This charming 2 bedroom, 1.5 bathroom home is available for your vacationing pleasure. The property is over three acres and has private access to Cougar Ridge - Kahn Ranch which is connected to Garland Ranch regional park with miles of hiking trails. In the nearby town of Carmel Valley Village there are numerous wine galleries where you can go for tastings from the local wineries or dine in one of the many wonderful restaurants. There is nearby horse back riding and you are just a short drive away from Carmel by the Sea, Big Sur, 17 Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, Pacific Grove and Point Lobos State Reserve.
3 story home on 3.5 wooded acres just two miles from Carmel Valley Village
Richard A. Skydell
- Calendar last updated:
- Feb 11, 2019
About Richard A. Skydell
We love to travel as a family and have traveled the world over with our two daughters, now 25 and 28. While we still have some wanderlust in our blood we are starting to run out of places that we feel we just have to see. While on vacation to the Monterrey Peninsula we fell in love with the area and decided to explore the idea of owning a vacation rental property in the area. We stumbled into a local realtor who turned us onto the Carmel Valley area and while we were still on vacation spent some time looking around but didn't see anything that spoke to us. After returning from vacation my wife Monica (the researcher in the family) spent weeks learning about the area and would not give up on the idea of a vacation rental property. All the while the realtor was sending us listings on a daily basis but again nothing really spoke to us. Then one day about six weeks after our return from the area the future GoldSky Lodge appeared on my phone and I turned to my daughter who was sitting next to me at the time and I said, "I think we just bought a house." I am a general contractor and Monica is a systems analyst. Our oldest daughter Alanna and her husband Jason live in Brooklyn and our younger daughter Devon is in marketing in NYC. Last but not least our dog Ollie loves to travel with us back and forth to GoldSky Lodge. Truth be told he's the boss and what Ollie wants Ollie gets. In fact the brick walk around the side of GoldSky Lodge is named Ollie's walk because he doesn't like to have to wander too far from home to do his business. Monica and I have decorated the place together and loved every minute of it. I handle the day to day operations but she is always looking forward to the next project, weather it be inside or out. Being part of the VRBO family has been nothing but fun and we look forward to many more years of entertaining guests. In fact we are having so much fun we now have second property, GoldSky Cottage in West Cape May, NJ.
Richard A. Skydell purchased this House in 2014
Why Richard A. Skydell chose Carmel Valley
This property was imprinted on our hearts from the moment we saw it on my phone. In fact just two days after seeing the listing I was back on a plane bound for CA to see the property. Melanie, our realtor, drove me to several other properties before we sent to see this one. While all nice, nothing spoke to me. At the end of the day I asked if it was time to go see what I had flown 3000 miles to look at. We own other real estate and I know enough about negotiations to not tip your hand too much but after walking through a rather dirty, fly filled home (the flies are gone now), I turned to Melanie and said, "I'll take it.". Now keep in mind Monica had only seen pictures and wasn't with me on this cross country single day round trip excursion. We made an offer, got the house, closed and then I took my better half to see what we had bought. Now for the husbands reading this you will understand the risk I was taking. If I had walked into that house with my wife and her reaction was anything but head over heals in love, I never would have heard the end of it. Well as you can tell, she loved it and still does love it. She had to make a bunch of changes right away in order to make it our own but she loved it. Every improvement that we make helps make the home an even greater reflection of what we have envisioned for the property. While there is more to come, it feels more like home every time. We love sharing the home with others as well, weather it's entertaining friends who come to visit when we are there or sharing it with you. A house needs to be lived in or it goes into hibernation. Welcoming you into our home while we aren't there keeps the house happy and alive. We want you to enjoy both the house, the property, the town and the entire area. The Monterrey Peninsula has a lot to offer and you aren't going to see it all in one trip so plan on coming back again and again. And remember to sign the guest book and let us know about you.
