check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Cozy, Rustic Cottage on Lake Winnipesaukee


Property Details

Updated: Jul 23, 2016
Cottage, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 4 Sleeps

Enjoy a week in a rustic cottage set in the woods at the end of a quiet road.

This is a cozy cottage situated on the Lake Winnipesaukee facing west across the broads on Tuftonboro Neck. This property is perfect for a week of swimming, sun bathing, and sitting by the water. Explore the surrounding woods, go for a canoe, or just sit with a book.

The cottage has a wonderful views of the lake, particularly at sunset and Very quiet location; 15 minute drive to Wolfeboro, NH.

Perfect location for a quiet, relaxing vacation.

Weekly rental in June, July, August, and September available. June and Sept. $750 per week; July and August $825; plus cleaning fee, taxes and $400 deposit.

We rent by the week only; Saturday to Saturday.

Pets allowed with permission. Additional non-refundable $75 fee for one pet, $50 per each additional pet.

Some previous renters comments:

'We enjoyed our stay very much!!! It was exactly what we were looking for.'

'We are kind-of rustic folks and we loved the cottage.'

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Recent Review

About the Owner

I am an archaeologist living in Philadelphia, PA with my husband (also an archaeologist) and our dog Genesis.

Call Owner
Speaks: english

9 Reviews

based on 9 traveler reviews


Our home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at this rustic little cabin! Sure, it’s not the Hilton, but it was cute, clean, comfortable, and had all of the necessary amenities – including pretty good WiFi. But once you see the dock, you’ll forget all about your phone and laptop. The sunset was stunning, the stars were dazzling, and the water was perfect. It’s rocky getting in, but that’s why they call it the Granite State. We saw some fantastic wildlife including a loon singing his mating call at night and four deer by the cars one morning. We had no problems with bugs except for normal NH mosquitos at dusk and the occasional stray moth inside the cabin. We planned to see several attractions in town, but had so much fun that we only went there for two of the days of our stay. This is the kind of place where you can go to really relax – more than that, it’s the kind of place that can recharge your soul. It would be perfect for anyone seeking some solace and inspiration from nature, from writers to artists and everyone in between. The owners are very friendly and quick to answer questions. We would love to come back!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A perfect lake getaway without any frills.

  • 4 of 5

We felt tucked away in nature, having just enough amenities to make our stay comfortable. Our favorite memories will be eating breakfast on the deck just outside the cottage looking down through the woods at the lake and enjoying the most spectacular sunsets from the deck a short distance down by the edge of the lake. We also loved being close enough to the water to hear the waves lapping against the shore as we went to sleep! This was a totally relaxing environment for a vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Gorgeous sunset lake views, comfy cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful relaxing vacation at the cottage, having coffee on the porch overlooking the lake, grilling outside in the evenings, swimming in the lake in the afternoons. The kitchen is well-maintained and has everything you need if you want to cook indoors. The bedroom is spacious and the queen-size bed is comfy. We also took plenty of trips into Wolfboro to take walks along the Cotton Valley Rail Trail there and going to Lone Wolfe Brewing Co., to try a flight of their beers. I definitely recommend booking this cottage.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property is very beautiful and perfect for a short and long stay.

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I came to stay for the July 4th weekend and it was perfect! Besides the beautiful weather, the cabin and property were the perfect place to stay to relax and enjoy the summer.

The cabin is well kept, clean, and contains all the necessary kitchen, bed, and leisure equipment needed to cook, sleep, and have fun (there are board games!)!

The deck features a gas grill perfect for cooking up several meals, and both decks (there is one by the lake) include lounge chairs!

The lake was perfect for swimming and with the inclusion of several kayaks and canoes, easily enjoyed.

Wolfeboro is only 15 minutes away, but the property feels secluded and private.

Overall we had the best time and can't wait to go back next summer!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

On the disappointing side....

  • 1 of 5

We were looking forward to our getaway with a place that would accept our two dogs, and wanted something secluded and a little on the rustic side; however, this went a bit far.....

The cabin wasn't clean when we arrived, although we paid for cleaning (as do all renters). Furniture needs a good cleaning as does the living room rug (rug was filthy). There were cob webs everywhere inside, which we cleaned.

The listing notes a dining area with seating for 6, that is definitely a stretch. There is a tiny table with 4 chairs that you can set up in the living room.

The bed had recently been replaced - it was a double, is now a queen, but the listing directed us to bring DOUBLE sheets. This entailed a 45 min. drive after already traveling 5 hours to purchase sheets, an unnecessary expense.

