Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakeside Retreat (Cabin 5)

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 404 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Right On The Beach

Cedar Landing Resort is located on beautiful M-22 between Frankfort and Empire in the heart of the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. We have two cabins that sit apart from each other so you are able to enjoy your privacy, yet close enough to make this a good location for family and friend gatherings. Please view https://www.vrbo.com/3997623ha for information about our other cottage. For even more information visit our website at www.cedarlandingresort.com or find us on facebook!


Property Manager
Emily Pangborn
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 16, 2018

About Emily Pangborn

I grew up in West Michigan, live & work in Southeast Michigan, my Cabin is located in "Up North Michigan."

Emily Pangborn purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Emily Pangborn chose Honor

Lake front cabin with a dock, boat and a beach on a beautiful quiet lake. I couldn't resist it's charm.

What makes this cabin unique

I'm always improving something at the cabins. Hired a new cleaning crew and property manager and they are utterly fantastic.

Going to bed listening to the trees and the lake is awesome. Waking up to the sounds of nature on the lake is incredible. Watching the chipmunks zip back and forth is entertaining.

Don't want to cook? Walk up the stairs and down the driveway to the Manitou for early dinner at 4:30pm, order the prime rib on Saturday night with a few ales. It hits the spot, head back and start a campfire and unwind.

Amenities

Honor Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 404 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Stand Up Shower
  • Shower, toilet, sink, mirror, and plenty of towel hooks!
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Cabin 5, Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Cabin 5, Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , bunk beds with a sleep chair folds out into bed.
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Full Size
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

46% Complete
46% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Lakeside Retreat (Cabin 5)
average rating of 4.230769 based on 13 reviews
1

🤔😕

  • 1 of 5

This was the second year in a row that we stayed. We were planning on making this an every year thing until I receive very disappointing email from Emily.(property mngr) She didn’t know that last year we had brought extra car and a very small trailer that our paddle board was on. I sincerely didn’t mean to break the rules. If it was such a big problem there is a more polite way letting us know.

The people who have private property should have signs stating this.

Never again 😢?

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear future renters, I would like to share some information about this unfortunate review. We require a pet addendum and fee for each pet that stays at our resort because we want to ensure the safety of all of our guests by verifying vaccinations etcetera. This guest filled the form out and paid the pet fee of $50 last year but this year they did not fill out the form or pay the fee and still brought their dog. We ask for the additional fee because having dogs in the cottage requires more extensive cleaning between guests. This guest was politely asked in an email to pay the $50 pet fee after their stay. Secondly, we ask all renters to contact us regarding extra vehicles because there are numerous homeowners and limited parking spaces. We have never denied someone who needs to bring an extra vehicle, but we do ask that they park them in a different location. Third, on the rental agreement it clearly states that trailers are not allowed. This is not just our rule, but the rule of the homeowner's association. The reason the rule is in place is because parking is limited and we have had issues with renters parking on the septic drain field and causing major damage. I am disappointed in this entire situation, and it is my hope that this review does not deter future renters from staying. Please do not hesitate to ask if you have any questions or concerns regarding our rules and/or rental agreement. Sincerely, Emily (Property Manager)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Midland, MI
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

LOVE this cabin. Sitting feet from the lake, watching the kids play on the beach, kayaking on the lake, and tuning out of reality - this little spot is perfect for tuning out from the world and getting the "up north" lake cabin experience. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tom, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Extremely relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was just what we needed in a quiet and peaceful area.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
-
4

Cozy Lakeside Retreat

  • 4 of 5

Sweet little cabin on a lake. Enjoyed the views and location near Sleeping Bear Dunes. Great trails, quaint towns and beautiful scenic overlooks.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of Cedar Landing Resort, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A vacation which never fails to refresh the spirit!

  • 5 of 5

The property and cottage are clean and well-maintained. Fresh towels and bedding were provided. A property representative was always available to assist if there were any issues/concerns or needs. The beach was clean and groomed. Kayaks and rowboats were available for use. It was quiet and serene during our stay.

We have been renting the cottage for many years now and this has become a much- anticipated and joyful annual tradition.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of Cedar Landing Resort! We are looking forward to your visit again this year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean & well cared for.

  • 4 of 5

Loved the location. Peaceful & private. Enjoyed the kayaks provided, only wish there were more paddles to allow all of us to kayak (only 3 paddles but 5 boats). Wi-Fi would be nice but it was nice for the kids to be off devices. Really enjoyed our stay, thank you.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of Cedar Landing Resort. We are sorry that there was some miscommunication regarding the kayaks, as we discussed the two other kayaks are privately owned, and not intended for renters to use (that is why there are not paddles). We have updated our rental agreement so that future renters will know which kayaks to use and we are planning to purchase more kayaks and paddles in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Cherry Capital Airport, Traverse City
Nearest Barpub
Manitou Restaurant
Nearest Golf
3.6 Miles
Crystal Downs Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
Mantiou Restaurant
Nearest Beach
Long Lake, Benzie County
Car: recommended
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Ride Bikes: Betsie Valley Trail.

* Canoe: Betsie River & Platte River.

* Visit Crystal Mountain: Alpine Slide, Golf and Art Walk.

* Eat at Roadhouse and Cherry Hut.

* Shop.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Sleeping Bear National Lakeshore.

* Free Ranger Programs in Park.

* Hiking/Biking.

* Sunset on Lake Michigan Shoreline.

* Farmers Markets in Frankfort, Empire and Traverse City.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Cherry Bowl Drive-In.

* Sunset Cruise out of Leeland.

* Tube or Canoe the Platte River.

* Discover a new beach along Lake Michigan.

* Race to the top of the Dune Climb and enjoy the view.

We are within walking distance to the Old Indian Trailhead within the nationally recognized Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore.

Platte River: (2 Miles) Canoeing, Tubing, Fishing

Frankfort, Empire, Beulah: 10 Miles

Dinning: Manitou within walking

Cherry Bowl Drive-In

Golfing

Swimming

Hiking/Biking

Fishing

Winery/Brewery

We are just a short drive to many other locations such as Traverse City, Glen Arbor, Leeland, Empire, Honor, Benzonia, Beulah, Glen Haven, Frankfort, Interlochen, Lake Ann, Cedar, Suttons Bay, Northport, and Arcadia.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Insurance $59

Guest must accept rental agreement prior to reservation.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.