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

I am a land developer and a native to Jacksonville Beach Florida. I have two Children and am married to the love of my life.

Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

My family and I stayed at the Surf Shack for a weekend getaway and could not have picked a better home. J.R. was the most accommodating host and treated us like family. The house is situated in a great location just one block from the beach and with a beautiful private pool right in the backyard. We hope to come back again next summer!
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 1

14 Reviews

based on 14 traveler reviews

Springfield, VA USA

Wedding Rehearsal dinner & family stay for wedding

  • 5 of 5

What a great place!!!!!! VERY nice. JR was a WONDERFUL host. Stayed there for my daughter's wedding. Me, my wife, son & his wife + 2 grandkids. Plenty of space. Incredibly nice inside & out. Had a rehearsal dinner there, 40 people, at the house. Used kitchen to have entire meal cooked & served. Great kitchen!! Real nice neighborhood for walks to the beach (1 block). Plenty of room for everyone to eat & enjoy. Crow's nest gave a great view of the Atlantic. Super pool, couldn't get the kids out. Amenities have to be seen - they were great!! Pool table & steam room were well used and real nice!! If you see this - rent this! I live just outside DC and we all loved it. We'd go back anytime!! My son & wife loved hitting the entertainment & bars nearby.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2

Wonderful property with excellent amenities

  • 5 of 5

Our entire experience with this rental was stellar, from the first email request to rent to the follow up email after our stay. The pictures of the property didn't do it justice. This home is lovely and so spacious. We rented this home while we were attending a festival in the area. When we weren't attending our planned activities we were happy to stay home and enjoy the amenities it offers; pool, fitness room, pool table, dart board...and the views from the multiple decks and balconies were spectacular! The central sound system was a bonus too because we are music lovers!! This was by far one of the best vacations we have had and I'm able to say that because our accommodations were perfect for us! JR couldn't have been more pleasant and attentive! I would highly recommend this rental to anyone who is looking for a luxury home rental!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow !! What kind words. My family and I truly appreciate you choosing the Surf Shack as your travel destination hope to see you again next year. Thank you !!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Friend meeting dad for 1st time & senior trip for daughter

  • 4 of 5

Renting this property went very smoothly. The owner was very responsive with any questions or concerns. This was our 1st big family vacation - traveling from Oregon to Florida. Our group of 6 stayed for six days & had a blast. We had two couples & two teenagers & with the house being so large had plenty of space for privacy. We used the pool table almost daily & the girls even used the exercise room. The pool was still pretty chilly so we couldn't really use it but it was nice to hang out on the patio. The rooftop balcony gave us an awesome view of the surrounding area & ocean. We took many walks to the beach & down to the pier, going to the beach front shops & sunbathing.

The location of the home was great...close to the beach, shopping & plenty of restaurants. I would recommend this home for anyone wanting to have an awesome time!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, nice to hear your family enjoyed the home! You guys left the place spotless and are welcome back anytime. You and your family are First Class folks!! Take care and hope to see you again :) J.R. Rushing Owner-Manager (904) 993-7873
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We just got home from a great time at Surf Shack. This was the first time any of us had been to JAX Beach. We met there for a joint bachelor/bachelorette weekend for an upcoming wedding. The house was in a great location and all it had to offer was amazing. We so enjoyed the pool and patio area. The owner JR was amazing to work with! Thank you so much for a great weekend! I highly recommend Surf Shack!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely amazing weekend!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this house for the weekend I graduated from law school. It was truly one of the best weekends of my life. The house is incredible... I'm talking MTV Cribs incredible. And not to mention, the owner is also a great guy, very down to earth. If you're looking for a true vacation house, there is no better deal in Jacksonville. This place is amazing... :)

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: WOW counselor. What nice things to read!! I'll be honest will you when I heard it was a party as you can imagine I'm always apprehensive. But after inspecting the home upon your departure I was excited to see you left the home immaculate. You my friend are a first-class, top-of-the-line, state-of-the-art human being. Thank you for your kind words they're truly appreciated. Stay thirsty my friend. J.R. Rushing.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA, USA

