check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Beautiful 3 Bedroom Cottage on 50' of private frontage

Overview

Property Details

Updated: Aug 11, 2016
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 8 Sleeps

Beautiful Higgins Lake front property located on the southwest shore between old Pointe Comfort and Pointe Detroit boast 50 feet of gorgeous water frontage with crystal clear water and sandy bottom. Cottage sits on 300’ deep lot with 50’ of PRIVATE frontage and has 100’ dock with 10&rsq; x 5&rsq sundeck to enjoy the beautiful weather.

This beautiful lake house offers 3 bedrooms, 2 baths and an open floor plan with fully equipped modern kitchen (all you need to bring are the groceries). The second floor Master bedroom with its lake view has a full bed a twin bed as well as a twin roll-away. Additional bedroom on the second floor has 2 twin beds and an attached full bath with tub. The first floor bedroom has 2 twin beds and an adjacent remodel bathroom with tiled walk-in shower. The galley kitchen comes equipped with an gas range, microwave, coffee maker and toaster, mixer, blender. The kitchen opens directly on to the dining and living room. This space is well suited for family dining, playing games or watching movies in the evenings. A TV with cable is provided in the living room. The Living room has enough floor space to double as a bedroom if additional sleeping accommodations are needed.

Please keep the maximum number of guests to 8 We do not rent to anyone under the age of 21.

More Details
  • Sleeps 7
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets welcome
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Recent Review

About the Owner

My brother and I came up here as children spent every summer on Higgins Lake, with the family. loved it.

Speaks: english

2 Reviews

2

Higgins

  • 2 of 5

Higgins lake is beautiful! Unfortunately the description of the amenities was a bit different from what we were provided. The "firewood" consisted of a 4 foot piece of telephone pole. We could not access the cable or internet. The grill would never heat up. The upstairs "shower" is only suitable for people under four feet tall. There is poison ivy around much of the property. In addition the paddle boat is extremely hard to operate and extremely outdated. However what made us not want to return was the fact that the owners who have access to the dock while the cabin is being rented, showed up and proceeded to sit on the pontoon (left it connected to the dock-did not take it out) and watch us for the afternoon. Cabin was extremely clean. Fun town and beautiful lake.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We reviewed your recent review of your stay at our cottage and are hopeful this will help address your concerns. We are so sorry your visit did not meet your expectations. When your stay was booked, you were aware we were unavailable to orient you to the cottage at the time of your arrival. The basic cottage operations were reviewed with you over the phone and you indicated you were comfortable with the instructions provided. Contact phone numbers were also given to you. The cottage is advertised as having cable TV. We do not have Internet service, nor do we indicate that we do have it. On the day of your departure you made us aware of your problem with the grill. We immediately checked it and found it to be fully operational, and subsequent renters have used it without experiencing any difficulty. Our paddle boat is an older model but is still in working order. We're sorry you found it difficult to operate. Our lawn is mowed weekly and we have never observed any poison ivy in the area. Knowing the sensitivity for our renters and ourselves, we have scoured the property and we're unable to find any. We're hopeful you were able to enjoy the firepit but we do not furnish firewood. Any wood left in the firepit was yours to use but not intended to be a supply. The cottage is advertised as having 2 full baths. The upstairs bathroom clearly indicated it has a tub. The walk in shower is on the main level, as the cottage description denotes. Lastly, as the cottage owners, we do have access to the lake by way of the rental cottage. Our pontoon is on a lift at the end of the dock. If we chose not to take the pontoon out on the lake and just enjoy sitting on the boat, our intent was certainly not to make you feel like you were being watched. Sometimes lake conditions aren't compatible with taking the pontoon out. We're sorry if you perceived that you were being watched and will take that into consideration in the future. Higgins Lake is a beautiful lake. We wish you would have made us aware of your concerns during your stay so we could have made an effort to correct any misunderstandings or problems you experienced. We hope you take the opportunity to experience Higgins Lake again in an environment you find more suitable to you needs. Respectfully, the owners
Did you find this review helpful?
2 6
Grand Rapids, MI
5

Excellent...everything!

  • 5 of 5

Clean, comfortable, large well-equipped kitchen (meaning any untinsil you might need will be there), plenty of yard space, sandy-bottom area of the lake, nice two-person swing by the lake, comfortable beds with above-average bed linens, great location (you can walk to the store, hardware or marina), boat launch at the end of the street, great restaurant just down the street.

The property owners are great people to deal with. Very genuine.

If this cottage looks like something you are seeking, stop looking. Rent this one. Be aware that lake properties that are not new and built for year-around occupancy tend to have smaller bedrooms. The bedrooms here are smaller, but not too small. They are comfortable. But, there is nothing small about the kitchen...

