Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call VacationRentals.com Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Acorn Cottage on Canal

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

Waterfront cottage for a relaxing get-away vacation or place to stay while seeing the sights in Central Florida. Acorn cottage is on a canal, one block from the St. John’s River. Bring your boat for fishing or cruising the river. Close to Lake George and Silver Glenn Springs by water. Catch fish right off of the dock. Owner's yacht is normally tied to the boathouse end of the dock with 27 feet of room for a fishing boat or pleasure boat behind it at the dock. There is a charcoal grill on the deck for guests to use.


Owner
Albert Kaeding
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 11, 2017

Amenities

Astor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Washer & Dryer
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
Notes:
Acorn Cottage has a master bedroom with a utility bathroom, living area with a couch and love seat, dining area, kitchen with a breakfast bar, second small bedroom with a futon that opens to a full size bed and a second bathroom. Dishes, cookware, microwave, washer-dryer, linens, TV, and DVD-VHS player are all included. Broadcast TV (30+ channels) available. No phones or internet service. There is a screened porch next to an outdoor hot tub, outside wood decks are part of a full lot width dock on the canal. There is a covered carport and fenced front yard.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Acorn Cottage on Canal
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 9 reviews
5

Wonderful Time in Astor

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the Acorn Cottage, and plan to visit frequently. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is the place to go. We had a great time sitting on the porch and watching nature. The hot tub was a great way to relax after a day at the springs and hiking. The movie collection in the home was great! Another great way to pass some time at night, seeing as town shuts down early. It was very nice to be able to bring and prepare food so that you are not eating every meal out while on vacation. The owner is great to work with, and a clear communicator. We were thoroughly impressed by the cleanliness of the house. The house is easy to find, and the cell phone connection worked well, even though you are in the middle of a Forrest. If you are looking to escape to nature, quiet, and a peaceful environment - Acorn Cottage is the spot for you.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

:(

  • 1 of 5

Boat parked on dock all weekend obstructed any water relaxation or privacy. Blinds wouldn't close further preventing privacy. Obvious rodent activity prevented use of hot tub. Disappointing.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guests are welcome to call us at any time during their stay with questions or if they need assistance. We can generally have some one stop by within a half hour if assistance is needed. We were sorry to hear that Acorn Cottage did not meet our guest's expectations. We refunded one half of the guest's rental payment since we really want our guests to enjoy their stay. The boat parked on the dock belongs to the owners, is not occupied, and is always tied to the dock with room for a guest boat behind it on the dock. Anyone with questions about the content of this review should contact us directly for additional information if they wish.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Get-Away for a Quiet Weekend

  • 5 of 5

The Acorn Cottoge is the perfect get-away for a quiet weekend. The home is very clean and very well stocked with extras such as books, puzzles, movies and cds. Both the back porch and deck area are very relaxing. The location is peaceful. It is far enough away from the typical hustle and bustle yet close enough to areas that provide good entertainment. The owner was very pleasant and easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and confortable for the most part.

  • 4 of 5

The property was in a perfect location for the river trips we had planned in our boat, which we docked right there at the house. The house was clean. Linens and supplies were plentiful. The kitchen was well equipped with everything except a dishwasher. The only negative was the condition of the deck (many loose boards which were a trip hazard) and the air conditioning not working well in the front bedroom and bathroom. The owner was accessible for our questions. Overall it was very acceptable.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was perfect for our travel needs!

  • 5 of 5

Acorn Cottage worked out perfect for us. The screened in porch was perfect for enjoying the morning cup of coffee. The neighborhood was very quiet. Didn't bring fishing gear, but if we had, we could have fished off of the dock.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Brunswick, GA
5

GREAT BOATING & FISHING IN ASTOR

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have rented many homes on the St. Johns and we particularly love the Astor area. Acorn Cottage is very clean, has great access to the river via a short canal ride and super dockage. The owner was easy to work with and probably rents other VRBOs because he provided all sorts of little extras that made our stay better (i.e., books and movies on hand for rainy days, extra candles for back porch ambience, basic spices and paper goods on an honor system (use, but replace)). Acorn cottage is not fancy or large, but it is comfortable, convenient, safe, quiet, well-equipped and clean. The place is perfect for a boating and/or fishing weekend or vacation. Our favorite things about the rental were the back porch, its location on the river and the attention/customer service we received from the owner. We hope to rent there again and again.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Daytona Beach International Airport
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Deland Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
1.4 Miles
State Highway 40
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Subway, Blackwater Inn
Nearest Beach
35 Miles
Ormond Beach at Hwy 40
Car: recommended
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Fishing and Boating.

* Daytona Bike Week.

* Daytona 500 Races.

* Daytona 400 Races.

* Biketoberfest.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Hiking in Ocala Forest Parks.

* Boating.

* Fishing.

* Relax on decks or screened porch..

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Hiking.

* Fishing.

* Boating.

* Observe Wildlife..

Centralized to Central Florida Attractions

Disney World 67 miles (2 hours)

Universal Studios 64 miles (87 min)

Kennedy Space Center 93 miles (70 min)

Daytona Area Beaches 45 miles (60 min)

Jacksonville Jaguars 113 miles (2 hrs, 10 min)

Tampa Bay Buccaneers 140 miles (3 hours)

Daytona Bike Week Events 35 miles (45 min)

Daytona International Speedway 38 miles (1 hour)

Florida Gators Football 78 miles (2 hours)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $250

Nightly Rate: $110 (2 night minimum)
Weekly Rate: $665
Taxes are 11% (NIC above)

Monthly Rate: $1330 - $1500


Weekly—$665
Event Weeks—$1,100
6 Nights - $588
5 Nights - $505
4 Nights—$416
3 Nights—$321
Daily (2minimum) - $110
Refundable Deposit—$250
(Taxes are not included in listed rates and will be added, 11%)
SPECIALS AND DAYTONA EVENT WEEK DISCOUNTS AVAILABLE

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.