What makes this House unique
Where do we start, first of all the house is a truly unique design. I have been in contracting for almost 30 years and I have never seen anything like it. Built into the hillside the house blends itself into the surrounding landscape seamlessly. The home was designed and built by a local builder named John Pfeiffer. The walls and ceiling are pine boards that we have white washed to lighten up the overall look. A barn beam in the living room gives the house that cabin feel. Lots of windows allow for not only wonderful views but great natural light. The second floor has two bedrooms each with a private balcony and a full bathroom with tub, washer and dryer. The third floor loft is my favorite spot, it's like being in a tree house. It also has it's own balcony looking out over the hills with vineyards visible at the top of the nearby mountain. it's my favorite spot to sit, drink a glass of local wine, read and book and become one with my surroundings. It's been several years since we purchased the property and there are areas that I still have not fully explored. The 3.5 acres of GoldSky Lodge offer limitless opportunities for exploration and being located next door to Kahn Ranch which connects to Garland Ranch (both county parks) allows for even more exploring. There are places to sit and reflect, areas to entertain and areas to get lost from the world. One of the best things about GoldSky Lodge is the wildlife. If you sit up in the meadow and are really quite you will hear all sorts of wildlife in the surrounding trees. The most unique thing about GoldSky Lodge it is't ability to wash way all the troubles and stress that normal life piles on. Once we turn onto Esquiline Road on the way up to GoldSky Lodge we can just feel the stress drain away and within hours of our arrival we are ready to burn our return ticket back to reality and make GoldSky Lodge a permanent perch. Well one can dream.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Was a wonderful Holiday weekend getaway!
We all loved our time together at your lovely lodge.
It was rainy which only added to the coziness!
Thank you for sharing this beautiful spot!
Very well appointed property, lovely setting
We booked last minute and were very happy with the amenities, location, and communication with the owner/caretaker. Carmel village is small but has lovely restaurants and tasting rooms. This house has a great balance of seclusion and access to Carmel and the Monterey area. Thank you Richard and Brad.
Made great memories in a beautiful place
Perfectly situated everything we needed!
Such a beautiful, clean and secluded property with the perfect hosts! Thanks Brad and Richard I can't wait to return!
The house and it's surroundings are gorgeous.
We had a wonderful stay. The owners and property manager were accommodating and easy to work with.
The property is excellent. It exceeded expectations
Pro: The kitchen is well stocked and the house is tucked away making it perfect for a quiet retreat. It’s clean and well maintained. The place is amazing at night when you plug in the lights and head up to the gazebo. My favorite room is the loft. It’s full of light, has great views, couches, a tv, and a table for board games. They have a gas grill on the back patio and easily accommodated 6 of us without feeling small.
Cons: We froze our first night there because the thermostats weren’t turning on the heat; it was probably switched off at a master switch and we couldn’t figure out how to turn it on. We made due with the space heaters for the remainder of our stay. The landing by the gazebo could have used a landscaper to cut down the tall grass, but it didn’t prevent us from enjoying it. They didn’t stock the house with enough cleaning supplies and toiletries. Maybe it wasn’t restocked before our stay, but considering we were charged that hidden fee per guest per night, they should have ensured it was restocked.
*Beware of this renter, they snuck in an additional fee per person per night on top of the agreed upon rental price. They don’t mention it anywhere!!! If you have over 4 people, they force you to pay an additional fee per person per night. Due to time constraints, I didn’t have time to change my plans, otherwise I would have. I am glad I didn’t change my plans, but I am still bitter about that hidden fee.
Heads up: Internet is extremely slow and there is no cell service - not necessarily a bad thing. If I go back, I’m bringing some books and enjoying the peace and quiet!
When I first read this review I was devastated, it was our first review that wasn't five stars. But after rereading it I felt better for the following reasons:
1. The Pros were very strong and all the things we pride ourselves on.
2. The comment about the additional fee turned out to be an error on my part and I quickly refunded the money. We do charge an extra fee for additional guests over the basic package for four but the fee had been calculated and paid with the original reservation. I missed that fact, sent an additional invoice which was paid as noted. Again my mistake and it was quickly resolved. Had an email been sent sooner the invoice would have been rescinded once my error was discovered.
3. The heat was an issue, we had just installed a very expensive high tech heating system that I can turn off and on from my phone. I was in Europe on vacation when the guests arrived and for some reason the app wouldn't work from there. When our property manager contacted me about the heat not working, I called the company that installed it, he contacted our property manager who went right up and I was contacted by him that the problem had been resolved. Luckily the space heaters were on site due to the problems that prompted up to replace the heating system in the first place. Technology just got the best of us on this one but it was quickly resolved.
4.The tall grass in the meadow near the gazebo is an issue that has been taken up with the property manager, that should never have been the situation and for that we are very sorry.
5.We don't keep many cleaning supplies on hand because the house is professionally cleaned prior the arrival of guests and then again right after. We don't expect our guests to do any cleaning where at GoldSky Lodge, they are there to relax and enjoy the property and surrounding areas.
6.True the internet isn't the greatest and while AT&T is strong, Verizon is almost non-existent in the area. We have the best internet that is offered in the area and can't do anything about the cell phone reception.
We constantly strive to make every guest have a perfect five star experience but obviously we can still do better. Thank you for your constructive comments and please come join us again. If you do choose to join us again we will comp you one free night.