90s relic - overpriced

  • 1 of 5

This house was clearly built and decorated in the 90s and has been poorly maintained since. The front door keys didn't work, I had to buy the fish food for the tank the second day I was there because none was stocked, the second fish tank promised was not working. The fish tank that was working was so dirty that someone had to come clean it while we were there - it smelled like rotten eggs the rest of our time there. The pool got cloudy 4 days into our 7 day stay and smelled. Sure - the owner called the pool guy out a day early to come clean it but with average use it seems weird that it got cloudy to begin with. There were towels stuffed into the recessed lighting cans in the shower - possible fire hazard?? And no lights were functioning in the shower. The towel bar in the master bath was broken, as was the jet action on the tub. All the TV's were those big CRT ones - you cant even buy those anymore. The surround sound didn't work and has no auxiliary input for and mp3 players. The house wide speaker system is also a 90s relic and has no auxiliary input. I paid a sizable cleaning fee just for the owner to tell me that he is keeping my additional security deposit for some cigarette butts he found outside. I paid a lot of money for something easily swept up - it's ridiculous. This house is outdated and poorly decorated (unless you are really into sponge paint and bulk pier one commercial crappy art). Not worth the money and it was embarrassing to have people over

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was written by a disgruntled guest who lost their deposit due to damages to the home. It was rented to a group of 8 military personnel ( a military discount was provided) which quickly turned into a group of 14 guest. The home was so damaged and left in such a state it prompted us to take it off the market and rent it out on a long term basis. We have since made improvements and the home is now better than ever !! The home is breathtaking by anyones standards and we pride ourselves on taking care of our guest as if they were our family and friends. Any and all are welcome to visit the home prior to renting the home to see that this review is simply not true. The cleaning fee is nominal for a 5000 square foot home. Warmly, J.R. Rushing Owner/Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0


From the Owner

I built this home from the ground up and have focused on detail in every aspect of the homes construction.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : at 25 Miles Nearest Barpub : at 0.01 Miles Nearest Ferry : at 7 Miles Nearest Golf : at 2 Miles Nearest Train : at 25 Miles Nearest Motorway : at 4 Miles Nearest Restaurant : at 0.01 Miles Nearest Beach : at 0.01 Miles

Basically, if you are looking to spend your time at the beach the right way this is the place for you. Take advantage of your opportunity to stay in one of the nicest homes in all of Jacksonville Beach with every amenity and luxury item you can think of while also having the advantage of being in a fun centralized location. Fishing Pier - longest ocean pier in Florida walking distance to all of beaches nicest restaurants and clubs.

Adventure Landing Water Park only a 5 minute drive

Mayport naval station 15 minutes

12 minute ride to TPC at Sawgrass

15 minute ride to St. Johns town center mall

40 minute ride to St. Augustine Florida

2 hour drive to Disney World

30 minute drive to Amelia Island



Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Oct 27 2016 - Nov 1 2016
6 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $300
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.0%

Nightly Rate: $400-$500

Weekly Rate: $2500-$3000

rates are higher for national holidays, TPC, Fla Ga, halloween, etc,,

Monthly Rate: $10000 - $10000

$500.00 per day with a three day minimum, $2200 for a five day stay, or $3000 per week. $500.00 dollar security deposit is required and is fully refundable within (15) days of departure. 13 percent sales tax and $300.00 maid service is also required. If you would like to secure your dates (placed and held on the

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Oct 18, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


From the Owner

The home flows and is indestructible as it was built for the beach and entertaining.

Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...


  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room


  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna ...

Onsite Services

  • Massage
  • Private Chef


  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Downtown
  • Monument View
  • Ocean View


  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 5000 sq. ft.


  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 3
  • Bathroom 4
  • Half Bathroom
  • Half Bathroom
  • 4.5 baths to include an outside pool bathroom


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Master is upstairs and two guest rooms downstairs


  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...


  • Guests provide their own meals


  • The Surf Shack offers the following: A gorgeous private pool, steam room, workout facility, 1 car garage, plenty of parking space, indoor fountain, a crows nest with 360 View of Jax Beach and Ocean, 2 Kitchens with gourmet utensils and everything you need for a fun beach week, big grill, outdoor grilling area, sun decks, surfboards, walking distance to nightlife and restaurants, lifeguard patrolled beach access, internet access, cable, also has an intercom.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car