I would return to this property without hesitation.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review! hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 2

Location

From the Owner

Its beautiful, clean, lots of places to fish, walking and bike riding, beautiful sun rises and sun sets 3 quarter mile of sany beach in front of the cottage can see the island right from the beach. no rocks.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : HOUGHTON LAKE at 5 Miles Nearest Barpub : SILVER DOLLAR at 7.5 Miles Nearest Golf : HOUGHTON LAKE at 4 Miles Nearest Motorway : 127 at 5 Miles Nearest Restaurant : LANDMARK at 3 Miles Nearest Ski : HARTWICK PINES AREA at 15 Miles Nearest Beach : HIGGINS LAKE at 1 Miles

North Higgins Lake State Park- 10 min.

South Higgins Lake State Park- 10 min.

West Higgins Lake Boat Launch- 5 min.

West higgins lake market walking distang from the cottage( grocery)

Houghton Lake- 20 min ( gas, grocery and numerous fast food places)

Grayling -20 min. ( gas, grocery and fast food)

Roscommon- 15 min

- Fred's Food Bowling and Fun - Recently remodled

Roscommon County boasts the most miles of maintained ORV trails in the state! ORV/snowmobile trailhead within 5 miles of home.

There are many golf courses within a 30 minute drive of the cabin. Forest Dunes Golf Course, The Quest, The Ye Old Country Club, The Dream, The Nightmare, Fox Run, Burning Oak Country Club.

The Au Sable River is a fly-fisherman's paradise. Come fish the natural beauty of the Mason Tract's 'Holy Waters', as referred to by the locals! There are numerous places to rent canoes/kayak's/Tubing right on the river.

- Penrods Canoe Livery

- Alcona Canoe Livery

- Hinchman Canoe Livery

- Borchers Canoe Livey

- Jim's Canoe Livery

- Gott's Landing Livery

- Oscoda Canoe Livery

- Hiawatha Canoe Livery

- Cambell's Canoe Livery

Traverse City- approx 1 hour and 15 min northwest on M 72

Mackinaw City/Mackinac Island/St. Ignace- approx 1 hour and 30 min north on I- 75.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
weekly
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 1 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$7,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
cleaning fee $100
Tax Rate 6.0%

Nightly Rate:
Weekly Rate: $1800.00 plus 6% tax
Monthly Rate: $Seasonal Rental only from June-Setember
We still have a few desirable weeks for summer 2016
Now taking reservations for the 2016-2017 Summer Season. Book early weeks are going fast.

NO SMOKING
Weekly Rentals from Saturday-Saturday.
Check in time: 3:00 PM
Check out time: 10:00 AM
$1800.00 per week from June-September 1, 2015

a good faith deposite is required within 3 months of booking, that with hold your reservation additional monies are to be paid in full one month prior to your arrivial.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Email Manager
Updated: Aug 11, 2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available stay (no arrival)
12
Unavailable

Amenities

From the Owner

Lake Front, has hardware store, bank, and small grocery store/ meat market/ liquior and best dounuts and bake goods on the lake, all within walking distance accross the street from the cottage.

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family

General

  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...

Suitability

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront

Attractions

  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Floor Area

  • 1100 sq. ft.

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 2
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet, shower, in lower level, full walk in shower
  • two bathrooms one one the first level and one upstairs that has a tub full waslk in shower on the lower level and bath tub is upstairs

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single, bath in this bedroom
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single, bathroom is right off the bedroom
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen, 1 twin/ single, 1 sleep sofa /futon, we have a roll out bed in the master bedroom
  • the roll out bed can be used any where in the house

Outside

  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill

Meals

  • Guests provide their own meals

Notes:

  • Private 50 feet waterfront, 300 feet deep lot and 100 foot boat dock with sun deck. Renters are welcome to bring their own boat with mooring anchor. A boat launch is located approximately ½ mile from property. There is plenty of off street parking available directly behind the Lake House. Fire pit, gas grill, 2 picnic tables, 2 lounge chairs, and paddleboat. Cable TV, Bed lines and kitchen lines are provide but you are responsible for your own bath and beach towels. When leaving, please clean both bathrooms, the kitchen and dishes. Strip the bed sheets off the beds and put them together with the kitchen towels in the laundry basket located in first floor bedroom closet. Don’t want to clean, don’t worry, $100 basic cleaning fee will be deducted from your security deposit. Boat marina, hardware, antique store, bank, ATM, party store and souvenir shop within walking distance of the lake house.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Find a rental car