We had a constant problem with ants in the kitchen. I see another reviewer noted this so the owner must have known this was a problem and didn't correct it since we still had the problem following that reviewer's stay.

No privacy at all for sleeping or changing - there are no curtains or shades in the bedroom leaving just a very tiny bathroom to change. There is a cabin next door (owned by the same people) and the boat ramp is shared with not just those renters walking down a path right in front of this cabin, but the owners were close by at another cabin and they use the kayaks and that dock as well. While this would have been fine had there been curtains in the bedroom, it was not fine with the lack of curtains!

As another reviewer noted, all the windows were chewed up by something that obviously got inside at one time.

While you are told to bring sheets and there are blankets and pillows - bring your own of those too! Thankfully we did. They were stained (pillows) and the blankets smelled.

Parking is a bit tough too, especially if you are staying a week and have lots of stuff! You park off the road and then have to walk down a path to the cabin. Not a big deal, unless you are unloading or loading.

Access to water nearly impossible. It's all rocks, and the path down to the dock would be very dangerous for anyone who is not in decent physical shape as well as for small children.

I really am trying to be fair, it is a cabin, but it isn't at all what I expected from the listing or pictures. It's a shame, the location is gorgeous, but the cabin needs A LOT of TLC.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tammy, I am sorry you found the cleanliness of the cabin not to your standard. We have already arranged to have a new cleaning company clean the cabin. Curtains, new pillows, and blankets will be installed by next summer. We are working on the ant problem. We have revised the advertisement to properly indicate the queen bed. I do apologize for this oversight. Other updates will also be made. I appreciate your comments. Best, Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Camping was better

  • 1 of 5

The pros of the cottage: There was a great view, it was secluded and quiet.

The cons of the cottage:

1. There was a critter in the attic area of the cottage. The owners tried to catch it while we were there.

2. The window sills were chewed up by a squirrel that got trapped in the cottage

3. The Adirondack chairs were broken and none to sit in. We ended up buying our own chairs to enjoy the dock.

4. The dock area is all big rocks. Not very easy to enter the water for humans or dogs.

5. The cabinet to store food had ants. Our food was covered with ants. They continued to come up thru the sink throughout the week.

6. One of the sofas in the living room was broken. The sofa is a sleeper. It was not attached and when you sat on the couch you sank down into the sofa frame.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Stephanie, Thank you for your comments. We will certainly work to fix those issues and hope you were still able to enjoy your stay. We had the broken furniture fixed and replaced. We are working over the winter and spring to combat the ants. We have taken care of the squirrel in the attic and it shouldn't be a problem in the future. The water entry to our property is rocky and requires some agility to get in the water. I will make this clearer in pictures and in the ad for future renters. Best, Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

My grandmother purchased the land where our rental property is now in 1940 from a neighbor. There she built, often with her own two hands, one of the houses on the property with wood from trees felled during the 1938 hurricane that hit New England. She passed away in 2008, but the home remains a central feature of our family. I, my sister, and four cousins have been coming to 'the lake' for our entire lives and my aunt even lives down the road.

Activity and Interests

Perfect location for swimming, canoeing/kayaking, and relaxing. Bring your kayaks or use our canoe and tour the lake shoreline and countless bays and coves.

15 minutes from the quaint summer town of Wolfeboro, NH. There you can enjoy an evening out or take a boat tour around the lake or do some shopping.

1 hour away from the mountain sports town of North Conway and the White Mountains.

2 hours from Boston.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $75
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 9.0%

Weekly Rate: $825

$825/week + 9% NH tax+ $125.00 cleaning fee + $75.00 pet fee (if applicable) +REFUNDABLE security deposit ($200.00).

Payments will be by check, made out to the Hutchins Family Land Trust, and mailed to the owner (Address to be provided) upon receipt of the contract. I am in the process of setting up the payments through HomeAway, to accept check, electronic payment, and credit card, but that has not yet been established.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Owner
Updated: Jul 23, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • cottage


  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic


  • Internet


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster


  • Dining Area


  • DVD Player
  • Television ...


  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront


  • Bathroom 1


  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1


  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill


  • Guests provide their own meals


  • The cottage has a deck and canoe slide right on the lake. We offer the use of a canoe, paddles, and lifevests (used at your own risk and with permission). (The canoe slide is shared with our other rental property, but the deck is for your private use) Grill on deck. Refrigerator, gas stove, microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker. Blankets and pillows supplied; bring your own sheets and towels. One bedroom with queen bed and one pull out couch in living room. TV for DVD player.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car