check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

The Wahoo


Property Details

Updated: Aug 13, 2016
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 8 Sleeps

3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8) Secluded and quiet!

New, Non-Smoking, Island Home complete with designer furnishings! New hardwood floors installed this past Spring.

Travel over the 4 mile bridge to beautiful St. George Island with it's white sand beaches. The bay area offers great kayaking and fishing.

St. George Island is across the bay from historic Apalachicola, Florida, seafood and oyster capital of the world. Apalachicola has become an enclave of eclectic galleries, shops and gourmet restaurants.

This three bedroom two full bath home features a large living area with vaulted ceilings. Two of the bedrooms are furnished with queen-size beds and TVs in the room and the third with two twin beds. The sofa sleeper in the living room sleeps two. The large galley kitchen opens up to the living room and has all the cooking utensils needed for cooking the excellent local seafood.

Enjoy the island evenings and beautiful stars on the large covered deck in back. Either side of the home features extra wide entry steps to make moving in easier. Boaters and fishermen welcome. Three block walk to beach access and half a block to fishing in the bay.

More Details
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Pets welcome

Recent Review

About the Owner

Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Tim,

I wanted to thank you

We had some very good time on St George island, and we all hope to be able to be back another time, and spend more time doing some serious fishing

I have been unable to catch a pompano, and this will be my goal next time

What is the best season for that ?

Do you also have some good tarpon fishing there, and what would you recommend to do for this ?

Your house was perfect for us

I hope that everything had been ok on your side

best regards
Apr 2004
  • 1 of 1

40 Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

Renter Beware!

  • 1 of 5

This was our first vacation to SGI. The island was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay however, we were extremely disappointed with The Wahoo. We found the unit very untidy with sandy floors and unwashed bed linens. With that said, the worst part was the ROACHES! Yes, this unit has a major roach infestation. We contacted Tim immediately after discovering the roaches, but he never replied. The appliances are very old and worn out, the dry vent outside was almost completely clogged, beds were very uncomfortable and the couch is ready for the dump. Bottom line...Renter Beware! We will definitely visit the island again, but we will NOT be staying at The Wahoo.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry your experience was not what you had expected and you experienced a lot of rain during your stay. Fact: I arrived early at 1:30 pm day of check in to spray, check in is at 4:00pm, as my previous guest emailed me he saw a roach. You had already checked in, and with your luggage and belongings everywhere I could not do a proper job. With all the rain of the past two weeks the bugs have gone to higher ground to make matters worse. I am taking serious measures to resolve the bug problem, Florida does have bug issues. I asked you if everything else was in order and if the beds had been made etc. and you said yes. Your daughter even told me you are "clean freak" while I was there. My reviews over the years are mostly 5-4 star. As a professional builder I take pride and do my best to keep my second home in tip top order. Respectfully, Tim Riordan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very very please

  • 5 of 5

This was our first vacation at Saint George Island and we loved it. My family and I were so please with this beach house. It was clean, excellent location and close to the beach. Tim was excellent to deal with and get a response from. The house was just as described and we had no issues whatsoever. Would highly recommend and I would book again. Thanks Jen & family

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

The house has a great location to walk to the beach and restaurants. Also a small grocery store not very far. The home is spacious enough and comfortably decorated. The deck makes you feel that you are up in the trees, listening to the birds! The area is beautiful and we would recommend a stay here.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Iowa city, IA

A quiet, comfortable, spacious house

  • 4 of 5

Also, very favorably situated with wonderful walks in every direction. Close to the bay and the beach. The house has a great large deck from which to watch birds, crashing storms, read or just relax and snooze. We had a lovely week.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Adrianne, Please come back soon. I offer a 10% discount for repeat guests. regards, Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

comfortable, quiet, convenient to beach

  • 4 of 5

nice place, short walk to the beach, neighborhood was quiet, pets were accepted, not fancy but comfortable, would stay there again

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gifford, Please consider another visit sometime, I do offer a 10% discount for repeat guests. Enjoy your Spring, Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wahoo was peaceful and welcoming, kitchen had everything we needed and plenty of room to spread out.

  • 4 of 5

Thank you again for sharing your lovely home with my parents and us. There was plenty of room to eat at the bar, while one guest had their computer things set up on the generous sized kitchen table. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to have nice quiet dinners in.

There is almost ZERO light pollution on the Island, which made for some fantastic star gazing. Mosquitoes were fairly thick, but one of the locals said they are simple at a RECORD high this year; we had repellent and weren't bothered too much.

We enjoyed our time at the Wahoo, and certainly on Saint George Island.

Thank you again.

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Cinda, Please consider another visit sometime, I do offer a 10% discount for repeat guests. Regards, Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Activity and Interests

* Golf

* Shopping

* Sightseeing

* Restaurants

* Kayaking

* Sailing

* Boating

* Waterskiing

* Parasailing

* Jet Skiing

* Shelling

* Surfing

* Windsurfing

* Biking

* Hiking

* Fishing

* Horseback RidingFishing!, Fishing! Snorkeling & Diving, There are several rental facilities for bicycles, motor scooters, kayaks, surfborads, wind surfing, boats, to name a few


Rental rates


  • Weekly Rate: $700 - $1050

    Monthly Rate: $1400 - $1700

  • Our low rates:
    Winter .... $700/week. 12/3/13 - 2/25/14 3 night minimum $400.00
    Spring ..... $800/week. 2/26/14 - 5/27/14 3 night minimum $450.00
    Summer .. $1050/week. 5/28/13 - 8/12/13 7 night minimum
    Fall .... .....$800/week. 8/13/13 - 12/2/13 3 night minimum $450.00
Enter your travel dates
Updated: Aug 13, 2016
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family


  • pets considered

Location Type

  • Beach View

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • golf


  • Bathroom 1
  • Bathroom 2


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3


  • * Air Conditioning * Washer * Dryer * Linens Provided * Cable TV: * DVD * CD Player * Stereo System

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car