Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Home Close to Capitol Hill Perfect for Group/Family Getaways

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

A gorgeously revived semi-detached row house located within the boundaries of Capitol Hill/Old City features 3 finished levels with 4/5 bedrooms, 2½ baths. The main level is an entertaining haven boasting an open floor plan, consisting of: a spacious living room; a formal dining room; a gourmet kitchen; stainless steel appliances; a light-filled sunroom separated by beautiful French doors. Off-street private parking in rear. This Gem is within walking distance to golf, major baseball, soccer, concerts and open market.

The sight seeing is incredible. The White House, National museums, Senate building, Washington monument, Lincoln Memorial, National zoo, Historic Georgetown, the new National Harbor, the Nationals Stadium, as well as hundreds of fabulous restaurants. Maryland and Virginia are minutes away. Public transportation is within blocks.

We look forward to hosting your stay in our Nation's Capital!

More Details

Owner
Jocelyn Claudio/Velva Dawson
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

Amenities

Kingman Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Half Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • Additional twin beds located near small room outside of 3rd bedroom. Full size futon located in lower level.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
Notes:
Public Transportion: Stadium-Armory Metro Station (.69 miles); Metro bus stop (.2 miles) Amenities: Air Conditioning, Linens Provided, Sun Room Beds: Queen Bed (4), Futons (2) Entertainment: Satellite TV, DVD, DVD Library, CD player, IPod Docking Station Kitchen: Modern Full Kitchen, Cooking Utensils Provided, Refrigerator, Dishwasher, Microwave, Wine Cooler, Washer and Dryer Outdoor Features: Private Backyard and Private Parking Communications: WiFi (Wireless Internet) Suitability: No Pets Allowed, Kid Friendly, Smoking Not Allowed

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
32% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Charming Home Close to Capitol Hill Perfect for Group/Family Getaways
average rating of 4.354839 based on 31 reviews
Miami, FL USA
3

Exactly what we paid for

  • 3 of 5

The house is located in an up and coming neighborhood it's close to everything. The house it's self is simple, it needs maintenance but for the price listed it's good. If your looking for up scale and modern this house is not for you.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Met our needs

  • 4 of 5

We had a group of 13 people, 6 adults and 7 high school youth staying here.

It met our needs and gave us a place to relax at the end of the day.

Grocery store is within walking distance but having a car helped get all of the groceries in one trip. I wouldn't want to walk to the grocery store at night due to several shops being boarded up in the area. The area of the house was fine.

There was an alarm that was easy to set and keys were accessible to all that stayed at the house.

The house has been used by lots of people. Some areas on walls needs to be washed or repainted. The downstairs bedroom had outlets that need to be fixed and the chest of drawers were broken but usable.

Overall, it met our needs for this trip and gave us space to spread out so we weren't on top of each other the whole trip.

It is a walk to the metro, but considering we were there to walk to all of the monuments, etc, we were ok with that. Easy to get ubers when we needed them.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denton, TX
5

Wonderful Family Get-Away in DC!

  • 5 of 5

This older home in the Capitol Hill area is charming indeed and has been updated with all of the latest conveniences. There are several "pluses" about this home. First of all, there was plenty of room for our combined families. The house has 3 levels~ the main living area on the 1st floor, a 2nd floor with 3 queen bedrooms, plus an extra room off the hallway with a trundle bed. In addition, there's a little apartment in the basement with a queen bedroom and a den with a futon. They even had a pack & play for our baby! There are also bathrooms on every floor, which was handy. The living area is spacious & comfy. The dining area has a large table that seats 6, and there's an additional table for 4 on the sun porch. The bar was handy for setting food out, buffet-style The kitchen is fully equipped, and we cooked several meals here. We were very comfortable here & also enjoyed sitting out on the front porch with a cup of coffee in the morning or with a glass of wine in the evening. As for location, it was only a few minutes drive to the National Mall area. We used Uber & Lyft and also the Metro rail to get around to everything we wanted to see. There's a grocery store not far, but still requires a ride via Uber or Lyft. The neighborhood is older, and I would not recommend walking, esp after dark, but we felt entirely safe and enjoyed our stay immensely. Our kids & grandkids all said it was their favorite family trip ever! I would stay here again and highly recommend it to others!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was great. Big enough for our large group yet it felt like a home away from home !

  • 5 of 5

I would definitely recommend this house to anyone visiting the DC area. Perfect location in a good area. Lots of parking and just a great place overall !

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Disappointed

  • 3 of 5

This property is large but upkeep has been neglected. They have ceiling leaks with mold growing and desperatly need walls, trim, and switch plates cleaned or painted. They forgot to clean the kitchen only the sink was done. The oven appeared never to have been cleaned. They do not provide anything but dishwashing liquid and hand soap. Be aware they do not provide salt and pepper or any spices, paper towels, coffee filters, bath soap, or hand towels for personal use. Cooking equipment is limited. It needs new sheets and a bath mat upstairs but the bath towels were great The air conditioning and overhead fans work extremely well. This area of DC is a little tough (not what I would call Capital Hill) but we did not experience any difficulty. We were comfortable sitting on the front porch. Shopping is within a 15 minute walk and the Capital and the Mall are a reasonable distance away by Uber or bike.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the house did not meet your needs. It is our intention to ensure the property is well maintained and have addressed the issues you mentioned. I will certainly follow up with the cleaning service regarding the kitchen. The service is typically very efficient without any complaints in the past. Prior to check-in, a complete inventory list of items is provided to all guest. We do not keep any food products in the home because of health and food safety reasons.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Decatur, Indiana/ USA
4

Very Good.

  • 4 of 5

We had ten people, Granparents, Parents and their six children!! It was plenty roomy for all of us. We found it difficult to access metro for a group our size, however, we drove everywhere (thanks to GPS) and had a great time!! Well located for all we wanted to do. Property was clean, well stocked and we would recommend it to others!!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Local attractions: Walk to Golf (.36 miles), United States Capitol (2 miles), Museums (2.96 miles), Washington Monument (3.53 miles)' White House (3.83 miles); National Zoo (5.6 miles)

Other attractions nearby: Shopping, Sightseeing, Restaurants, Boating, Biking, Fishing, Cinemas/Movie Theaters, Live Theatre (all within 6 miles)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Damage Deposit $250

Travelers are encouraged to contact Property Manager prior to booking to review all rates and fees that apply (908) 331-1274.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.