Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Escape From Reality!!Lake front with private dock and WiFi, renovated May 2016!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type cottage

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 6 Sleeps

Lake Hartwell!!!! Bring your boat and enjoy a newly renovated lake house with a great lake view from the cottage, screened porch or huge deck. Enjoy a private dock with water and electric available at the waters edge.The paved path from the cottage to the lake side is flat with lights for day and night fishing. Quiet and peaceful yet only 4 miles to grocery and restaurants.This is an older home renovated May 2016 that invites you to be casual and comfortable. Enjoy the lake and the Oversized deck with tables, chairs, swing and grill, huge screened porch with chairs, laundry room w/ washer and dryer. Queen size bed in master, Full size bed in 2nd bedroom and day bed off the kitchen. Roll away bed in 2nd bedroom closet. Living room has sofa and love seat (twin sofa bed) plus a comfy chairs. Kitchen is fully equiped with portable dishwasher, large dining table (with 6 chairs) and 4 bar stools at counter.


Owner
Laura Mendiola
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish, Google Translate into any language!
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

About Laura Mendiola

My family and I live in Atlanta. We loved the quality of the water on Lake Hartwell as well as it's less hectic crowds over our Atlanta area lakes. When we were shopping for water front property we were so happy to find such a great spot less than a 2 hour drive from home for my family to really get away from it all! My dogs both love swimming in the lake as well as going on our boat. The casual cottage and location has made for many great family adventures and our friends love to come hang out as well. For us the cottage is a perfect fit!

Laura Mendiola purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Laura Mendiola chose Anderson

The dock always has water due to it's location in a "green zone"... even in a draught we always have water at our dock. The paved path with lights for night time enjoyment and the fact that the path was flat make getting to the dock easy for my parents when they come to visit. I loved that it was close enough for a weekend get away for all my family scattered throughout the south and that it was an hour drive from Greenville-Spartanburg airport and 2 1/2 hours from Atlanta airport.... so location, location, location! My cottage is 10 minutes off of I-85 at exit 14.

What makes this cottage unique

Flat, paved path with lights for safe and easy access to the dock 24 hours a day! Great water and a private dock (center slot is covered and dock can accommodate 3 boats) with water and electricity at the lakes edge. Casual and comfortable cottage with fenced in front yard. Long driveway to park cars, trucks and trailers.

Amenities

Anderson Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Shower, toilet, vanity with sink. Large bathroom with plenty of storage
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom has a queen size bed, dresser and a love seat. The second bedroom has a full size bed a chest of drawers.AC unites in both bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Private dock in deep, green-zone water with a ladder for swimming, gas grill and a small charcoal grill, washer/dryer, smooth-top stove and oven combo,microwave, coffee maker, waffle maker, toaster, ice maker in fridge, crock pot. All dishes and cook ware provided. All bed linens and towels provided. 3 window unit air conditioners and ceiling fans in master bedroom, and screened in porch. Fenced front yard for family pets. Cable with 3 televisions, VCR, DVD, books, games and movies for family fun. FREE WIFI ***pet friendly with fenced front yard**

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

45% Complete
27% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
Escape From Reality!!Lake front with private dock and WiFi, renovated May 2016!
average rating of 3.909091 based on 11 reviews
4

Bass Masters Classic 2018

  • 4 of 5

We rented this cottage for a long weekend for the Bass Masters Classic 2018 on Lake Hartwell. The inside of the cottage was immaculate and felt homey. Although it did not have new updates it had all the conveniences of home. The negative side we experienced was that as much as the inside was immaculate the outside was not- Trees were fallen over, there is high grass around the property, not a well kept outside appearance. Along with that the outside furniture was not clean and ready to use on our visit; and the dock was not along the bank for us to get on- it was about 3ft out into the water- we would have to wade the water to get on it. This was all very disappointing as this is why we rented this property- to sit on the deck and or the dock to be able to see the Anglers in the tournament if they came to the cove; which we did have several that fished the cove. I am giving the benefit of the doubt that we rented in the middle of transition of seasons and maybe the owners have not done spring clean up for the tenants in the spring and summers seasons. I would recommend this place only if the outside was cleaned up and the dock was accessible.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Melanie, Thank you for the 4 stars! I do apologize for any inconvenience that you had. If you had contacted me during your stay I would have been able to quickly have any issues fixed. Due to the record rains and storms the 4 days prior to your arrival I did have 2 trees downed. Since they were away from the house, drive, path and dock, I thought they would not be an inconvenience and did not want to cancel your stay and ruin your vacation plans. Luckily, docks on Lake Hartwell (any Army Corp property) are mobile and can be easily moved by a local company with no inconvenience to guest. I provide multiple contact numbers or you can always contact HomeAway to rectify any issues you have. Most owners are happy to assist you or fix any problems you may have as long as we know there is a problem. Best of luck and I hope all your future vacations are up to your expectations. Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Needs upkeep

  • 1 of 5

The view was stunning and peaceful. The house was well stocked with all the items needed. The structure itself is in need of repair. The flooring in the kitchen looks wonderful; however, there are soft spots and at least one hole in the subflooring. The bedroom flooring is not level and again there are soft spots in the subflooring. With the right TLC this can be an amazing space.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Maggy, I am so glad you enjoyed the stunning and peaceful view and that you appreciated how well stocked my cottage is. You did not mention you noticed any problems to me during your stay so that I could have them fixed and avoid your one star review. Now that I know that an old airduct cover has shifted in the kitchen, I will get that fixed asap, the new vinyl flooring can easily be lifted for this repair. I'm not sure how the bedroom floor has any "soft" spots since the rest of the cottage has wood like laminate through out (except for the bath) but we will have that inspected. I do say in my listing that the cottage is an older home, so some imperfections are to be expected. Such a rating, based upon your flooring views, doesn't make a lot of sense to me, but I have found that no matter how much care, effort or added touches I put into my home I just can't make everyone happy. I wish you well in your future vacation home stays. Thanks, Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

better than expensive hotels

  • 4 of 5

enjoyed 4 days of relaxation in a perfect lakeside getaway...waking up looking at views is what we were looking for ..looking to retire in the area and will be back in the future till we find something when the time comes..would recommend to anyone looking to experiance lakeside living......

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Truly an escape from reality

  • 5 of 5

Wish we could have stayed longer! Maybe next time.

The house was cozy and setup very nice, very clean and loved the decor.

My boys loved the dock, they swam fished and kayaked while they were there.

My wife and myself enjoyed the screened in porch the most! We sat and drank coffee and watched deer and squirrels play and eat.

We didn't lack for anything, stores near by so we stocked up and didn't leave the whole three days.

Laura was great to work with very informative and helpful.

Thank you for sharing your little escape from reality!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Needs updating, loved the screened porch.It was the monsoon season evidently.

  • 2 of 5

Nice area,convenient to Anderson SC.You do need a GPS.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback. I'm not sure I understood the monsoon season comment or the GPS???? I don't control the weather.... I arrived right after your stay and didn't see anything amiss. The cottage address does come up on my phone GPS and I send detailed directions to guest. I heard no comments or concerns during your stay so there was really nothing I could change to make you happy. I guess the need for update is relative. Fresh paint, new floors and fresh linens were done summer of 2016. My description of rustic, comfortable with a great private dock is accurate. My pictures speak for themselves. Thanks. Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
-
5

Peaceful and relaxing. Beautifully decorated!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Greenville/Spartenburg
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Friends at the Cove
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Friends at the Cove
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Interstate 85
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Saddler Creek BBQ
Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Boat.

* Swim or Fish.

* take your boat to dinner..restaurants on lake.

* Sunbath.

* Cook out.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Outlet shopping.

* Local Parks.

* Hot Air Balloon Event.

* Bike.

* rest and relax.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Fishing from Dock.

* Clemson Football Games!.

* Cook out on deck.

* Kangaroo Habitat.

* Clems Creek Shoal Music Park.

ON Lake Hartwell, 25 minutes to Clemson University, 12 miles to Anderson, SC and 13 miles to Hart, GA. Great fishing from dock and hunting near-by. Local BBQ restaurant open ONE DAY A WEEK! (Yes it's that good!) just 2 miles away. Friends at the Cove Country Club one mile with golf, tennis, swimming and restaurant open 3 days a week. Lake Hartwell has lots of open water, fireworks for the 4th of July, boat to restaurants on the lake, hot air balloon event for Memorial Day weekend, fishing tournaments and horse stables near-by.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35 + Tax
cleaning fee $85 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 12.93%

Cottage can only be booked through owner. Always contact owner for exact quote or questions.
Long term Winter stay $1500 a month Includes Utilities!!!!
Last minute discounts or 1 night stays are only available 3 nights prior to stay.
pet fee $35
Cleaning fee is $85
Cottage newly renovated ceiling, walls, cabinets and trim have fresh paint. New laminate wood floors and new vinyl floors in bath and kitchen. Walls have been removed to open up the space. New décor, fresh linens and updated light fixtures bring this formally rustic cottage to a modern, decorated, updated cottage with a great view of the incredible Lake Hartwell. The paved path with lights is one of a kind on our street.
Always Email & TEXT for a fast response
Book Spring/Summer now for the best choice of holiday dates!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.